DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on July 25, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 24, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on July 24, 2023 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 defines a compound not by a specific structure, as in Claim 1, but by three components, namely (i) a first metal, (ii) a tetradentate ligand comprising only three rings directly bonded to the metal, and (iii) a nitrogen atom of the second ring bonded directly to the carbon of the third ring. Claim 8 then further defines the compounds by either its dipole moment being 3 Debye or less or having a horizontal orientation ratio of 90% or more. However, Applicant has only provided two specific Examples of Compounds,
, both of which are much more specific than the compounds described in claim 1. The compounds require particular ring groups, a particular metal, and a particular ring definition (i.e. the second ring bonded directly to both the first and second rings). Furthermore, the compounds require an acridine group, which is not required by the claim at all. A compound with a polycyclic third ring group, wherein the third ring group is bonded to the metallic core at two locations would also appear to read on the structure described in claim 8 but it is not clear that Applicant has clearly envisioned any such structure that would meet the property limitations. Finally, Examiner notes that there does not appear to be a measurement in the specification of the dipole moment value or the horizontal orientation of the inventive compounds. Due to the structural similarities between the two compounds, it is reasonable to assume that their individual dipole moment values and horizontal orientation ratios are equally similar, and therefore would not appear to show possession of compounds supporting the full range of values claimed, i.e. a dipole moment between 0 and 3 Debye and a horizontal orientation ratio between 90% - 100%. Therefore, the specification does not appear to provide “a representative number of species” sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus as required by the MPEP (See 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
Claims 9 – 10 are rejected as being dependent on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN115448932A, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1, 4, and 6, Wang teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Wang teaches compounds of Formula XIX
. A particular compound taught by Wang is compound 340
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Pt; X1 and X3 are each N and X2 and Y21 are both C; X4 and X41 are both O; Y22 is N; ring CY1 is a C16 heterocyclic group, ring CY21 is a C6 carbocyclic group; ring CY3 is a C9 heterocyclic group; ring CY22 is a C8 heterocyclic group; a1 to a3 are an integer of 3 and the corresponding a1 to a3 groups are hydrogen. The moiety represented by CY21 and CY22 is represented by CY2(4)
in claim 6.)
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (WO2024158229A1, using the provided machine translation).
As per claims 1, 4, 5 and 7, Park teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Park teaches compounds of Formula (1)
([9]). A particular compound taught by Park is
([275]), which reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Pt; X1 and X3 are each N and X2 and Y21 are both C; X4 and X41 are both O; Y22 is N; ring CY1 and CY3 are both a C5 heterocyclic group, ring CY21 is a C6 carbocyclic group; ring CY22 is a C23 heterocyclic group; a2 is an integer of 1 and the corresponding a2 group is a C3 heterocyclic group substituted with two R10a groups, wherein one R10a is a C6 carbocyclic group and the other R10a is a C5 heterocyclic group. The moiety represented by CY1 is represented by CY1(1)
in claim 5 and the moiety represented by CY3 is represented by CY3(1) in claim 7
.)
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2, 3, 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang (CN115448932A, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 6 above.
As per claims 2, 3, and 8 – 10, Wang teaches compound 340 shown above.
Wang is silent with respect to the dipole moment of the organometallic compound and the horizontal orientation ratio of the claimed compound. However, since the compound of Wang above reads on claimed Formula 1 and contains the same structural components as required by the claims 8 - 10, the claimed properties are considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. Alternatively, if the material of Wang does not have the property as claimed in the instant application, then it must be due to a limitation that is not currently claimed. If there is any difference between the above composition and the composition of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 2, 3, and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park (WO2024158229A1, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4, 5 and 7 above.
As per claims 2, 3, and 8 – 10, Park teaches the compound shown above.
Park is silent with respect to the dipole moment of the organometallic compound and the horizontal orientation ratio of the claimed compound. However, since the compound of Park above reads on claimed Formula 1 and contains the same structural components as required by the claims 8 - 10, the claimed properties are considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. Alternatively, if the material of Park does not have the property as claimed in the instant application, then it must be due to a limitation that is not currently claimed. If there is any difference between the above composition and the composition of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Li (US20230068638A1).
As per claims 8 – 10, Li teaches tetradentate Pt-based compounds of Formula (I)
(Abstract). This compound contains the claimed platinum metal, tetradentate ligand, and three and only three rings directly bonded to the first metal. All of the rings are C1 – C60 heterocyclic groups, and the second ring group comprises a Nitrogen atom bonded to a Carbon atom of the third ring group. The compound also contains two or more cyclic groups condensed with each other in the second ring and a 6-membered ring formed between the metal, the second ring, and the third ring, as claimed.
Li is silent with respect to the dipole moment of the organometallic compound and the horizontal orientation ratio of the claimed compound. However, since the compound of Li above contains the same structural components as required by the claim, the claimed properties are considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112. Alternatively, if the material of Li does not have the property as claimed in the instant application, then it must be due to a limitation that is not currently claimed. If there is any difference between the above composition and the composition of the instant claims the difference would have been minor and obvious. Since PTO cannot conduct experiments the proof of burden is shifted to the applicants to establish an unobviousness difference, see In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 – 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN115448932A, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1 – 4, 6 and 8 – 10 above.
As per claims 11 – 15, Wang teaches:
A light-emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer between the first electrode an the second electrode, wherein the interlayer comprises an emission layer and the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound and a host ([0015]: “Another aspect of the present invention provides an organic optoelectronic device, which includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer as described in the present invention, wherein the organic layer is a light-emitting layer.” & [0102]: “In the organic optoelectronic device provided by this invention, the compound provided by this invention can be applied to the light-emitting layer of the device.” In the Example devices prepared as described in [0405 - 0411], the inventive compounds are used with a host material
, which is interpreted as the claimed host material.)
Wherein a weight of the organometallic compound is 5 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the emission layer (In the Example devices prepared as described in [0405 - 0411], the inventive compounds are provided in am emission layer in a weight of 6%. Examiner notes that while 6% is slightly higher than the claimed 5%, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.)
As per claims 12, 14 and 15, Wang is silent with respect to the properties of absolute value of a difference between a HOMO energy level of the organometallic compound and a HOMO energy level of the host, light emission color, wavelength and full width at half maximum. However, since the compound of Wang above reads on claimed Formula 1, and the host material is mCP, which is taught as a host material in [0257] of the instant application as published, the claimed properties are considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
As per claim 16, Wang teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the light-emitting device ([0016]: “Another aspect of the present invention provides a display or lighting device, including organic optoelectronic devices as described above.”)
As per claims 19 and 20, Wang teaches:
A consumer product comprising the light-emitting device, wherein the consumer product is at least one of a display ([0016]: “Another aspect of the present invention provides a display or lighting device, including organic optoelectronic devices as described above.”)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN115448932A, using the provided machine translation) as applied to claims 1 – 4, 6 and 8 – 16, 19 and 20 above, and further in view of Jeong (US20170162796A1)
As per claim 17, Wang teaches:
Further comprising a thin-film transistor ([0105]: “The organic optoelectronic devices provided by this invention include organic photovoltaic devices, organic light-emitting devices, organic solar cells, electronic paper, organic photoreceptors, organic thin-film transistors, etc.”)
Wang does not specifically teach:
wherein the thin-film transistor comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor
Jeong teaches OLED devices (Abstract). Jeong further teaches the OLEDs may be part of an electronic apparatus comprising a thin-film transistor ([0199]). Jeong teaches the thin film transistor includes a gate electrode, a source electrode, an activation layer and a drain electrode ([0203]). Jeong teaches that the first electrode of the OLED is connected to the drain electrode ([0205]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the OLED of Wang in a thin film transistor device with the structure claimed because Jeong teaches this application and device structure was known as predictably suitable for OLED devices prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN115448932A, using the provided machine translation) and Jeong (US20170162796A1) as applied to claims 1 – 4, 6 and 8 – 17, 19 and 20 above, and further in view of Jang (US20150188083A1)
As per claim 18, Wang does not teach:
Further comprising a color filter, a color conversion layer, a touch screen layer, a polarizing layer, or any combination thereof
Jang teaches an organic light emitting display device comprising an organic light emitting diode (Abstract). Jang teaches that these devices include sub-pixels that can comprise a conversion layer to convert white light into red, green and blue light ([0009]). Jang also teaches that the structure can comprise color filters in the respective pixel regions of the substrate (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed color filter or color conversion layer on the OLED of Wang because Jang demonstrates that this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789