DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 12-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US# 2015/0282139 hereinafter referred to as Sun) in view of Zhao et al. (US# 2024/0205901 hereinafter referred to as Zhao).
RE Claim 1, Sun discloses a method of fractional frequency reuse (FFR) in a cell (See Sun [0006]-[0007], [0010] – fractional frequency reuse), comprising:
examining a user equipment (UE) before uplink (UL) scheduling (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UL allocation is performed after UE is classified as cell-edge or cell-center) and updating a status of the UE that was examined (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center (i.e. status is “updated”) in order to be able to allocate UL resources that are designated for cell-edge or cell-center UEs);
classifying the UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center);
choosing a cell-edge segment for the cell (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – F1-F4 are segments; choosing segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge);
allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-edge UE (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – allocating UL resources from the cell-edge segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge UEs).
Sun does not specifically disclose choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell.
However, Zhao teaches of choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell (See Zhao [0033]-[0034], [0086] – allocating frequency domain resources to cell based on PCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, comprising choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell, as taught in Zhao. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication quality and service experience (See Zhao Background; Summary).
RE Claim 4, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining includes classifying the UE before UL scheduling for the UE (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UL allocation is performed after UE is classified as cell-edge or cell-center).
RE Claim 5, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein choosing the cell-edge segment for the cell based on the PCI for the cell includes, based on the PCI of the cell, identifying a starting sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying start position (i.e. index) of frequency resource) and identifying an ending sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying ending position (i.e. index) of frequency resource (i.e. based on starting position and resource size)).
RE Claim 6, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-edge UE includes prioritizing allocation of UL resources from the cell-edge segment for the UE classified as a cell-edge UE See Sun [0028], [0036], [0041]-[0042] – prioritizing allocating cell-edge UL resources for cell-edge UEs).
RE Claim 7, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, further comprising allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-center UE (See Sun [0028], [0036], [0041]-[0042] – allocating UL resources from cell-edge segment for cell-center UE (i.e. if no cell-edge UEs use the cell-edge resources);
wherein resources are allocated from a segment other than the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-center UE (See Sun [0028], [0036] – allocating dedicated cell-center UL resources for cell-center UEs).
RE Claim 8, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, further comprising:
examining another UE coupled to different cell before UL scheduling and updating a status of the another UE that was examined (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – examining another UE coupled to different cell (i.e. determining if the another UE is a cell-center or cell-edge UE) before allocating UL resources and classifying the UE as cell-center or cell-edge);
classifying the another UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – classifying the UE as cell-center or cell-edge);
choosing another cell-edge segment for the different cell based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the different cell (See Zhao [0033]-[0034], [0086] – allocating frequency domain resources to cell based on PCI); and
allocating UL resources for the another UE based on the another cell-edge segment when the another UE is classified as a cell-edge UE (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – allocating cell edge UL resources for the another cell-edge UE (i.e. cell 2 or cell 3)).
RE Claim 9, Sun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for fractional frequency reuse (FFR) in a cell (See Sun [0006]-[0007], [0010] – fractional frequency reuse), which, when executed, cause a system to perform steps, comprising:
examining a user equipment (UE) before uplink (UL) scheduling (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UL allocation is performed after UE is classified as cell-edge or cell-center) and updating a status of the UE that was examined (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center (i.e. status is “updated”) in order to be able to allocate UL resources that are designated for cell-edge or cell-center UEs);
classifying the UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center);
choosing a cell-edge segment for the cell (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – F1-F4 are segments; choosing segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge);
allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-edge UE (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – allocating UL resources from the cell-edge segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge UEs).
Sun does not specifically disclose choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell.
However, Zhao teaches of choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell (See Zhao [0033]-[0034], [0086] – allocating frequency domain resources to cell based on PCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, comprising choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell, as taught in Zhao. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication quality and service experience (See Zhao Background; Summary).
RE Claim 12, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining includes classifying the UE before UL scheduling for the UE (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UL allocation is performed after UE is classified as cell-edge or cell-center).
RE Claim 13, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein choosing the cell-edge segment for the cell based on the PCI for the cell includes, based on the PCI of the cell, identifying a starting sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying start position (i.e. index) of frequency resource) and identifying an ending sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying ending position (i.e. index) of frequency resource (i.e. based on starting position and resource size)).
RE Claim 14, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above, wherein allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-edge UE includes prioritizing allocation of UL resources from the cell-edge segment for the UE classified as a cell-edge UE See Sun [0028], [0036], [0041]-[0042] – prioritizing allocating cell-edge UL resources for cell-edge UEs).
RE Claim 15, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above, further comprising allocating UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-center UE (See Sun [0028], [0036], [0041]-[0042] – allocating UL resources from cell-edge segment for cell-center UE (i.e. if no cell-edge UEs use the cell-edge resources);
wherein resources are allocated from a segment other than the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-center UE (See Sun [0028], [0036] – allocating dedicated cell-center UL resources for cell-center UEs).
RE Claim 16, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above, further comprising:
examining another UE coupled to different cell before UL scheduling and updating a status of the another UE that was examined (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – examining another UE coupled to different cell (i.e. determining if the another UE is a cell-center or cell-edge UE) before allocating UL resources and classifying the UE as cell-center or cell-edge);
classifying the another UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – classifying the UE as cell-center or cell-edge);
choosing another cell-edge segment for the different cell based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the different cell (See Zhao [0033]-[0034], [0086] – allocating frequency domain resources to cell based on PCI); and
allocating UL resources for the another UE based on the another cell-edge segment when the another UE is classified as a cell-edge UE (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0030], [0036], [0047], [0049] – allocating cell edge UL resources for the another cell-edge UE (i.e. cell 2 or cell 3)).
RE Claim 17, Sun discloses a system for fractional frequency reuse (FFR) in a cell (See Sun [0006]-[0007], [0010] – fractional frequency reuse), comprising:
a base station for the cell (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 10), the base station including a processor coupled to a memory (See Sun FIG 10), and configured to:
examine a user equipment (UE) before uplink (UL) scheduling (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UL allocation is performed after UE is classified as cell-edge or cell-center) and updating a status of the UE that was examined (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center (i.e. status is “updated”) in order to be able to allocate UL resources that are designated for cell-edge or cell-center UEs);
classify the UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining (See Sun FIGs 4-6; [0030], [0036] – UE is determined to be cell-edge or cell-center);
choose a cell-edge segment for the cell (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – F1-F4 are segments; choosing segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge);
allocate UL resources for the UE based on the cell-edge segment when the UE is classified as a cell-edge UE (See Sun FIGs 1-2, 4-6; [0009]-[0010], [0047], [0049] – allocating UL resources from the cell-edge segment (i.e. F2, F3, F4) for cell-edge UEs).
Sun does not specifically disclose choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell.
However, Zhao teaches of choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell (See Zhao [0033]-[0034], [0086] – allocating frequency domain resources to cell based on PCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, comprising choosing the cell segment based on a physical cell identifier (PCI) for the cell, as taught in Zhao. One is motivated as such in order to help improve communication quality and service experience (See Zhao Background; Summary).
RE Claim 20, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a system, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein choosing the cell-edge segment for the cell based on the PCI for the cell includes, based on the PCI of the cell, identifying a starting sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying start position (i.e. index) of frequency resource) and identifying an ending sub-band index for the cell-edge segment (See Zhao FIGs 9-10, 13; [0034], [0173]-[0174], [0186] – based on PCI for the cell, identifying ending position (i.e. index) of frequency resource (i.e. based on starting position and resource size)).
Claims 2-3, 10-11, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US# 2015/0282139 hereinafter referred to as Sun) in view of Zhao et al. (US# 2024/0205901 hereinafter referred to as Zhao) and Nunome et al. (US# 2025/0247831 hereinafter referred to as Nunome).
RE Claim 2, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Sun, modified by Zhao, does not specifically disclose wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE.
However, Nunome teaches of wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); any of these can be considered a “transport block index” (i.e. TB propagation delay amount, TB path loss, TB RSRP, etc…)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, modified by Zhao, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE, as taught in Nunome. One is motivated as such in order to improve resource allocation (See Nunome Summary).
RE Claim 3, Sun, modified by Zhao and Nunome, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 2 above, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining includes at least one of classifying the UE as a cell-edge UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE not exceeding a threshold, or classifying the UE as a cell-center UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE exceeding the threshold (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); where further distance away (i.e. cell edge) is correlated with lower RSRP/poorer performance/etc…).
RE Claim 10, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 9 above. Sun, modified by Zhao, does not specifically disclose wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE.
However, Nunome teaches of wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); any of these can be considered a “transport block index” (i.e. TB propagation delay amount, TB path loss, TB RSRP, etc…)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, modified by Zhao, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE, as taught in Nunome. One is motivated as such in order to improve resource allocation (See Nunome Summary).
RE Claim 11, Sun, modified by Zhao and Nunome, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, as set forth in claim 10 above, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining includes at least one of classifying the UE as a cell-edge UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE not exceeding a threshold, or classifying the UE as a cell-center UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE exceeding the threshold (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); where further distance away (i.e. cell edge) is correlated with lower RSRP/poorer performance/etc…).
RE Claim 18, Sun, modified by Zhao, discloses a system, as set forth in claim 17 above. Sun, modified by Zhao, does not specifically disclose wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE.
However, Nunome teaches of wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); any of these can be considered a “transport block index” (i.e. TB propagation delay amount, TB path loss, TB RSRP, etc…)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the FFR system, as disclosed in Sun, modified by Zhao, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining is based on a downlink transport block index for the UE, as taught in Nunome. One is motivated as such in order to improve resource allocation (See Nunome Summary).
RE Claim 19, Sun, modified by Zhao and Nunome, discloses a system, as set forth in claim 18 above, wherein classifying a UE as either a cell-edge UE or a cell-center UE based on the examining includes at least one of classifying the UE as a cell-edge UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE not exceeding a threshold, or classifying the UE as a cell-center UE based on the downlink transport block index for the UE exceeding the threshold (See Nunome [0155]-[0156] - may determine the position of terminal 200 from the cell center (or whether terminal 200 is a cell edge terminal) based on, for example, received power (such as RSRP), propagation delay amount, RACH preamble type, path loss, or the like (based on, for example, comparison with a threshold); where further distance away (i.e. cell edge) is correlated with lower RSRP/poorer performance/etc…).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims above, Sun, Zhao, Nunome references).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477