Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, thus dependent claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 partly recites “position close” to the cooling system…It is unclear what is meant by position close, how much distance is required to be within the scope of the claim. For example, how far or how close should the cooling system be in relation to the insulation layer.
Applicant may overcome this rejection by either deleting this term or add additional structural elements to define what is meant by how close.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180212214A1 (Sakai)
Regarding claim 1, Sakai teaches a battery module [abs] and teaches a battery, characterized by comprising: a battery cell group [#10; battery cells] comprising a plurality of battery cells; a cooling system [thru a plurality of through holes 21a; 0070] provided on a first face [top/bottom surface of the battery module] of the battery cell group; a signal transmission assembly [#60; circuit board] provided on a second face [side of the battery module] of the battery cell group, the second face being adjacent to the first face, the signal transmission assembly comprising a busbar component [ 52a/b; connection tabs; 0061-0062; or #672/672, fig. 29; 00129] and an insulation layer [#60; 0072; it is noted the instant spec illustrates #242 is the claimed insulation layer and #60 of Saki teaches the claimed insulation layer ], the insulation layer being used to enclose the busbar component, the insulation layer having holes [#71], and the busbar component being configured to be electrically connected to the battery cells in the battery cell group at the holes [0061]; and a covering member [#70 ] for covering the signal transmission assembly [depicted below]. The following “to prevent condensed liquid generated by the cooling system from reaching the signal transmission assembly” is considered functional language. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 6, Sakai teaches characterized in that the covering member is a cover plate [#70] that covers the second face [0072; depicted in claim 1].
Regarding claim 7, Sakai teaches characterized in that the cover plate comprises a first connecting region configured to be fixedly connected to the first face [#71 are the bolts that allows the connection; 0070].
Regarding claim 8, Sakai teaches characterized in that the cover plate further comprises a second connecting region configured to be fixedly connected to the third face of the battery cell group, the third face being parallel to the first face, Sakai teaches various embodiments, in fig. 29 Sakai teaches #671 and #672, which correspond to the claimed second connecting region 0116].
Regarding claim 9, Sakai teaches the cover plate has holes [0070; 21a], which corresponds to the drain grooves, the following “for draining the condensed liquid” is considered functional language and is not given patentable weight. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 10, Sakai teaches characterized in that the cover plate is further provided with a confluence groove (depicted below). The following “the confluence groove being in communication with the drain groove, and the confluence groove being used to collect the condensed liquid and introduce the condensed liquid into the drain groove”, is considered functional language and is not given patentable weight. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 11, Sakai does not explicitly teach the cover plate is made of an insulation material. However, in para [0066], Sakai teaches various types of heat sealing materials that are used in the invention. Therefore, it is the examiners position, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any of these types of insulation materials for the cover plate as one would expect a reasonable expectation of success and to further it would provide safety to the battery configuration by preventing short circuit. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, Sakai teaches characterized in that the battery cell group comprises N battery cell rows arranged in a first direction, and the battery cells in each battery cell row in the N battery cell rows are arranged in a second direction, the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction, and N being a positive integer, wherein the first face is perpendicular to the first direction, and the second face is parallel to a plane determined by the first direction and the second direction [0146].
Regarding claim 13, Sakai teaches characterized in that the projection of the cooling system in the first direction covers the projection of the covering member, and the first face is perpendicular to the first direction [depicted in claim 1].
Regarding claim 14, Sakai teaches characterized in that the end of the cooling system close to the covering member is provided obliquely toward the covering member [depicted in claim 1].
Regarding claim 15, Sakai teaches a power consuming apparatus, characterized by comprising a battery according to claim 1 for supplying electric energy [0142-0144].
Regarding claim 16, Sakai teaches a method for manufacturing a battery [0170], characterized by comprising: providing a battery cell group, the battery cell group comprising a plurality of battery cells; providing a cooling system, the cooling system being provided on a first face of the battery cell group; providing a signal transmission assembly, the signal transmission assembly being provided on a second face of the battery cell group, the second face being adjacent to the first face, the signal transmission assembly comprising a busbar component and an insulation layer, the insulation layer being used to enclose the busbar component, the insulation layer having holes, and the busbar component being configured to be electrically connected to the battery cells in the battery cell group at the holes; and providing a covering member, the covering member being used to cover the signal transmission assembly to prevent condensed liquid generated by the cooling system from reaching the signal transmission assembly [please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as these limitations are recited in claim 1].
Regarding claim 17, Sakai teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a battery, characterized by comprising a provision module that is used for: providing a battery cell group, the battery cell group comprising a plurality of battery cells; providing a cooling system, the cooling system being provided on a first face of the battery cell group; providing a signal transmission assembly, the signal transmission assembly being provided on a second face of the battery cell group, the second face being adjacent to the first face, the signal transmission assembly comprising a busbar component and an insulation layer, the insulation layer being used to enclose the busbar component, the insulation layer having holes, and the busbar component being configured to be electrically connected to the battery cells in the battery cell group at the holes; and providing a covering member, the covering member being used to cover the signal transmission assembly to prevent condensed liquid generated by the cooling system from reaching the signal transmission assembly [please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as these limitations are recited in claim 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 thus dependent claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not teach:
Claim 2 : the insulation layer extends toward the cooling system to a position close to the cooling system, and is turned over at the position in a direction away from the cooling system to form the covering member. Claims 3-5 further require structural features of the claimed:
Claim 3- a turnover portion of the insulation layer is fixedly connected to a third face of the battery cell group, the third face being parallel to the first face.
Claim 4- an edge of the turnover portion of the insulation layer is provided with a folded edge region, the folded edge region being configured to be fixedly connected to the third face.
Claim 5-the insulation layer and the second face form, at the turnover position, an angle region facing the cooling system, the angle region being configured to collect a binder for bonding the cooling system.
It is noted, the Applicant must amend claim 2 in view of the 112 amendment, in addition to the allowable subject matter as discussed above.
Conclusion
/S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729