DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim contains terminal punction (i.e., a period) after the limitation “sensor” in line 4. Since the claim does not end at line 4, applicant is respectfully requested to delete the period and replace it with a comma. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the water physical/chemical sensor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "the
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the external sensor" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]]an external sensor."
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the presence of particles” line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]]a presence of particles."
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the presence of the nature of an impurity in the water” lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]]a presence of [[the]]a nature of an impurity in [[the]] water.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the presence of an animal in the water” lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]]a presence of an animal in [[the]] water.”
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the water and/or aquatic installation” lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim will be considered to recite "[[the]] water and/or the aquatic installation”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an aquatic installation state determination means in claim 1 and an aquatic installation state step in claim 14.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
The limitation “physical/chemical” as recited in the claims is interpreted by the examiner to mean “physical and/or chemical.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ovalle (US 2019/0099325).
Per claim 1, Ovalle teaches an aquatic installation monitoring system (Abstract, A spa is provided including a frame, a shell mounted to the frame defining a basin for holding water, at least one sensor for monitoring a spa component or water condition, a communications interface including a cellular transceiver, and a battery for providing power to the at least one sensor and to the communications interface when the spa is not connected to a power source.; [0068] As indicated above, the spa 10 also includes a plurality of different types of onboard sensors for monitoring a condition of the spa water and spa components.), which comprises:
— at least one physical/chemical sensor, configured to provide series of at least one sensed value representative of a local physical/chemical parameter ([0068] As indicated above, the spa 10 also includes a plurality of different types of onboard sensors for monitoring a condition of the spa water and spa components. Sensors for measuring a condition of the water can include a water temperature sensor 58 disposed in the basin 16 or tubing between the basin 16 and pump 52. The spa 10 can also include sensors for measuring water chemistry. For example, a water care or chemical sensor 60 may measure water pH or sanitizer levels (e.g., chlorine level) to ensure that spa chemicals are being provided in an expected manner. In some examples, the spa 10 can include a turbidity sensor 62 positioned in the basin 16. The turbidity sensor 62 can be configured to measure whether water in the spa 10 is clear or cloudy. The spa 10 can also include environmental sensors, such as an ambient temperature sensor 64 and an ambient humidity sensor 66.), and
— at least one optical sensor ([0069] In some examples, the spa 10 can also include or be configured to use information acquired from an optical sensor 68 configured to read or record results from different analyte test strips. For example, the optical sensor 68 can be a camera which records an image of a test strip before and after water has been exposed to the strip. The captured images can be processed by the spa controller 50 to determine test results.), and
— an aquatic installation state determination means comprising a computing device configured to receive and to process at least one series of a local physical/chemical parameter ([0066] A schematic drawing of electronic components of the spa 10 is shown in FIG. 2. The spa 10 can include a controller 50 in electrical communication with the control panel 26 and with a plurality of onboard sensors. The controller 50 can be a computer processor or computer device, as is known in the art, including computer readable memory with instructions that, when executed, cause the controller 50 to receive information from sources including the on-board sensors, user input devices, the control panel 26, as well as from remote sources through a communication interface, process the received information, and control operation of the spa 10 based on the received information. The controller 50 may also be configured to cause the communications interface to send processed information to remote devices.) and/or at least one graphical representation to determine a value representative of an aquatic installation state ([0062] The present invention is generally directed to a system 100, 150 for remote monitoring and control of one or more spas 10 using a computer or handheld electronic device (e.g., smartphone) with Internet connectivity. The system 100 can be configured to permit remote monitoring and control of one or more spas 10 utilizing a web-based portal or App accessible by a spa owner, spa dealer, or another authorized party. The web portal or App provides a user interface (shown in FIGS. 5 and 6) which allows a user to: control different components and devices on the spa 10; schedule spa operations remotely; and review real-time or previously collected data (e.g., diagnostic information, pump/heater data, water parameters, fault logs, etc.) uploaded from the spa 10 to the website. The user interface may also provide notifications about faults or errors identified by the spa controller and scheduled maintenance activities.; [0083] In some examples, the user interface screen 200 includes a dashboard section 210 for remotely monitoring the status of the spa 10. On the dashboard section 210, a user can remotely view information collected by sensors associated with the spa 10. The dashboard section 210 can be a visual dashboard including numerical values 212 for sensor readings, along with graphical representations.; [0084] In some examples, the dashboard section 210 of the user interface screen 200 also includes a water quality indicator 216 based on measurements obtained from the water quality and water care sensors on the spa 10. The water quality indicator 216 can be a numerical value, such as an analyte concentration value, water pH, or sanitizer levels. In other examples, a visual icon representative of whether the spa water is clear or cloudy can be displayed..).
Per claim 3, in which at least one water physical/chemical sensor is, but is not limited to:
— a pH sensor, and/or
— a total alkalinity sensor, and/or
— a conductivity sensor, and/or
— an oxidation-reduction potential sensor, and/or
— a free chlorine sensor, and/or
— a total chlorine sensor, and/or
— a disinfectant rate sensor, and/or
— a turbidity sensor, and/or
— a temperature sensor, and/or
— a flow sensor, and/or
— an optical sensor, and/or
— an infrared sensor, and/or
— a sonar sensor, and/or
— a water movement sensor, and/or
— a pressure sensor, and/or
— a bacterial and/or algae activity sensor, and/or
— a phosphate sensor, and/or
— a nitrogen compounds sensor, and/or
— a chloride sensor ([0068] As indicated above, the spa 10 also includes a plurality of different types of onboard sensors for monitoring a condition of the spa water and spa components. Sensors for measuring a condition of the water can include a water temperature sensor 58 disposed in the basin 16 or tubing between the basin 16 and pump 52. The spa 10 can also include sensors for measuring water chemistry. For example, a water care or chemical sensor 60 may measure water pH or sanitizer levels (e.g., chlorine level) to ensure that spa chemicals are being provided in an expected manner. In some examples, the spa 10 can include a turbidity sensor 62 positioned in the basin 16. The turbidity sensor 62 can be configured to measure whether water in the spa 10 is clear or cloudy. The spa 10 can also include environmental sensors, such as an ambient temperature sensor 64 and an ambient humidity sensor 66.; [0069] In some examples, the spa 10 can also include or be configured to use information acquired from an optical sensor 68 configured to read or record results from different analyte test strips. For example, the optical sensor 68 can be a camera which records an image of a test strip before and after water has been exposed to the strip. The captured images can be processed by the spa controller 50 to determine test results.; [0070] The spa 10 also includes sensors for measuring a condition of spa components. For example, the spa 10 can include a flow sensor 70 positioned near the filter 56 for measuring water flow through the filter 56. A decrease in water flow through the filter 56 would indicate that the filter 56 is clogged or full and should be cleaned or replaced. The spa 10 can also include power sensors 72 for measuring incoming power and current drawn by certain spa electronics. The power sensor 72 would identify a loss of electrical power to the spa 10 from, for example, a loss of electricity. The power sensor 72 can also identify power drawn by different spa electronics. Large changes in power used by an electronic component would indicate that the component is operating in an unexpected manner and may need to be serviced or replaced.).
Per claim 8, in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a water clarity value as a function of a graphical representation provided ([0084] In some examples, the dashboard section 210 of the user interface screen 200 also includes a water quality indicator 216 based on measurements obtained from the water quality and water care sensors on the spa 10. The water quality indicator 216 can be a numerical value, such as an analyte concentration value, water pH, or sanitizer levels. In other examples, a visual icon representative of whether the spa water is clear or cloudy can be displayed. Advantageously, these features allow the user to know, while away from home, whether water is sufficiently clear and that the spa is ready for use.).
Per claim 9, in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of the presence of particles in the water as a function of a graphical representation provided ([0068] In some examples, the spa 10 can include a turbidity sensor 62 positioned in the basin 16. The turbidity sensor 62 can be configured to measure whether water in the spa 10 is clear or cloudy. The spa 10 can also include environmental sensors, such as an ambient temperature sensor 64 and an ambient humidity sensor 66.; [0084] In some examples, the dashboard section 210 of the user interface screen 200 also includes a water quality indicator 216 based on measurements obtained from the water quality and water care sensors on the spa 10. The water quality indicator 216 can be a numerical value, such as an analyte concentration value, water pH, or sanitizer levels. In other examples, a visual icon representative of whether the spa water is clear or cloudy can be displayed. Advantageously, these features allow the user to know, while away from home, whether water is sufficiently clear and that the spa is ready for use.).
Per claim 10, in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of the presence of the nature of an impurity in the water as a function of a graphical representation provided ([0084] In some examples, the dashboard section 210 of the user interface screen 200 also includes a water quality indicator 216 based on measurements obtained from the water quality and water care sensors on the spa 10. The water quality indicator 216 can be a numerical value, such as an analyte concentration value, water pH, or sanitizer levels. In other examples, a visual icon representative of whether the spa water is clear or cloudy can be displayed. Advantageously, these features allow the user to know, while away from home, whether water is sufficiently clear and that the spa is ready for use).
Per claim 14, Ovalle teaches aquatic installation monitoring method (Abstract, A spa is provided including a frame, a shell mounted to the frame defining a basin for holding water, at least one sensor for monitoring a spa component or water condition, a communications interface including a cellular transceiver, and a battery for providing power to the at least one sensor and to the communications interface when the spa is not connected to a power source.; [0068] As indicated above, the spa 10 also includes a plurality of different types of onboard sensors for monitoring a condition of the spa water and spa components.), which comprises:
— a step of operating:
— at least one water physical/chemical sensor ([0068] As indicated above, the spa 10 also includes a plurality of different types of onboard sensors for monitoring a condition of the spa water and spa components. Sensors for measuring a condition of the water can include a water temperature sensor 58 disposed in the basin 16 or tubing between the basin 16 and pump 52. The spa 10 can also include sensors for measuring water chemistry. For example, a water care or chemical sensor 60 may measure water pH or sanitizer levels (e.g., chlorine level) to ensure that spa chemicals are being provided in an expected manner. In some examples, the spa 10 can include a turbidity sensor 62 positioned in the basin 16. The turbidity sensor 62 can be configured to measure whether water in the spa 10 is clear or cloudy. The spa 10 can also include environmental sensors, such as an ambient temperature sensor 64 and an ambient humidity sensor 66.), and
— at least one optical sensor ([0069] In some examples, the spa 10 can also include or be configured to use information acquired from an optical sensor 68 configured to read or record results from different analyte test strips. For example, the optical sensor 68 can be a camera which records an image of a test strip before and after water has been exposed to the strip. The captured images can be processed by the spa controller 50 to determine test results.)
— a step of providing a sensed graphical representation of [[the]] water and/or the aquatic installation ([0062] The present invention is generally directed to a system 100, 150 for remote monitoring and control of one or more spas 10 using a computer or handheld electronic device (e.g., smartphone) with Internet connectivity. The system 100 can be configured to permit remote monitoring and control of one or more spas 10 utilizing a web-based portal or App accessible by a spa owner, spa dealer, or another authorized party. The web portal or App provides a user interface (shown in FIGS. 5 and 6) which allows a user to: control different components and devices on the spa 10; schedule spa operations remotely; and review real-time or previously collected data (e.g., diagnostic information, pump/heater data, water parameters, fault logs, etc.) uploaded from the spa 10 to the website. The user interface may also provide notifications about faults or errors identified by the spa controller and scheduled maintenance activities.; [0069] In some examples, the spa 10 can also include or be configured to use information acquired from an optical sensor 68 configured to read or record results from different analyte test strips. For example, the optical sensor 68 can be a camera which records an image of a test strip before and after water has been exposed to the strip. The captured images can be processed by the spa controller 50 to determine test results.; [0083] In some examples, the user interface screen 200 includes a dashboard section 210 for remotely monitoring the status of the spa 10. On the dashboard section 210, a user can remotely view information collected by sensors associated with the spa 10. The dashboard section 210 can be a visual dashboard including numerical values 212 for sensor readings, along with graphical representations.), and
— an aquatic installation state determination step, comprising a computing device configured to receive and to process measures of a local physical/chemical state of the water and/or graphical representations of the water to determine a value representative of an aquatic installation state ([0066] A schematic drawing of electronic components of the spa 10 is shown in FIG. 2. The spa 10 can include a controller 50 in electrical communication with the control panel 26 and with a plurality of onboard sensors. The controller 50 can be a computer processor or computer device, as is known in the art, including computer readable memory with instructions that, when executed, cause the controller 50 to receive information from sources including the on-board sensors, user input devices, the control panel 26, as well as from remote sources through a communication interface, process the received information, and control operation of the spa 10 based on the received information. The controller 50 may also be configured to cause the communications interface to send processed information to remote devices.; ([0069] In some examples, the spa 10 can also include or be configured to use information acquired from an optical sensor 68 configured to read or record results from different analyte test strips. For example, the optical sensor 68 can be a camera which records an image of a test strip before and after water has been exposed to the strip. The captured images can be processed by the spa controller 50 to determine test results.; [0083] In some examples, the user interface screen 200 includes a dashboard section 210 for remotely monitoring the status of the spa 10. On the dashboard section 210, a user can remotely view information collected by sensors associated with the spa 10. The dashboard section 210 can be a visual dashboard including numerical values 212 for sensor readings, along with graphical representations.; [0084] In some examples, the dashboard section 210 of the user interface screen 200 also includes a water quality indicator 216 based on measurements obtained from the water quality and water care sensors on the spa 10. The water quality indicator 216 can be a numerical value, such as an analyte concentration value, water pH, or sanitizer levels. In other examples, a visual icon representative of whether the spa water is clear or cloudy can be displayed.).
Claims 1-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witelson et al. (US 2017/0212523).
Per claim 1, Witelson et al. teach an aquatic installation monitoring system (abstract, A pool cleaning robot, a mobile computer, and a method for operating a pool cleaning robot, the method may include receiving, by the pool cleaning robot, demarcation information that defines pool zones and pool cleaning robot operational parameters related to the pool zones; wherein the demarcation information is generated by a mobile computer and under a control of a user; and performing a cleaning operation, by the pool cleaning robot, based on the demarcation information.; [0051] There is provided a self propelled pool cleaner that, for navigational purposes when submerged in pool water, employs sensors and on-board pre-programmed computer for determining the underwater surroundings or constituents data of a swimming pool that assists the scanning and cleaning operational frameworks parameters of the entire pool surfaces;), which comprises:
— at least one physical/chemical sensor, configured to provide series of at least one sensed value representative of a local physical/chemical parameter ([0075] u. A turbidity sensor.; [0077] w. Impact sensors and/or pressure sensors; [0102] …sensor compartment 60 that may host one or more sensors such as but not limited to gyroscope 61, turbidity sensor 62, accelerometer 63, camera 64. An entertainment LED light/laser source compartment 65 that may be combined with sensor compartment 60 or may be included in a separate compartment. Any combination of sensors may be included in the pool cleaning robot 10. Any sensor or light source may be located in any position on or within the pool cleaning robot 10.; [0128] It is noted that the pool cleaning robot may transmit information to be depicted in a screen shot about readings 626 of sensors about pool constituents (for example water temperature read by a temperature sensor, water chemistry such as PH level, chlorine (CH) or any other chemistry reading 627, read by a water chemistry sensor, and the like) and information about the readings may be displayed by the control device.), and
— at least one optical sensor (64; [0088] Using the control device and the communication between the control device and the pool cleaning robot the user may control the operation of the on-board camera or video interactively to take underwater photos or video films to be stored on the smart device or computer.), and
— an aquatic installation state determination means comprising a computing device configured to receive and to process at least one series of a local physical/chemical parameter ([0051] There is provided a self propelled pool cleaner that, for navigational purposes when submerged in pool water, employs sensors and on-board pre-programmed computer for determining the underwater surroundings or constituents data of a swimming pool that assists the scanning and cleaning operational frameworks parameters of the entire pool surfaces; [0105] FIG. 3 illustrates user 200 that operates a mobile computer such as a tablet 210, a pool cleaning robot 10, a power supply unit 230 connected by cable 240 to the pool cleaning robot 10 whereby the power supply comprises a remote controlled wireless receiving/transmitting communication module that may convert data to a digital form, and a pool according to an embodiment of the invention.) and/or at least one graphical representation to determine a value representative of an aquatic installation state ([0087] By default, the control device can benefit from information acquired by the pool cleaning robot and optionally from information acquired elsewhere to generate a three dimensional graphic representation (or any other type of representation) of the pool. As per above, additional ability of the pool cleaning robot to scan, memorize, draw and present to the end user by depicting the above schematics also in a 3D drawing format of the pool that may be rotated or panned.; [0128] It is noted that the pool cleaning robot may transmit information to be depicted in a screen shot about readings 626 of sensors about pool constituents (for example water temperature read by a temperature sensor, water chemistry such as PH level, chlorine (CH) or any other chemistry reading 627, read by a water chemistry sensor, and the like) and information about the readings may be displayed by the control device.).
Per claim 2, which comprises a submersible and/or floating vehicle (20), comprising:
— at least one said physical/chemical sensor, configured to provide series of at least one sensed value representative of a local physical/chemical parameter ([0075] u. A turbidity sensor.; [0077] w. Impact sensors and/or pressure sensors; [0102] …sensor compartment 60 that may host one or more sensors such as but not limited to gyroscope 61, turbidity sensor 62, accelerometer 63, camera 64. An entertainment LED light/laser source compartment 65 that may be combined with sensor compartment 60 or may be included in a separate compartment. Any combination of sensors may be included in the pool cleaning robot 10. Any sensor or light source may be located in any position on or within the pool cleaning robot 10.; [0128] It is noted that the pool cleaning robot may transmit information to be depicted in a screen shot about readings 626 of sensors about pool constituents (for example water temperature read by a temperature sensor, water chemistry such as PH level, chlorine (CH) or any other chemistry reading 627, read by a water chemistry sensor, and the like) and information about the readings may be displayed by the control device.), and/or
— at least one said optical sensor (64), configured to provide a graphical representation of water in the aquatic installation and/or the aquatic installation ([0151] Step 720 may include receiving commands relating to the creation/taking and transmission of at least one out of camera photos and video clips.; [0152] Step 720 may also be followed by step 740 of transmitting, by the pool cleaning robot, at least one out of camera photos and video clips.).
Per claim 3, Per claim 3, in which at least one water physical/chemical sensor is, but is not limited to:
— a pH sensor, and/or
— a total alkalinity sensor, and/or
— a conductivity sensor, and/or
— an oxidation-reduction potential sensor, and/or
— a free chlorine sensor, and/or
— a total chlorine sensor, and/or
— a disinfectant rate sensor, and/or
— a turbidity sensor, and/or
— a temperature sensor, and/or
— a flow sensor, and/or
— an optical sensor, and/or
— an infrared sensor, and/or
— a sonar sensor, and/or
— a water movement sensor, and/or
— a pressure sensor, and/or
— a bacterial and/or algae activity sensor, and/or
— a phosphate sensor, and/or
— a nitrogen compounds sensor, and/or
— a chloride sensor ([0075] u. A turbidity sensor.; [0077] w. Impact sensors and/or pressure sensors; [0102] …sensor compartment 60 that may host one or more sensors such as but not limited to gyroscope 61, turbidity sensor 62, accelerometer 63, camera 64. An entertainment LED light/laser source compartment 65 that may be combined with sensor compartment 60 or may be included in a separate compartment. Any combination of sensors may be included in the pool cleaning robot 10. Any sensor or light source may be located in any position on or within the pool cleaning robot 10.; [0128] It is noted that the pool cleaning robot may transmit information to be depicted in a screen shot about readings 626 of sensors about pool constituents (for example water temperature read by a temperature sensor, water chemistry such as PH level, chlorine (CH) or any other chemistry reading 627, read by a water chemistry sensor, and the like) and information about the readings may be displayed by the control device.).
Per claim 14, Witelson et al. teach an aquatic installation monitoring method (abstract, A pool cleaning robot, a mobile computer, and a method for operating a pool cleaning robot, the method may include receiving, by the pool cleaning robot, demarcation information that defines pool zones and pool cleaning robot operational parameters related to the pool zones; wherein the demarcation information is generated by a mobile computer and under a control of a user; and performing a cleaning operation, by the pool cleaning robot, based on the demarcation information.), which comprises:
— a step of operating:
— at least one water physical/chemical sensor ([0075] u. A turbidity sensor.; [0077] w. Impact sensors and/or pressure sensors; [0102] …sensor compartment 60 that may host one or more sensors such as but not limited to gyroscope 61, turbidity sensor 62, accelerometer 63, camera 64. An entertainment LED light/laser source compartment 65 that may be combined with sensor compartment 60 or may be included in a separate compartment. Any combination of sensors may be included in the pool cleaning robot 10. Any sensor or light source may be located in any position on or within the pool cleaning robot 10.; [0128] It is noted that the pool cleaning robot may transmit information to be depicted in a screen shot about readings 626 of sensors about pool constituents (for example water temperature read by a temperature sensor, water chemistry such as PH level, chlorine (CH) or any other chemistry reading 627, read by a water chemistry sensor, and the like) and information about the readings may be displayed by the control device.), and
— at least one optical sensor (64; [0088] Using the control device and the communication between the control device and the pool cleaning robot the user may control the operation of the on-board camera or video interactively to take underwater photos or video films to be stored on the smart device or computer.),
— a step of providing a sensed graphical representation of [[the]] water and/or the aquatic installation ([0151] Step 720 may include receiving commands relating to the creation/taking and transmission of at least one out of camera photos and video clips.; [0152] Step 720 may also be followed by step 740 of transmitting, by the pool cleaning robot, at least one out of camera photos and video clips.), and
— an aquatic installation state determination step, comprising a computing device configured to receive and to process measures of a local physical/chemical state of the water and/or graphical representations of the water to determine a value representative of an aquatic installation state ([0051] There is provided a self propelled pool cleaner that, for navigational purposes when submerged in pool water, employs sensors and on-board pre-programmed computer for determining the underwater surroundings or constituents data of a swimming pool that assists the scanning and cleaning operational frameworks parameters of the entire pool surfaces; [0105] FIG. 3 illustrates user 200 that operates a mobile computer such as a tablet 210, a pool cleaning robot 10, a power supply unit 230 connected by cable 240 to the pool cleaning robot 10 whereby the power supply comprises a remote controlled wireless receiving/transmitting communication module that may convert data to a digital form, and a pool according to an embodiment of the invention.) [0151] Step 720 may include receiving commands relating to the creation/taking and transmission of at least one out of camera photos and video clips.; [0152] Step 720 may also be followed by step 740 of transmitting, by the pool cleaning robot, at least one out of camera photos and video clips.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ovalle (‘325) in view of Simik et al. (US 2017/0022728).
Per claim 4, Ovalle does not disclose in which the optical sensor comprises an infrared sensor.
Simik et al., also directed to a aquatic installation monitoring system ([0004] The pool skimming system may have one or more processing units, two or more distance sensors, one or more solar cells, and a power supply operable to power the processing units and the motors from energy supplied by the solar cells. One or more processing modules may configure the processing units to plan and execute a traversal path across the surface of a body of water, such as a swimming pool, to collect debris into a removable basket. A portion of the traversal path may be established according to signals from distance sensors.), disclose providing an optical sensor in the form of an infrared sensor ([0027] Distance sensors 150, such as the right forward distance sensor 150A, the left forward distance sensor 150B, or various side distance sensors, may be used for determining the position of the pool-skimming robot 100 within a pool structure. The distance sensors 150 may be used for developing a model of the pool geometry. The distance sensors 150 may be used for determining an angle of approach useful in navigation and path planning. The distance sensors 150 may comprise infrared (IR) optical sensors. The distance sensors 150 may be configured to operate below the water line. Underwater distance sensors 150 may be useful for application in infinity pools or perimeter overflow pools.) in order to, for example, develop a model of the geometry of a pool.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Ovalle such that it comprises in which the optical sensor comprises an infrared sensor in order to, for example, develop a model of the geometry of a pool.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson et al. (‘523) in view of Wolowelsky et al. (US 2017/0022728).
Per claim 5, Ovalle does not disclose in which a submersible and/or floating vehicle comprises a sonar sensor configured to provide an output, the aquatic installation state determination means being configured to determine an aquatic installation state as a function of the output provided by the sonar sensor.
Wolowelsky et al., also directed to an aquatic installation monitoring system (abstract, A domestic robotic system including a robot having a payload for carrying out a domestic task within a working area. The robot also includes a plurality of sensors, including one or more local environment sensors that are configured to receive signals from exterior sources local to the robot.), disclose wherein a submersible and/or floating vehicle (20) comprises a sonar sensor configured to provide an output, the aquatic installation state determination means being configured to determine an aquatic installation state as a function of the output provided by the sonar sensor ([0065] As shown in FIG. 1, the robot may be provided with one or more sensor units (48A, 48B), which each includes one or more sensors (S.sub.A1-S.sub.A6, S.sub.B1, S.sub.B2), to assist the robot (20) in navigating within the area. These sensors, during use, provide the robot with sensor information, such as in the form of sensor data. As also shown in FIG. 1, the sensor units (48A, 48B) may form part of a respective positioning systems (49A, 49B) provided by the robot (20). In the arrangement shown in FIG. 1, the first and second positioning systems (49A, 49B) each further include the processor (41), which is part of the control system (40) (though it will of course be understood that each positioning system (49A, 49B) could instead be provided with a dedicated processor, or the positioning systems could share a processor that is separate from the processor (41) of the control system (40)).; [0262] While this specific example involved the use of a vision system, the system could also be implemented using other local environment sensors. It may be beneficial that the sensors readings are unique in their vicinity on the reference trail and/or substantially repeatable (so if placed in the same position, the readings are always similar) and continuous (so that the sensing in a position close to the point where the reference readings were taken is close to that readings). Examples can be a radar/sonar/range-finder which sense the distance to the environment surrounding the robot or to some active beacons at that area, 3D camera, magnetic or electric field detectors etc.) in order to, for example, sense the distance to walls of the pool.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Witelson et al. such that it comprises a submersible and/or floating vehicle comprising a sonar sensor configured to provide an output, the aquatic installation state determination means being configured to determine an aquatic installation state as a function of the output provided by the sonar sensor.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Ovalle (‘325) or Witelson et al. (‘523) in view of Witelson et al. (US 2018/0266131).
Per claim 6, neither Ovalle nor Witelson (‘523) discloses the system comprising a water physical/chemical treatment device, configured to modify a water physical/chemical parameter as a function of the aquatic installation state determined.
Witelson et al. (‘131), also directed to an aquatic installation monitoring system (abstract, A pool maintenance system that includes a spectroscopic device that is configured to analyze a fluid of a pool.), discloses a water physical/chemical treatment device, configured to modify a water physical/chemical parameter as a function of an aquatic installation state determined ([0114] The communication of results to a process monitoring computer control or automation system is used to command operations of a variety of spectroscopic devices to better process and treat the fluid under analysis.
[0115] The results may include data on levels of Chlorine, Total Dissolved Salts (TDS), Turbidity, Phosphates, Temperature, pH, ORP, Flow Rate, Algae, Bacteria, circulated fluid flow rates in the filtering system, and any or all other physical, chemical and biological parameters or species. [0116] The communication of results may be interpreted for the goal of stabilizing and maintaining pool fluid quality and be sent to an automated regulation system of fluid that dispenses chemical compounds into the pool maintenance system.) in order to, for example keep water conditions within the aquatic installation safe for occupants of the aquatic installation.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of either Ovalle or Witelson et al. (523) such that it includes a water physical/chemical treatment device, configured to modify a water physical/chemical parameter as a function of the aquatic installation state determined in order to, for example keep water conditions within the aquatic installation safe for occupants of the aquatic installation.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson et al. (‘523).
Per claim 7, Witelson et al. do not disclose in which the water physical/chemical sensor and/or an external sensor is configured to measure a flow intensity from an inlet in the installation, the aquatic installation state determination means being configured to determine a pump flow efficiency as a function of the flow intensity. However Witelson et al. do disclose that the system comprises a pump flow sensor ([0078] x. Pump motor velocity/current sensors).
It is submitted that it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Witelson et al. such that it comprises the water physical/chemical sensor and/or an external sensor is configured to measure a flow intensity from an inlet in the installation, the aquatic installation state determination means being configured to determine a pump flow efficiency as a function of the flow intensity in order to, for example, determine if the pump is functioning properly of if the inlet id clogged by debris. Further, it is noted that applicant has not provided for the record (e.g., comparative test data) a proper showing of any new and unexpected result achieved by providing the recited configuration of the sensor.
Per claim 13, Witelson et al. disclose that the system may comprise a pH probe and an alkalinity device ([0040] The following are some sensors and detection and identification elements whose usage and incorporation is anticipated: a) proximity, range, tilt, motion, accelerometer, compass, gyroscope, GPS; b) rain, snow, temperature, ice, mud; c) ultrasonic; d) acoustic wave; e) infrared (IR); f) ultraviolet; g) multi-microphone; h) barometer; i) smoke, radon, radiation, CO2, carbon monoxide; j) pollen counter; k) video/imager—plus face recognition/detection, human body, pet, objects; l) lumen/ambient light; m) spectrum analyzer; n) PH; o) alkalinity;). Witelsen does not explicitly disclose which comprises an aquatic total alkalinity measurement device, comprising:
— a pH probe configured to measure pH at the boundary layer of a body of water, — a floating reference device in proximity of the pH probe, — a probe controller, configured to sequentially activate and deactivate, or connect and disconnect, the pH probe, — a pH measurement variation detection device, configured to detect a variation of pH measurement in a sequence of pH probe measurements, and — an aquatic total alkalinity value determination device, configured to determine an aquatic total alkalinity value of the body of water as a function of the pH measurement variation detected.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to provide the system such that it comprises an aquatic total alkalinity measurement device, comprising:
— a pH probe configured to measure pH at the boundary layer of a body of water, — a floating reference device in proximity of the pH probe, — a probe controller, configured to sequentially activate and deactivate, or connect and disconnect, the pH probe, — a pH measurement variation detection device, configured to detect a variation of pH measurement in a sequence of pH probe measurements, and — an aquatic total alkalinity value determination device, configured to determine an aquatic total alkalinity value of the body of water as a function of the pH measurement variation detected in order to, for example, facilitate providing a safe pH range of the water in the aquatic installation, depending on the anticipated pH fluctuations due to usage, weather conditions and chemical additives. Further, it is noted that applicant has not provided for the record (e.g., comparative test data) a proper showing of any new and unexpected result achieved by providing the recited alkalinity device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson et al. (‘523) in view of Bennett et al. (US 2020/0311227).
Per claim 11, Witelson et al. do not disclose in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of the presence of an animal in [[the]] water as a function of a graphical representation provided.
Bennett et al., also directed to an aquatic installation monitoring system (abstract, A pool cover system, with pool mobile units, to monitor a swimming pool and cover the pool when instructed. The pool cover system and the mobile units also monitor for safety, emergency and accident related events and undertake appropriate actions to provide care and protection for swimmers, family members and bystanders.), disclose an aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of a presence of an animal in water as a function of a graphical representation provided ([0034] Such submersible pool mobile unit 155 uses dimensioned 3D mapping to identify objects at the bottom of pools and can characterize them. The submersible pool mobile unit 155 also identifies humans or pets in need of assistance and call to alert a user.; [0040] The submersible pool mobile unit 155 is assembled and/or configured and reconfigured to carry a multitude of several different sensors. The following are some sensors and detection and identification elements whose usage and incorporation is anticipated:…k) video/imager—plus face recognition/detection, human body, pet, objects;) in order to, for example, provide information regarding drowned pets that may have fallen into the aquatic installation or may be in the process of drowning.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Witelson et al. such that it comprises in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of the presence of an animal in [[the]] water as a function of a graphical representation provided in order to, for example, provide information regarding drowned pets that may have fallen into the aquatic installation or may be in the process of drowning.
Per claim 12, Witelson et al. do not disclose in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of a movement pattern of the animal in the water as a function of a graphical representation provided.
Bennett et al. disclose in which the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of a movement pattern of the animal in the water as a function of a graphical representation provided ([0034] Such submersible pool mobile unit 155 uses dimensioned 3D mapping to identify objects at the bottom of pools and can characterize them. The submersible pool mobile unit 155 also identifies humans or pets in need of assistance and call to alert a user.; [0040] The submersible pool mobile unit 155 is assembled and/or configured and reconfigured to carry a multitude of several different sensors. The following are some sensors and detection and identification elements whose usage and incorporation is anticipated:…k) video/imager—plus face recognition/detection, human body, pet, objects;) in order to, for example, provide information regarding drowned pets that may have fallen into the aquatic installation or may be in the process of drowning.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Witelson et al. such that it comprises the aquatic installation state determination means is configured to determine a value representative of a movement pattern of the animal in the water as a function of a graphical representation provided in order to, for example, provide information regarding drowned pets that may have fallen into the aquatic installation or may be in the process of drowning.
Conclusion