DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed January 15, 2026. Applicant’s reply to the restriction/election requirement of November 20, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6, is acknowledged. Applicant’s elections of i) “starch glycolate” as the species of crosslinked polysaccharide, ii) “non-woven” as the species of woven state of the cellulosic polymer, iii) “hemostasis” as the species of what the method of use must achieve, iv) “the powder of claim 1” as the species of the composition that must be applied in the method to achieve hemostasis or tissue sealing, and v) “dissolving the aldehyde functionalized component in a solution of CHES” as the species of the order of combining the aldehyde functionalized component and CHES are all also acknowledged. The Examiner has determined that claims 1-6 read on the elected subject matter.
Accordingly, claims 7-19 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 15, 2026. Claims 1-6 are currently under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
1. The figure is not in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1), which states, in part, that “where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear”.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-6 are objected to because of the following:
i) In claims 1 and 2, the preamble should have a comma between “flowable” and “tissue adhesive”; and there should be a dash between “tissue” and “adhesive”. It is further noted that the preamble of claims 3-6 is different, as “tissue adhesive” has been removed.
ii) In claims 2-6, the preamble should begin with “The flowable”, not “A flowable”.
iii) Claim 2 is in improper Markush format. Applicant is advised that a proper Markush claim has the general format “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C”, not “selected from the group consisting of A and B and C”.
iv) In claim 3, the expression “the polysaccharide are” is in improper English grammatical form.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons:
1. Claim 1 is directed to a flowable “powder material” that comprises the recited constituents. A “powder material” appears to be broader in scope and more nuanced that simply a “powder”. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of a “powder material”. For example, is a “powder material” limited exclusively to a powder only, i.e. the claimed composition as a whole is necessarily a powder? Or, rather, can a “powder material” be in the form of e.g. a liquid suspension, or e.g. a paste, which contains as a constituent element therein a powder, such as the crosslinked polysaccharide powder element of (a)? Or, alternatively, can a “powder material” be in any form, e.g. a liquid, or e.g. a solid block, that can be made into a powder, i.e. by physical or chemical means?
2. Claim 1 requires that the composition contains “crosslinked polysaccharides”, and it is noted that in dependent claims, the crosslinked polysaccharide is specifically e.g. starch glycolate, but then stipulates that the polysaccharide must undergo a chemical reaction, specifically an oxidation, to convert at least a portion of the anhydroglucose units to aldehydes. It would appear that if the polysaccharide, such as starch glycolate, undergoes a chemical reaction, the product is no longer a polysaccharide, e.g. no longer starch glycolate, but rather a different chemical compound. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
Claims 2-6 are indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miksa et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2007/0104660), in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2018/0117019), and Laas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0352982).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a flowable “powder material” comprising starch glycolate, in which at least a portion of the anhydroglucose units have been oxidized to form aldehydes, and a zwitterionic buffer; wherein the said oxidation reaction is via a periodate salt.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Miksa et al. disclose a composition that can be in the form of a powder or a “powder material” comprising i) particles containing bioadhesive polymers, and ii) a buffer to maintain pH within 4.5-10; wherein the bioadhesive polymer can be e.g. a carboxymethyl starch, and wherein the bioadhesive polymer can be oxidized by e.g. a periodate salt to form e.g. aldehyde (i.e. carbonyl) functional groups (abstract; paragraphs 0010, 0021, 0022, 0038, 0039, 0043, 0044, 0055, 0056, 0060, 0063, 0064, 0069).
Wang et al. disclose a composition that can be in the form of a powder or a “powder material” comprising e.g. a bioadhesive polymer, and that can further comprise e.g. a buffer to maintain pH within 3-9; wherein the bioadhesive polymer can be sodium starch glycolate (i.e. a crosslinked carboxymethyl starch), and the buffer can be e.g. a TRIS buffer (i.e. a zwitterionic buffer) (see e.g. 0013, 0029, 0030, 0032).
Laas et al. disclose a composition that can be in the form of e.g. a powder comprising sodium starch glycolate, wherein the particles comprising sodium starch glycolate are in the form of a fine, flowable powder (see e.g. abstract; paragraphs 0016, 0052)
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Miksa et al. do not explicitly disclose that the polysaccharide is sodium starch glycolate, that the buffer is a zwitterionic buffer, and that the powder is “flowable”. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Wang et al. and Laas et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Miksa et al., Wang et al., and Laas et al., outlined supra, to devise the claimed composition.
Miksa et al. disclose a composition that can be in the form of a powder or a “powder material” comprising i) particles containing bioadhesive polymers, and ii) a buffer to maintain pH within 4.5-10; wherein the bioadhesive polymer can be e.g. a carboxymethyl starch, wherein the bioadhesive polymer can be oxidized by e.g. a periodate salt to form e.g. aldehyde (i.e. carbonyl) functional groups, and wherein the composition is intended for application in tissue adhesion. Since Wang et al. disclose that for a composition intended for tissue adhesion, which can be in the form of a powder or a “powder material”, sodium starch glycolate (i.e. a crosslinked carboxymethyl starch) is a suitable bioadhesive polymer, and a TRIS buffer (i.e. a zwitterionic buffer) is a suitable buffer for maintaining the pH within 3-9; and since Laas et al. disclose that a powder comprising sodium starch glycolate can be in the form of a fine, flowable powder; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ starch glycolate as the bioadhesive polymer, and a TRIS buffer as the buffer in the Miksa et al. composition, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting powder comprising sodium starch glycolate will be “flowable” and that the resulting composition will successfully adhere to tissues.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617