Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al. (US 2017/0255189) (hereinafter Barton) in view of Caira et al. (US 11638313) (hereinafter Caira).
Regarding claim 1, Barton teaches a method for commissioning a sensor, the method comprising:
sending a sleep mode signal (low-power/standby mode) to control means (microcontroller) (52) of the sensor (sensors) (54, 66,64) to switch the sensor in a sleep mode (see paragraph 0087),
installing the sensor (sensors) (54, 66,64) in sleep mode in an area in which the sensor measures a value (see paragraph 0004-0007, 0024, 0035, 0057, 0067, 0071 and 0087),
sending a start signal (wake-up signal) to the control means (microprocessor) (52) of the sensor (sensors) (54, 66, 67) when the sensor in sleep mode is installed in the area (see paragraph 0004-0007, 0022, 0024, 0035, 0067, 0071 and 0087), and
starting the sensor (sensors) (54, 66, 67) at the reception of the start signal (wake-up signal) by the control means (microprocessor) (52) of the sensor (see paragraphs 0022, 0053 and 0086-0088). Barton further teaches establishing a wireless communication protocol including Bluetooth, ZigBee or over a cellular network for the sensors to transmit information (see paragraph 0089).
However, Barton does not explicitly teach storing connection parameters in a memory of the sensor, installing the sensor in sleep mode in an area in which the sensor measures a value when the connection parameters are stored in the memory of the sensor.
Caira teaches storing connection parameters in a memory (memory) (104) of the sensor (computing device) (see column 4, lines 34-55) (Note: the combination of Barton in view of Caira will provide storing connection parameters in a memory of the sensor, installing the sensor in sleep mode in an area in which the sensor measures a value when the connection parameters are stored in the memory of the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Barton with storing connection parameters in a memory of the sensor as taught by Caira to provide storing connection parameters in a memory of the sensor, installing the sensor in sleep mode in an area in which the sensor measures a value when the connection parameters are stored in the memory of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to eliminate unwanted wireless connection with the sensors.
Regarding claim 2, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Barton further teaches wherein sending a start signal (wake-up signal) to the control means (microprocessor) (52) of the sensor comprises tagging (unique identifier) the sensor in sleep mode with a device (system to monitor a process or equipment) (see paragraph 0029, 0041-0042, 0046 and 0068-0071).
Regarding claim 7, Barton teaches a sensor comprising:
a memory (memory) (see paragraph 0085),
a control means (microcontroller) (52) configured to:
switch the sensor in a sleep mode (low-power/standby mode) and when receiving a sleep mode signal (low-power/standby mode) (see paragraph 0004-0007, 0024, 0035, 0057, 0067, 0071 and 0087), and starting the sensor (sensors) (54, 66, 67) at the reception of the start signal (wake-up signal) by the control means (microprocessor) (52) of the sensor (see paragraphs 0022, 0053 and 0086-0088). Barton further teaches establishing a wireless communication protocol including Bluetooth, ZigBee or over a cellular network for the sensors to transmit information (see paragraph 0089).
However, Barton does not explicitly teach a control means configured to: store in the memory connection parameters, switch the sensor in a sleep mode when connection parameters are stored in the memory.
Caira teaches a control means (processor) (106) configured to: store connection parameters in a memory (memory) (104) of the sensor (computing device) (see column 4, lines 34-55) (Note: the combination of Barton in view of Caira will provide a control means configured to: store in the memory connection parameters, switch the sensor in a sleep mode when connection parameters are stored in the memory).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control means as taught by Barton being configured to: store in the memory connection parameters as taught by Caira to provide a control means configured to: store in the memory connection parameters, switch the sensor in a sleep mode when connection parameters are stored in the memory. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to eliminate unwanted wireless connection with the sensors.
Regarding claim 8, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches communication means (communications interface) (818) configured to receive and deliver to the control means (processor) (106) the connection parameters, the sleep mode signal, and the start signal (see Caira; column 4, line 14 through column 5, line 11 and column 12, lines 16-36).
Regarding claim 9. Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches communication means (communications interface) (818) are configured to communicate with a NFC device delivering the start signal (see Caira; column 12, lines 16-36).
Regarding claim 11, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 7, Barton further teaches the sensor is ATEX certified (ATEX rated) (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 12, Barton in view of Caira teaches further teaches an area comprising a sensor according to claim 7 (see Barton, paragraph 0071).
Claims 3-6, 10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton in view of Caira in further in view of Kagan et al. (US 2013/0205022) (hereinafter Kagan)
Regarding claim 3, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches wherein starting the sensor comprises: checking by the control means (processors) (106) if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) of the sensor, and if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) establishing a connection between the control means (processor) (106) of the sensor and transferring data via a communication network (see Caira, column 4, lines 34-67).
However, Barton in view of Caira does not explicitly teach a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor.
Kagan teaches a gateway (“Field Programmable Gate Array 80 which performs a number of functions, including, but not limited to, acting as a communications gateway” see paragraph 0042) to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor (sensors) (12) (see paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by the prior combination with a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor as taught by Kagan to establish a connection between the control means of the sensor and a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a fast, secure and reliable way to transfer the measurement data as known in the art.
Regarding claim 4, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 3, Barton further teaches the area is an ATEX area (explosive environments), the sensor being ATEX certified (ATEX rated) (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 5, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein starting the sensor comprises: checking by the control means (processors) (106) if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) of the sensor, and if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) establishing a connection between the control means (processor) (106) of the sensor and transferring data via a communication network (see Caira, column 4, lines 34-67).
However, Barton in view of Caira does not explicitly teach a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor.
Kagan teaches a gateway (“Field Programmable Gate Array 80 which performs a number of functions, including, but not limited to, acting as a communications gateway” see paragraph 0042) to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor (sensors) (12) (see paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by the prior combination with a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor as taught by Kagan to establish a connection between the control means of the sensor and a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a fast, secure and reliable way to transfer the measurement data as known in the art.
Regarding claim 6, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Barton further teaches the area is an ATEX area (explosive environments), the sensor being ATEX certified (ATEX rated) (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 10, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches the control means (processor) (106) are configured during starting of the sensor to: check if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) of the sensor, and if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) establishing a connection between the control means (processor) (106) of the sensor and transferring data via a communication network (see Caira, column 4, lines 34-67).
However, Barton in view of Caira does not explicitly teach a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor.
Kagan teaches a gateway (“Field Programmable Gate Array 80 which performs a number of functions, including, but not limited to, acting as a communications gateway” see paragraph 0042) to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor (sensors) (12) (see paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control means as taught by the prior combination with a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor as taught by Kagan and establishing a connection between the control means of the sensor and a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a fast, secure and reliable way to transfer the measurement data as known in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches the control means (processor) (106) are configured during starting of the sensor to: check if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) of the sensor, and if the connection parameters are saved in the memory (memory) (104), establishing a connection between the control means (processor) (106) of the sensor and transferring data via a communication network (see Caira, column 4, lines 34-67).
However, Barton in view of Caira does not explicitly teach a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor.
Kagan teaches a gateway (“Field Programmable Gate Array 80 which performs a number of functions, including, but not limited to, acting as a communications gateway” see paragraph 0042) to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor (sensors) (12) (see paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control means as taught by the prior combination with a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor as taught by Kagan and establishing a connection between the control means of the sensor and a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a fast, secure and reliable way to transfer the measurement data as known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Barton in view of Caira and Kagan teaches all the limitations of claim 13, Barton further teaches the sensor is ATEX certified (ATEX rated) (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 15, Barton in view of Caira and Kagan teaches further teaches an area comprising a sensor according to claim 13 (see Barton, paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Barton in view of Caira teaches all the limitations of claim 9, and further teaches the control means (processor) (106) are configured during starting of the sensor to: check if the connection parameters are stored in the memory (memory) (104) of the sensor, and if the connection parameters are saved in the memory (memory) (104), establishing a connection between the control means (processor) (106) of the sensor and transferring data via a communication network (see Caira, column 4, lines 34-67).
However, Barton in view of Caira does not explicitly teach a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor.
Kagan teaches a gateway (“Field Programmable Gate Array 80 which performs a number of functions, including, but not limited to, acting as a communications gateway” see paragraph 0042) to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor (sensors) (12) (see paragraph 0042).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control means as taught by the prior combination with a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor as taught by Kagan and establishing a connection between the control means of the sensor and a gateway to transfer measurement measured by measurement means of the sensor. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a fast, secure and reliable way to transfer the measurement data as known in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Barton in view of Caira and Kagan teaches all the limitations of claim 16, Barton further teaches the sensor is ATEX certified (ATEX rated) (see paragraph 0104).
Regarding claim 18, Barton in view of Caira and Kagan teaches further teaches an area comprising a sensor according to claim 16 (see Barton, paragraph 0071).
Conclusion
/JANICE M SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855