DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, Claims 2-5 in the reply filed on 02 July 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 1 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
Due to a lack of signature, the Information Disclosure Statement filed 25 July 2023 has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 9.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “P” has been used to designate both a metal wire and a plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaenson et al (20080148680).
In regards to Claim 2, Jaenson teaches a metal braided net comprising:
a plurality of wires intertwined with each other (Figure 7) to form a plurality of intertwining portions (Detail 20), wherein the metal braided net has an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface (Figure 3, top and bottom); and
a plurality of bending portions (Details 18) formed on the plurality of wires, wherein the plurality of bending portions protrudes from at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the metal braided net (Figure 3).
In regards to Claim 3, Jaenson teaches the plurality of bending portions is directly formed on the plurality of wires by at least one of pressing and bending (Figure 3 shows Detail 18 is bent).
In regards to Claim 4, Jaenson teaches each of the plurality of bending portions is formed between two adjacent intertwining portions (Figure 7).
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coffey (4920716).
In regards to Claim 2, Coffey teaches a metal braided net comprising:
a plurality of wires intertwined with each other (Figures 3, 5) to form a plurality of intertwining portions (at Details 20), wherein the metal braided net has an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface (Figure 3, left and right of Detail 18); and
a plurality of bending portions (Details 20) formed on the plurality of wires, wherein the plurality of bending portions protrudes from at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the metal braided net (Figures 3, 5).
In regards to Claim 3, Coffey teaches the plurality of bending portions is directly formed on the plurality of wires by at least one of pressing and bending (Figure 3 shows the bending portions are bent).
In regards to Claim 5, Coffey teaches the plurality of bending portions is formed on the intertwining portions (Figure 5 shows the bending portions are on Details 20).
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferraiolo (11623268).
In regards to Claim 2, Ferraiolo teaches a metal braided net comprising:
a plurality of wires intertwined with each other (Figure 3) to form a plurality of intertwining portions (at Details 7, 7ʹ), wherein the metal braided net has an upper surface and a lower surface opposite to the upper surface (Figure 3, front and back); and
a plurality of bending portions (7ʹ) formed on the plurality of wires, wherein the plurality of bending portions protrudes from at least one of the upper surface and the lower surface of the metal braided net (Details 7ʹ would protrude from the surface higher than Details 7 due to the presence of Detail 5, making Detail 7ʹ wider in diameter).
In regards to Claim 3, Ferraiolo teaches the plurality of bending portions is directly formed on the plurality of wires by at least one of pressing and bending (Figure 3 shows Detail 7ʹ is bent).
In regards to Claim 5, Ferraiolo teaches the plurality of bending portions is formed on the intertwining portions (Figure 3 shows Detail 7ʹ is bent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See of Record.
Specifically, at least Chen (20140116568) Figure 12, Ferraiolo (8646491) Figure 2, Baldwin (4081159) Figure 7, and Hansen (3019560) Figures 3 and 5 teach elements similar to those as currently claimed.
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732