DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the specification are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1-5 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1-5 have rendered the previous claim objections moot. Therefore, the claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 1-5 have rendered the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) moot. Therefore, the claim rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s addition of new claims 6 and 7 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Currently claims 6 and 7 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the primary reference of Modglin (US 2014/0221893 A1), or teaching references Vangeloff (US 10,413,438 B1), or Safko et al. (US 2016/0045355 A1) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second sets of waist belts (i.e. two pluralities of waist belts), the first and second sets of shoulder straps (i.e. two pluralities of shoulder straps), the first set of shoulder straps passing through the two top perforations of the cross bib, and the second set of shoulder straps passing through the two bottom perforations of the cross bib must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not provide antecedent support for the limitations of the first set of shoulder straps passing through the two top perforations of the cross bib, and the second set of shoulder straps passing through the two bottom perforations of the cross bib. The specification currently recites in [0018] “the shoulder straps 4 are configured to be cross threaded within the perforations of the cross bib 5”. Thereby implying that there are two shoulder straps which are cross threaded within the cross bib (i.e. passing from an upper perforation on a first side to a lower perforation on a second side), not multiple sets of straps passing through the top and bottom perforations respectively as currently recited in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the first set of shoulder straps passing through the two top perforations of the cross bib, and the second set of shoulder straps passing through the two bottom perforations of the cross bib”. As discussed above, the specification does not provide support for this specific configuration. Therefore, the limitation is considered to be new matter.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being dependent on a rejected claim, and therefore contains the same offending limitaitons.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “a first set of waist belts; a second set of waist belts”. This limitation is held to be unclear in view of Applicant’s disclosure, as it can be seen in the figures that there are only first and second waist belts (3), and not a first set of waist belts and a second set of waist belts which implies the presence of two pluralities of waist belts. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret these limitations as “a first waist belt”, and “a second waist belt”.
Claim 6 recites the limitations “a first set of shoulder straps; a second set of shoulder straps”. This limitation is held to be unclear in view of Applicant’s disclosure, as it can be seen in the figures that there are only first and second shoulder straps (4), and not a first set of shoulder straps; a second set of shoulder straps which implies the presence of two pluralities of shoulder straps. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret these limitations as “a first shoulder strap”, and “a second shoulder strap”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the four corners of the cross bib" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “a respective corner of the cross bib”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the second set of shoulder straps includes second hook-and-loop fasteners at both ends”. This limitation is held to be unclear in view of the “a first set of shoulder straps; a second set of shoulder straps” as discussed above. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “wherein the first and second shoulder straps each includes second hook-and-loop fasteners at a distal end”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the first set of shoulder
straps is configured to pass through the two upper perforations of the cross bib; wherein the second set of shoulder straps is configured to pass through the two lower perforations of the cross bib”. This limitation is held to be unclear in view of Applicant’s specification which does not disclose such a configuration of a first set of shoulder straps extending through the upper perforations of the cross bib, and a second set of shoulder straps extending through the lower perforations of the cross bib”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as best understood.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the two upper perforations" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “a first and a second upper perforation of the four perforations disposed at the respective corners of the cross bib”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the two lower perforations" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “a first and a second lower perforation of the four perforations disposed at the respective corners of the cross bib”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the second set of shoulder straps is configured to be secured to the first and second sets of waist belts through the connection of the first hook-and-loop fasteners and the second hook- and-loop fasteners”. This limitation is unclear for the reasons regarding the multiple sets of waist belts, and shoulder straps as discussed above. For the purpose of examination, Examiner will interpret this limitation as “wherein the distal ends of the first and second shoulder straps are configured to be secured to the first and second waist belts through the connection of the first hook-and-loop fasteners and the second hook- and-loop fasteners”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being dependent from claim 6, and therefore containing the same offending limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamasa et al. (US 5,560,046) (hereinafter Iwamasa) in view of Modglin (US 2014/0221893 A1) and Yip et al. (US 2022/0117769 A1) (hereinafter Yip).
In regards to claim 6 (see 112b interpretations above), Iwamasa discloses an adjustable back orthopedic belt (10; see [col 2 ln 64-67]; see figure 1), comprising: an orthopedic belt body (12; see [col 2 ln 64-67]; see figure 1) , the orthopedic belt body (12) comprising:
a spinal fixation part (16; see [col 3 ln 1-5; see figure 1);
a first set of waist belts (left 18; see [col 3 ln 1-5; see figure 1);
a second set of waist belts (right 18; see [col 3 ln 1-5; see figure 1);
a first set of shoulder straps (first 58; see [col 5 ln 30-35]; see figure 1); and
a second set of shoulder straps (second 58; see [col 5 ln 30-35]; see figure 1);
wherein the first set of waist belts and the second set of waist belts (left and right 18) include first hook-and-loop fasteners (34; see [col 5 ln 45-50]; see figure 1);
wherein the first set of waist belts (left 18) is configured to be attached to a left side of the spinal fixation part (16; see figure 1);
wherein the second set of waist belts (right 18) is configured to be attached to a right side of the spinal fixation part (16; see figure 1);
wherein the second set of shoulder straps (see 112b interpretation above; first and second 58) includes second hook-and-loop fasteners (64 of first and second 58; see [col 5 ln 40-45]; see figure 1) at both ends (66 of first and second 58; see [col 5 ln 40-45]; see figure 1);
wherein the second set of shoulder straps (66 of first and second 58; see [col 5 ln 40-45]; see figure 1) is configured to be secured to the first and second sets of waist belts (left and right 18) through the connection of the first hook-and-loop fasteners (34) and the second hook- and-loop fasteners (64; see [col 5 ln 40-45]);
and wherein a fixing band (40; see [col 4 ln 10-15]; see figure 1) is disposed at a vertical center of the spinal fixation part (12; see figure 1), a first side and a second side of the fixing band (left and right sides of 40) being respectively configured to connect to a first elastic band and a second elastic band (left and right 46; see [col 4 ln 20-25]; see figure 1).
Iwamasa does not disclose the adjustable back orthopedic belt is a knob-adjustable back orthopedic belt;
wherein a top portion of the spinal fixation part includes a cross bib, the cross bib includes four perforations disposed at the four corners of the cross bib;
wherein the first set of shoulder straps is configured to pass through the two upper perforations of the cross bib;
wherein the second set of shoulder straps is configured to pass through the two lower perforations of the cross bib;
wherein the first and second sets of waist belts include knobs adjacent the spinal fixation part, and the knobs are wrapped with a string; and
distal ends of the first and second elastic bands being configured to connect to the string
However, Modglin teaches an analogous adjustable back orthopedic belt (10; see [0023]; see figure 1) which comprises an analogous orthopedic belt body (12; see [0023]; see figure 1), first and second waist belts (26 and 28; see [0024]; see figure 5), spinal fixation part (32; see [0025]; see figure 5), and first and second elastic bands (elastic fabric of 26 and 28; see [0025]; see figure 6) attached to the spinal fixation part (32; see figure 3); wherein the adjustable back orthopedic belt (10) is a knob-adjustable back orthopedic belt (10 is adjustable via 20; see [0023]);
wherein the first and second sets of waist belts (26 and 28) include knobs (20) adjacent the spinal fixation part (32), and the knobs (20) are wrapped with a string (42); and
distal ends of the first and second elastic bands (distal ends of elastic fabric of 26 and 28) being configured to connect to the string (42; see figure 6) for the purpose of providing an adjustment mechanism to tighten or loosen the orthopedic belt body to promote a desired adjustment (see [0023])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the orthopedic belt as disclosed by Iwamasa and to have substituted the hook and loop adjustment mechanism of the first and second elastic bands for the knob and cable tensioning system as taught by Modglin in order to have provided an improved orthopedic belt that would add the benefit of providing an adjustment mechanism to tighten or loosen the orthopedic belt body to promote a desired adjustment (see [0023]) which is easier to incrementally adjust than the unfastening and refastening adjustment method of hook and loop material.
Furthermore, such a modification is held to be obvious since it has been held that “(w)here a claimed improvement on a device or apparatus is no more than "the simple substitution of one known element for another or the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Accordingly, Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the combination of those elements yields predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. ___, ___, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007). In the instant case the modification of a hook and loop adjustment mechanism of Iwamasa for that of a cable tensioning adjustment mechanism as taught by Modglin results in the predictable results of adjusting the elastic bands and does not change the respective functions of the elastic bands of Iwamasa.
Iwamasa as now modified by Modglin still does not disclose wherein a top portion of the spinal fixation part includes a cross bib, the cross bib includes four perforations disposed at the four corners of the cross bib;
wherein the first set of shoulder straps is configured to pass through the two upper perforations of the cross bib;
wherein the second set of shoulder straps is configured to pass through the two lower perforations of the cross bib;
However, Yip teaches an analogous spinal correction device (100; see [0070]; see figure 1a) comprising an analogous orthopedic belt body (120; see [0070]; see figure 1a) comprising a spinal fixation part (portion of 120 between 122; see [0072]; see figure 1c), a first set of shoulder straps (1512 and 1522; see [0075]; see figure 1f), and a second set of shoulder straps (151 and 152; see [0075]; see figure 1f)); wherein a top portion of the spinal fixation part (top portion of 120 between 122) includes a cross bib (140; see [0074]; see figure 1e), the cross bib (140) includes four perforations (left and right 141, 142, and 143) disposed at the four corners of the cross bib (140; see figure 1e);
wherein the first set of shoulder straps (1512 and 1522) is configured to pass through the two upper perforations (left and right 141) of the cross bib (140; see figure 1g);
wherein the second set of shoulder straps (151 and 152) is configured to pass through the two lower perforations (left and right 142 and 143) of the cross bib (140; see figure 1g) for the purpose of providing a rigid cross bib which applies a force to the user’s back to press the back into a correct alignment of the spine when the shoulder straps are fastened (see [0076]) and an easy adjustment mechanism of the shoulder straps to fix the orthopedic device in place while allowing for adjustment based on a user’s comfort and supportive needs (see [0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shoulder straps and the top of the spinal fixation part as disclosed by Iwamasa as now modified by Modglin and to have included the cross-bib and first and second sets of shoulder straps as taught by Yip in order to have provided an improved orthopedic belt that would add the benefit of providing a rigid cross bib which applies a force to the user’s back to press the back into a correct alignment of the spine when the shoulder straps are fastened (see [0076]) and an easy adjustment mechanism of the shoulder straps to fix the orthopedic device in place while allowing for adjustment based on a user’s comfort and supportive needs (see [0078]).
In regards to claim 7, Iwamasa as now modified by Modglin and Yip discloses the invention as discussed above.
Iwamasa as now modified by Yip further discloses wherein the cross bib (140 of Yip) has a diamond-shaped structure (see Yip figure 1e that 140 has an inverted diamond-shaped structure; note figure 1e of Yip and image of a “diamond shape” found below).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3786