Status of Claims
The amendments to claims 1-4 the cancellation of claim 5, filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claims 1-4 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-4 are currently under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver et al. (WO2009/140165) in view of Leeming et al. (2010/0168634).
Weaver et al. discloses a knob adjustable elastic wrist guard (see figures 1-7 and as explained in page 2 lines 5-10 that this device can utilized for supporting of wrist as well and page lines 9-13 discloses sheet of material is elastic), comprising a guard body (10) and a knob adjustable elastic assembly (50); wherein the guard body (10) consists of a sheath (12), a bib portion (42) and an elastic band (30), the bib portion (42) is configured to locate at a middle of a rear side of the sheath (12), the elastic band (30) is configured to detachably thread on the bib portion (42), a threading buckle (6) is provided at a left end of the elastic band (30), and the knob adjustable elastic assembly (50) is configured to locate at a front side of the sheath (12);the knob adjustable elastic assembly (50) comprises a knob (52), threading lugs (58) and a traction wire (56), the knob (52) is configured to set on a right side surface of the sheath (12), the threading lugs (58) are configured to uniformly set at four corners of the front side of the sheath (12), the traction wire (56) is configured to wind on the knob (52), and the traction wire (56) is configured to cross threading the threading lugs (58) and the threading buckle (60). Weaver et al. substantially discloses the invention, please see the rejection above; however, Weaver et al. does not disclose wherein the sheath is made of an antibacterial elastic fabric. However, Leeming et al. teaches a multi directional stretch tubular bandages having made of an antibacterial/antimicrobial properties elastic material [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Weaver et al. to use antimicrobial elastic material as taught by Leeming et al. to provide device with antimicrobial/ antibacterial properties.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver et al. and Leeming et al. further in view of Hurd et al. (9,913,745).
Weaver et al. and Leeming et al. substantially discloses the invention, please see the rejection above and further Weaver et al. discloses wherein there are four sets of the threading lugs (58 and see figures 1-9);wherein the bib portion (42) is configured as an I-shape construction (see figures 1-9); however, Weaver et al. and Leeming et al. specifically do not disclose donning holes are provided on a rear side of the sheath, and the donning holes are configured to locate on two top sides of the rear side of the sheath. However, Hurd et al. teaches an ankle and foot support system of an analogous art having holes (826 and 827) on the two top sides of the sheath (see figures 8-9).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Weaver et al. to have holes as taught by Hurd et al. for ventilation allowing humidity trapped to escape.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant arguments that device of Weaver et al. primarily intended for fixation and treatment of injuries such as sprains and fractures, allowing the joint to rest and thereby reducing inflammation and is not suitable for use during normal daily activities such as brisk walking, and certainly cannot be worn during moderately intense sports activities; to the argument the examiner graciously disagrees and point out that the instant application as described in specification is not limiting to certain activities and matter of fact it does not mention that it can be used for any activity like brisk walking and intense sport activities. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive and further the device of Weaver et al. can be used for activities as argued and also Weaver’s device does not restrict use of body part while being used. In response to applicant's argument that Weaver et al. primarily intended for fixation and treatment of injuries such as sprains and fractures, allowing the joint to rest and thereby reducing inflammation and is not suitable for use during normal daily activities such as brisk walking, and certainly cannot be worn during moderately intense sports activities, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, the counsel argues that the invention of Hurd does not disclose the limitation that the sheath is made of antibacterial elastic fabric; to the argument the examiner would like to point out that Hurd is not relied upon teaching of antibacterial fabric teaching Leeming et al. was relied upon teaching of antibacterial fabric teaching as mentioned above; therefore, the argument is not persuasive and moot in view of rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARLA R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786