DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0219711) in view of Lys et al. (WO 2019/204805).
Regarding claim 3, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) an integrated sensor assembly (see par. [0025]) comprising:
a housing 200 having a rectangular shape (as shown in Fig. 3), a front side having a length (l) and width (w) and including a plurality of openings (as shown in Fig. 3), and a thickness (t) (as shown in Fig. 3);
an infrared thermal sensor 220 (see pars. [0067] and [0069]) disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a first opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4);
a time-of-flight proximity sensor 210 [0064] disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4); and
a color light sensor (can include a physiology sensor which can be color wavelengths: [0065]-[0066]), disposed in the housing and aligned with the second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4), to respectively sense at least red light, green light, and blue light (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]),
wherein the integrated sensor assembly does not include a narrowband irradiator (i.e. the light source can be natural light or from a broad spectrum: [0057]) to facilitate multispectral imaging of reflected or emitted radiation from at least one object in response to irradiation by the narrowband irradiator (i.e. the sensor can sense light from a narrow band: [0056]).
Redden does not disclose that the thickness is significantly less than the length or the width of the front side.
However, such a modification would be merely a change in size/proportion of the device, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the thickness is significantly less than the length or the width of the front side.
Redden also does not disclose the housing further includes a backside opposite the front side; and the back side includes at least one connector configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment.
Lys discloses (Figs. 16A-F) the housing 3180 further includes a backside opposite the front side (as shown in Figs. 16A-F); and the back side includes at least one connector 3170 [0143]) configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector 3170 with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment (see pars. [0074], [0101] and [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the housing further includes a backside opposite the front side; and the back side includes at least one connector configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 2, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the assembly does not include a camera (i.e. Redden discloses a wide variety of alternatives, some of which do not include a camera: see pars. [0058]-[0062] and [0065]).
Regarding claim 4, Redden’s modified device is applied as above, but does not disclose at least one of the integrated sensor assembly or the lighting fixture includes at least one processor to receive at least one sensor signal output by at least one of the infrared thermal sensor, the time-of-flight proximity sensor or the color light sensor; and the at least one processor changes a spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal.
Lys discloses (Figs. 16A-F) at least one of the integrated sensor assembly or the lighting fixture includes at least one processor 90 [0088] to receive at least one sensor signal output by at least one of the infrared thermal sensor, the time-of-flight proximity sensor or the color light sensor (see par. [0088] and in combination with the sensors of Redden); and the at least one processor 90 changes a spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal (see pars. [0088] and [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Redden’s device so that at least one of the integrated sensor assembly or the lighting fixture includes at least one processor to receive at least one sensor signal output by at least one of the infrared thermal sensor, the time-of-flight proximity sensor or the color light sensor; and the at least one processor changes a spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claims 8 and 22 (see the rejection of claim 20 under Redden in view of Lys, below), Redden is applied as above, but does not disclose the lighting fixture includes at least two LED boards to generate the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR); and the integrated sensor assembly is disposed between respective LED boards of the at least two LED boards.
Lys discloses (Figs. 6-7 and 18) the lighting fixture includes at least two LED boards 400A-C (see pars. [0105] and [0109]) to generate the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) – (see pars. [0074], [0101] and [0143]); and the integrated sensor assembly 3100 is disposed between respective LED boards of the at least two LED boards (as shown in Fig. 18; [0154]-[0155]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the lighting fixture includes at least two LED boards to generate the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR); and the integrated sensor assembly is disposed between respective LED boards of the at least two LED boards, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 20, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) an integrated sensor assembly (see par. [0025]) comprising:
a housing 200 having a rectangular shape (as shown in Fig. 3), a front side including a plurality of openings (as shown in Fig. 3);
an infrared thermal sensor 220 (see pars. [0067] and [0069]) disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a first opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4);
a time-of-flight proximity sensor 210 [0064] disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4); and
a color light sensor (can include a physiology sensor which can be color wavelengths: [0065]-[0066]), disposed in the housing and aligned with the second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4), to respectively sense at least red light, green light, and blue light (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]), broadband visible light between 400 nanometers to 700 nanometers [0069], and near infrared light between 700 nanometers and 1000 nanometers [0069],
wherein the integrated sensor assembly does not include a narrowband irradiator (i.e. the light source can be natural light or from a broad spectrum: [0057]) to facilitate multispectral imaging of reflected or emitted radiation from at least one object in response to irradiation by the narrowband irradiator (i.e. the sensor can sense light from a narrow band: [0056]).
Redden does not disclose the infrared thermal sensor including a two-dimensional infrared sensor array having fewer than 200 pixels.
Lys discloses the infrared thermal sensor including a two-dimensional infrared sensor array [0148] (and also discloses an embodiment where the IR sensor is a single pixel sensor; [0148]), and discloses that the number of pixels in the array is a results-effective variable that can be optimized to discern temperature gradients within a single plant or between neighboring plants (par. [0148]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the infrared thermal sensor includes a two-dimensional infrared sensor array having fewer than 200 pixels, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (i.e. the thermal sensor of Lys for that of Redden) – see MPEP 2143(I)(B); and would also be a routine optimization of the thermal sensor array – see MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 21, Redden is applied as above, but does not disclose the housing further includes a backside opposite the front side; and the back side includes at least one connector configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment.
Lys discloses (Figs. 16A-F) the housing 3180 further includes a backside opposite the front side (as shown in Figs. 16A-F); and the back side includes at least one connector 3170 [0143]) configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector 3170 with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment (see pars. [0074], [0101] and [0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the housing further includes a backside opposite the front side; and the back side includes at least one connector configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0219711) in view of Lys et al. (WO 2019/204805), and further in view of Petrocy et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0356894).
Regarding claims 5-7, Redden is applied as above, but does not disclose the lighting fixture includes at least two individually controllable LED boards to generate the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR); the at least one processor controls at least one of the first LED board or the second LED board to change the spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal; and the at least one processor controls at least one of the first LED board, the second LED board, or the third LED board to change the spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal.
Lys discloses (Figs. 16A-F) the lighting fixture includes at least two LED boards 400A-C (see pars. [0105] and [0109]) to generate the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) – (see pars. [0074], [0101] and [0143]); the at least one processor controls at least one of the first LED board or the second LED board to change the spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture (see pars. [0153] and [0157]) based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal (see pars. [0153] and [0157]); and the at least one processor controls at least one of the first LED board, the second LED board, or the third LED board to change the spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture (see pars. [0153] and [0157]) based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal (see pars. [0153] and [0157]). Lys also discloses that the LEDs emit light at particular wavelengths “such that in combination, the LED module 400 irradiates plants with light at multiple wavelengths tailored to improve various aspects related to the growth of plants” – [0105].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that the housing further includes a backside opposite the front side; and the back side includes at least one connector configured to facilitate mating electrical engagement of the at least one connector with a complimentary connector of a lighting fixture that generates photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) for a controlled horticultural environment; and at least one of the integrated sensor assembly or the lighting fixture includes at least one processor to receive at least one sensor signal output by at least one of the infrared thermal sensor, the time-of-flight proximity sensor or the color light sensor; and the at least one processor changes a spectral power distribution of the photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) of the lighting fixture based at least in part on the at least one sensor signal, as taught by Lys.
Redden also does not disclose a first LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates first radiation having a predominantly red spectrum between 600 nanometers and 699 nanometers; and a second LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates second radiation including a green spectrum between 500 nanometers and 599 nanometers; and a third LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates third radiation having a predominantly blue spectrum between 400 nanometers and 499 nanometers.
Petrocy discloses a first LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates first radiation having a predominantly red spectrum (see pars. [0090] and [0205]) between 600 nanometers and 699 nanometers (inherent: this is the spectrum of visible red light); and a second LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates second radiation including a green spectrum (see pars. [0090] and [0205]) between 500 nanometers and 599 nanometers (inherent: this is the spectrum of visible green light); and a third LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates third radiation having a predominantly blue spectrum (see pars. [0090] and [0205]) between 400 nanometers and 499 nanometers (inherent: this is the spectrum of visible blue light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device so that a first LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates first radiation having a predominantly red spectrum between 600 nanometers and 699 nanometers; and a second LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates second radiation including a green spectrum between 500 nanometers and 599 nanometers; and a third LED board of the at least two individually controllable LED boards generates third radiation having a predominantly blue spectrum between 400 nanometers and 499 nanometers, as taught by Petrocy.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claims 9-11, 13-14, 26, 30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0219711) in view of Bongartz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0134741).
Regarding claim 9, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) an integrated sensor assembly (see par. [0025]) comprising:
a housing 200 having a rectangular shape (as shown in Fig. 3), a front side having a length (l) and width (w) and including a plurality of openings (as shown in Fig. 3), and a thickness (t) (as shown in Fig. 3);
an infrared thermal sensor 220 (see pars. [0067] and [0069]) disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a first opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4);
a time-of-flight proximity sensor 210 [0064] disposed in the housing (as shown in Figs. 3-4) and aligned with a second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4); and
a color light sensor (can include a physiology sensor which can be color wavelengths: [0065]-[0066]), disposed in the housing and aligned with the second opening of the plurality of openings (as shown in Figs. 3-4), to respectively sense at least red light, green light, and blue light (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]),
wherein the integrated sensor assembly does not include a narrowband irradiator (i.e. the light source can be natural light or from a broad spectrum: [0057]) to facilitate multispectral imaging of reflected or emitted radiation from at least one object in response to irradiation by the narrowband irradiator (i.e. the sensor can sense light from a narrow band: [0056]); and
at least one processor 600 [0075] to: receive sensor signals respectively output by the infrared thermal sensor (see pars. [0067] and [0069]), the time-of- flight proximity sensor [0064] and the color light sensor [0065]-[0066], the sensor signals respectively representing at least three different measurable conditions in a controlled horticultural environment [0064]-[0069].
Redden does not disclose that the thickness is significantly less than the length or the width of the front side.
However, such a modification would be merely a change in size/proportion of the device, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Redden also does not disclose processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions, to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment, wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values, each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions.
Bongartz discloses processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library (see the stored data, including the reference values: par. [2425]) comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions (sensor data: [2425]), to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment (sensor data, presence of disease/pests, etc.: [2425]), wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values (i.e. reference values/threshold: [2425]), each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions (i.e. “plant color, plant form, etc., and optionally data of the ambient conditions, e.g., air temperature, air composition, ground composition, etc.” – [2425]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device to include processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions, to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment, wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values, each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions, as taught by Bongartz.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 10, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the controlled horticultural environment is associated with at least one control system 600 [0075] to regulate at least a first environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment [0075]-[0076]; and the at least one processor 600 is further configured to adjust at least one operating parameter (such as lighting intensity: [0076]) of the at least one control system based at least in part on the estimated or determined at least one environmental condition [0076].
Regarding claim 11, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the at least one control system includes at least one of: at least one light source (see pars. [0056]-[0057] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the at least one control system includes the at least one light source (see pars. [0056]-[0057] and [0076]); and the at least one light source includes at least one of: a lighting fixture to generate photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) – (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]); or at least one narrowband irradiator to facilitate multispectral imaging [0056].
Regarding claim 14, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the at least one processor 600 is configured to adjust a spectral power distribution of the at least one light source [0076] based at least in part on the estimated or determined at least one environmental condition [0076].
Regarding claim 26, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) an integrated sensor assembly (see par. [0025]) comprising:
an infrared thermal sensor 220 (see pars. [0067] and [0069]);
a time-of-flight proximity sensor 210 [0064];
a color light sensor (can include a physiology sensor which can be color wavelengths: [0065]-[0066]), to respectively sense at least red light, green light, and blue light (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]),
and at least one processor 600 [0075] to:
receive sensor signals respectively output by the infrared thermal sensor (see pars. [0067] and [0069]), the time-of- flight proximity sensor [0064] and the color light sensor [0065]-[0066], the sensor signals respectively representing at least three different measurable conditions in a controlled horticultural environment [0064]-[0069].
wherein the integrated sensor assembly does not include a narrowband irradiator (i.e. the light source can be natural light or from a broad spectrum: [0057]) to facilitate multispectral imaging of reflected or emitted radiation from at least one object in response to irradiation by the narrowband irradiator (i.e. the sensor can sense light from a narrow band: [0056]).
Redden does not disclose processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions, to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment, wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values, each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions.
Bongartz discloses processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library (see the stored data, including the reference values: par. [2425]) comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions (sensor data: [2425]), to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment (sensor data, presence of disease/pests, etc.: [2425]), wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values (i.e. reference values/threshold: [2425]), each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions (i.e. “plant color, plant form, etc., and optionally data of the ambient conditions, e.g., air temperature, air composition, ground composition, etc.” – [2425]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Redden’s device to include processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions, to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment, wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values, each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions, as taught by Bongartz.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 30, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the controlled horticultural environment is associated with the at least one control system 600 to regulate at least a first environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment (such as lighting intensity: [0076]);
the at least one processor 600 is further configured to adjust at least one operating parameter of the at least one control system [0076] based at least in part on the estimated or determined at least one environmental condition [0076]; and
the at least one control system 600 includes at least one of: the lighting fixture [0076].
Regarding claim 33, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the at least one control system 600 includes the at least one light source (see pars. [0056]-[0057] and [0076]); the at least one light source includes at least one of:
a lighting fixture to generate photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) – (natural light: [0057]; RGB: [0069]); and
the at least one processor 600 is configured to adjust a spectral power distribution of the at least one light source [0076] based at least in part on the estimated or determined at least one environmental condition [0076].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redden et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0219711) in view of Bongartz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0134741), and further in view of Lys (WO 2019/204805).
Regarding claim 12, Redden discloses (Figs. 1-5) the at least one control system includes a CO2 concentration control system.
Lys discloses the at least one control system includes a CO2 concentration control system (see par. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Redden’s device so that the at least one control system includes a CO2 concentration control system, as taught by Lys.
Such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02-12-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly, Applicant argues that Lys should be disqualified as prior art under both the 102(b)(2)(C) and 102(a)(1) exceptions (see Remarks, pp. 1-2). However, since Lys is relied upon for its publication date (not filing date), the 102(b)(2)(C) does not apply. Additionally, since Lys’ publication date (October 24, 2019) is more than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (i.e. the filing date of the earlier of the provisional applications is January 25, 2021) Lys is not disqualified under the 102(a)(1) exception either and is maintained as prior art.
Regarding Applicant's arguments toward the Bongartz reference, Applicant’s arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references (Applicant merely claims that the Bongartz reference does not contain the exact claim terms, without explaining how the claim terms are different from Bongartz’s disclosure). The examiner has expanded on the rejection (above), to show that Bongartz discloses processing the received sensor signals, based at least in part on a reference condition library (see the stored data, including the reference values: par. [2425]) comprising a plurality of labeled feature sets corresponding to reference conditions (sensor data: [2425]), to estimate or determine at least one environmental condition in the controlled horticultural environment (sensor data, presence of disease/pests, etc.: [2425]), wherein at least one labeled feature set of the plurality of labeled feature sets includes a plurality of reference values (i.e. reference values/threshold: [2425]), each reference value of the plurality of reference values corresponding to one measurable condition of the at least three different measurable conditions (i.e. “plant color, plant form, etc., and optionally data of the ambient conditions, e.g., air temperature, air composition, ground composition, etc.” – [2425]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852