DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR555 (KR20210145555A, applicant’s reference will be used.).
Claim 1: KR555 teaches a liquid supply system (Abstract teaches liquid pressurization device. Figures 1 and 16 teach the system.) comprising: a liquid supply unit (LS); a liquid pressurizer connected to the liquid supply unit (G); a compressor connected to the liquid pressurizer (A); a pump connected to the liquid pressurizer and configured drive a flow of liquid from the liquid pressurizer (P); an inflow control valve between the liquid supply unit and the liquid pressurizer; and an outflow control valve between the liquid pressurizer and the pump (Valves V1 and V2), wherein the liquid pressurizer is configured to supply liquid having a dissolved gas concentration that is lower than a dissolved gas concentration of liquid supplied from the liquid supply unit (Abstract teaches suppressing generation of bubbles).
Claim 5: KR555 teaches a trap tank between the liquid supply unit and the liquid pressurizer (Figure 16 teaches buffer tank B).
Claim 16: KR555 teaches in figure 3 the liquid pressurizer comprises: an inlet configured to flow liquid into the liquid pressurizer (inlet near 5); an outlet configured to discharge liquid from the liquid pressurizer (outlet near 7); a tube assembly connecting the inlet and the outlet (Tube would be the tubes 1 and 3 that form t); and a pressure control tube connected to the tube assembly (tube 9), wherein the tube assembly includes: an outer tube; and an inner tube inserted into the outer tube, wherein a pressurization space is provided between the outer tube and the inner tube (Inner tube 3 and outer tube 1 form a pressurization space between them as seen by th), and a pressure providing passage provided in the pressure control tube is connected to the pressurization space (9h is connected to th).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sasa (US20180065065A1) in view of Parro (US20050092594) and Kihara (US20200163487).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-8, 11, 12, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasa in view of Parro and Kihara.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasa, Parro, Kihara, and Huff (US8256569).
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasa, Parro, Kihara, and Wang (US20140260963).
Rejection in view of Sasa, Parro, Kihara
Claim 1: Sasa teaches a liquid supply system (Abstract and figure 6 teaches treatment solution supply apparatus) comprising: a liquid supply unit (Supply source 201); a liquid pressurizer connected to the liquid supply unit (buffer tank 202); a compressor connected to the liquid pressurizer ([0067] teaches there is a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209 connected. This reads upon a compressor.); a pump connected to the liquid pressurizer and configured drive a flow of liquid from the liquid pressurizer (Pump 211); an inflow control valve between the liquid supply unit and the liquid pressurizer; and an outflow control valve between the liquid pressurizer and the pump (Inflow valve 203 and outflow valve 214.).
The limitation of “the liquid pressurizer is configured to supply liquid having a dissolved gas concentration that is lower than a dissolved gas concentration of liquid supplied from the liquid supply unit” is considered to be intended usage. Since the prior art teaches the structure of the claims, it would be capable of this limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
If Sasa does not teach a compressor, Sasa teaches a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209 in [0067]. Parro teaches in [0020] that typical depressurizing devices include a compressor. Kihara teaches in [0285] that compressors can be used as a pressurizing source. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effect filing date of the invention to have a compressor as the pressurization/depressurization source as Parro and Kihara teaches that compressors are known to be used for this.
Claim 2: Sasa teaches a first drain line connected to an inlet line between the inflow control valve and the liquid pressurizer, and a first drain valve in the first drain line (Drain line 253).
Claim 3: Sasa teaches the compressor is configured to provide constant negative pressure to the liquid pressurizer to generate gas from gas bubbles dissolved in liquid ([0067] teaches there is a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209.).
Claim 5: Sasa teaches a trap tank between the liquid supply unit and the liquid pressurizer (Figure 16 teaches having a trap tank 401 beetween the supply 201 and pressurizer 202.).
Claim 6: The limitation “a first drain line configured to discharge a gas bubble introduced from the liquid pressurizer is connected to the trap tank, and a first drain valve is in the first drain line” is considered to be intended usage. Since the prior art teaches the structure of the claims, it would be capable of this limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114. Sasa teaches in [0074] the filter has a drain pipe 258 for removing air bubbles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to have a drain for air bubbles in the pressurizer as well since Sasa teaches that air bubbles need to be removed from the device.
Claim 7: Sasa teaches a filter configured to remove gas bubbles and impurities from supplied liquid is provided in the pump (Filter 212).
Claim 8: Sasa teaches a second drain line configured to discharge liquid containing impurities and gas bubbles is connected to the filter, and a second drain valve is in the second drain line ([0074] teaches the filter has a drain pipe 258 for air bubbles.).
Claim 11: Sasa teaches the pump is configured to drive liquid through the filter at a pressure that is higher than a pressure of liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer during a moisture absorption operation in which the liquid is absorbed into the filter ([0095] teaches that the generation of bubbles can be suppressed by making the secondary side of the filter have a higher pressure.). If Sasa does not teach this, it teaches in [0093]-[0095] that the pressure can be controlled on the secondary side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to have an optimal pressure so as to remove contaminants in the resist solution.
Claim 12: Sasa teaches a controller configured to control the liquid supply unit, the liquid pressurizer, the compressor, and the pump ([0080] teaches a control unit that is not shown that controls all of the valves in the apparatus 200. It also connects to the sensors, regulators, and enables the apparatus 200 to be automatically performed by the control unit. Since this controls all of the valves, this reads upon the supply unit, the liquid pressurizer, the compressor, and the pump, as these are all connected to the valves.).
Claim 16: Sasa teaches in figures 6-8 the liquid pressurizer comprises: an inlet configured to flow liquid into the liquid pressurizer (inlet is at the top of 202); an outlet configured to discharge liquid from the liquid pressurizer (outlet is the bottom of 202); a tube assembly connecting the inlet and the outlet (Figures 7and 7b shows a tube assembly); and a pressure control tube connected to the tube assembly (tube 254 in figure 6), wherein the tube assembly includes: an outer tube; and an inner tube inserted into the outer tube, wherein a pressurization space is provided between the outer tube and the inner tube (Figures 7a and 7b shows the inner tube 202a and the outer tube is the solid black line of the outside of 202. The pressurization space is the inside of that at 202b.), and a pressure providing passage provided in the pressure control tube is connected to the pressurization space ([0070] and figures 8a/b/c teach that 254 is connected to port 202g, which leads to the space inside.).
Claim 17: Sasa teaches a liquid supply system (Abstract and figure 6 teaches treatment solution supply apparatus) comprising: a liquid supply unit (Supply source 201); a liquid pressurizer configured to receive liquid from the liquid supply unit (buffer tank 202); a compressor configured to control a pressure of liquid in the liquid pressurizer ([0067] teaches there is a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209 connected. This reads upon a compressor.); a pump connected to the liquid pressurizer and configured to control a flow of liquid from the liquid pressurizer (Pump 211), wherein the pump comprises a filter configured to remove gas bubbles or impurities from liquid in the pump (Filter 212); an inflow control valve between the liquid supply unit and the liquid pressurizer; and an outflow control valve between the liquid pressurizer and the pump (Inflow valve 203 and outflow valve 214.), and wherein the pump is configured to pass liquid through the filter at a pressure that is higher than a pressure of liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer to the pump such that liquid is absorbed into the filter to thereby remove gas bubble or impurities from liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer ([0095] teaches that the generation of bubbles can be suppressed by making the secondary side of the filter have a higher pressure.).
The limitation of “the liquid pressurizer is configured to supply liquid having a dissolved gas concentration that is lower than a dissolved gas concentration of liquid supplied from the liquid supply unit” is considered to be intended usage. Since the prior art teaches the structure of the claims, it would be capable of this limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114.
If Sasa does not teach the pump is configured to pass liquid through the filter at a pressure that is higher than a pressure of liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer to the pump such that liquid is absorbed into the filter to thereby remove gas bubble or impurities from liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer, it teaches in [0093]-[0095] that the pressure can be controlled on the secondary side. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to have an optimal pressure so as to remove contaminants in the resist solution.
If Sasa does not teach a compressor, Sasa teaches a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209 in [0067]. Parro teaches in [0020] that typical depressurizing devices include a compressor. Kihara teaches in [0285] that compressors can be used as a pressurizing source. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effect filing date of the invention to have a compressor as the pressurization/depressurization source as Parro and Kihara teaches that compressors are known to be used for this.
Claim 18: Sasa teaches a first drain line connected to an inlet line between the inflow control valve and the liquid pressurizer, and a first drain valve in the first drain line (Drain line 253).
Claim 19: Sasa teaches the compressor is configured to provide constant negative pressure to the liquid pressurizer to generate gas from gas bubbles dissolved in liquid ([0067] teaches there is a pressurization source 208 and depressurization source 209.).
Rejection in view of Sasa, Parro, Kihara, Huff
Claims 4 and 20: The prior arts do not explicitly state the compressor is configured to provide pulse-type pressure to the liquid pressurizer to generate gas from gas bubbles dissolved in liquid. Huff teaches in column 1 lines 15-17 that compressors are known to generate pressure pulses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effect filing date of the invention to have the compressor of Sasa, Parro, and Kihara generate pressure pulses as Huff teaches that compressors are known to generate pressure pulses.
Rejection in view of Sasa, Parro, Kihara, Wang
Claim 9: The prior arts do not explicitly state the pump is configured to repeatedly drive liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer to pass through the filter in forward and reverse directions to clean the filter. Sasa teaches liquid is passed in a forward direction. Wang teaches an analogous device for removing air bubbles from liquid photoresist (abstract). Wang teaches in figure 1 and [0031] that backflow operations can be used to clean the filter 120. It can quickly remove bubbles inside the filter after a new filter installation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effect filing date of the invention to have the pump drive the liquid in reverse as Wang teaches this backflow operation can be used to clean the filter.
Claim 10: Wang teaches liquid used in cleaning of the filter is discharged externally through the second drain line (Figure 5 and [0035] teach that the backflow liquid is sent through the filter drain 123.).
Claim 13: The prior arts do not explicitly state the controller is configured to display a replacement time of a filter in the pump according to a pressure difference between a pressure at a front end of the filter and a pressure at a rear end of the filter. Sasa teaches a feedback control to measure the pressure ([0094].). Wang teaches an analogous device for removing air bubbles from liquid photoresist (abstract). Wang teaches in figure 7 and [0040] there is a pressure sensor threshold at 712 which leads to a signal to reverse flow and wash the filter. This will continue to send a signal. [0040] teaches that a new filter can be installed at any subsequent time after a new system installation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to have a display or signal for a replacement filter in the device of Sasa as Wang teaches that a filter should be replaced when it is not working as well anymore.
Claim 14: The limitation “when the pressure difference is smaller than a predetermined pressure, the controller is configured to drive the pump, to repeatedly flow liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer in a forward direction and a reverse direction” is considered to be intended usage. Since the prior art teaches the structure of the claims, it would be capable of this limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114. Wang teaches in figure 7 the steps of flowing the resist through a forward direction at 708 and reverse at 714.
Claim 15: The limitation of “after repeatedly flowing liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer in a forward direction and a reverse direction, the controller is configured to control the pump to pass the liquid through the filter at a pressure that is higher than a pressure of the liquid supplied from the liquid pressurizer” is considered to be intended usage. Since the prior art teaches the structure of the claims, it would be capable of this limitation. Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished in the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. MPEP 2114. Sasa teaches a feedback control to measure the pressure and control it to be whatever it needs to be ([0094]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20190076763, 9731226, 20170043287, 20150328649, 7029238, JP08226384A.
/P.Y.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 02/25/2026
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776