DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following reason:
Regarding claims 1, 21, 31 and 40, Applicant argues that:
Without conceding the merits of the rejection of independent claims 1, 21, 31, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. § 103-and solely to expedite prosecution-Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 21, 31, and 40 to include aspects of dependent claim 2. For example, independent claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part: …
Independent claims 21, 31, and 40 have been amended to include similar features. Rahman, Piipponen, and Lorenz-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest all of the features of amended independent claims 1, 21, 31, and 40.
In the rejection of dependent claim 2, the Office Action relies on Piipponen as being allegedly relevant to "a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Office Action, p. 8.
Piipponen discusses "reducing a maximum transmission power of the user device for an uplink transmission via the resource block allocation by a maximum power reduction value." Piipponen, Abstract. At the portions cited by the Office Action, Piipponen mentions that a limiting factor of the maximum transmission power may be error vector magnitude (EVM). See id. [0044], Piipponen further mentions that "EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting." Id. [0048]. Piipponen further states that "[m]odulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be." Id. Piipponen further mentions that "[d]ue to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum," and "that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited ... but for 256 - QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit." Id. That is, Piipponen discusses how the EVM may limit a maximum transmit power.
However, discussion of an EVM limiting a maximum transmit power does not teach or suggest "transmit a capability message ... wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both," as recited in amended independent claim 1. For example, Piipponen is silent regarding any capability message. Additionally, Piipponen is silent regarding any message or indication that indicates "a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Indeed, Piipponen only describes how the EVM affects the maximum transmit power. Piipponen is silent regarding supported or unsupported EVM levels or values. Thus, Piipponen does not teach or suggest "transmit a capability message ... wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Further, since Piipponen does not describe "a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both" it follows that Piipponen is silent regarding "the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Lorenz does not overcome the deficiencies of Rahman and Piipponen, nor does the Office Action suggest otherwise.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, amended independent claim 1 is allowable over any combination of Rahman, Piipponen, and Lorenz. Amended independent claims 21, 31, and 40 are likewise allowable for at least similar reasons.
Accordingly, Applicant requests that the rejection of independent claims 1, 21, 31, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be reconsidered and withdrawn. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
Applicant argues that Piipponen “only describes how the EVM affects the maximum transmit power” and is silent regarding supported or unsupported EVM levels or values”. This is factually incorrect. Piipponen paragraph [0048] explicitly discloses multiple different EVM levels and multiple different output power levels corresponding to different modulation schemes. Specifically, Piipponen states: “Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting... the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit.” This passage directly teaches that different modulation scheme have different EVM requirements. For BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM, significantly higher EVM is tolerated and these schemes are not EVM-limited. For 256-QAM and higher modulation schemes, the EVM requirement is more stringent and actually limits the output power. This is an explicit disclosure of a set of different supported EVM levels-some modulation schemes support higher EVM values while others require lower EVM values. A person of ordinary skill in the art reading this disclosure would immediately understand that a UE implementing Piipponen's teachings must be capable of operating with different EVM requirements for different modulation schemes. This is precisely “a set of supported error vector magnitude levels” as claimed.
Similarly, the same paragraph [0048] also explicitly teaches a set of different supported output power levels. When Piipponen states that different modulation schemes have different limiting factors for output power, some being emissions limited and others being EVM limited, this directly teaches that different modulation schemes have different maximum output power capabilities. Piipponen further reinforces this in paragraphs [0042] and [0043], which discuss how different modulation schemes require different MPR (Maximum Power Reduction) values. For example, paragraph [0043] states “a larger MPR value may be used to accommodate a more difficult modulation rate or scheme”. Since MPR reduces the nominal maximum power (e.g., 23 dBm) by varying amounts (e.g., 1 dB, 2 dB, etc.), different MPR values inherently correspond to different maximum transmission power levels. This constitutes a set of supported output power levels as claimed.
Applicant's assertion that since Piipponen does not describe “a set of supported error vector magnitude levels. a set of supported output power levels, or both” it follows that Piipponen is silent regarding “the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both” fails because its premise is false. As demonstrated above, Piipponen does teach sets of supported EVM levels and output power levels. Moreover, Piipponen explicitly teaches that power amplifier back-off (MPR) is based on these EVM and power considerations. Piipponen's entire disclosure concerns Maximum Power Reduction (MPR), which is power amplifier back-off. Paragraph [0042] explains that MPR allows reduction in maximum transmission power for signals that are “difficult” or challenging, such as certain modulation schemes. Paragraph [0043] teaches that “a larger MPR value may be used to accommodate a more difficult modulation rate or scheme (MCS), e.g., since in some cases, transmitting at full 23 dBm for some modulation schemes may require UE component performance (e.g., a more linear PA) that may not be available.” This is adaptive power amplifier back-off-the amount of back-off adapts based on the modulation scheme.
Critically, paragraph [0048] explicitly teaches that this adaptive power amplifier back-off is based on EVM levels and output power levels. It explains: “Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum... It turns out that the output power ,or BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-ban(it depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit.” This directly teaches that determining how much power amplifier back-off is needed (i.e., what MPR value to use) depends on whether EVM or emissions is the limiting factor, which varies by modulation scheme. For 256-QAM and higher, the EVM requirement limits output power and thus determines the necessary MPR. A UE can only support certain MPR values (adaptive PA back-off schemes) if it can meet the corresponding EVM requirements and achieve the necessary output power levels for the relevant modulation schemes. If a UE cannot maintain adequate EVM at high power for 256-QAM, it cannot support low MPR values (minimal back-off) for that scheme. Thus, the UE's support for various adaptive PA back-off schemes is directly based on what EVM levels and output power levels it can achieve, exactly as the claim requires.
Regarding the “capability message” limitation, Applicant's argument that, “Piipponen is silent regarding any capability message”, Examiner respectfully disagrees in several ways. First, the rejection is based on the combination of Rahman, Piipponen. and Lorenz, not Piipponen alone. Applicant has not addressed whether Rahman or Lorenz teach capability messaging and Examiner respectfully submits that primary reference Rahman explicitly teach this feature in paragraphs [0122]-[0125] and [0222]-[0227]. Second, even if no reference explicitly uses the term “capability message”, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to communicate the UE's supported EVM levels and output power levels to the base station via a capability message. Piipponen operates in the context of LTE and SG/NR wireless systems, as shown in paragraphs [0027] through [0031]. In these systems, UE capability reporting is fundamental requirement. When a UE connects to a network, it reports its capabilities-including supported modulation schemes, bandwidth combinations, features, and power class via standardized capability messages. This is core functionality that any person of ordinary skill in the art of LTE/SG systems would know.
Furthermore, Piipponen itself implicitly requires that UE capabilities be communicated to the base station. Paragraph [0055] explicitly states: the base station needs to know the UE MPR value, e.g., in order to correctly use the power headroom reports from the UE. Piipponen's disclosure necessarily implies that the UE must communicate its capabilities in order for the base station to know the UE MPR value. Moreover, Piipponen's teaching that a UE supports multiple different modulation schemes inherently means the UE must inform the base station which schemes it actually supports, since not every UE supports every modulation scheme. It would have been obvious to have the UE report these supported capabilities via a capability message.
For these reasons, Applicant's amendments adding features of former dependent claim 2 to the independent claims do not overcome the rejection. The rejection of independent claims 1, 21, 31, and 40 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Rahman, Piipponen, and Lorenz is maintained.
Dependent claims 3-11, 23-29, and 32-39 are rejected for the same reasons, as Applicant has not presented substantive arguments regarding the additional limitations of these claims beyond incorporating the arguments for the independent claims, which have been addressed above.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in claim 30 this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action (support for this limitations can be found in [0129]-[0133]) . Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The support for this claim can be found in [0130]-[0133].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 21, 23-29, 31, 33-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al. (US 20200154364, hereinafter “Rahman”) and further in view of Piipponen et al. (US 20200280926, hereinafter “Piipponen”).
Regarding claim 1, Rahman discloses,
A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3; UE 116), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable (The memory 360 is coupled to the processor 340. Part of the memory 360 could include a random access memory (RAM), and another part of the memory 360 could include a Flash memory or other read-only memory (ROM), Fig. 3 and [0059]-[0062]) to execute the code to cause the UE to:
transmit a capability message indicating support for adaptive power amplifier back-off (scaling a transmit power by a scaling factor, [0005]-[0007]) for uplink transmissions (a preferred value is reported by the UE. This reporting can be a part of UE capability. For instance, the UE can report a preferred β value when the UE reports the UE's coherence capability, [0122]-[0125]
The UE reports via its capability signaling the solution(s) or mode(s) with which it is capable to support full power UL transmission. Depending on the UE capability, the UE can be configured with a solution (or mode) for full power UL transmission, [0222]-[0227]39999);
receive, based at least in part on the capability message, an identifier for an adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme to be applied to an uplink transmission (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and
perform the uplink transmission according to the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
However, Rahman does not disclose, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component. In the same field of endeavor, Piipponen discloses, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]) and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahman by specifically providing wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component, as taught by Piipponen for the purpose of providing a technique includes controlling uplink transmission power of a user device, wherein a resource block allocation for the user device includes resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that is a part of a base station channel bandwidth and the user device channel bandwidth is less than the base station channel bandwidth (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Rahman discloses, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a control signal identifying a set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes available for use by the UE (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and select the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme from the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes based at least in part on the identifier (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes comprise the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a grant scheduling the uplink transmission, the grant comprising an uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 920 includes receiving, by the user device, a resource block allocation including one or more resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that are allocated to the user device, the user device channel bandwidth being a bandwidth part of the base station channel bandwidth that is less than the base station channel bandwidth, [0104]-[0110]); and determine the identifier based at least in part on the uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 930 includes determining, by the user device, a distance of the resource block allocation from at least one edge of the base station channel bandwidth. And, operation 940 includes controlling, by the user device based on the distance, a transmission power of the user device for uplink transmission via the resource block allocation, [0104]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Rahman discloses, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a grant scheduling the uplink transmission, wherein the identifier is received in the grant (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Rahman discloses, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, based at least in part on the identifier, an updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level, wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based at least in part on the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level (For codebook based transmission, the UE determines the UE's codebook subsets based on TPMI and upon the reception of higher layer parameter ULCodebookSubset or codebookSubset in PUSCH-Config which may be configured with “fullAndPartialAndNonCoherent,” or “partialAndNonCoherent,” or “nonCoherent” depending on the UE capability. The maximum transmission rank may be configured by the higher parameter ULmaxRank or maxRank in PUSCH-Config, [0105]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level triggers an updated error vector magnitude level, an updated output power, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Rahman discloses,
wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based on at least one of a cell load for a network entity the UE is communicating in, a UE-state associated with the UE, a UE-type of the UE, or any combination thereof (To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of 4G communication systems, efforts have been made to develop an improved 5G or pre-5G communication system. Therefore, the 5G or pre-5G communication system is also called a “beyond 4G network” or a “post LTE system, [0029]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Rahman discloses, wherein to operate the power amplifier in the non-linear region includes increasing an output power level of the power amplifier based on the change to the output power (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 21, Rahman discloses,
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3; UE 116), comprising:
transmitting a capability message indicating support for adaptive power amplifier back-off (scaling a transmit power by a scaling factor, [0005]-[0007]) for uplink transmissions (a preferred value is reported by the UE. This reporting can be a part of UE capability. For instance, the UE can report a preferred β value when the UE reports the UE's coherence capability, [0122]-[0125]
The UE reports via its capability signaling the solution(s) or mode(s) with which it is capable to support full power UL transmission. Depending on the UE capability, the UE can be configured with a solution (or mode) for full power UL transmission, [0222]-[0227]39999);
receiving, based at least in part on the capability message, an identifier for an adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme to be applied to an uplink transmission (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and
performing the uplink transmission according to the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
However, Rahman does not disclose, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component. In the same field of endeavor, Piipponen discloses, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]) and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahman by specifically providing wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component, as taught by Piipponen for the purpose of providing a technique includes controlling uplink transmission power of a user device, wherein a resource block allocation for the user device includes resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that is a part of a base station channel bandwidth and the user device channel bandwidth is less than the base station channel bandwidth (abstract).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Rahman discloses, receiving a control signal identifying a set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes available for use by the UE (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and selecting the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme from the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes based at least in part on the identifier (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes comprise the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), in addition Piipponen discloses, receiving a grant scheduling the uplink transmission, the grant comprising an uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 920 includes receiving, by the user device, a resource block allocation including one or more resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that are allocated to the user device, the user device channel bandwidth being a bandwidth part of the base station channel bandwidth that is less than the base station channel bandwidth, [0104]-[0110]); and determining the identifier based at least in part on the uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 930 includes determining, by the user device, a distance of the resource block allocation from at least one edge of the base station channel bandwidth. And, operation 940 includes controlling, by the user device based on the distance, a transmission power of the user device for uplink transmission via the resource block allocation, [0104]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Rahman discloses, receivinga grant scheduling the uplink transmission, wherein the identifier is received in the grant (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Rahman discloses, receiving, based at least in part on the identifier, an updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level, wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based at least in part on the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level (For codebook based transmission, the UE determines the UE's codebook subsets based on TPMI and upon the reception of higher layer parameter ULCodebookSubset or codebookSubset in PUSCH-Config which may be configured with “fullAndPartialAndNonCoherent,” or “partialAndNonCoherent,” or “nonCoherent” depending on the UE capability. The maximum transmission rank may be configured by the higher parameter ULmaxRank or maxRank in PUSCH-Config, [0105]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 27), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level triggers an updated error vector magnitude level, an updated output power, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Rahman discloses,
wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based on at least one of a cell load for a network entity the UE is communicating in, a UE-state associated with the UE, a UE-type of the UE, or any combination thereof (To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of 4G communication systems, efforts have been made to develop an improved 5G or pre-5G communication system. Therefore, the 5G or pre-5G communication system is also called a “beyond 4G network” or a “post LTE system, [0029]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 31, Rahman discloses,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3; UE 116), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to cause the UE to:
transmit a capability message indicating support for adaptive power amplifier back-off (scaling a transmit power by a scaling factor, [0005]-[0007]) for uplink transmissions (a preferred value is reported by the UE. This reporting can be a part of UE capability. For instance, the UE can report a preferred β value when the UE reports the UE's coherence capability, [0122]-[0125]
The UE reports via its capability signaling the solution(s) or mode(s) with which it is capable to support full power UL transmission. Depending on the UE capability, the UE can be configured with a solution (or mode) for full power UL transmission, [0222]-[0227]39999);
receive, based at least in part on the capability message, an identifier for an adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme to be applied to an uplink transmission (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and
perform the uplink transmission according to the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
However, Rahman does not disclose, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component. In the same field of endeavor, Piipponen discloses, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]) and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahman by specifically providing wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component, as taught by Piipponen for the purpose of providing a technique includes controlling uplink transmission power of a user device, wherein a resource block allocation for the user device includes resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that is a part of a base station channel bandwidth and the user device channel bandwidth is less than the base station channel bandwidth (abstract).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Rahman discloses, receive a control signal identifying a set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes available for use by the UE (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and select the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme from the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes based at least in part on the identifier (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 33), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the set of adaptive power amplifier back-off schemes comprise the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), in addition Piipponen discloses, receive a grant scheduling the uplink transmission, the grant comprising an uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 920 includes receiving, by the user device, a resource block allocation including one or more resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that are allocated to the user device, the user device channel bandwidth being a bandwidth part of the base station channel bandwidth that is less than the base station channel bandwidth, [0104]-[0110]); and determining the identifier based at least in part on the uplink transmission frequency resource allocation (Operation 930 includes determining, by the user device, a distance of the resource block allocation from at least one edge of the base station channel bandwidth. And, operation 940 includes controlling, by the user device based on the distance, a transmission power of the user device for uplink transmission via the resource block allocation, [0104]-[0110]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Rahman discloses, receive a grant scheduling the uplink transmission, wherein the identifier is received in the grant (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Rahman discloses, receive, based at least in part on the identifier, an updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level, wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based at least in part on the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level (For codebook based transmission, the UE determines the UE's codebook subsets based on TPMI and upon the reception of higher layer parameter ULCodebookSubset or codebookSubset in PUSCH-Config which may be configured with “fullAndPartialAndNonCoherent,” or “partialAndNonCoherent,” or “nonCoherent” depending on the UE capability. The maximum transmission rank may be configured by the higher parameter ULmaxRank or maxRank in PUSCH-Config, [0105]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 37), in addition Piipponen discloses, wherein the updated adaptive power amplifier back-off level triggers an updated error vector magnitude level, an updated output power, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Rahman discloses,
wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme is based on at least one of a cell load for a network entity the UE is communicating in, a UE-state associated with the UE, a UE-type of the UE, or any combination thereof (To meet the demand for wireless data traffic having increased since deployment of 4G communication systems, efforts have been made to develop an improved 5G or pre-5G communication system. Therefore, the 5G or pre-5G communication system is also called a “beyond 4G network” or a “post LTE system, [0029]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 40, Rahman discloses,
A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3; UE 116), comprising:
means for transmitting a capability message indicating support for adaptive power amplifier back-off (scaling a transmit power by a scaling factor, [0005]-[0007]) for uplink transmissions (a preferred value is reported by the UE. This reporting can be a part of UE capability. For instance, the UE can report a preferred β value when the UE reports the UE's coherence capability, [0122]-[0125]
The UE reports via its capability signaling the solution(s) or mode(s) with which it is capable to support full power UL transmission. Depending on the UE capability, the UE can be configured with a solution (or mode) for full power UL transmission, [0222]-[0227]39999);
means for receiving, based at least in part on the capability message, an identifier for an adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme to be applied to an uplink transmission (As illustrated in FIG. 12, the method 1200 begins at step 1202. In step 1202, the UE receives, from a base station, configuration information indicating a power scaling value (β) to be applied to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. In step 1204, the UE determines, based on the received configuration information, the power scaling value (β) for the PUSCH transmission from values of β=1 or β=ρ0/ρ, Fig. 12 and [0242]-[0243]); and
means for performing the uplink transmission according to the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme (In step 1206, the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with a linear value of transmit power scaled based on the determined power scaling value (β), where the linear value of the transmit power after power scaling, β×{circumflex over (P)}, is divided equally across the antenna ports on which the UE transmits the PUSCH transmission with non-zero power, [0244]-[0248]).
However, Rahman does not disclose, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component. In the same field of endeavor, Piipponen discloses, wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]) and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE (A maximum output (or maximum transmission) power may, for example, depend not only on the used modulation (modulation scheme), but also the number of allocated resource blocks (UE channel BW size), and their position/location inside the channel….Error Vector Magnitude (EVM) (e.g., transmit signal modulation quality), …. EVM may, for example, be a limiting case for high modulation depth signals, as the signal quality must be good. Low modulation indexes allow significantly higher EVM, hence not limiting. Modulation depth or index may refer to how much information is encoded to a single symbol. The higher the amount of info, the better the transmit signal quality must be (i.e. needs smaller Error Vector Magnitude), [0044]-[0049]), wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component (Due to the non-linear behavior of the transmit chain, the signal quality degrades more as the output power get closer to the maximum. All the other requirements discussed in this section may typically relate to unwanted emissions; if there were no other users of the radio spectrum, the transmit power would be limited only by the signal quality requirement, as the unwanted emissions would not matter. It turns out that the output power for BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, and 64-QAM is typically unwanted emissions limited (in-band or out-of-band depending on the distance to channel edge), but for 256-QAM (and higher) EVM may typically be the limit, [0043]-[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rahman by specifically providing wherein the capability message indicates a set of supported error vector magnitude levels, a set of supported output power levels, or both, and wherein the support for adaptive power amplifier back-off is based at least in part on the set of supported error vector magnitude levels, the set of supported output power levels, or both and wherein the adaptive power amplifier back-off scheme comprises a change to at least one of an error vector magnitude level for a power amplifier of the UE or an output power of the power amplifier of the UE, wherein the change triggers the power amplifier to operate in a non-linear region such that the uplink transmission includes a non-linear component, as taught by Piipponen for the purpose of providing a technique includes controlling uplink transmission power of a user device, wherein a resource block allocation for the user device includes resource blocks in a user device channel bandwidth that is a part of a base station channel bandwidth and the user device channel bandwidth is less than the base station channel bandwidth (abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman, in view of Piipponen and further in view of Lorenz et al. (US 20120314746, hereinafter “Lorenz”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rahman and Piipponen discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Rahman and Piipponen, wherein to operate the power amplifier in the non-linear region includes use of a power supply voltage applied to the power amplifier based on the change to the error vector magnitude level.
In the same field of endeavor, Lorenz discloses, wherein to operate the power amplifier in the non-linear region includes use of a power supply voltage applied to the power amplifier based on the change to the error vector magnitude level (digital module 202 controls supply voltage 212 of PA 210 based on the comparison of the estimated EVM to the desired EVM. For example, digital module 202 may increase supply voltage 212 of PA 219 when the estimated. EVM is higher than the desired EVM, and reduce supply voltage 212 of PA 210 when the estimated EVM is lower than the desired EVM by more than a desired margin (the margin is normally intended to account for temperature, process, and load impedance variations), [0036]-[0040]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Rahman and Piipponen by specifically providing wherein to operate the power amplifier in the non-linear region includes use of a power supply voltage applied to the power amplifier based on the change to the error vector magnitude level, as taught by Lorenz for the purpose dynamically controlling a RF transmitter based on monitored EVM performance [0020].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210344535: Techniques for peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) reduction are described. Wireless devices may provide signaling with respect to one or more PAPR shaping resources. For example, a wireless device may provide signaling of PAPR shaping capability information. PAPR shaping capability information may include information regarding one or more PAPR shaping resources the wireless device has a capability to implement.
US 12089243: Some embodiments of this disclosure include systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media for use in a wireless network for scheduling intra-frequency measurements. Some embodiments are directed to a user equipment (UE). The UE includes processor circuitry and radio front circuitry. The processor circuitry can be configured to determine a collision signal status between an intra-frequency measurement signal and an uplink transmission signal.
US 20240243838: A method by a transmitting node for adapting a transmission mode based on a capability of a receiving node includes obtaining information indicating a capability of the receiving node to receive signals having a certain level of distortion. The transmitting node transmits a signal to the receiving node, the signal transmitted using a transmission mode selected based on the capability of the receiving node.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641