DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has not been filed in parent CHINA 2023109082241 07/24/2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-3, 5-6 and species ethyl 2-fluoro-2-(3,4 dibromophenyl) acetate as the specific activator and a vanadium dichloride ethoxy oxide (VO(OEt)Cl₂) as the specific vanadium-based catalyst in the reply filed on 03/21/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4, 7-13 have been cancelled, and claims 14-15 have been withdrawn, and claims 1-3, 5-6, 14-15 are pending as amended on 03/21/26. Claims 1-3, 5-6 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Evens (US 4435552).
Regarding claim 1, Evens discloses a vanadium-based catalytic system for polymerization of polyolefin comprising vanadium-based catalyst such as vanadium tetrachloride, vanadium oxytrichloride, or vanadium acetyl acetonate and activator such as ethyl chloro(2,4-dichlorophenyl) acetate with structure
(column 3, lines 66-, column 4, lines -4; column 6, lines 12, 60, examples 1-2), meeting the requirement of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evens as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sadahiko (JP 2006290971).
Evens includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Evens discloses vanadium-based catalyst such as vanadium tetrachloride, vanadium oxytrichloride, or vanadium acetyl acetonate (column 3, lines 66-, column 4, lines -4) but does not disclose vanadium dichloride ethoxy oxide (VO(OEt)Cl2).
However, Sadahiko discloses a vanadium-based catalytic system for polymerization of polyolefin comprising vanadium-based catalyst such as vanadium tetrachloride, or vanadium oxytrichloride, and functionally equivalent vanadium dichloride ethoxy oxide (VO(OEt)Cl2) and activator such as CC6H5Cl2COOC2H5 (para [0039], [0059], [01350). Evens and Sadahiko are pertinent to a vanadium-based catalytic system for polymerization of polyolefin comprising vanadium-based catalyst such as vanadium tetrachloride, vanadium oxytrichloride, or vanadium acetyl acetonate and activator.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the vanadium dichloride ethoxy oxide (VO(OEt)Cl2) of the claims in the composition of Evens because Sadahiko teaches that the claimed vanadium dichloride ethoxy oxide (VO(OEt)Cl2) and vanadium tetrachloride, or vanadium oxytrichloride of Evens are functionally equivalent and it is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose, see MPEP § 2144.06; In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958).
Regarding claim 5, Evens discloses a vanadium organoaluminum cocatalyst such as ethyl aluminum sesquichloride (column 7, line 23, examples 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Evens discloses ethyl aluminum sesquichloride (SEAC): 0.6 mmol/l; activator: 0.2 mmol/l; and VOCl3:0.1 mmol/l (table 2, exp 1), fall into claimed range of a molar ratio of aluminum atoms contained in the cocatalyst to the vanadium contained in the vanadium-based catalyst is (1-100): 1; and a molar ratio of the activator to the vanadium contained in the vanadium-based catalyst is (5-80): 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Closest prior arts are of Evens (US 4435552) and Sadahiko (JP 2006290971).
Claim 2 require the activator ethyl 2-fluoro-2-(3,4-dibromophenyl) acetate.
Even though closest prior arts Evens and/or Sadahiko discloses halogenated ethyl phenyl acetate activator, the closest prior arts do not teach or suggest the activator is ethyl 2-fluoro-2-(3,4-dibromophenyl) acetate.
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766