DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 25, 2023, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
3. Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 6, the phrase, “substantially uniform thickness” is indefinite. It is unclear if the adhesive layer has uniform thickness or not.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 12-14, 16, 21-26 of U.S. Patent Application No. 15/931,657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 of copending ‘657
All of the remaining instant claims recite similar subject matter as claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13 and 21-26 of copending '657.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (U.S. 2009/0188706).
Endo discloses a printed wiring board comprising a resin insulating layer ( paragraphs 13, 51) and conductive layers (paragraphs 28, 48). Endo discloses an adhesive layer (paragraph 53) and a conductor layer (layer forming element 3) formed on a surface of the resin insulating layer; an outermost insulating layer (5) formed on the resin insulating layer such that the outermost insulating layer is covering the conductor layer and has an opening extending to the conductor layer (Figure 1):
.
Although Endo does not explicitly disclose the structure arrangement, as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the layers, since it has been held that rearranging the layers of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, although Endo does not appear to explicitly teach the conductor layer unevenness root mean square roughness, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the printed wiring board is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the printed wiring board discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed conductor layer unevenness root mean square roughness, as in claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki et al. (U.S. JP H06268339 A).
Tamaki discloses a multilayer printed wiring board comprising a resin insulting layer (2), conductor layer (4) (claim 1 of Tamaki and Figures 2-4).
.
Tamaki discloses the multilayer wiring board as described above, can include conductor layers and resin insulating layers, which are different in material, alternately laminated, and the laminated structure is different depending on the part (paragraph 9) which is interpreted as the laminated structure being capable of having varying arrangements. Tamaki discloses an adhesive layer can be applied to the structure (paragraph 14). Although Tamaki does not explicitly disclose the structure arrangement, as claimed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the layers, since it has been held that rearranging the layers of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Additionally, although Tamaki does not appear to explicitly teach the conductor layer unevenness root mean square roughness, substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the printed wiring board is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the printed wiring board discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed conductor layer unevenness root mean square roughness, as in claims 1-2.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781