DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ku (US 2021/0242490), and alternatively in view of Uematsu (US 2024/0097132).
As to claim 1, Ku discloses a positive electrode-solid electrolyte subassembly (figures 11-13 #30 and 10, [0121], discussed throughout) comprising: a positive electrode (figures 11-13, #10, [0121]) comprising a positive electrode active material (figures 11-13 #12, [0160]-[0162]), a conductive material ([0169], conductive material), and a first solid electrolyte ([0162], solid electrolyte; the solid electrolyte within the cathode is the first solid electrolyte); a second solid electrolyte disposed on the positive electrode (figures 11-13 #31, [0147]); and an interlayer disposed between the positive electrode and the second solid electrolyte (figures 11-13 #32, [0147]), wherein the interlayer comprises an interlayer material ([0147]-[0154], solid electrolyte), the interlayer material having an electrical conductivity less than an electrical conductivity of the conductive material of the positive electrode ([0169], shows the conductive additives within the positive electrode, the carbon conductive additives have a higher electrical conductivity then the solid electrolyte disclosed [0147]-[0154], i.e. acetylene black compared to lithium chloride ), and wherein the first solid electrolyte comprises lithium and a metal, and a sulfur-free lithium-ion conductor ([0148]-[0154], note Ku discloses or combinations thereof, thus the lithium and metal can be picked and then formula 6 without sulfur can be picked). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the materials from Ku in combination with one another as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results.
Should it Ku is silent to wherein, the first solid electrolyte comprising a lithium metal or a sulfur free lithium-ion conductor.
Uemastu discloses an electrode wherein the electrode comprises an active material and a solid electrolyte particle wherein the solid electrolyte particle comprises lithium, a metal and is sulfur free ([0004]), wherein the electrode further comprises a conductive material ([0114]-[0122]) and wherein the electrode is a positive electrode ([0045]-[0049]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the positive electrode from Uemastu within Ku because the electrode improves the batteries input output characteristics ([0003]-[0006], Uemastu).
As to claim 2, modified Ku discloses wherein, the sulfur-free lithium-ion conductor has a sulfur content of less than 1 mole percent, based on a total content of the sulfur-free lithium-ion conductor ([0149]-[0154], formula 6 wherein sulfur is not used; [0004], Uemastu).
As to claim 3, modified Ku discloses wherein, the interlayer material has an electrical conductivity of less than 1 Siemens per meter ([0148]-[0154], the Li2S-P2S5- are a few examples of the electrolytes that meet the claimed limitation, [0065]-[0068]).
As to claim 4, modified Ku discloses wherein, the interlayer material comprises a metal sulfide, a metal oxide, a lithium metal oxide, a metal halide, a metal nitride, a metal carbonate, or a combination thereof ([0148]-[0154]).
As to claim 5, modified Ku discloses wherein, wherein the metal sulfide comprises copper, tin, cobalt, nickel, zinc, titanium, cadmium, molybdenum, palladium, rhodium, zirconium, vanadium, hafnium, tungsten, aluminum, or a combination thereof, the metal oxide comprises zirconium dioxide, aluminum oxide, silicon dioxide, zinc oxide, zirconium oxide, hafnium dioxide, titanium dioxide, tin dioxide, or a combination thereof, the lithium metal oxide comprises lithium zirconium oxide, lithium titanium oxide, or a combination thereof, the lithium halide comprises lithium chloride, lithium fluoride, lithium bromide, lithium iodide, or a combination thereof, the metal carbonate comprises lithium carbonate, magnesium carbonate, sodium carbonate, calcium carbonate, barium carbonate, or a combination thereof, and the metal nitride comprises lithium nitride, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, molybdenum nitride, vanadium nitride, or a combination thereof ([0148]-[0154]).
As to claim 6, modified Ku discloses wherein, the interlayer has a thickness of about 1 nanometer to about 1 micrometer ([0089]-[0091]). This is because the first solid electrolyte layer within Ku can have a thickness of 1 micrometer and the ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness can be 1:1. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change the thickness of the intermediate layer as a mere change in size (see MPEP 2144.04) baring any criticality or unexpected results.
As to claim 7, modified Ku discloses wherein, the second solid electrolyte is a sulfide solid electrolyte, an oxide solid electrolyte, or a combination thereof ([0148]-[0154]).
As to claim 8, modified Ku discloses wherein, the first solid electrolyte comprises a solid ion conductor compound represented by Formula 1:
wherein M1 comprises an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, a transition metal, or a combination thereof,M2 comprises a lanthanide element, a non-lanthanide element having an oxidation number of 3, or a combination thereof, 0<x<3.5,0≤a<1.5, 0<b<1.5, 0≤y<6, 0≤z<6, and 0<y+z≤6 ([0113]-[0118], note the claim is comprising; [0004], Uemasta).
As to claim 9, modified Ku discloses wherein M2 is La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, Sc, Y, In, or a combination thereof ([0004], [0037], Uemasta).
As to claim 10, modified Ku discloses wherein, M1 is Na, K, Rb, Cs, Fr, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ra, Sc, Y, Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo, W, Mn, Tc, Re, Fe, Ru, Os, Co, Rh, Ir, Ni, Pd, Pt, Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Hg, Al, Ga, In, Ti, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Po, or a combination thereof ([0113]-[0118], a can be zero and is zero for this instance; [0004], [0037], Uemasta).
As to claim 11, modified Ku discloses wherein, Formula 1 is represented by Formula 2:
wherein, in Formula 2, M11 is Na, K, Rb, Cs, Fr, Be, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Ra, Sc, Y, Ti, Zr, Hf, V, Nb, Ta, Cr, Mo, W, Mn, Tc, Re, Fe, Ru, Os, Co, Rh, Ir, Ni, Pd, Pt, Cu, Ag, Au, Zn, Cd, Hg, Al, Ga, In, Ti, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Po, or a combination thereof, M12 is La, Ce, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, Sc, Y, In, or a combination thereof, 0≤a′<1.5, 0<b<1.5, 0≤y<6, 0≤z<6, 0<y+z≤6 ([0004], [0037], Uemasta).
As to claim 12, modified Ku discloses wherein, the first solid electrolyte comprises LixHoCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixCeCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixPrCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixNdCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixPmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixSmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixEuCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixGdCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixTbClywherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixDyClywherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixErCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixTmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixYbCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixInCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixYCly wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, or LixLuClywherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6; LixM1aHoClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aCeClywherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aPrCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aNdClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aPmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aSmClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aEuClywherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aGdCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aTbClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aDyCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aErClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aTmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aYbCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1alnCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aYClywherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aLuCly wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6; LixHoBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixCeBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixPrBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixNdBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixPmBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixSmBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixEuBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixGdBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixTbBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixDyBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixErBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixTmBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixYbBrzwherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z≤6, LixInBry wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixYBry wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<y≤6, LixLuBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, and 0<z<6; LixM1aHoBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aCeBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aPrBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aNdBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aPmCly wherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aSmBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aEuBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aGdBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aTbBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aDyBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aErBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aTm wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<y≤6, LixM1aYbBrzwherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1alnBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aYBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, 0≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, LixM1aLuBrz wherein 0<x<3.5, O≤a<1.5, and 0<z≤6, or a combination thereof, and M1 includes an alkali metal, an alkaline earth metal, a transition metal, or a combination thereof ([0004], [0037], Uemasta).
As to claim 13, modified Ku discloses wherein, the second solid electrolyte comprises a compound having an argyrodite-type crystal structure and represented by Formula 4:
wherein, in Formula 4, M1 is a metal element of Groups 1 to 15 of the Periodic Table, or a combination thereof, other than Li, M2 is an element of Group 17 of the Periodic Table, or a combination thereof, M3 is SOn, and 4≤a≤8, 0≤x<1, 3≤y≤7, 0<z≤2, 0≤w<2, and 1.5≤n≤5 ([0149]-[0154]).
As to claim 14, modified Ku discloses wherein, the second solid electrolyte is a sulfide solid electrolyte comprising Li2S—P2S5, Li2S—P2S5—LiX wherein X is a halogen element, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O, Li2S—P2S5—Li2O-Lil, Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-SiS2—Lil, Li2S-SiS2—LiBr, Li2S-SiS2—LiCl, Li2S-SiS2—B2S3—Lil, Li2S-SiS2—P2S5-Lil, Li2S-B2S3, Li2S—P2S5—ZmSn wherein m and n are positive numbers, and Z is one of Ge, Zn, or Ga, Li2S-GeS2, Li2S-SiS2—Li3PO4, Li2S-SiS2—LipMOq wherein p and q are positive numbers, and M is one of P, Si, Ge, B, Al, Ga, or In, Li7-xPS6-xClx wherein 0<x<2, Li7-xPS6-xBrx wherein 0<x<2, Li7—xPS6-xlx wherein 0<x<2, or a combination thereof ([0148]).
As to claim 15, modified Ku does not specifically state wherein, when the interlayer is analyzed by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a first doublet peak corresponding to an S2p peak of sulfur appears at a binding energy range of about 160 electronvolts to about 164 electronvolts, and the first doublet peak comprises a first peak at about 160 electronvolts to about 162 electronvolts and a second peak at about 162.1 electronvolts to about 164 electronvolts. However, Ku discloses the same material as the instant claimed invention for the intermediate layer as seen within claims 4 and 5, thus the same material would have the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 16, modified Ku does not specifically state wherein, when the interlayer is analyzed by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a second doublet peak corresponding to an O1s peak of oxygen appears at a binding energy range of about 528 electronvolts to about 532 electronvolts, and the second doublet peak comprises a third peak at about 528 electronvolts to about 530 electronvolts and a fourth peak at about 530.1 electronvolts to about 532 electronvolts. However, Ku discloses the same material as the instant claimed invention for the intermediate layer as seen within claims 4 and 5, thus the same material would have the same properties (see MPEP 2112).
As to claim 17, modified Ku discloses an electrochemical cell comprising: the positive electrode-solid electrolyte subassembly of claim 1; and a negative electrode, wherein the solid electrolyte of the positive electrode-solid electrolyte subassembly is disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (figures 11-13, [0121]).
As to claim 18, modified Ku discloses wherein, the negative electrode comprises lithium metal or a lithium alloy ([0126], metal capable of being alloyed with lithium, thus a lithium alloy).
As to claim 19, modified Ku discloses wherein, the electrochemical cell is an all-solid-state secondary battery (figures 11-13, [0121]).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724