DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s substantive remarks and arguments regarding the prior art rejection of newly amended claim 1 (see pgs. 3-5 filed 01/21/2026) appear to be solely directed to the Nagase reference. Applicant’s bona fide attempt to advance the application has addressed, only in part, the prior art rejection of the claims anticipated by Nagase. However, the prior art rejection of the claims as anticipated by the Fukui reference have not been traversed and/or addressed beyond a nominal statement “Applicant respectfully submits that Fukui is likewise deficient, as is Saikawa” (pg. 5 of Remarks). The Examiner maintains that Applicant’s amendments to the claims are insufficient to overcome the prior art rejection of the claims in view of Fukui. Furthermore,, Applicant’s remarks have been fully considered but are also moot upon further consideration because (the previous and) new grounds of rejection in light of a change of statutory basis and/or in light of Fukui et al.’s teachings are necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments (on 01/21/2026), as detailed below.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
The enumeration (1) through (2) and a) through b) therein separating the elements (and sub-elements) of claims 1, 4, 6 and 8 should be removed and replaced appropriately with a line indentation instead. See MPEP § 608.01 (m) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.75(i), stating “Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukui et al. (US 2018/0284426 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukui discloses: An optical deflector (¶0003) comprising:
A. a rotatable polygon mirror including a plurality of reflecting surfaces for reflecting light (¶0048: polygon mirror);
B. a motor configured to rotate the rotatable polygon mirror about a rotational axis (¶0053: a motor rotary shaft of the polygon mirror scanner motor);
C. a spring configured to urge the rotatable polygon mirror in an axial direction toward the motor such that the rotatable polygon mirror is fixed to the motor (¶0057: a distance between the motor rotary shaft and the pressurizing position of the polygon mirror P by the mirror fixing spring 101); and
D. a snap ring fixed to a rotating shaft of the motor and configured to press the spring in the axial direction (FIGS. 2-5: 105: 121; ¶0044-45: a sleeve 105 attached to a rotary shaft of the motor MT, a polygon mirror P which is placed on a seat surface of the sleeve 105…A disk section configured to rotate about the rotary shaft of the motor MT is provided in the lower portion of the sleeve 105…a spring fixing groove 121 formed by providing a cylindrical section on a part where the disk section is formed in the sleeve 105; ¶0021: a spring fixing groove is formed in the sleeve, that the mirror fixing spring engages with the spring fixing groove; ¶0078: the mirror fixing spring 101 braces against the spring fixing groove 121 upon fixation of the polygon mirror P with the mirror fixing spring 101; see FIGS. 8-10 showing snap ring 105 configured to press the spring 101 in the axial direction),
E. wherein the spring includes an annular shape portion including an annular shape surface contacting a top surface of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0047: an annular outer diameter section of the mirror fixing spring 101 in a plan view…the mirror fixing spring 101 can press the polygon mirror P at four points; see FIG. 8 showing annular shape surface of 101 contacting a top surface of the rotatable polygon mirror P) and a plurality of arm portions integrally formed with the annular shape portion (FIGS. 6-7; ¶0047: mirror fixing spring 101 has a shape having pressurizing sections 301 protruding in a cross form (in four directions including the up, down, left, and right directions) from an annular outer diameter section of the mirror fixing spring 101 in a plan view), and
F. wherein the plurality of the arm portions radially extend from an outer circumference of the annular shape portion, are disposed at equal intervals with respect to a rotational direction with a rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0047-48; see FIGS. 1 & 6-7 showing arm portions 301 radially extend from an outer circumference of the annular shape portion of 101 and disposed at equal intervals with respect to a rotational direction with a rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror P), wherein for each of the plurality of arm portions, (1) one end in a radial direction of the arm portion is connected to the annular shape portion, and (2) the other end of the arm portion, which is a leading end portion in the radial direction, is not connected to the other end of any other of the plurality of arm portions (¶0047-50; see FIG. 8 showing one end in a radial direction of the arm portion 301 connected to the annular shape portion of 101 and the other end of the arm portion 301 not connected to the other end of any other of the plurality of arm portions), and wherein in a state in which the spring is pressed by the snap ring, (1) the plurality of arm portions are bent and (2) the annular shape surface is brought into surface contact with the top surface of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0049: end sections of the mirror fixing spring 101 are upwardly bent in the vicinities of the pressurizing sections 301. Thus, the pressurizing sections 301 are formed of curved surfaces. The polygon mirror P is pressed by the curved surface sections; see FIG. 8 showing in a state in which the spring 101 is pressed by the snap ring 105, the plurality of arm portions are bent and the annular shape surface of 101 is in surface contact with the top surface of the rotatable polygon mirror P).
Regarding Claim 3, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 1, as above. Fukui further discloses: wherein the rotatable polygon mirror includes a plurality of protrusion portions on the top surface for positioning the spring in the rotational direction (see FIG. 8 showing plurality of protrusion portions 305 on a surface opposite to annular shape portion 301), and wherein the annular shape portion includes a plurality of cutaway portions for engaging with the plurality of protrusion portions, respectively, at a position of the same phase as the plurality of arm portions (¶0048: The engagement sections 305 are sections for fixing the mirror fixing spring 101 to the sleeve 105…cutout sections [cutaway portions] extending in the four directions including the up, down, left, and right directions in FIG. 7 extend to the vicinities of the pressurizing sections 301. By this shape, the mirror fixing spring 101 functions as a spring for pressing the polygon mirror P).
Regarding Claim 4, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 3, as above. Fukui further discloses: wherein the plurality of the protrusion portions are disposed on (1) a circle centered on the rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror, and (2) a radial line connecting a vertex between two reflecting surfaces, of the plurality of reflecting surfaces, that are adjacent to each other and (b) the rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0047: it is shown that the pressing positions are arranged on lines intersected by respective perpendicular lines of a plurality of (four in the present embodiment) reflection surfaces of the polygon mirror P and by the rotary axial center; see FIGS. 1 & 6-8 showing that the plurality of the protrusion portions 305 are disposed on a circle centered on the rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror P and a radial line connecting a vertex between two reflecting surfaces that are adjacent to each other and the rotation center of the rotatable polygon mirror P; ¶0048, 0050, 0054, 0063).
Regarding Claim 8, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 1, as above. Fukui further discloses: wherein each of the plurality of arm portions includes: a bent portion continuing from the outer circumference of the annular shape portion and configured to bend the arm portion toward the rotation center and so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, and a second portion continuing from the bent portion and configured to extend (1) when viewed in the axial direction, so as to be away, in the radial direction, from the rotation center and (2) so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, wherein an end of the portion, which is the leading end portion, contacts the snap ring (¶0048-51; ¶0049: end sections of the mirror fixing spring 101 are upwardly bent in the vicinities of the pressurizing sections 301. Thus, the pressurizing sections 301 are formed of curved surfaces; ¶0073: The pressurizing section 301 includes a curved surface section. The mirror fixing spring 101 pressurizes the flat surface section of the polygon mirror P via the curved surface section. The curvature radius of the curved surface section is denoted by R; ¶0048: The engagement sections 305 are sections for fixing the mirror fixing spring 101 to the sleeve 105 by engaging with the spring fixing groove 121 of the sleeve 105; see FIGS. 6-8 showing each of the arm portions 301 includes a bent portion continuing from the outer circumference 305 of the annular shape portion of 101 and configured to bend the arm portion toward the rotation center and so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, and a second portion (towards 301) continuing from the bent portion and configured to extend so as to be away from the rotation center and so as to be disposed away from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion of 101, wherein an end of the portion 305 contacts the snap ring 105).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui et al. (US 2018/0284426 A1) in view of Nagase (US 2007/0058235 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 1, as above.
Although Fukui discloses a polygon mirror (¶0018), Fukui does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the plurality of the arm portions are provided in a number equal to an integer multiple of a number of the reflecting surfaces.
Nagase is related to Fukui with respect to an optical deflector comprising a rotatable polygon mirror including a plurality of reflecting surfaces for reflecting light, a driving unit configured to drive the rotatable polygon mirror, an urging member, and a restricting member configured to press the urging member and restrict movement of the urging member with respect to a rotational axis direction of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0037, 0046; FIGS. 1 & 5) and Nagase teaches: wherein the plurality of the arm portions are provided in a number equal to an integer multiple of a number of the reflecting surfaces (¶0046; see FIG. 5B showing plurality of the arm portions 11-5 are provided by an integer multiple of a number of the reflecting surfaces of 11-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukui’s optical deflector in view of Nagase to satisfy the claimed arm portions condition, because such reflecting surfaces are known and would be selected to minimize the pressure gradient in the vertical direction in the rotation axis direction of the rotating polygon mirror so that the airflow can be made uniform in the circumferential direction, thereby resulting in highly accurate rotation of the polygon mirror to be attained, as taught in ¶0009, 0012, 0014, 0044-45 of Nagase.
Regarding Claim 5, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 4, as above. Fukui does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the rotatable polygon mirror is formed of a resin molded product, and wherein the plurality of protrusion portions are integrally molded with the rotatable polygon mirror.
Nagase is related to Fukui with respect to an optical deflector comprising a rotatable polygon mirror including a plurality of reflecting surfaces for reflecting light, a driving unit configured to drive the rotatable polygon mirror, an urging member, and a restricting member configured to press the urging member and restrict movement of the urging member with respect to a rotational axis direction of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0037, 0046; FIGS. 1 & 5) and Nagase teaches: wherein the rotatable polygon mirror is formed of a resin molded product, and wherein the plurality of protrusion portions are integrally molded with the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0042: resin component of mirror).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukui’s optical deflector in view of Nagase to satisfy the claimed resin condition, because such a material condition serves to stabilize the rotating mirror, as taught in ¶0042 of Nagase.
Regarding Claim 9, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 1, as above.
Although Fukui discloses scanning optical devices comprising a laser light source and an optical deflector (¶0003), Fukui does not appear to explicitly disclose: A scanning optical device comprising: a light source configured to emit a laser light; and an optical deflector according to Claim 1, the optical deflector deflecting the laser light emitted from the light source.
Nagase is related to Fukui with respect to an optical deflector comprising a rotatable polygon mirror including a plurality of reflecting surfaces for reflecting light, a driving unit configured to drive the rotatable polygon mirror, an urging member, and a restricting member configured to press the urging member and restrict movement of the urging member with respect to a rotational axis direction of the rotatable polygon mirror (¶0037, 0046; FIGS. 1 & 5) and Nagase teaches: A scanning optical device comprising: a light source configured to emit a laser light; and an optical deflector according to Claim 1, the optical deflector deflecting the laser light emitted from the light source (¶0014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukui’s optical deflector in view of Nagase to satisfy the claimed scanning optical device, because such a laser light source in a scanning unit is utilized to deflect and scan in a digital full color copier capable of scanning longitudinal widths of almost all A4-sizes, as taught in ¶0004, 0037, 0046, 0051 of Nagase.
Regarding Claim 10, Nagase-Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 9, as above. Nagase further discloses: An image forming apparatus comprising (¶0005): an image bearing member (¶0037: photosensitive drum 2 serving as the image bearing member); a scanning optical device according to Claim 9, the scanning optical device being configured to scan the image bearing member with a laser light and form an electrostatic latent image (¶0038-39, 0051: the laser scanning unit); and an image forming unit configured to develop the electrostatic latent image with toner and form a toner image on the image bearing member, and then to transfer the toner image to a recording material and form the toner image on the recording material (¶0052-57: Respective transfer devices 6a, 6b, 6c, and 6d are disposed to transfer toner images on the photosensitive drums to intermediate transfer materials or recording materials).
Claims 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui et al. (US 2018/0284426 A1) in view of Saikawa (JPH 08171067 A; as cited in IDS filed 07/25/2023).
The Examiner notes that the following cited text of Saikawa is to the English translation retrieved from the Patent Translate feature of https://worldwide.espacenet.com and provided herewith.
Regarding Claim 6, Fukui discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 1, as above. Fukui does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein each of the plurality of arm portions includes a first portion extending from the outer circumference of the annular shape portion, a bent portion continuing from the first portion and configured to bend the arm portion toward the rotation center so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, and a second portion continuing from the bent portion and configured to extend toward the rotation center and so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, wherein an end portion of the second portion, which is the leading end portion, (1) when viewed in the axial direction, is positioned inside, in the radial direction, of the outer circumference and (2) contacts the snap ring.
Saikawa is related to Fukui with respect to an optical deflector comprising a rotatable polygon mirror including a plurality of reflecting surfaces for reflecting light, a driving unit configured to drive the rotatable polygon mirror, an urging member, and a restricting member configured to press the urging member and restrict movement of the urging member with respect to a rotational axis direction of the rotatable polygon mirror (FIGS. 2A-B; ¶0015, 0023, 0032, 0036, 0040, 0042) and Saikawa teaches: wherein each of the plurality of arm portions includes a first portion extending from the outer circumference of the annular shape portion, a bent portion continuing from the first portion and configured to bend the arm portion toward the rotation center so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, and a second portion continuing from the bent portion and configured to extend toward the rotation center and so as to be disposed away, in the axial direction, from the annular shape surface of the annular shape portion, wherein an end portion of the second portion, which is the leading end portion, (1) when viewed in the axial direction, is positioned inside, in the radial direction, of the outer circumference and (2) contacts the snap ring (¶0040: The outer shape of the pressure spring 10 is set so that when the pressure spring 10 is assembled to the rotating shaft 3 and divided into four parts along two axes (X-axis and Y-axis) perpendicular to the central axis of the rotating shaft 3, the masses of the four divided parts are approximately equal; ¶0032: The pressure spring 10 consists of a first abutment portion 11, a second abutment portion 12 and a curved portion 13 that is a support portion that supports both abutment portions 11, 12 in a cantilevered state, allowing them to elastically move toward and away from each other; ¶0036: the pressure spring 10 has an approximately V-shaped cross section when no external force is applied and it elastically deforms into a U-shape; see FIG. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukui’s optical deflector in view of Saikawa to satisfy the claimed arm portions condition, because such portions of the arm portions are known and would be selected such that there is no risk of excessive thrust being applied to the shaft member during assembly of the elastic member so the assembly work is easy and there is no risk of damaging bearings, and there is no risk of whirling vibrations occurring due to imbalances in the mass of the elastic member when the rotating polygon mirror is rotated, thereby resulting in the number of assembly parts is significantly reduced and the assembly process is greatly simplified; furthermore, when replacing a damaged rotary polygon mirror, the elastic member can be easily removed from the shaft member and there is no risk of the elastic member being damaged in the process so that it can be reused as is; therefore, the maintenance cost is also low, as taught in ¶0017, 0019-20, 0042 of Saikawa.
Regarding Claim 7, Fukui-Saikawa discloses the optical deflector according to Claim 6, as above. Saikawa further discloses: wherein in a state in which the spring is pressed by the snap ring, the first portion is disposed away, in the axial direction, from the rotatable polygon mirror (FIG. 2A-B: first abutment portion 11; ¶0032).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMANVITHA SRIDHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872