Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-8, filed 3/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under JUST Cable Ties have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sampson US 5293669 and JP S611199952.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the engagement teeth formed in the base portion except the function portion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampson US 5293669.
Regarding claim 1, Sampson discloses a cable tie, comprising:
a desired length of belt configured to be wrapped around a bundle of tied articles; and
a buckle (10) connected to a proximal end portion of the belt and having a belt insertion hole (18) into which the belt is introduced and an engagement claw (28),
wherein the belt includes a base portion (annotated Fig 4) linearly extending from the buckle and a functional portion (annotated Fig 4) having a first linear portion (annotated Fig 4) and a second linear portion (annotated Fig 4),
wherein the belt includes a plurality of engagement teeth (47) formed in the base portion except the functional portion,
wherein the engagement teeth are configured to engage the engagement claw of the buckle when the belt is introduced in to the belt insertion hole of the buckle and is then fastened (Col 7 lines 61-64, “one or more lace teeth 47 engage locking teeth 29 associated with pivot arm 28”),
wherein the first linear portion is connected to a distal end of the base portion at a proximal end thereof,
wherein the second linear portion is connected to a distal end of the first liner portion at a proximal end thereof,
wherein the first linear portion is inclined at a first angle (Θ2) with respect to the base portion in a belt wrapping direction,
wherein the second linear portion is inclined at a second angle (Θ3) with respect to the first liner portion in the belt wrapping direction, and
wherein the sum of the first angle and the second angle (Θ4) is determined to be equal to or smaller than 60 degrees (Col 6 lines 35-37, Θ4 may range from about 10 degrees to about 60 degrees) (Fig 4-5).
Claim language noted in italics in this office action are considered by the examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of a belt, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the examiner maintains that the multi-use fastener disclosed by Sampson is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Sampson does not explicitly disclose wherein the first angle is determined to be equal to or smaller than the second angle.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had Θ2 be equal or less than Θ3 to allow easier insertion of the function portion for the user, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Sampson discloses the invention except wherein a length of the functional portion of the belt is determined to be equal to 28 +/- 10 percent of an overall length of the belt.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the length of the function portion be 28 +/- 10 percent of the overall length of the belt to allow for easier insertion and removal of the functional portion before the base portion is engaged, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 11, lines 1-2, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Sampson discloses the invention except wherein a length of the first linear portion is determined to be greater than a length of the second linear portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the length of the first linear portion be greater than the length of the second linear portion to allow for easier insertion and removal of the functional portion before the base portion is engaged, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 22, lines 20-21, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sampson US 5293669 in view of JP S61119952.
Regarding claim 2, Sampson as modified discloses the invention except wherein the functional portion includes a third linear portion,
wherein the third linear portion is connected to a distal end of the second linear portion at a proximal end thereof,
wherein the third linear portion is inclined at a third angle with respect to the second liner portion in the belt wrapping direction, and
wherein the second angle is determined to be equal to or smaller than the third angle, and
wherein the sum of the first angle, the second angle and the third angle is determined to be equal to or smaller than 60 degrees.
JP S61119952 discloses a cable tie with 5 linear portions bent at corresponding V-shaped slots.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a third linear portion of the functional portion of Sampson bent at a third angle as taught by JP S61119952 to create more of a gradual bend in the tie and allow it to more easily wrap around more objects or a bigger object.
Sampson in view of JP S61119952 discloses the invention except wherein the second angle is determined to be equal to or smaller than the third angle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the second angle be equal or smaller than the third angle to allow easier insertion of the function portion for the user, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. The Examiner notes that the disclosure is silent to the claim limitation being claimed.
Sampson discloses wherein the function portion can have one linear portion at one angle Θ1 to range from 10 to 60 degrees. Sampson also discloses wherein the functional portion can have two linear portions at angles Θ2 and Θ3 respectively wherein the sum of the angles Θ4 is between 10 to 60 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the sum of the three angles of the three linear portions of the modified cable tie of Sampson in view of JP S61119952 to be 60 degrees or less.
Regarding claim 5, Sampson in view of JP S61119952 discloses the invention except wherein a length of the first linear portion, a length of the second linear portion and a length of the third linear portion may be determined to be equal to each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had the length of the first, second, and third linear portions be equal to each other to allow the tie to more easily bend around the object and insert into the buckle, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 10, line 19-21, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677