DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election of species in the reply filed on 9/16/25 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments directed to a photovoltaic inverter housing. This type of device is not in the original elected inventions and it’s also belonged to another class/subclass. Examiner remind Applicant that the claim scope can’t be switched to another inventions during the examination. Current amendments are focus on the withdrawn claims so Examiner will not object any of withdrawn claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Claim 1, the limitations “wherein the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are pressed against each other and are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners” are unclear since neither the written description nor the drawings appear to describe/show the claimed features. Examiner request Applicant to clearly show (on the figure):
Which figure shows the claimed limitations?
Which paragraph describes the claimed limitations.
In Applicant’s previous remark, Applicant only provided paragraph [30] , however, this paragraph failed support the claimed limitations. Paragraph [30]: [00030] As shown in the enlarged detail of Fig. 2, the fastener 4 is designed here as a quarter-turn fastener 8 which is accessible from the side of the housing pan 2. This makes it possible to release the cover 3 from the housing pan 2 with little effort, so that the housing interior is easily accessible for repair purposes, for example.
Any SPEC amendments to add the new matters will be declined to enter.
Finally, how are the sides, without fasteners, fastened to each other? There is no other fasten structure disclosed in this application.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, all the limitations, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first / second paragraph (see above), and/or the claim objections must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN 212163874) in view of Guo (CN 220209124) and MUELLER (CN 211860789), and further in view of Wright (US 20150077935).
Regarding claim 1, Liang disclosed A power electronics circuitry housing that is explosion-proof for a power electronics circuitry unit, (abstract, see also fig 1-7) comprising: a power electronics circuitry housing pan, and a power electronics circuitry cover that closes the power electronics circuitry housing pan via a seal (at least fig 1, a housing pan, and a cover on both sides with a portion of housing structure to seal the housing including 11, 21, 5, 1 etc.),
wherein edge regions of the power electronics circuitry housing pan and power electronics circuitry cover together form a first pair of opposing sides, and a second pair of opposing sides (at least fig 1, edge regions of the housing pan and cover together form a first pair of opposing sides, and a second pair of opposing sides; any pairs on any sides), wherein the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are pressed against each other (at last fig 1, fig 7)
Liang lacks teaching: wherein the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners, wherein the plurality of fasteners are configured to be released by rotation and that engage in latching structures, and wherein the plurality of fasteners are arranged in a central third of the first pair of opposing sides.
Guo teaches a housing structure comprising: the plurality of fasteners are arranged in a central third of the respective sides (at least fig 1, 3, 5, 8, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (fasteners are arranged in a central third of the respective sides) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the primary art’s structure) so as to further secure the modified structure and/or provide more fasteners on specific areas.
Liang in view of Guo lacks teaching the other limitations as discussed above.
MUELLER teaches a latching structures for housing comprising: plurality of fasteners that are configured to be released by rotation and that engage in latching structures (abstract, see also the figures) and claim 1; fixing area, fastening structure, screw holes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (latching structures for housing) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to Liang in view of Guo’s structure) so as to have (Liang in view of Guo and MUELLER):
the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners (modified Mueller’s latching structure to the location only at one of the first pair or the second pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the cover and the housing pan; so that the cover and the housing pan are pressed against each other with the force provided by the latching structure) located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover (see above modification) and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners, wherein the plurality of fasteners are configured to be released by rotation and that engage in latching structures (see above modification).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide latching structures allow the cover and the housing pan are pressed against each other while the user assembly this structure.
Liang in view of Guo and MUELLER lacks teaching: the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners (see 112 rejection).
Wright teaches a housing comprising: the other pair of opposing sides is free of any fasteners (see the fasteners arranged on item-2) and the plurality of fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the other pair of opposing sides is free of any fasteners and the plurality of fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to have (Liang in view of Guo, MUELLER, and Wright; reduced the number of fasteners and keep the location of two fasteners on opposing end portions of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the housing; see claim 1 discussion):
the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover (modified by Wright) and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners (modified by Wright), wherein the plurality of fasteners are configured to be released by rotation and that engage in latching structures , and wherein the plurality of fasteners are arranged in a central third of the first pair of opposing sides (previous discussed Liang in view of Guo, MUELLER).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to further secure the structure and/or reduce the parts and/or reduce the cost and/or enhance the assembly process.
Examiner’s note: Applicant’s SPEC [0013]: each fastener being arranged approximately at a third or two thirds of the side length.
In addition, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have each fastener is arranged at opposing end portions of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the power electronics circuitry housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide more latching force on the central third of the first pair of opposing sides; and/or enhance the assembly process.
Regarding claim 3, modified Liang further disclosed the plurality of fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners that are arranged on both sides of the first pair of opposing sides (see claim 1 modification; modified by Wright to reduce the fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners that are arranged on both sides of the first pair of opposing sides; while keep the locations of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the power electronics circuitry housing as discussed in claim 1), wherein each fastener is arranged at opposing end portions of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the power electronics circuitry housing (see claim 1 discussion).
Examiner’s note: Applicant’s SPEC [0013]: each fastener being arranged approximately at a third or two thirds of the side length. (See claim 1 rejection)
Regarding claim 4, modified Liang further disclosed the fasteners are arranged releasably from the power electronics circuitry housing pan (see claim 1 modification), and each of which engage in the latching structure which is arranged in or on the cover (see claim 1 modification) and is invisible from the side of the cover facing away from the power electronics circuitry housing pan (see the primary art’s fig 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liang further disclosed the latching structures are each arranged on a fastening bar which is fastened to the power electronics circuitry cover and which deforms in the event of a pressure rise in the power electronics circuitry housing interior (see Mueller’s abstract, see also the figures and claim 1) such that a gap between the power electronics circuitry housing pan and the power electronics circuitry cover also forms in a region of the fasteners, through which gap the rising pressure can escape (see Mueller’s abstract, see also the figures and claim 1; see also claim 1 modification).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN 212163874) in view of Guo (CN 220209124), MUELLER (CN 211860789) ), and further in view of Wright (US 20150077935) and (Applicant admitted prior, AAPA).
Regarding claim 7, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the fasteners are in each case configured as a quarter-turn fastener.
However, Examiner take official notice (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03) that the above limitations (the fasteners are in each case configured as a quarter-turn fastener) are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the fasteners are in each case configured as a quarter-turn fastener) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON (AAPA) feature is to further enhance the assembly process for the modified structure.
Regarding claim 8, modified Liang further disclosed the latching structure comprises a fastening bar (see Mueller’s abstract, see also the figures and claim 1), wherein the fastening bar is fastened to the power electronics circuitry cover at opposite ends and has a retaining cam (see Mueller’s abstract, see also the figures and claim 1) in a central region for receiving the quarter-turn fastener in a latching manner (see Mueller’s abstract, see also the figures and claim 1; see also the modification discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, The primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for the quarter-turn fastener comprises a visually discernible indicator that shows a latching state of the quarter-turn fastener.
However, Examiner take official notice (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03) that the above limitations (the quarter-turn fastener comprises a visually discernible indicator that shows a latching state of the quarter-turn fastener) are well known. (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (the quarter-turn fastener comprises a visually discernible indicator that shows a latching state of the quarter-turn fastener) and modify to previous discussed structure. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with EON (Now Admitted prior art, see MPEP 2144.03) feature is to further enhance the assembly process for the modified structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as allegedly failing to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Paragraphs [0014] and [0029] of applicant's published application are amended herein to include description clearly shown in the elected species of Fig. 2. A copy of Fig. 2 is provided below along with a copy of claim 1 that includes reference numerals that map to Fig. 2 in a non-limiting example.” (pages 7-10).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:- Applicant failed to show any disclosure of the claimed limitations in the SPEC. The drawing, however, only show a portion of the structure which can’t disclose the negative limitations (missing fasteners).
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Liang (CN 212163874) in view of Guo (CN 220209124), MUELLER (CN 211860789), and Yoshida (US 20040226856). Claim 1 is amended herein to recite that the housing is a photovoltaic inverter housing that is explosion-proof for a power electronics unit, and comprises a photovoltaic inverter housing pan, and a photovoltaic inverter cover that closes the photovoltaic inverter housing pan. Claim 1 further recites that the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are pressed against each other and are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners. As amended in claim 1, the Yoshida is non-analogous art for the reasons highlighted below.” (pages 11 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Argued limitations are not in the claims.
With respect to the Applicants’ remarks that, “In combining Yoshida with the teachings of Liang, Guo and Mueller, the Office Action asserts that it would have been obvious to do so because a person of ordinary skill would want to further secure the structure and/or reduce the parts and/or reduce the cost and/or enhance the assembly process. (see F.O.A., 1/9/26, p 8, lines 14-16). In maintaining the rejection, the Advisory Action states that claim 1 does not recite the claim elements as elements of a photovoltaic inverter housing. Claim 1 has been amended to address this issue specifically, and states that the photovoltaic inverter housing comprises the photovoltaic inverter cover and a photovoltaic inverter housing pan. Applicant respectfully submits that as amended in claim 1, Yoshida constitutes non- analogous art under Federal Circuit case law set forth in both LKQ Corp. v. GM, 102 F.4th 1280 (Fed. Cir. 2024 (en banc) and Donner Technology, LLC v. Pro Stage Gear, LLC, 979 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2020)).” (pages 11 to the end).
Examiner’s Answer: the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that:
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to current ground of rejection in the office action.
In this case, Wright teaches a housing comprising: the other pair of opposing sides is free of any fasteners (see the fasteners arranged on item-2) and the plurality of fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (the other pair of opposing sides is free of any fasteners and the plurality of fasteners comprise precisely two fasteners) and modify to previous discussed structure so as to have (Liang in view of Guo, MUELLER, and Wright ; reduced the number of fasteners and keep the location of two fasteners on opposing end portions of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the housing; see claim 1 discussion ):
the power electronics circuitry cover and the power electronics circuitry housing pan are joined together exclusively via a plurality of fasteners located only at the first pair of opposing sides formed by the edge regions of the power electronics circuitry cover (modified by Wright ) and the power electronics circuitry housing pan while the second pair of opposing sides does not include any fasteners (modified by Wright ), wherein the plurality of fasteners are configured to be released by rotation and that engage in latching structures , and wherein the plurality of fasteners are arranged in a central third of the first pair of opposing sides (previous discussed Liang in view of Guo, MUELLER).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to further secure the structure and/or reduce the parts and/or reduce the cost and/or enhance the assembly process.
Examiner’s note: Applicant’s SPEC [0013]: each fastener being arranged approximately at a third or two thirds of the side length.
In addition, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have each fastener is arranged at opposing end portions of the central third of the first pair of opposing sides of the power electronics circuitry housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to provide more latching force on the central third of the first pair of opposing sides; and/or enhance the assembly process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841