DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Kazunari (JP H07132312).
Regarding claim 21, Kazunari discloses a system for producing a metal strip (Fig. 1-4), the system comprising: a pre-heater (Fig. 1: 4a-b, 5) for pre-heating a metal input (intended use: in this case, steel sheet) to a warm rolling temperature that is less than one-half the melting point of the metal input; and a warm roller (subjective: roll heated by the warmth of rolled material is warm) for warm rolling the pre-heated metal input to produce the metal strip.
Regarding claim 23, Kazunari discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the pre-heater is a heated tunnel (4a, 4b, 5 – top and bottom and surrounding the workpiece makes it a tunnel) located between a payoff station (1a) and the warm roller, wherein the heated tunnel provides heat to the input via conduction, convection, or radiation (plasma irradiating) .
Regarding claim 24, Kazunari discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the warm rolling temperature ranges from 350F to 600F (177C to 315C). (200C)
Regarding claim 25, Kazunari discloses the system claim 21, wherein the warm roller comprises a set of heated bite rolls. (rolls bite between top and bottom roll – rolling device 6 makes predetermined thickness between two rolls - inherent)
Regarding claim 26, Kazunari discloses the system of any one of claims 21-25, further comprising a take-up reel (34) downstream of the warm roller.
Alternatively, at least claim(s) 21-22, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Masuda (US 5195344).
Regarding claim 21, Masuda discloses a system (Fig. 1) for producing a metal strip, the system comprising: a pre-heater (4a) for pre-heating a metal input (intended use: 2a – rolled up steel sheet) to a warm rolling temperature (200C) that is less than one-half the melting point of the metal input (intended use); and a warm roller (7 – “When a supply device of an oil at high temperature is provided as a heating means of the rolls, the back-up rolls 8 are applied with the oil of more than 200.degree. C. for preheating the rolls 7 via preheating of the back-up rolls.”) for warm rolling the pre-heated metal input to produce the metal strip.
Regarding claim 22, Masuda discloses wherein the pre-heater is a payoff station (4a) that is configured a) to feed the metal input to the warm roller and (B) to pre-heat the metal input.
Regarding claim 24, Masuda discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the warm rolling temperature ranges from 350F to 600F (200C).
Regarding claim 25, Masuda discloses the system claim 21, wherein the warm roller comprises a set of heated bite rolls. (7)
Regarding claim 26, Masuda discloses the system of any one of claims 21-25, further comprising a take-up reel (2b) downstream of the warm roller.
Conclusion
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 3725