DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
In accordance with the Remarks filed 02/13/2026, claims 39-40 and 51 are elected, without traverse, for examination on the merits and, hence, pending.
This application does not claim priorities from any domestic application or to any foreign application.
Objections
Claims 39 and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities, and appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 line 1, the term “SDT” needs to be defined as to what it stands for to avoid ambiguity.
Claim 40 line 2, the term “RA” needs to be defined as to what it stands for to avoid ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 20220210798 A1, hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding claim 39, Tsai teaches a method for SDT, performed by a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless network, the method comprising (in general, see fig. 1 and 2 along with their paragraphs):
receiving a message from a base station in the wireless network, the message comprising a dedicated search space for SDT (Tsai, see at least para. 101 in view of para. 95 of fig. 1, “...Step S240/S250: Once the RA procedure is successfully completed, the UE 110 may monitor a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI/CS-RNTI) for subsequent data transmission. Subsequent data transmission may be the transmission of multiple UL and/or DL packets as part of the same SDT mechanism ... UE 110 may monitor PDCCH via a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI/CS-RNTI) to receive the dynamic scheduling for UL and/or DL new transmission and/or the corresponding retransmission...”, note that in para. 95, “...UE 110 may monitor PDCCH on a specific search space (e.g., a SDT search space) via a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI and/or CS-RNTI) to receive the dynamic scheduling...”);
and
receiving an SDT related Downlink Control Information (DCI) according to the dedicated search space for SDT (Tsai, see at least para. 95 along with para. 283, note that “...In one embodiment, a UE may be provided with a USS set by sdt-CG-SearchSpace, or a CSS set by sdt-SearchSpace, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI formats with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI for scheduling respective PUSCH transmissions or PDSCH receptions...”).
Regarding claim 51, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 39 except this claim is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, Tsai also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor in communication with the memory (Tsai, see at least fig. 13), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, in view of Jeon et al. (US 20220132596 A1, hereinafter Jeon).
Regarding claim 40, Tsai teaches claim 39.
Tsai further teaches wherein the SDT comprises an RA-based SDT (Tsai, see at least para. 101 and fig. 2, e.g. RA-based SDT).
Tsai does not specifically teach the message comprises a System Information (SI).
Jeon teaches the message comprises a System Information (SI) (in general, see sections including, but not limited to, para. 239-243, in particular, see at least para. 239, “...A wireless device may initiate an RA-based SDT on a cell. The wireless device may determine a particular RA type of an RA procedure for the RA-based SDT. For example, a network or a base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast, multicast, and/or unicast) one or more messages (e.g., system information block(s), RRC message(s), MAC CE(s), DCI(s) and/or any combination thereof), comprising configuration parameters of the RA-based SDT for the cell...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Jeon into the method of Tsai to provide efficient signaling mechanisms and reduce signaling overhead (Jeon, para. 219).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465