DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3.. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
6. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akl et al. (US 2023/0354188 A1, hereinafter “Akl”).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Akl teaches a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system (figs 1, 3, 9), the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a configuration message including information configuring an operation mode of the terminal (figs. 4, 8, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0110]), the operation mode being associated with an energy saving operation of the base station (figs. 8, 9, ¶ [0057], the DTX configuration referenced in either component may be a UE DTX configuration or a cell DRX configuration. ¶ [0110], the DTX configuration may be a cell DRX configuration, based on which configuration the base station periodically operates in a sleep mode to save reception power when no UE transmissions are expected during periodic intervals. ¶ [0111], ¶ [0078]), wherein the operation mode includes a first mode associated with a downlink reception of the terminal (figs. 4, 9, UE DRX. ¶ [0078], ¶ [0119]) and a second mode associated with an uplink transmission of the terminal (figs. 8, 9, UE DTX. ¶ [0110], ¶ [0119]); in case that the terminal is configured with the first mode, performing restriction for monitoring of the downlink reception (figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration. ¶ [0119]); and in case that the terminal is configured with the second mode, performing restriction for the uplink transmission (figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0110], the DTX configuration may be a UE DTX configuration, based on which configuration the UE periodically operates in a sleep mode to save transmission power when no UE transmissions are expected during periodic intervals. The UE may transmit SRs, uplink data in CG-PUSCH occasions, and other uplink data during an active or on duration while refraining from transmitting such information during an inactive or off duration.), wherein, in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station, the restriction for the uplink transmission includes generating uplink data (fig. 8, ¶ [0112], During the on duration 812, the UE may transmit data in SR occasions 802 and CG-PUSCH occasions 804. The UE may also transmit other data than SRs or CG-PUSCH data during the on duration 812, such as RACH signals or other uplink data. ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity).
Akl does not explicitly teach the restriction for the uplink transmission includes generating a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU).
However, Akl teaches the restriction for the uplink transmission includes generating uplink data for the MAC entity (fig. 8, ¶ [0072], MAC layer functionality associated with multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0088]) in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station (fig. 8, ¶ [0112]).
Therefore, it is obvious that uplink MAC PDU is generated in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station in the system of Akl to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Akl teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system (figs 1, 3, 9), the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, a configuration message including information indicating configuring an operation mode of the terminal (figs. 4, 8, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0110]), the operation mode being associated with an energy saving operation of the base station (figs. 8, 9, ¶ [0057], the DTX configuration referenced in either component may be a UE DTX configuration or a cell DRX configuration. ¶ [0110], the DTX configuration may be a cell DRX configuration, based on which configuration the base station periodically operates in a sleep mode to save reception power when no UE transmissions are expected during periodic intervals. ¶ [0111], ¶ [0078] ), wherein the operation mode includes a first mode associated with a downlink reception of the terminal (figs. 4, 9, UE DRX. ¶ [0078], ¶ [0119]) and a second mode associated with an uplink transmission of the terminal (figs. 8, 9, UE DTX. ¶ [0110], ¶ [0119]); in case that the operation mode is indicated as the first mode, performing restriction for a downlink transmission, the downlink transmission corresponding to the downlink reception of the terminal (figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration. ¶ [0119]); and in case that the operation mode is indicated as the second mode, performing restriction for monitoring of an uplink reception, the uplink reception corresponding to the uplink transmission of the terminal(figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0110], the DTX configuration may be a UE DTX configuration, based on which configuration the UE periodically operates in a sleep mode to save transmission power when no UE transmissions are expected during periodic intervals. The UE may transmit SRs, uplink data in CG-PUSCH occasions, and other uplink data during an active or on duration while refraining from transmitting such information during an inactive or off duration. The base station may refrain from monitoring for UE transmissions during these periodic intervals to achieve network energy savings), wherein, in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station, the restriction for the uplink transmission includes receiving uplink data generated in the terminal (fig. 8, ¶ [0112], During the on duration 812, the UE may transmit data in SR occasions 802 and CG-PUSCH occasions 804. The UE may also transmit other data than SRs or CG-PUSCH data during the on duration 812, such as RACH signals or other uplink data. ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity).
Akl does not explicitly teach the restriction for the uplink transmission includes receiving a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) generated in the terminal.
However, Akl teaches the restriction for the uplink transmission includes generating uplink data for the MAC entity in the terminal (fig. 8, ¶ [0072], MAC layer functionality associated with multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0088]) in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station (fig. 8, ¶ [0112]).
Therefore, it is obvious that uplink MAC PDU is generated in case that a resource corresponding to an uplink grant does not overlap with time units used for the energy saving operation of the base station in the system of Akl to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Akl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, capability information indicating whether the terminal supports the first mode and the second mode (fig. 9, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0125], Initially, the UE 902 may transmit a capability information message 906 indicating a UE capability supporting activation, deactivation, or reconfiguration of SR configurations, configured grant configurations, DTX configurations, DRX configurations, or other configurations, or supporting the activation, deactivation, or reconfiguration of the parameters of such configurations), wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (fig. 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0116]).
Akl does not explicitly teach wherein, in case that the resource overlaps with the time units, the restriction for uplink transmission includes not generating the MAC PDU.
However, Akl teaches wherein, in case that the resource overlaps with the time units, the restriction for uplink transmission includes not transmitting uplink data (¶ [0153], Thus, the UE may be semi-statically or dynamically configured to transmit in UE DTX, or the base station may be semi-statically or dynamically configured to receive in cell DRX, SR transmissions in general, SR transmissions per SR configuration, CG-PUSCH transmissions in general, or CG-PUSCH transmissions per CG configuration having occasions overlapping with an on duration of DTX cycle 816 but not with an off duration or non-active period of DTX cycle 816 when these transmissions are active with respect to DTX. ¶ [0078], ¶ [0080] and ¶ [0088]. ¶ [0057], If the DTX active status is active, the UE may transmit and the base station may receive uplink transmissions during the on duration but not in an off duration of the UE DTX cycle or cell DRX cycle). Akl further teaches generating uplink data for the MAC entity in the terminal (fig. 8, ¶ [0072], MAC layer functionality associated with mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0088]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to not generate MAC PDU, in case that the resource overlaps with the time units in the system of Akl to conserve resources.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Akl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) indicating an activation or a deactivation of the operation mode (¶ [0120], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0157], the base station 806 may transmit an RRC configuration or other layer 3 message, or a DCI, MAC-CE, or other L1 or L2 message, indicating to UE 808 that DTX configuration 810 is active, in response to which the UE and base station may apply the DTX cycle 816 for uplink transmissions in general. ¶ [0197]), wherein, in case that the operation mode is indicated as the deactivation, the uplink data is transmitted (figs. 4, 8, 9, ¶ [0078], When a UE performs DRX, the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration. ¶ [0057], If the DTX active status is inactive, the UE and base station may disregard the UE DTX cycle or cell DRX cycle and thus the UE may transmit and the base station may receive even in the off duration.).
Akl does not explicitly teach wherein, in case that the operation mode is indicated as the deactivation, the downlink reception is monitored.
However, Akl teaches when a UE performs DRX, the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration (figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to deactivate the UE DRX so the UE and base station may disregard the UE DRX cycle or cell DTX cycle and the UE may perform downlink reception and the base station may perform downlink transmission even in the off duration in the system of Akl to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Akl teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: receiving, from the terminal, capability information indicating whether the terminal supports the first mode and the second mode (fig. 9, ¶ [0123], ¶ [0125], Initially, the UE 902 may transmit a capability information message 906 indicating a UE capability supporting activation, deactivation, or reconfiguration of SR configurations, configured grant configurations, DTX configurations, DRX configurations, or other configurations, or supporting the activation, deactivation, or reconfiguration of the parameters of such configurations), wherein the configuration message is a radio resource control (RRC) message (fig. 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0116]).
Akl does not explicitly teach wherein, in case that the resource overlaps with the time units, the restriction for uplink transmission includes not receiving the MAC PDU.
Akl teaches wherein, in case that the resource overlaps with the time units, the restriction for uplink transmission includes not receiving the uplink data (¶ [0153], Thus, the UE may be semi-statically or dynamically configured to transmit in UE DTX, or the base station may be semi-statically or dynamically configured to receive in cell DRX, SR transmissions in general, SR transmissions per SR configuration, CG-PUSCH transmissions in general, or CG-PUSCH transmissions per CG configuration having occasions overlapping with an on duration of DTX cycle 816 but not with an off duration or non-active period of DTX cycle 816 when these transmissions are active with respect to DTX. ¶ [0078], ¶ [0080] and ¶ [0088]. ¶ [0057], If the DTX active status is active, the UE may transmit and the base station may receive uplink transmissions during the on duration but not in an off duration of the UE DTX cycle or cell DRX cycle. If the DTX active status is inactive, the UE and base station may disregard the UE DTX cycle or cell DRX cycle and thus the UE may transmit and the base station may receive even in the off duration). Akl further teaches generating uplink data for the MAC entity in the terminal (fig. 8, ¶ [0072], MAC layer functionality associated with mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, ¶ [0078], The base station may configure a medium access control (MAC) entity of the UE with this DRX functionality via an RRC configuration, which DRX functionality controls the PDCCH monitoring activity of the UE…an inactivity timer (the duration after the PDCCH occasion in which a PDCCH indicates a new uplink or downlink transmission for the MAC entity, ¶ [0080], ¶ [0088]).
Therefore it is obvious that the uplink MAC PDU is not transmitted/received in case that the resource overlaps with the time units in the system of Akl to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Akl teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: transmitting, to the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) indicating an activation or a deactivation of the operation mode (¶ [0120], ¶ [0121], ¶ [0157], the base station 806 may transmit an RRC configuration or other layer 3 message, or a DCI, MAC-CE, or other L1 or L2 message, indicating to UE 808 that DTX configuration 810 is active, in response to which the UE and base station may apply the DTX cycle 816 for uplink transmissions in general. ¶ [0197]), wherein, in case that the operation mode is indicated as the deactivation, the uplink transmission/reception is performed (figs. 4, 8, 9, ¶ [0078], When a UE performs DRX, the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration. ¶ [0057], If the DTX active status is inactive, the UE and base station may disregard the UE DTX cycle or cell DRX cycle and thus the UE may transmit and the base station may receive even in the off duration.).
Akl does not explicitly teach wherein, in case that the operation mode is indicated as the deactivation, the downlink transmission is monitored.
However, Akl teaches When a UE performs DRX, the UE generally monitors the radio channel periodically for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during an active or “on” duration and powers down most of its circuitry to save battery life during an “off” duration (figs. 4, 9, ¶ [0078], ¶ [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to deactivate the UE DRX so the UE and base station may disregard the UE DRX cycle or cell DTX cycle, and the UE may perform downlink reception and the base station may perform downlink transmission even in the off duration in the system of Akl to further improve industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the
argument.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477