VENTING OF PRISMATIC BATTERY CELLS
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/358,431 Art Unit: 1727 January 31, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 25, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aaron et al. (US 2023/0318092 A1).
As to Claims 1-2 and 11-12, Aaron discloses a battery 400, comprising: a plurality of stacked anodes, separators, and cathodes that are housed in a metal can housing, and comprising metal lids provided on each end to close an opening on each end, wherein the lids are brazed (reads on the claimed brazed filler material) and/or crimped to the housing (Abstract, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0013 and 0019]).
As to Claims 6-7 and 14-15, Aaron discloses wherein the housing and lids are made of the same material, such as stainless steel or aluminum (paragraph [0012]).
As to Claims 8 and 16, Aaron discloses wherein the housing and lids are made of different materials (paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aaron et al. (US 2023/0318092 A1).
As to Claims 3-4, Aaron does not specifically disclose the brazing materials. However, there are a known finite number of predictable options for selecting a first and second brazing material for connecting the lids to the battery casing (either the same material or different materials with different melting temperatures). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose either the same brazing materials or different brazing materials because Aaron teaches that a hermetically sealed battery cell can be provided (paragraph [0012]).
As to Claims 9 and 17, Aaron discloses wherein the housing and lids are made of the different materials, such as stainless steel or aluminum (paragraph [0012]). Aaron does not specifically teach that the first metal is different from the second metal in the claimed manner. However, Aaron teaches of a known finite number of predictable solutions for choosing different metals for the battery housing and lids (paragraph [0012]). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose either the same brazing materials or different brazing materials because Aaron teaches that a hermetically sealed battery cell can be provided (paragraph [0012]).
As to Claims 18-19, Aaron discloses wherein the housing and lids can be connected via brazing and crimping (paragraph [0012]). Aaron does not specifically the claimed configurations of brazing and crimping. However, Aaron teaches of a known finite number of predictable solutions for connecting the battery housing and lids (paragraph [0012]). The courts have held that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see MPEP 2143, I, E. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose either the same brazing materials or different brazing materials because Aaron teaches that a hermetically sealed battery cell can be provided (paragraph [0012]).
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aaron et al. (US 2023/0318092 A1) as applied to claims 3-4, 9 and 17-19 in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2007/0059586 A1).
As to Claims 5 and 13, Aaron does not specifically disclose a pressure vent cap provided in either of the lids.
However, Matsumoto teaches of a sealed prismatic battery 1, comprising a pressure-based vent 16 provided in the lid 3 of the battery (Abstract, Fig. 2-3 and paragraph [0021]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Aaron to comprise the claimed pressure-based vent because Matsumoto teaches that the gas in a battery can be released quickly in order to prevent burst of the batteries (paragraph [0024]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aaron et al. (US 2023/0318092 A1) as applied to claims 3-4, 9 and 17-19 in view of Lee (EP 2913862 A1).
As to Claim 10, Aaron does not specifically disclose the claimed brazing materials.
However, Lee teaches of a process of joining at least two same or different metal components in a battery cell, comprising a brazing process using a brazing material comprising an alloy of aluminum and zinc (paragraph [0008]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the brazing material of Aaron to comprise an alloy of aluminum and zinc because Lee teaches that such a brazing flux material is noncorrosive and suitable for brazing of parts of aluminum and/or steel (paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727