DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 3-7 of copending Application No. 18358191, Claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18339765, and Claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18358513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter sought is covered by the subject matter in copending Application Nos. ‘191, ‘765, and ‘513.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: To promote clarity, please amend "the average thickness T2" to “an average thickness T2". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20200312501 (“Ishida et al.”) in view of US Pub. No. 20200135371 (“Tonoyama et al.”).
With regards to Claim 1, Ishida et al. teaches a magnetic core containing metal magnetic particles, wherein the metal magnetic particles include first large particles (second particles of Ishida et al.) with a diameter larger than second large particles (first particles of Ishida et al.) and the second large particles (first particles) have a diameter of 1.3-5.0 μm (with specific examples of 3 μm or more – [0073]), and an insulation coating of the first large particles (second particles) is thicker than an insulating coating of the second large particles (first particles). Therefore, it naturally follows that a diameter of Ishida et al.’s first large particles is greater than 3 μm (Abstract, [0023], [0031], [0034], [0036], [0037], [0073], [0075], [0088], [0089], and Table 1).
Ishida et al. teaches the first and second large particles comprising core portions of magnetic material, wherein the magnetic material may be any of a crystalline material, an amorphous material, or a mixed material (including a nanocrystalline material) in which a crystalline phase (including a nanocrystalline phase) and an amorphous phase are mixed. The first and second large particles may be made of different types of materials [0033]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Ishida et al.’s first large particles comprise of a nanocrystal structure and its second large particles comprise of an amorphous structure based upon desired properties and application [0033].
Ishida et al. does not explicitly teach a total area ratio occupied by the metal magnetic particles on a cross-section of the magnetic core is 75% to 90%.
However, Tonoyama et al. teaches a magnetic core containing metal magnetic particles, wherein a total area ratio occupied by the metal magnetic particles on a cross-section of the magnetic core overlaps the claimed range of 75% to 90% ([0093], [0095], and [0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Ishida et al.’s total area ratio occupied by the metal magnetic particles be 75% to 90% in order to achieve a magnetic core that is densely packed with magnetic material and to improve permeability of the magnetic core [0094].
With regards to Claims 2 and 3, Ishida et al. teaches an average thickness of the insulation coating of the first large particles (T1) is 40 nm to 100 nm, and an average thickness of the insulation coating of the second large particles (T2) is 10 nm or less (Abstract and [0027]). Example 1 in Tables 1 and 3 demonstrates a thickness ratio T1/T2 of 4.
With regards to Claim 4, Ishida et al. discloses a histogram of the particle size distribution of its magnetic core, wherein some of the particles are less than 3 μm, which corresponds to the claimed particle group (Table 2). Ishida et al. discloses all of its particles are coated with an insulating layer and recognizes that such coatings can be same or different in composition to each other [0036].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Ishida et al.’s metal magnetic particles include a particle group with a diameter of less than 3 μm, and includes two or more kinds of small particles having different coatings in composition to each other. Ishida et al. recognizes that having different insulating coatings in composition to each other creates a surface potential that is different from each other so that the particles can be uniformly dispersed without agglomeration [0037].
With regards to Claim 5, Ishida et al. teaches a magnetic component comprising the magnetic core (Fig. 1 and [0062]).
Conclusion
/LC/
Lisa Chau
Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785