Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 01/12/2026. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9-11, 14, 16, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 01/12/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s replacement sheets for figures 2 and 4 overcome the objections to the drawings.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the abstract.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the specification.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Applicant’s amendments overcome each and every U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended claims 6 and 16 recite in the final line “a coverage area of the first transmitter determined using the random number that is usable to identify the first transmitter”. Examiner has found support for using the identity of the first transmitter to determine a coverage area of the first transmitter (see paragraphs 6, 33, 45 and 67 of the instant specification). Examiner has further found support for “a random number that is usable to identify the first transmitter” in instant specification paragraphs 72-74. However, Examiner has been unable to locate support in the instant specification for determining the coverage area of a transmitter using said random number or any random number. Therefore, claims 6 and 16 contain new matter. Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN-10701592-A, cited in the IDS dated 03/27/2025; hereinafter Yang) in view of Springer et al. (US-20180165482-A1, from the same family as CN-108229230-A, which was cited in the IDS dated 10/18/2024. Hereinafter, Springer).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
A tag positioning method (see translation at least Abs), comprising:
receiving, by a target tag, first signaling from a target reader/writer (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”), wherein the target reader/writer (Examiner maps reader/writer to the ensemble of the excitation base station and the positioning base station) includes a first transmitter (see translation at least [0009]; excitation base station connected to a plurality of excitation antennas) and a first receiver (see translation at least [0011]; positioning base station receives the positioning signal), and the first signaling includes an identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”); and
sending, by the target tag, second signaling to the target reader/writer, wherein the second signaling includes a (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”), and wherein the identity of the first transmitter is usable to determine a coverage area of the first transmitter and in which the target tag is located (see translation at least [0024]; “The tag device 11 is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station 40 through the excitation antenna 20, read the ID (identity identification) parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station 12; the above-mentioned low-frequency signal carries the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal, and the above-mentioned ID parameter is set according to the position characteristics of the indoor boundary area where the corresponding excitation antenna is located; the ID parameter is set in a one-to-one correspondence with the excitation antenna, and according to a certain ID parameter, the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal carrying the ID parameter can be determined, thereby determining the position of the indoor boundary area where the above-mentioned excitation antenna is located”).
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a random number that is usable to identify the first transmitter.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Springer is directed to methods for providing identification and access with respect to an RFID tag. Springer teaches:
receiving, by a target tag, first signaling from a target reader/writer (see at least Springer’s example of Gen2V2 protocol, in particular in [0021] – [0023]; “In a step 1, Reader A generates an RF field. As a result, Tags 1, 2 and 3, which are in the read-zone for Reader A, enter the Ready state… In a step 2, Reader A issues a Select command, said command comprising a session number Sx and an inventoried flag value IFVx…In a step 3, Reader A issues a Query command, said command comprising a session number Sx, an inventoried flag value IFVx, and a slot-count parameter Q in the range (0, 15). ”); and
sending, by the target tag, second signaling to the target reader/writer, wherein the second signaling includes a random number (see at least [0023] – [0026]; “As a result, Tag 1, 2 and 3 enter the Arbitrate state, and generate a Q-bit number and a 16-bit number (RN16) using their random number generator or pseudo-random number generator. In the described example, the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 1 are 1 and 1111; the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 2 are 2 and 2222; and the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 3 are 3 and 3333… In a step 6, Tag 1 backscatters its RN16, said RN16 being received by Reader A.”) that is usable to identify the target reader/writer (see at least [0057] – [0059]; “As already explained, all ACK commands issued by a reader and intended for a tag shall include a 16-bit random number previously generated and backscattered by the tag, said number being either the RN16 or the handle…Receiving an ACK command with an incorrect session handle may happen in a RFID system having multiple RFID readers operating in parallel, because some tags might be simultaneously within the effective read zone for more than one reader, whether this is intentional or not…A tag hearing an ACK command with an incorrect session handle shall not execute said command.”).
Yang teaches an RFID tag including a transmitter identification in replies to signal from this transmitter. Springer teaches an RFID tag assigning a random number to be used in a session with a reader/writer, including the random number in a reply to the reader/writer, and subsequently executing only commands including that random number. The reader/writer of Springer transmits and receives from only one location (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to modify the tag signaling of Yang to assign a random number for use in messages with the transmitter of the received signal. Doing so would ensure that the tags respond to commands from only one transmitting entity during a session, as taught by Yang (see [0057] – [0059] above, and [0009]; “Tags participate in one and only one session during an inventory round, and two or more readers can use sessions to independently inventory a common tag population.”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses:
A tag positioning method (see translation at least Abs), comprising:
sending, by a target reader/writer, first signaling to a target tag (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”), wherein the target reader/writer (Examiner maps reader/writer to the ensemble of the excitation base station, the positioning base station and the server) includes a first transmitter (see translation at least [0009]; excitation base station connected to a plurality of excitation antennas) and a first receiver (see translation at least [0011]; positioning base station receives the positioning signal), and the first signaling includes an identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”);
receiving, by the target reader/writer, second signaling from the target tag, wherein the second signaling includes a (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”); and
predicting, by the target reader/writer, a location of the target tag based on the identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0011]; “The positioning base station receives the positioning signal, records the arrival time of the positioning signal, and reports the arrival time and the positioning signal to the server; wherein the positioning signal is used for the server to identify the ID parameter and determine the position of the positioning target based on the ID parameter and the arrival time.”) and a coverage area of the first transmitter determined using the (see translation at least [0024]; “The tag device 11 is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station 40 through the excitation antenna 20, read the ID (identity identification) parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station 12; the above-mentioned low-frequency signal carries the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal, and the above-mentioned ID parameter is set according to the position characteristics of the indoor boundary area where the corresponding excitation antenna is located; the ID parameter is set in a one-to-one correspondence with the excitation antenna, and according to a certain ID parameter, the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal carrying the ID parameter can be determined, thereby determining the position of the indoor boundary area where the above-mentioned excitation antenna is located”).
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a random number used to identify the first transmitter.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Springer is directed to methods for providing identification and access with respect to an RFID tag. Springer teaches:
sending, by a target reader/writer, first signaling to a target tag (see at least Springer’s example of Gen2V2 protocol, in particular in [0021] – [0023]; “In a step 1, Reader A generates an RF field. As a result, Tags 1, 2 and 3, which are in the read-zone for Reader A, enter the Ready state… In a step 2, Reader A issues a Select command, said command comprising a session number Sx and an inventoried flag value IFVx…In a step 3, Reader A issues a Query command, said command comprising a session number Sx, an inventoried flag value IFVx, and a slot-count parameter Q in the range (0, 15). ”); and
receiving, by the target reader/writer, second signaling from the target tag, wherein the second signaling includes a random number (see at least [0023] – [0026]; “As a result, Tag 1, 2 and 3 enter the Arbitrate state, and generate a Q-bit number and a 16-bit number (RN16) using their random number generator or pseudo-random number generator. In the described example, the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 1 are 1 and 1111; the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 2 are 2 and 2222; and the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 3 are 3 and 3333… In a step 6, Tag 1 backscatters its RN16, said RN16 being received by Reader A.”) that is usable to identify the reader/writer (see at least [0057] – [0059]; “As already explained, all ACK commands issued by a reader and intended for a tag shall include a 16-bit random number previously generated and backscattered by the tag, said number being either the RN16 or the handle…Receiving an ACK command with an incorrect session handle may happen in a RFID system having multiple RFID readers operating in parallel, because some tags might be simultaneously within the effective read zone for more than one reader, whether this is intentional or not…A tag hearing an ACK command with an incorrect session handle shall not execute said command.”).
Yang teaches an RFID tag including a transmitter identification in replies to signal from this transmitter. Springer teaches an RFID tag assigning a random number to be used in a session with a reader/writer, including the random number in a reply to the reader/writer, and subsequently executing only commands including that random number. The reader/writer of Springer transmits and receives from only one location (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to modify the tag signaling of Yang to assign a random number for use in messages with the transmitter of the received signal. Doing so would ensure that the tags respond to commands from only one transmitting entity during a session, as taught by Yang (see [0057] – [0059] above, and [0009]; “Tags participate in one and only one session during an inventory round, and two or more readers can use sessions to independently inventory a common tag population.”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 6. Yang further teaches:
wherein the target reader/writer includes a third transmitter, and the method further comprises:
obtaining, by the target reader/writer, first configuration information through the first receiver, wherein the first configuration information indicates a location of the third transmitter or a deployment relationship between a plurality of third transmitters (see translation at least [0037]; “Since the tag device 11 moves with the positioning target, during the positioning process of the positioning target, the emission area of the current positioning signal and the emission area of the previous positioning signal may be adjacent areas. If the current boundary area and the previous boundary area are adjacent areas, it indicates that the current boundary area identified by the server 31 is a reasonable identification result.” Multiple excitation antennas are taught in [0008] and are mapped to the transmitters of the claim. Signals backscattered by the tag are taught to be received by the base station in [0010], and the base station is mapped to the first receiver of the claim.).
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 11-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Springer, further in view of Enyedy et al. (US-20080197979-A1; hereinafter Enyedy).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 1. However, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receiving the first signaling includes receiving inventory signaling, and the inventory signaling includes selection signaling Select, query signaling Query, acknowledgment signaling ACK, negative acknowledgment signaling NAK, and/or query signaling Queryrep.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Enyedy is directed to causing RFID tags to reply using changed reply timing. Enyedy teaches:
wherein the receiving the first signaling includes receiving inventory signaling, and the inventory signaling includes selection signaling Select (see at least Fig. 8, commands 860, 870 and 880 transmitted to the tag. See also [0117]; “Each one of commands 860, 870, 880 can thus be constructed as an implementation of this Select command or the BlockWrite command.”), query signaling Query, acknowledgment signaling ACK, negative acknowledgment signaling NAK, and/or query signaling Queryrep.
Both Yang and Enyedy teach system that transmit to and receive replies from tags. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indoor positioning system used in Yang to include Select commands, as taught by Enyedy. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include Select commands in order to send commands to the tags, as taught by Enyedy (see Enyedy at least [0118]; “In addition, the implementation of this Select command can have a custom payload so that it operates as Enable command 860, custom timing command 870, Disable command 880, and/or another custom command.”).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Springer Enyedy discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 2. However, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the sending the second signaling includes sending the inventory signaling, and the inventory signaling includes reply signaling Reply or an electronic product code EPC.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Enyedy is directed to causing RFID tags to reply using changed reply timing. Enyedy teaches:
wherein the sending the second signaling includes sending the inventory signaling, and the inventory signaling includes reply signaling Reply (see at least [0098]; “In one class of examples, the first command can be any of the commands issued in an exchange for commissioning a tag, where data is written in its memory, and an acknowledging reply is backscattered. It is known, therefore, that a tag that has been commissioned has received such a first command, and has replied to it.”) or an electronic product code EPC.
Both Yang and Enyedy teach system that transmit to and receive replies from tags. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indoor positioning system used in Yang to include Reply commands, as taught by Enyedy. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include Reply commands in order to have confirmation that the tag has been commissioned, as taught by Enyedy (see Enyedy at least [0098]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 1. However, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein receiving the first signaling includes receiving a reporting time of the identity of the first transmitter.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Enyedy is directed to causing RFID tags to reply using changed reply timing. Enyedy teaches:
wherein receiving the first signaling includes receiving a reporting time (see at least [0102]; “At operation 770, a custom timing command is caused to be transmitted to the tag, after receiving the first reply. In response to receiving the custom timing command, when the tag later backscatters a second reply, that second reply uses a second reply timing that is different from the first reply timing.”).
Both Yang and Enyedy teach system that transmit to and receive replies from tags. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indoor positioning system used in Yang to include control of the timing of the responses from tags, as taught by Enyedy. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include control over timing of the reply in order to process some tags differentially from others, as recognized by Enyedy (see Enyedy at least [0014]; “The invention offers the advantage that some tags can be processed differentially from others, which can improve the functionality of a whole RFID system that processes RFID-tagged items.”).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 6. The remaining limitations of claim 7 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 7. The remaining limitations of claim 8 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses:
An apparatus (see translation at least [0008]; “tag device”), comprising:
a communication interface (see translation at least [0010], where tag capabilities to receive excitation signals and send positioning signals are described),
receiving first signaling sent by a target reader/writer (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”), wherein the target reader/writer (Examiner maps reader/writer to the ensemble of the excitation base station and the positioning base station) includes a first transmitter (see translation at least [0009]; excitation base station connected to a plurality of excitation antennas) and a first receiver (see translation at least [0011]; positioning base station receives the positioning signal), and the first signaling includes an identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”); and
sending second signaling to the target reader/writer, wherein the second signaling includes a (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”) and wherein the identity of the first transmitter is usable to determine a coverage area of the first transmitter and in which the target tag is located (see translation at least [0024]; “The tag device 11 is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station 40 through the excitation antenna 20, read the ID (identity identification) parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station 12; the above-mentioned low-frequency signal carries the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal, and the above-mentioned ID parameter is set according to the position characteristics of the indoor boundary area where the corresponding excitation antenna is located; the ID parameter is set in a one-to-one correspondence with the excitation antenna, and according to a certain ID parameter, the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal carrying the ID parameter can be determined, thereby determining the position of the indoor boundary area where the above-mentioned excitation antenna is located”).
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a random number that is usable to identify the first transmitter or the device having a memory and a processor.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Springer is directed to methods for providing identification and access with respect to an RFID tag. Springer teaches:
receiving first signaling sent by a target reader/writer (see at least Springer’s example of Gen2V2 protocol, in particular in [0021] – [0023]; “In a step 1, Reader A generates an RF field. As a result, Tags 1, 2 and 3, which are in the read-zone for Reader A, enter the Ready state… In a step 2, Reader A issues a Select command, said command comprising a session number Sx and an inventoried flag value IFVx…In a step 3, Reader A issues a Query command, said command comprising a session number Sx, an inventoried flag value IFVx, and a slot-count parameter Q in the range (0, 15). ”); and
sending second signaling to the target reader/writer, wherein the second signaling includes a random number (see at least [0023] – [0026]; “As a result, Tag 1, 2 and 3 enter the Arbitrate state, and generate a Q-bit number and a 16-bit number (RN16) using their random number generator or pseudo-random number generator. In the described example, the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 1 are 1 and 1111; the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 2 are 2 and 2222; and the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 3 are 3 and 3333… In a step 6, Tag 1 backscatters its RN16, said RN16 being received by Reader A.”) that is usable to identify the target reader/writer (see at least [0057] – [0059]; “As already explained, all ACK commands issued by a reader and intended for a tag shall include a 16-bit random number previously generated and backscattered by the tag, said number being either the RN16 or the handle…Receiving an ACK command with an incorrect session handle may happen in a RFID system having multiple RFID readers operating in parallel, because some tags might be simultaneously within the effective read zone for more than one reader, whether this is intentional or not…A tag hearing an ACK command with an incorrect session handle shall not execute said command.”).
Yang teaches an RFID tag including a transmitter identification in replies to signal from this transmitter. Springer teaches an RFID tag assigning a random number to be used in a session with a reader/writer, including the random number in a reply to the reader/writer, and subsequently executing only commands including that random number. The reader/writer of Springer transmits and receives from only one location (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to modify the tag signaling of Yang to assign a random number for use in messages with the transmitter of the received signal. Doing so would ensure that the tags respond to commands from only one transmitting entity during a session, as taught by Yang (see [0057] – [0059] above, and [0009]; “Tags participate in one and only one session during an inventory round, and two or more readers can use sessions to independently inventory a common tag population.”).
However, Yang and Springer do not explicitly teach the device having a memory and a processor.
Enyedy teaches:
An apparatus (see at least Fig. 2, RFID tag 220), comprising (see at least [0130]; “FIG. 10 is a block diagram of an electrical circuit 1024 according to embodiments. Circuit 1024 may be formed in an IC of an RFID tag, such as IC 224 of FIG. 2.”):
a memory storing computer-readable instructions (see at least [0137]; “Processing block 1044 may be implemented in any way known in the art. For example, processing block 1044 may include a number of components, such as a processor, memory, a decoder, an encoder, and so on.”); and
a processor (see at least [0137]; “processor”) connected to the memory and the communication interface wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to perform operations (see at least [0136]; “Circuit 1024 further includes a processing block 1044. Processing block 1044 receives the demodulated signal from demodulator 1042, and may perform operations. In addition, it may generate an output signal for transmission.”).
Both Yang and Enyedy teach tags that perform communication operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a memory and processor, as taught by Enyedy, in the tags of Yang. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a memory and processor in order to perform operations, as taught by Enyedy (see Enyedy at least [0136]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 12 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 13 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 14 are analogous to those of claim 4 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses:
An apparatus (see translation at least [0008]; “a positioning base station, an excitation base station and multiple excitation antennas”), comprising:
a communication interface (see translation at least [0010] – [0011], where communication functions such as sending and receiving signals are described);
sending first signaling to a target tag (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”), wherein the target reader/writer (Examiner maps reader/writer to the ensemble of the excitation base station, the positioning base station and the server) includes a first transmitter (see translation at least [0009]; excitation base station connected to a plurality of excitation antennas) and a first receiver (see translation at least [0011]; positioning base station receives the positioning signal), and the first signaling includes an identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”);
receiving second signaling sent by the target tag, wherein the second signaling includes a (see translation at least [0010]; “The tag device is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station through the excitation antenna, read the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station”); and
predicting a location of the target tag based on the identity of the first transmitter (see translation at least [0011]; “The positioning base station receives the positioning signal, records the arrival time of the positioning signal, and reports the arrival time and the positioning signal to the server; wherein the positioning signal is used for the server to identify the ID parameter and determine the position of the positioning target based on the ID parameter and the arrival time.”) and a coverage area of the first transmitter determined using the (see translation at least [0024]; “The tag device 11 is used to move within the set range of any excitation antenna, receive the low-frequency signal sent by the excitation base station 40 through the excitation antenna 20, read the ID (identity identification) parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal from the received low-frequency signal, add the ID parameter to the positioning signal, and send the positioning signal to the positioning base station 12; the above-mentioned low-frequency signal carries the ID parameter of the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal, and the above-mentioned ID parameter is set according to the position characteristics of the indoor boundary area where the corresponding excitation antenna is located; the ID parameter is set in a one-to-one correspondence with the excitation antenna, and according to a certain ID parameter, the excitation antenna that sends the low-frequency signal carrying the ID parameter can be determined, thereby determining the position of the indoor boundary area where the above-mentioned excitation antenna is located”).
However, Yang does not explicitly teach a random number used to identify the first transmitter or the device having a memory and a processor.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Springer is directed to methods for providing identification and access with respect to an RFID tag. Springer teaches:
sending first signaling to a target tag (see at least Springer’s example of Gen2V2 protocol, in particular in [0021] – [0023]; “In a step 1, Reader A generates an RF field. As a result, Tags 1, 2 and 3, which are in the read-zone for Reader A, enter the Ready state… In a step 2, Reader A issues a Select command, said command comprising a session number Sx and an inventoried flag value IFVx…In a step 3, Reader A issues a Query command, said command comprising a session number Sx, an inventoried flag value IFVx, and a slot-count parameter Q in the range (0, 15). ”); and
receiving second signaling sent by the target tag, wherein the second signaling includes a random number (see at least [0023] – [0026]; “As a result, Tag 1, 2 and 3 enter the Arbitrate state, and generate a Q-bit number and a 16-bit number (RN16) using their random number generator or pseudo-random number generator. In the described example, the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 1 are 1 and 1111; the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 2 are 2 and 2222; and the Q-bit number and the RN16 generated by Tag 3 are 3 and 3333… In a step 6, Tag 1 backscatters its RN16, said RN16 being received by Reader A.”) that is usable to identify the transmitter (see at least [0057] – [0059]; “As already explained, all ACK commands issued by a reader and intended for a tag shall include a 16-bit random number previously generated and backscattered by the tag, said number being either the RN16 or the handle…Receiving an ACK command with an incorrect session handle may happen in a RFID system having multiple RFID readers operating in parallel, because some tags might be simultaneously within the effective read zone for more than one reader, whether this is intentional or not…A tag hearing an ACK command with an incorrect session handle shall not execute said command.”).
Yang teaches an RFID tag including a transmitter identification in replies to signal from this transmitter. Springer teaches an RFID tag assigning a random number to be used in a session with a reader/writer, including the random number in a reply to the reader/writer, and subsequently executing only commands including that random number. The reader/writer of Springer transmits and receives from only one location (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to modify the tag signaling of Yang to assign a random number for use in messages with the transmitter of the received signal. Doing so would ensure that the tags respond to commands from only one transmitting entity during a session, as taught by Yang (see [0057] – [0059] above, and [0009]; “Tags participate in one and only one session during an inventory round, and two or more readers can use sessions to independently inventory a common tag population.”).
However, Yang and Springer do not explicitly teach the device having a memory and a processor.
Enyedy teaches:
An apparatus (see at least Fig. 1, reader 110; see also Fig. 5, local block 510 and [0058]; “It will be recognized that reader 110 of FIG. 1 is the same as local block 510, if remote components 570 are not provided.”), comprising:
a communication interface (see at least Fig. 5, communication to and from tags);
a memory storing computer-readable instructions (see at least [0061]; “Local block 510 additionally includes an optional local memory 557. Memory 557 may be implemented in any number of ways known in the art. Such ways include, by way of examples and not of limitation, nonvolatile memories (NVM), read-only memories (ROM), random access memories (RAM), any combination of one or more of these, and so on.”); and
a processor connected to the memory and the communication interface wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer-readable instructions to perform operations (see at least [0061]; “Memory 557, if provided, can include programs for processor 556 to run, if provided.”).
Both Yang and Enyedy teach apparatuses that interface with tags to perform communication operations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a memory and processor, as taught by Enyedy, in the apparatus of Yang. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a memory and processor in order to be able to run programs, as taught by Enyedy (see Enyedy at least [0061]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 16. The remaining limitations of claim 17 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 17. The remaining limitations of claim 18 are analogous to those of claim 3 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 19, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 16. The remaining limitations of claim 19 are analogous to those of claim 9 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Springer, further in view of Peterson et al. (US-20170059501-A1; hereinafter Peterson).
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 1. However, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the receiving the first signaling includes receiving a quantity of reporting times of the identity of the first transmitter.
Yang teaches an indoor positioning system using tag devices, and Peterson is directed to monitoring hazardous waste using reporting from active RFID tags. Peterson teaches:
wherein the receiving the first signaling includes receiving a quantity of reporting times (see at least [0056]; “Computing device 606 using information received from gateway receiver 602 also may identify which drum 104 is having a problem due to the unique identification code provided by RFID circuit 206 within sensor device 100. Computing device 606 also may issue commands to drums 104 to provide additional information or to change their reporting periods. For example, if a problem is detected, computing device may command that sensor devices report every 30 seconds instead of every 5 minutes. Thus, if the condition disappears in a certain amount of time, then a false alarm may be reported.”).
Both Yang and Peterson provide monitoring enabled by tag devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indoor positioning system used in Yang to include controlling the frequency of reporting of the tags, as taught by Peterson. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to control the frequency of the responses in order to monitor some tags more or less closely, as taught by Peterson (see Peterson at least [0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Springer discloses the tag positioning method according to claim 6. However, Yang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the target reader/writer, second configuration information to the transmitter through the receiver, wherein the second configuration information indicates a configuration required for communication between the target tag and the target reader/writer.
Peterson teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the target reader/writer, second configuration information via the instructions after having been received through the receiver, wherein the second configuration information indicates a configuration required for communication between the target tag and the target reader/writer (see at least [0056] – [0057]; “Computing device 606 using information received from gateway receiver 602 also may identify which drum 104 is having a problem due to the unique identification code provided by RFID circuit 206 within sensor device 100. Computing device 606 also may issue commands to drums 104 to provide additional information or to change their reporting periods. For example, if a problem is detected, computing device may command that sensor devices report every 30 seconds instead of every 5 minutes… Using the unique code for each RFID circuit 206, computing device 606 may issue commands and instructions using gateway receiver 602 using encrypted signals.” Examiner notes that the identification code is read by the receiver, then the computing device includes the identification code in transmitted instructions in order to communicate with the target tag.).
Both Yang and Peterson provide monitoring enabled by tag devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to act on information reported by a specific tag by later transmitting instructions to that specific tag by using the unique identification code, as taught by Peterson. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to communicate with a single tag in order to gain additional information from a specific tag, as taught by Peterson (see Peterson at least [0056]).
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Springer, Enyedy and Peterson.
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 15 are analogous to those of claim 5 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Springer and Enyedy teaches the apparatus according to claim 16. The remaining limitations of claim 20 are analogous to those of claim 10 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648