DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/23/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
I. Independent Claims 1 and 7. Applicant argues (page 14) that Oyama does not disclose: “configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window.” Applicant asserts that Oyama merely splits data across stop periods and does not configure contention windows.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the reasons discussed below.
1. Detection of remaining data in a buffer. Oyama teaches that when transmission cannot be completed within a given transmission opportunity, the remaining data is transmitted in a subsequent transmission period. For example, Oyama explains: ¶[0126]: “When the transmission has not been completed, only the data that can be transmitted before the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period is transmitted, and the remaining data is transmitted in a subsequent LTE transmission stop period.” This disclosure inherently requires that the wireless terminal determine that remaining data exists after the first transmission period, which necessarily implies that the remaining data resides in a transmission buffer. Accordingly, Oyama teaches detecting remaining data that must be transmitted during a subsequent transmission opportunity.
2. Configuring transmission opportunities based on remaining data. Oyama further teaches determining transmission timing based on the remaining data and the available transmission periods. For example: ¶[0127] states that the terminal determines whether transmission can be completed within a transmission stop period and determines the timing of subsequent transmissions based on the periodicity of the stop period. This scheduling of subsequent transmissions based on incomplete transmission directly corresponds to configuring additional transmission opportunities when remaining data exists.
3. Contention window configuration. Applicant argues that Oyama does not teach configuring contention windows. However, contention window mechanisms are explicitly disclosed in the primary reference. Oyama describes contention window parameters used for channel access. For example: Kusashima ¶[0057] teaches that channel access parameters include: minimum contention window; maximum contention window; maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) possible contention window values. Thus Kusashima explicitly teaches configuring contention windows used for channel access. When combined with Oyama’s teaching of scheduling transmissions across multiple transmission periods when remaining data exists, it would have been obvious to configure additional contention opportunities within available windows to transmit remaining buffered data.
4. Preferred contention windows between synchronous contention windows. Applicant argues that no reference teaches contention windows between synchronous contention windows. However, Kusashima teaches periodic channel access opportunities based on synchronous parameters, and further references describe adjusting channel access timing. Choi discloses flexible channel access timing and contention window adjustment mechanisms. For example: ¶[0042]–¶[0045] describe adjusting channel access opportunities and scheduling channel access attempts to improve transmission efficiency. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize intermediate contention opportunities between periodic contention windows when buffered data remains, as this improves channel utilization and reduces latency. Therefore the combination of Kusashima, Oyama, and Choi teaches or at least suggests the claimed configuration of preferred contention windows.
II. Dependent Claim 2: Applicant argues (page 1) that Kusashima does not disclose: synchronous periodicity between contention windows as multiples of MCOT. However Kusashima explicitly teaches the use of MCOT in channel access parameter determination. For example: ¶[0057] lists MCOT as one of the channel access parameters used to control channel access behavior. Since MCOT defines the maximum channel occupancy duration, scheduling channel access windows based on multiples of MCOT represents a straightforward implementation of known timing parameters. Additionally, Choi teaches adjusting channel access timing and coordination between nodes (e.g., ¶[0043]–¶[0045]). Therefore configuring contention windows with periodicity related to MCOT would have been an obvious implementation of the disclosed parameters.
III. Dependent Claims 6 and 12 – eCOT: Applicant argues (page 15) that Desai teaches MCOT but not enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT). However Desai describes channel occupancy mechanisms including both channel access procedures and data transmission durations. Desai discloses channel occupancy time management for wireless transmissions. For example: ¶[0048]–¶[0050] describe channel occupancy periods associated with both access procedures and data transmission activities. Because channel access attempts and transmissions collectively occupy the channel, the disclosed channel occupancy time inherently includes the time spent obtaining channel access and the subsequent transmission time. Thus the channel occupancy concepts disclosed by Desai encompass the claimed enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT).
IV. Motivation to Combine: The references collectively address efficient use of shared wireless spectrum. The combination provides: synchronous contention window access (Kusashima – ¶[0057]); splitting transmissions across multiple periods when data remains (Oyama – ¶[0126]–¶[0127]); adaptive contention window scheduling (Choi – ¶[0042]–¶[0045]); channel occupancy time management (Desai – ¶[0048]–¶[0050]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings to improve channel utilization and ensure efficient transmission of remaining buffered data.
Conclusion: Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because: Oyama inherently teaches scheduling transmissions when data remains (¶[0126]–¶[0127]). Kusashima teaches configuring contention window parameters (¶[0057]). Choi teaches flexible contention timing (¶[0042]–¶[0045]). Desai teaches channel occupancy timing (¶[0048]–¶[0050]). Accordingly, the combination of references teaches or suggests the limitations of claims 1–12, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 20200374892 A1) in view of Oyama et al. (US 20160150461 A1) and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20100091789 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kusashima teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless node (method of Fig. 4), the method comprising:
obtaining a synchronization boundary configuration for a shared communication channel (The first base station device 100 configures a radio resource of a frequency f and times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.3 to t.sub.4, and a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.5 to t.sub.6 as guaranteed resources. The first base station device 100 can preferentially use these radio resources configured as guaranteed resources. On the other hand, a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.2 to t.sub.3 and a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5 are non-guaranteed resources, [0128]), the synchronization boundary configuration defining synchronous access parameters for periodic synchronous access contention by all accessing nodes of one or more radio access technologies (Examples of the parameters related to channel access include a minimum contention window, a maximum contention window, a maximum channel occupation time, and a possible contention window value, [0057]; and The predetermined threshold may be determined according to the total number of operators operating the first base station device 100 and the second base station device 100, [0129]);
transmitting, in response to successful completion of a synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters, data on the shared communication channel (As illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the times t.sub.3 to t.sub.5 correspond to the guaranteed resource. Therefore, the first base station device 100 starts using the guaranteed resource from the time t.sub.3. In the example illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the first base station device 100 releases the radio resource at the time t.sub.5 at which the guaranteed resource ends, [0125]).
However, Kusashima does not teach configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention.
In an analogous art, Oyama teaches configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention (In addition, a method is considered which splits transmission data when the transmission has not been completed, transmits only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period, [0126]; the transmission availability determination described above can be performed based on the lengths of the transmission stop period information received in S305 and the wireless signal including the transmission data generated in S306... In addition, if the LTE transmission stop period is intermittent (periodic), it is possible to obtain the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, by adding the integer multiple of the cycle of the LTE transmission stop period included in the transmission stop period information, [0126]-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the wireless communication of Oyama to provide a method to sufficiently reduce the interference between the plurality of secondary systems which interfere with each other as suggested, Oyama [0035]).
However, Kusashima and Oyama do not teach transmitting, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel: and, ceasing transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches transmitting, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel (Where neither the energy nor the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may transmit the remaining data after the second CD period is terminated, [0063]): and,
ceasing transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer (Where the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may suspend transmission of the data, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi and Oyama to provide to transmit at least one portion of the divided data to a reception side, and a sensing unit to determine whether at least one of feature information and an energy of another terminal is detected in a channel with the reception side during the quiet time slot of the first point in time, wherein, where neither the feature information nor the energy of the other terminal is detected based on a determination of the sensing unit, the transmission processing unit transmits the remaining divided data as suggested, Choi [0009].
Regarding claim 2, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel and a preferred periodicity between each of the one or more preferred contention windows as a single MCOT (p Time T.sub.mcot, Table 1, Kusashima [0057].
Regarding claim 3, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi the teaches method of claim 1.
Omaya further teaches configuring, in response to detection of no data in the buffer, one or more asynchronous contention windows scheduled after the next synchronous contention window and prior to the subsequent synchronous contention window (it is considered that the Wi-Fi terminal 20 realizes the transmission timing adjustment by adjusting the transmission timing such that the transmission is completed up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period indicated by the transmission stop period information, [0081]); and
in response to detection of new data in the buffer and success of an asynchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next asynchronous contention window of the one or more asynchronous contention windows outside of the one or more preferred contention windows: transmitting the new data on the shared communication channel, and continuing transmission of the new data beyond a boundary of the subsequent preferred synchronous contention window when untransmitted data of the new data remains in the buffer at the boundary (when the transmission is not completed; transmits the wireless signal of the amount that can be completely transmitted up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the LTE transmission stop period; and transmits the rest in the subsequent LTE transmission stop periods, [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima and the schedule of Choi with the transmission of Omaya to provide a method and a system to transmit only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period as suggested, Omaya [0126].
Regarding claim 4, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous boundary configuration establishes a size and a frequency of the next synchronous contention window (Examples of the configuration of the time resource of the guaranteed resource include a set of slots represented by a bitmap. Each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a slot (alternatively, a slot group or a subframe). 0/1 of the bit represents guaranteed resource/non-guaranteed resource, Kusashima [0134]).
Regarding claim 5, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous contention procedure includes identifying a location of the next synchronous contention window based on an absolute system time reference (In a case where time synchronization is performed between different operators, information on a time stamp is shared. The information on a time stamp may be information indicating an absolute time or information indicating a reference time, Kusashima [0216]).
Regarding claim 7, Kusashima teaches the apparatus configured for wireless communication (device of Fig. 4), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (control unit 210); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (storage unit 230), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain a synchronization boundary configuration for a shared communication channel (The first base station device 100 configures a radio resource of a frequency f and times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.3 to t.sub.4, and a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.5 to t.sub.6 as guaranteed resources. The first base station device 100 can preferentially use these radio resources configured as guaranteed resources. On the other hand, a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.2 to t.sub.3 and a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5 are non-guaranteed resources, [0128]), the synchronization boundary configuration defining synchronous access parameters for periodic synchronous access contention by all accessing nodes of one or more radio access technologies (Examples of the parameters related to channel access include a minimum contention window, a maximum contention window, a maximum channel occupation time, and a possible contention window value, [0057]; and The predetermined threshold may be determined according to the total number of operators operating the first base station device 100 and the second base station device 100, [0129]);
transmit, in response to successful completion of a synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters, data on the shared communication channel (As illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the times t.sub.3 to t.sub.5 correspond to the guaranteed resource. Therefore, the first base station device 100 starts using the guaranteed resource from the time t.sub.3. In the example illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the first base station device 100 releases the radio resource at the time t.sub.5 at which the guaranteed resource ends, [0125]).
However, Kusashima does not teach configure, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters.
In an analogous art, Oyama teaches configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention (In addition, a method is considered which splits transmission data when the transmission has not been completed, transmits only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period, [0126]; the transmission availability determination described above can be performed based on the lengths of the transmission stop period information received in S305 and the wireless signal including the transmission data generated in S306... In addition, if the LTE transmission stop period is intermittent (periodic), it is possible to obtain the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, by adding the integer multiple of the cycle of the LTE transmission stop period included in the transmission stop period information, [0126]-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the wireless communication of Oyama to provide a method to sufficiently reduce the interference between the plurality of secondary systems which interfere with each other as suggested, Oyama [0035]).
However, Kusashima and Oyama do not teach transmit, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel: and, cease transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches transmit, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel (Where neither the energy nor the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may transmit the remaining data after the second CD period is terminated, [0063]): and,
cease transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer (Where the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may suspend transmission of the data, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi and Oyama to provide to transmit at least one portion of the divided data to a reception side, and a sensing unit to determine whether at least one of feature information and an energy of another terminal is detected in a channel with the reception side during the quiet time slot of the first point in time, wherein, where neither the feature information nor the energy of the other terminal is detected based on a determination of the sensing unit, the transmission processing unit transmits the remaining divided data as suggested, Choi [0009].
Regarding claim 8, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the apparatus of claim 7 wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel and a preferred periodicity between each of the one or more preferred contention windows as a single MCOT (p Time T.sub.mcot, Table 1, Kusashima [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Omaya further teaches configuring, in response to detection of no data in the buffer, one or more asynchronous contention windows scheduled after the next synchronous contention window and prior to the subsequent synchronous contention window (it is considered that the Wi-Fi terminal 20 realizes the transmission timing adjustment by adjusting the transmission timing such that the transmission is completed up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period indicated by the transmission stop period information, [0081]); and
in response to detection of new data in the buffer and success of an asynchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next asynchronous contention window of the one or more asynchronous contention windows outside of the one or more preferred contention windows: transmitting the new data on the shared communication channel, and continuing transmission of the new data beyond a boundary of the subsequent preferred synchronous contention window when untransmitted data of the new data remains in the buffer at the boundary (when the transmission is not completed; transmits the wireless signal of the amount that can be completely transmitted up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the LTE transmission stop period; and transmits the rest in the subsequent LTE transmission stop periods, [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima and the schedule of Choi with the transmission of Omaya to provide a method and a system to transmit only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period as suggested, Omaya [0126].
Regarding claim 10, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the synchronous boundary configuration establishes a size and a frequency of the next synchronous contention window (Examples of the configuration of the time resource of the guaranteed resource include a set of slots represented by a bitmap. Each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a slot (alternatively, a slot group or a subframe). 0/1 of the bit represents guaranteed resource/non-guaranteed resource, Kusashima [0134]).
Regarding claim 11, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the synchronous contention procedure included configuration of the at least one processor to identify a location of the next synchronous contention window based on an absolute system time reference (In a case where time synchronization is performed between different operators, information on a time stamp is shared. The information on a time stamp may be information indicating an absolute time or information indicating a reference time, Kusashima [0216]).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 20200374892 A1) in view of Oyama and further in view of Choi and Desai et al. (US 20200029361 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Kusashima, Oyama and Choi do not teach wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT).
In an analogous art, Desai teaches wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT) (Additionally, all radios in close vicinity of the particular type of interferer may auto-tune the Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (EDCA) parameters to offer aggressive contention back-off (within legal boundaries) within a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) window, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima, Oyama and the schedule of Choi with the distribute channel of Desai to provide a method and a system to allow device to compete effectively for use of all unlicensed spectrum and thus maintain access parity with unlicensed network as suggested, Desai [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Kusashima as modified by Oyama and Choi teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
However, Kusashima, Oyama and Choi do not teach wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT).
In an analogous art, Desai teaches wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT) (Additionally, all radios in close vicinity of the particular type of interferer may auto-tune the Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (EDCA) parameters to offer aggressive contention back-off (within legal boundaries) within a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) window, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima, Oyama and the schedule of Choi with the distribute channel of Desai to provide a method and a system to allow device to compete effectively for use of all unlicensed spectrum and thus maintain access parity with unlicensed network as suggested, Desai [0003].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643