DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 7-8 have been amended.
Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 20200374892 A1) in view of Oyama et al. (US 20160150461 A1) and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20100091789 A1) and Salem et al. (US 20180176955 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kusashima teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless node (method of Fig. 4), the method comprising:
obtaining a synchronization boundary configuration for a shared communication channel (The first base station device 100 configures a radio resource of a frequency f and times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.3 to t.sub.4, and a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.5 to t.sub.6 as guaranteed resources. The first base station device 100 can preferentially use these radio resources configured as guaranteed resources. On the other hand, a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.2 to t.sub.3 and a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5 are non-guaranteed resources, [0128]), the synchronization boundary configuration defining synchronous access parameters for periodic synchronous access contention by all accessing nodes of one or more radio access technologies (Examples of the parameters related to channel access include a minimum contention window, a maximum contention window, a maximum channel occupation time, and a possible contention window value, [0057]; and The predetermined threshold may be determined according to the total number of operators operating the first base station device 100 and the second base station device 100, [0129]);
transmitting, in response to successful completion of a synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters, data on the shared communication channel (As illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the times t.sub.3 to t.sub.5 correspond to the guaranteed resource. Therefore, the first base station device 100 starts using the guaranteed resource from the time t.sub.3. In the example illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the first base station device 100 releases the radio resource at the time t.sub.5 at which the guaranteed resource ends, [0125]).
However, Kusashima does not teach configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention.
In an analogous art, Oyama teaches configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention (In addition, a method is considered which splits transmission data when the transmission has not been completed, transmits only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period, [0126]; the transmission availability determination described above can be performed based on the lengths of the transmission stop period information received in S305 and the wireless signal including the transmission data generated in S306... In addition, if the LTE transmission stop period is intermittent (periodic), it is possible to obtain the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, by adding the integer multiple of the cycle of the LTE transmission stop period included in the transmission stop period information, [0126]-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the wireless communication of Oyama to provide a method to sufficiently reduce the interference between the plurality of secondary systems which interfere with each other as suggested, Oyama [0035]).
However, Kusashima and Oyama do not teach transmitting, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel: and, ceasing transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches transmitting, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel (Where neither the energy nor the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may transmit the remaining data after the second CD period is terminated, [0063]): and,
ceasing transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer (Where the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may suspend transmission of the data, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi and Oyama to provide to transmit at least one portion of the divided data to a reception side, and a sensing unit to determine whether at least one of feature information and an energy of another terminal is detected in a channel with the reception side during the quiet time slot of the first point in time, wherein, where neither the feature information nor the energy of the other terminal is detected based on a determination of the sensing unit, the transmission processing unit transmits the remaining divided data as suggested, Choi [0009].
However, Cho, Oyama and Choi do not teach wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel.
In an analogous art, Salem teaches wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel (if a CUE does not detect the SL-End message 116 within a sidelink timeout interval, T.sub.SL-timeout, where T.sub.SL-timeout=MCOT: the CUE attempts to repeat LBT with t.sub.0=t.sub.s+T.sub.SL-timeout… if a CUE does detect the SL-End message 116 within the SL timeout interval: the ending point of the SL-End message 116 marks the new to; the contention window is reset to its original CW.sub.min value; and a new random backoff counter is uniformly generated from the set {0, 1, . . . , CW.sub.min} for a new CW.sub.cs in the next synchronous clear channel assessment CCA, [0092-0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi, Oyama and Choi with the period of Salem to provide a method for efficient and fair coexistence with WLANs along with compliance with region-specific unlicensed spectrum regulations for a successful UE Cooperation mechanism in the unlicensed spectrum as suggested, Salem [0035].
Regarding claim 2, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a preferred periodicity between each of the one or more preferred contention windows as a single MCOT (p Time T.sub.mcot, Table 1, Kusashima [0057].
Regarding claim 3, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem the teaches method of claim 1.
Omaya further teaches configuring, in response to detection of no data in the buffer, one or more asynchronous contention windows scheduled after the next synchronous contention window and prior to the subsequent synchronous contention window (it is considered that the Wi-Fi terminal 20 realizes the transmission timing adjustment by adjusting the transmission timing such that the transmission is completed up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period indicated by the transmission stop period information, [0081]); and
in response to detection of new data in the buffer and success of an asynchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next asynchronous contention window of the one or more asynchronous contention windows outside of the one or more preferred contention windows: transmitting the new data on the shared communication channel, and continuing transmission of the new data beyond a boundary of the subsequent preferred synchronous contention window when untransmitted data of the new data remains in the buffer at the boundary (when the transmission is not completed; transmits the wireless signal of the amount that can be completely transmitted up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the LTE transmission stop period; and transmits the rest in the subsequent LTE transmission stop periods, [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima and the schedule of Choi and Salem with the transmission of Omaya to provide a method and a system to transmit only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period as suggested, Omaya [0126].
Regarding claim 4, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous boundary configuration establishes a size and a frequency of the next synchronous contention window (Examples of the configuration of the time resource of the guaranteed resource include a set of slots represented by a bitmap. Each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a slot (alternatively, a slot group or a subframe). 0/1 of the bit represents guaranteed resource/non-guaranteed resource, Kusashima [0134]).
Regarding claim 5, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous contention procedure includes identifying a location of the next synchronous contention window based on an absolute system time reference (In a case where time synchronization is performed between different operators, information on a time stamp is shared. The information on a time stamp may be information indicating an absolute time or information indicating a reference time, Kusashima [0216]).
Regarding claim 7, Kusashima teaches the apparatus configured for wireless communication (device of Fig. 4), the apparatus comprising: at least one processor (control unit 210); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor (storage unit 230), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain a synchronization boundary configuration for a shared communication channel (The first base station device 100 configures a radio resource of a frequency f and times t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.3 to t.sub.4, and a radio resource of the frequency f and times t.sub.5 to t.sub.6 as guaranteed resources. The first base station device 100 can preferentially use these radio resources configured as guaranteed resources. On the other hand, a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.2 to t.sub.3 and a radio resource of the frequency f and the times t.sub.4 to t.sub.5 are non-guaranteed resources, [0128]), the synchronization boundary configuration defining synchronous access parameters for periodic synchronous access contention by all accessing nodes of one or more radio access technologies (Examples of the parameters related to channel access include a minimum contention window, a maximum contention window, a maximum channel occupation time, and a possible contention window value, [0057]; and The predetermined threshold may be determined according to the total number of operators operating the first base station device 100 and the second base station device 100, [0129]);
transmit, in response to successful completion of a synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters, data on the shared communication channel (As illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the times t.sub.3 to t.sub.5 correspond to the guaranteed resource. Therefore, the first base station device 100 starts using the guaranteed resource from the time t.sub.3. In the example illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5, the first base station device 100 releases the radio resource at the time t.sub.5 at which the guaranteed resource ends, [0125]).
However, Kusashima does not teach configure, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters.
In an analogous art, Oyama teaches configuring, in response to detection of remaining data in a buffer of the wireless node, one or more preferred contention windows between the next synchronous contention window and a subsequent synchronous contention window determined according to the synchronous access parameters and the periodic synchronous access contention (In addition, a method is considered which splits transmission data when the transmission has not been completed, transmits only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period, [0126]; the transmission availability determination described above can be performed based on the lengths of the transmission stop period information received in S305 and the wireless signal including the transmission data generated in S306... In addition, if the LTE transmission stop period is intermittent (periodic), it is possible to obtain the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, by adding the integer multiple of the cycle of the LTE transmission stop period included in the transmission stop period information, [0126]-0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the wireless communication of Oyama to provide a method to sufficiently reduce the interference between the plurality of secondary systems which interfere with each other as suggested, Oyama [0035]).
However, Kusashima and Oyama do not teach transmit, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel: and, cease transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches transmit, in response to success of the synchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows, the remaining data on the shared communication channel (Where neither the energy nor the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may transmit the remaining data after the second CD period is terminated, [0063]): and,
cease transmission of the remaining data at a boundary of a subsequent preferred contention window of the one or more preferred contention windows when a portion of the remaining data remains in the buffer (Where the feature information is detected, the transmission processing unit may suspend transmission of the data, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi and Oyama to provide to transmit at least one portion of the divided data to a reception side, and a sensing unit to determine whether at least one of feature information and an energy of another terminal is detected in a channel with the reception side during the quiet time slot of the first point in time, wherein, where neither the feature information nor the energy of the other terminal is detected based on a determination of the sensing unit, the transmission processing unit transmits the remaining divided data as suggested, Choi [0009].
However, Cho, Oyama and Choi do not teach wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel.
In an analogous art, Salem teaches wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a synchronous periodicity between the next synchronous contention window and the subsequent synchronous contention window as a multiple of a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT) for the shared communication channel (if a CUE does not detect the SL-End message 116 within a sidelink timeout interval, T.sub.SL-timeout, where T.sub.SL-timeout=MCOT: the CUE attempts to repeat LBT with t.sub.0=t.sub.s+T.sub.SL-timeout… if a CUE does detect the SL-End message 116 within the SL timeout interval: the ending point of the SL-End message 116 marks the new to; the contention window is reset to its original CW.sub.min value; and a new random backoff counter is uniformly generated from the set {0, 1, . . . , CW.sub.min} for a new CW.sub.cs in the next synchronous clear channel assessment CCA, [0092-0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima with the data transmission of Choi, Oyama and Choi with the period of Salem to provide a method for efficient and fair coexistence with WLANs along with compliance with region-specific unlicensed spectrum regulations for a successful UE Cooperation mechanism in the unlicensed spectrum as suggested, Salem [0035].
Regarding claim 8, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the apparatus of claim 7 wherein the synchronous access parameters further define a preferred periodicity between each of the one or more preferred contention windows as a single MCOT (p Time T.sub.mcot, Table 1, Kusashima [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Omaya further teaches configuring, in response to detection of no data in the buffer, one or more asynchronous contention windows scheduled after the next synchronous contention window and prior to the subsequent synchronous contention window (it is considered that the Wi-Fi terminal 20 realizes the transmission timing adjustment by adjusting the transmission timing such that the transmission is completed up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period indicated by the transmission stop period information, [0081]); and
in response to detection of new data in the buffer and success of an asynchronous contention procedure on the shared communication channel conducted at a next asynchronous contention window of the one or more asynchronous contention windows outside of the one or more preferred contention windows: transmitting the new data on the shared communication channel, and continuing transmission of the new data beyond a boundary of the subsequent preferred synchronous contention window when untransmitted data of the new data remains in the buffer at the boundary (when the transmission is not completed; transmits the wireless signal of the amount that can be completely transmitted up to the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the LTE transmission stop period; and transmits the rest in the subsequent LTE transmission stop periods, [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima and the schedule of Choi and Salem with the transmission of Omaya to provide a method and a system to transmit only data for which transmission has been completed until the end timing of the LTE transmission stop period, in the transmission period, and transmits remaining data in the subsequent LTE transmission stop period as suggested, Omaya [0126].
Regarding claim 10, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the synchronous boundary configuration establishes a size and a frequency of the next synchronous contention window (Examples of the configuration of the time resource of the guaranteed resource include a set of slots represented by a bitmap. Each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a slot (alternatively, a slot group or a subframe). 0/1 of the bit represents guaranteed resource/non-guaranteed resource, Kusashima [0134]).
Regarding claim 11, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the synchronous contention procedure included configuration of the at least one processor to identify a location of the next synchronous contention window based on an absolute system time reference (In a case where time synchronization is performed between different operators, information on a time stamp is shared. The information on a time stamp may be information indicating an absolute time or information indicating a reference time, Kusashima [0216]).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusashima et al. (US 20200374892 A1) in view of Oyama and further in view of Choi, Salem and Desai et al. (US 20200029361 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Kusashima, Oyama, Choi and Salem do not teach wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT).
In an analogous art, Desai teaches wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT) (Additionally, all radios in close vicinity of the particular type of interferer may auto-tune the Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (EDCA) parameters to offer aggressive contention back-off (within legal boundaries) within a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) window, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima, Oyama, the schedule of Choi and Salem with the distribute channel of Desai to provide a method and a system to allow device to compete effectively for use of all unlicensed spectrum and thus maintain access parity with unlicensed network as suggested, Desai [0003].
Regarding claim 12, Kusashima as modified by Oyama, Choi and Salem teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
However, Kusashima, Oyama, Choi and Salem do not teach wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT).
In an analogous art, Desai teaches wherein the ceasing transmission of the remaining data at the boundary of the subsequent preferred contention window includes ceasing transmission according to an enhanced channel occupancy time (eCOT) (Additionally, all radios in close vicinity of the particular type of interferer may auto-tune the Enhanced Distributed Channel Access (EDCA) parameters to offer aggressive contention back-off (within legal boundaries) within a maximum allowed Channel Occupancy Time (COT) window, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coexistence of Kusashima, Oyama, the schedule of Choi and Salem with the distribute channel of Desai to provide a method and a system to allow device to compete effectively for use of all unlicensed spectrum and thus maintain access parity with unlicensed network as suggested, Desai [0003].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US 20200322990 A1): A tracking reference signal (TRS) burst transmission method and apparatus wherein a transmit end determines to send a first TRS burst in the first slot in a maximum channel occupancy time (MCOT), that is, the TRS burst is sent at a start moment of the MCOT, so that a receive end can obtain precise time-frequency synchronization as soon as possible. In addition, when a length of a first MCOT is greater than Y slots, in addition to sending the first TRS burst in the first slot in the MCOT, it is further determined to send a second TRS burst in a slot that is in the first MCOT and whose distance to a start slot of a previous TRS burst is Y slots, to improve effectiveness of the time-frequency synchronization and further improve the reliability of receiving the data at the receive end.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641