DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The German Office Action cited in IDS filed 18 October 2023 has not been considered as no English translation has been provided.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 lines 3-4 and 8-9 recite the limitations “A anode electrodes with A anode current collectors having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end” and “C cathode electrodes with C cathode current collectors having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end”, which are being interpreted as
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lines 21-22 recites the limitation “the A external tabs and the C external tabs adjacent to the first side and the second side respectively” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. It is unclear if applicant intends the first and second side of the electrode or the first and second side of the housing, as both are recited in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim limitation will be interpreted by the examiner as the first side and second side of the housing.
Claim 2 line 2 recites the limitation “the first side and the second side” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. It is unclear if applicant intends the first and second side of the electrode of the first and second side of the housing, as both are recited in claim 1, upon which it depends. For purposes of examination, the claim limitation will be interpreted by the examiner as the first side and the second side of the housing.
Claim 2 lines 1-2 recites the limitation “the electrode stack is inserted into the internal cavity through one of the first side and the second side” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. The above limitation is a method step limitation while the claimed invention is directed toward the product, a battery cell, and not the method of making and therefore the method step will not be given patentable weight. The examiner will be interpreting the limitation as the electrode stack located in the internal cavity.
Claims 3-13 are rejected as being dependent upon above rejected claim 2.
Claim 14 lines 21-22 recite the limitation “the A external tabs and the C external tabs adjacent to the first side and the second side, respectively” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite. It is unclear if applicant intends the first and second side of the electrode or the first and second side of the housing, as both are recited in the claim. For purposes of examination, the claim limitation will be interpreted by the examiner as the first side and second side of the housing.
Claims 15-18 are rejected as depending upon above rejected claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson WO2018231605A1 in view of Lim US20140349181A1.
Regarding claim 1, Batson discloses a battery cell (Batson, [0030]) comprising:
an electrode stack (Batson, [0030], Fig. 18, stack 1800) including:
A anode electrodes (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, anodes 206 and 208) with A anode current collectors (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208), a first end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 211 and 215), and a second end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 213 and 217), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end, respectively (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208, end 211 and 215, end 213 and 217), and wherein A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240) extend from the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, Fig. 2B, top side of anodes 206 and 208),
C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, cathodes 202 and 204) with C cathode current collectors (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, tabs 212 and 216)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204), a first end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 201 and 205), and a second end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 203 and 207), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end (Batson, Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204, end 201 and 205, end 203 and 207), and wherein C external tabs extend from the first side of the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top side of cathodes 202 and 204, tabs 212 and 216),
where A and C are integers greater than zero, the above structure of Batson inherently satisfies this limitation as Batson teaches having electrodes and collectors,
and a separator comprising a continuous sheet interleaved between the anode electrodes and the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0043]),
wherein the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 614),
wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 612),
a housing (Batson, [0020], Fig. 12, pouch 1200) including a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, and an internal cavity (Batson, [0085], Fig. 12, pouch 1200),
wherein the electrode stack is arranged in the internal cavity with the A external tabs adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled first side, tabs 612) and the C external tabs adjacent (near) to the second side of the housing (Batson, , [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled second side, tabs 614),
and first and second tab positioning members (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, supports 706 and 708 and weld) including first and second external lead tabs (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, extension tabs 702 and 704) connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs, respectively (Batson, [0054]).
Batson however does not disclose wherein C external tabs extend from the second side of the C cathode electrodes, wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes.
Lim discloses a battery cell (Lim, [0058]) comprising: an electrode stack (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4 electrode assembly 400) including: wherein A external tabs (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4, tabs 450) extend from a first side of the A anode electrodes (Lim, [0081], Fig. 4, assembly 400, tabs 450), wherein C external tabs (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4, tabs 440) extend from a second side of the C cathode electrodes (Lim, [0081], Fig. 4, assembly 400, tabs 450), wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes (Lim, [0080], Fig. 4, cathode 410, separator 430, tab 440).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the C external tabs of Batson with those taught by Lim, thereby achieving technical goals such as having high energy density, high discharge voltage and output stability (Lim, [0004], [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Batson further teaches wherein the electrode stack is inserted into the internal cavity (Batson, [0020]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Batson also teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Batson further teaches wherein each of the first end and the second end of the housing includes first and second slots (Batson, [0057], Fig. 8, slots 805 and 807) configured to engage opposite ends of the first tab positioning member and the second tab positioning member (Batson, [0057], Figs. 7-8, Fig. 7, outer portion of supports 706 and 708 opposite inner portion).
Regarding claim 4, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the first side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 605 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 704).
Regarding claim 5, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 4 as set forth above and also teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld) and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 6, modified Batson further teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 603 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 702).
Regarding claim 7, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 6 as set forth above and also teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld), and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 702).
Regarding claim 8, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Figs. 6-7, support 708 and weld) includes: an “L”-shaped planar conducting portion extending along the first side and the first end of the housing (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 605, housing 1200, first side, first end) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab (Batson, Fig. 7, extension tab 704) connected to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion adjacent (near) to the first end (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped planar portion, weld, support 708, housing 1200, first end).
Regarding claim 9, modified Batson further teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: an “L”-shaped planar insulating portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 7 and 13a below, “L”-shaped planar insulating portion of material 714) arranged adjacent to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped portion of weld)
and a second insulating portion extending transverse to the “L”-shaped planar insulating portion adjacent (near) to the first end (Batson, [0055], Figs. 7 and 13a, material 714 along x-axis, first end), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 10, modified Batson also teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: an “L”-shaped planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing and the second end of the housing (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 603, housing 1200, second side, second end) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab (Batson, Fig. 7, extension tab 704) connected to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion adjacent (near) to the second end (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped planar portion of weld on welding surface 603, support 706, housing 1200, first end).
Regarding claim 11, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: an “L”-shaped planar insulating portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 7 and 13a below, “L”-shaped planar insulating portion of material 714) arranged adjacent to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 603),
and a second insulating portion extending transverse to the “L”-shaped planar insulating portion adjacent (near) to the second end (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, second end), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, extension tab 702).
Regarding claim 14, Batson discloses a battery cell (Batson, [0030]) comprising:
an electrode stack (Batson, [0030], Fig. 18, stack 1800) including:
A anode electrodes (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, anodes 206 and 208) with A anode current collectors (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208), a first end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 211 and 215), and a second end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 213 and 217), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end, respectively (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208, end 211 and 215, end 213 and 217), and wherein A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240) extend from the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, Fig. 2B, top side of anodes 206 and 208),
C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, cathodes 202 and 204) with C cathode current collectors (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, tabs 212 and 216)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204), a first end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 201 and 205), and a second end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 203 and 207), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end (Batson, Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204, end 201 and 205, end 203 and 207), and wherein C external tabs extend from the first side of the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top side of cathodes 202 and 204, tabs 212 and 216),
where A and C are integers greater than zero, the above structure of Batson inherently satisfies this limitation as Batson teaches having electrodes and collectors,
and a separator comprising a continuous sheet interleaved between the anode electrodes and the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0043]),
wherein the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 614),
wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 612),
a housing (Batson, [0020], Fig. 12, pouch 1200) including a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, and an internal cavity (Batson, [0085], Fig. 12, pouch 1200),
wherein the electrode stack is arranged in the internal cavity with the A external tabs adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled first side, tabs 612) and the C external tabs adjacent (near) to the second side of the housing (Batson, , [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled second side, tabs 614),
and first and second tab positioning members (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, supports 706 and 708 and weld) including first and second external lead tabs (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, extension tabs 702 and 704) connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs, respectively (Batson, [0054]),
wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the first side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 605 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 704) adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, Figs. 7 and 13a, tab of tabs 704, housing 1200, first side of housing).
Batson however does not disclose wherein C external tabs extend from the second side of the C cathode electrodes, wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes.
Lim discloses a battery cell (Lim, [0058]) comprising: an electrode stack (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4 electrode assembly 400) including: wherein A external tabs (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4, tabs 450) extend from a first side of the A anode electrodes (Lim, [0081], Fig. 4, assembly 400, tabs 450), wherein C external tabs (Lim, [0077], Fig. 4, tabs 440) extend from a second side of the C cathode electrodes (Lim, [0081], Fig. 4, assembly 400, tabs 450), wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes (Lim, [0080], Fig. 4, cathode 410, separator 430, tab 440).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the C external tabs of Batson with those taught by Lim, thereby achieving technical goals such as having high energy density, high discharge voltage and output stability (Lim, [0004], [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein each of the first end and the second end of the housing includes first and second slots (Batson, [0057], Fig. 8, slots 805 and 807) configured to engage opposite ends of the first tab positioning member and the second tab positioning member (Batson, [0057], Figs. 7-8, Fig. 7, outer portion of supports 706 and 708 opposite inner portion).
Regarding claim 16, modified Batson also teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld) and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 17, modified Batson further teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 603 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 702).
Regarding claim 18, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld), and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 702).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson WO2018231605A1 in view of Lim US20140349181A1, as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee US20060024578A1.
Regarding claim 12, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above in claim 2 but does not teach wherein the first tab positioning member includes: a planar conducting portion arranged along the first end of the housing, an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion, and a second planar conducting portion arranged along the first side of the housing, in contact with the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes, and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion.
Lee teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, connectors 17, support 20) includes:
a planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion) arranged along the first end of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, first end),
an external lead tab (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, terminal 32) connected to the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, terminal 32)
and a second planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, second planar conducting portion) arranged along the first side of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, first side), in contact with the A external tabs (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, region 12a) of the A anode electrodes (Lee, [0022], Figs. 1-2, plate 12),
and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, second planar conducting portion). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first tab positioning member of modified Batson with the teaching of Lee wherein the first tab positioning member includes: a planar conducting portion arranged along the first end of the housing, an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion, and a second planar conducting portion arranged along the first side of the housing, in contact with the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes, and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion, thereby improving durability (Lee, [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Batson teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as set forth above but does not teach wherein the second tab positioning member includes: a planar conducting portion arranged along the second end of the housing; an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion; and a second planar conducting portion arranged along the second side of the housing, in contact with the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion.
Lee teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, connectors 17, support 20) includes:
a planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion) arranged along the second end of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, second end),
an external lead tab (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, terminal 31) connected to the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, terminal 31)
and a second planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, second planar conducting portion) arranged along the side of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, side), in contact with the C external tabs (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, region 11a) of the C cathode electrodes (Lee, [0022], Figs. 1-2, plate 12) and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, second planar conducting portion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong US20120141850A1 (discloses a battery cell comprising conductive structure similar to the claimed invention),
Lee US20160372735A1 (discloses a battery cell comprising external lead tabs on first and second sides),
Kotik WO2017063880A1 (discloses a battery cell comprising very similar structure to that of the claimed invention),
Minagata US20170288194A1 (discloses a battery cell comprising similar structures to that of the claimed invention).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723