DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The German Office Action cited in IDS filed 18 October 2023 has not been considered as no English translation has been provided.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 lines 3-4 and 8-9 recite the limitations “A anode electrodes with A anode current collectors having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end” and “C cathode electrodes with C cathode current collectors having a first side, a second side, a first end, and a second end”, which are being interpreted as C cathode electrodes with C cathode current collectors having another first side, another second side, another first end, and another second end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 lines 1-2 recites the limitation “the electrode stack is inserted into the internal cavity through one of the first side and the second side of the housing” which renders the meaning of the claim indefinite because seemingly applicant is claiming a method of inserting the electrode stack when the claims are drawn towards a product. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation has been interpreted as “wherein the electrode stack is configured to be inserted into the internal cavity through one of the first side and the second side of the housing” (i.e., a functional recitation which is not given patentable weight).
Claims 3-13 are rejected as being dependent upon above rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson WO2018231605A1 in view of Kotik WO2017063880A1.
Regarding claim 1, Batson discloses a battery cell (Batson, [0030]) comprising:
an electrode stack (Batson, [0030], Fig. 18, stack 1800) including:
A anode electrodes (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, anodes 206 and 208) with A anode current collectors (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208), a first end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 211 and 215), and a second end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 213 and 217), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end, respectively (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208, end 211 and 215, end 213 and 217), and wherein A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240) extend from the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, Fig. 2B, top side of anodes 206 and 208),
C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, cathodes 202 and 204) with C cathode current collectors (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, tabs 212 and 216)
having another first side and another second side (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204), another first end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 201 and 205), and another second end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 203 and 207), wherein the first another side and the second another side are longer than the first another end and the second another end (Batson, Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204, end 201 and 205, end 203 and 207), and wherein C external tabs extend from the first side of the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top side of cathodes 202 and 204, tabs 212 and 216),
where A and C are integers greater than zero, the above structure of Batson inherently satisfies this limitation as Batson teaches having electrodes and collectors,
and a separator comprising a continuous sheet interleaved between the anode electrodes and the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0043]),
wherein the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 614),
wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 612),
a housing (Batson, [0020], Fig. 12, pouch 1200) including a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, and an internal cavity (Batson, [0085], Fig. 12, pouch 1200),
wherein the electrode stack is arranged in the internal cavity with the A external tabs adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled first side, tabs 612) and the C external tabs adjacent (near) to the second side of the housing (Batson, , [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled second side, tabs 614),
and first and second tab positioning members (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, supports 706 and 708 and weld) including first and second external lead tabs (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, extension tabs 702 and 704) connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs, respectively (Batson, [0054])
Batson however does not disclose wherein C external tabs extend from the second side of the C cathode electrodes, wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes and wherein the first and second tab positioning members including first and second external lead tabs connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs by way of non-welded connections with planar conducting portions of the first and second tab positioning members.
Kotik teaches wherein C external tabs (Kotik, Fig. 4, elements 61a and 63) extend from the second side (Kotik, Fig. 4, side of element 61 from which element 61a extends) of the C cathode electrodes (Kotik, Fig. 4, element 61), wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded (Kotik, Figs. 4 and 6, element 63) along the separator (Kotik, Fig. 4, element 30) on the second side the C cathode electrodes (Kotik, Figs. 4 and 6, side of element 61 along element 30) and wherein first (Kotik, Fig. 7, elements 54 and 90) and second (Kotik, Fig. 7, elements 50 and 80) tab positioning members including first (Kotik, Fig. 7, element 54) and second (Kotik, Figs. 7 and 8, element 50) external lead tabs connected to the A external tabs (Kotik, Fig. 4, elements 62b and 65) and the C external tabs (Kotik, Figs. 4, 6 and 8, elements 61a and 63), respectively, by way of non-welded connections (Kotik, [0032]) with planar conducting portions of the first and second tab positioning members (Kotik, Figs. 3 and 6-8, elements 50, 54, 61a and 63, 62b and 65). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the C external tabs and non-welded connections of Kotik to Batson thereby reducing the footprint of the cell (Kotik, [009]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Batson further teaches wherein the electrode stack is configured to be inserted into the internal cavity through one of the first side and the second side of the housing (Batson, [0020]), see interpretation above.
Regarding claim 3, modified Batson also teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Batson further teaches wherein each of the first end and the second end of the housing includes first and second slots (Batson, [0057], Fig. 8, slots 805 and 807) configured to engage opposite ends of the first tab positioning member and the second tab positioning member (Batson, [0057], Figs. 7-8, Fig. 7, outer portion of supports 706 and 708 opposite inner portion).
Regarding claim 4, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the first side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 605 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 704).
Regarding claim 5, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 4 as set forth above and also teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld) and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 6, modified Batson further teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 603 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 702).
Regarding claim 7, modified Batson teaches all of the claim limitations of claim 6 as set forth above and also teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld), and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 702).
Regarding claim 8, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Figs. 6-7, support 708 and weld) includes: an “L”-shaped planar conducting portion extending along the first side and the first end of the housing (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 605, housing 1200, first side, first end) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab (Batson, Fig. 7, extension tab 704) connected to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion adjacent (near) to the first end (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped planar portion, weld, support 708, housing 1200, first end).
Regarding claim 9, modified Batson further teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: an “L”-shaped planar insulating portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 7 and 13a below, “L”-shaped planar insulating portion of material 714) arranged adjacent to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped portion of weld)
and a second insulating portion extending transverse to the “L”-shaped planar insulating portion adjacent (near) to the first end (Batson, [0055], Figs. 7 and 13a, material 714 along x-axis, first end), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 10, modified Batson also teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: an “L”-shaped planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing and the second end of the housing (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 603, housing 1200, second side, second end) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab (Batson, Fig. 7, extension tab 704) connected to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion adjacent (near) to the second end (Batson, Figs. 6-7 and 13a, “L”-shaped planar portion of weld on welding surface 603, support 706, housing 1200, first end).
Regarding claim 11, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: an “L”-shaped planar insulating portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 7 and 13a below, “L”-shaped planar insulating portion of material 714) arranged adjacent to the “L”-shaped planar conducting portion (Batson, annotated Figs. 6 and 13a below, “L”-shaped portion of weld on welding surface 603),
and a second insulating portion extending transverse to the “L”-shaped planar insulating portion adjacent (near) to the second end (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, second end), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis, extension tab 702).
Regarding claim 14, Batson discloses a battery cell (Batson, [0030]) comprising:
an electrode stack (Batson, [0030], Fig. 18, stack 1800) including:
A anode electrodes (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, anodes 206 and 208) with A anode current collectors (Batson, [0040], Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240)
having a first side and a second side (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208), a first end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 211 and 215), and a second end (Batson, [0037], Fig. 2B, end 213 and 217), wherein the first side and the second side are longer than the first end and the second end, respectively (Batson, Fig. 2B, top and bottom sides of anodes 206 and 208, end 211 and 215, end 213 and 217), and wherein A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 2B, tabs 220 and 240) extend from the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, Fig. 2B, top side of anodes 206 and 208),
C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, cathodes 202 and 204) with C cathode current collectors (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, tabs 212 and 216)
having another first side and another second side (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204), another first end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 201 and 205), and another second end (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, end 203 and 207), wherein the first another side and the second another side are longer than the first another end and the second another end (Batson, Fig. 2A, top and bottom sides of cathodes 202 and 204, end 201 and 205, end 203 and 207), and wherein C external tabs extend from the first side of the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0038], Fig. 2A, top side of cathodes 202 and 204, tabs 212 and 216),
where A and C are integers greater than zero, the above structure of Batson inherently satisfies this limitation as Batson teaches having electrodes and collectors,
and a separator comprising a continuous sheet interleaved between the anode electrodes and the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0043]),
wherein the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side of the A anode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 614),
wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the first side the C cathode electrodes (Batson, [0048-0049], Fig. 6, tabs 612),
a housing (Batson, [0020], Fig. 12, pouch 1200) including a first side, a second side, a first end, a second end, and an internal cavity (Batson, [0085], Fig. 12, pouch 1200),
wherein the electrode stack is arranged in the internal cavity with the A external tabs adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled first side, tabs 612) and the C external tabs adjacent (near) to the second side of the housing (Batson, , [0020], [0054], Figs. 6 and 12, pouch 1200, unlabeled second side, tabs 614),
and first and second tab positioning members (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, supports 706 and 708 and weld) including first and second external lead tabs (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, extension tabs 702 and 704) connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs, respectively (Batson, [0054]),
wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the first side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 605 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the A external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 605, tabs 614), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 704) adjacent (near) to the first side of the housing (Batson, Figs. 7 and 13a, tab of tabs 704, housing 1200, first side of housing).
Batson however does not disclose wherein C external tabs extend from the second side of the C cathode electrodes, wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded along the separator on the second side the C cathode electrodes and wherein the first and second tab positioning members including first and second external lead tabs connected to the A external tabs and the C external tabs by way of non-welded connections with planar conducting portions of the first and second tab positioning members.
Kotik teaches wherein C external tabs (Kotik, Fig. 4, elements 61a and 63) extend from the second side (Kotik, Fig. 4, side of element 61 from which element 61a extends) of the C cathode electrodes (Kotik, Fig. 4, element 61), wherein the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes are folded (Kotik, Figs. 4 and 6, element 63) along the separator (Kotik, Fig. 4, element 30) on the second side the C cathode electrodes (Kotik, Figs. 4 and 6, side of element 61 along element 30) and wherein first (Kotik, Fig. 7, elements 54 and 90) and second (Kotik, Fig. 7, elements 50 and 80) tab positioning members including first (Kotik, Fig. 7, element 54) and second (Kotik, Figs. 7 and 8, element 50) external lead tabs connected to the A external tabs (Kotik, Fig. 4, elements 62b and 65) and the C external tabs (Kotik, Figs. 4, 6 and 8, elements 61a and 63), respectively, by way of non-welded connections (Kotik, [0032]) with planar conducting portions of the first and second tab positioning members (Kotik, Figs. 3 and 6-8, elements 50, 54, 61a and 63, 62b and 65). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the C external tabs and non-welded connections of Kotik to Batson thereby reducing the footprint of the cell (Kotik, [009]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein each of the first end and the second end of the housing includes first and second slots (Batson, [0057], Fig. 8, slots 805 and 807) configured to engage opposite ends of the first tab positioning member and the second tab positioning member (Batson, [0057], Figs. 7-8, Fig. 7, outer portion of supports 706 and 708 opposite inner portion).
Regarding claim 16, modified Batson also teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 708 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld) and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 704).
Regarding claim 17, modified Batson further teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) includes: a planar conducting portion extending along the second side of the housing (Batson, [0054], weld includes a planar portion on welding surface 603 that is conducting and extends along the first side of the housing) and in contact with the C external tabs (Batson, Fig. 6, welding surface 603, tabs 612), and an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion (Batson, [0054], Fig. 7, a tab of tabs 702).
Regarding claim 18, modified Batson additionally teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Batson, Fig. 7, support 706 and weld) further includes: a planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along y-axis) arranged adjacent to the planar conducting portion (Batson, Figs. 6-7, weld), and a second insulating portion extending transverse from the planar insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714 along x-axis), wherein the external lead tab extends through the second insulating portion (Batson, [0055], Fig. 7, material 714, extension tab 702).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson WO2018231605A1 in view of Kotik WO2017063880A1 and further in view of Lee US20060024578A1.
Regarding claim 12, modified Batson does not teach wherein the first tab positioning member includes: a planar conducting portion arranged along the first end of the housing, an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion, and a second planar conducting portion arranged along the first side of the housing, in contact with the A external tabs of the A anode electrodes, and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion.
Lee teaches wherein the first tab positioning member (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, connectors 17, support 20) includes:
a planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion) arranged along the first end of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, first end),
an external lead tab (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, terminal 32) connected to the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, terminal 32)
and a second planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, second planar conducting portion) arranged along the first side of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, first side), in contact with the A external tabs (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, region 12a) of the A anode electrodes (Lee, [0022], Figs. 1-2, plate 12),
and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, second planar conducting portion). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the first tab positioning member of Lee to modified Batson thereby improving durability (Lee, [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Batson does not teach wherein the second tab positioning member includes: a planar conducting portion arranged along the second end of the housing, an external lead tab connected to the planar conducting portion, and a second planar conducting portion arranged along the second side of the housing, in contact with the C external tabs of the C cathode electrodes and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion.
Lee teaches wherein the second tab positioning member (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, connectors 17, support 20) includes:
a planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion) arranged along the second end of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, second end),
an external lead tab (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, terminal 31) connected to the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, terminal 31)
and a second planar conducting portion (Lee, [0022], annotated Fig. 2, second planar conducting portion) arranged along the side of the housing (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, case 15, side), in contact with the C external tabs (Lee, [0022], Fig. 2, region 11a) of the C cathode electrodes (Lee, [0022], Figs. 1-2, plate 12) and including an end abutting the planar conducting portion (Lee, annotated Fig. 2, planar conducting portion, second planar conducting portion). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second tab positioning member of Lee to modified Batson thereby improving durability (Lee, [0036]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-10, filed 28 May 2026, with respect to the 112 rejection of claims 1 and 14-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 1-18 has been withdrawn as it has been overcome by applicant’s amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 112 rejection of claims 2-13 have been considered but are not persuasive and the rejection and interpretation are set forth above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim US20120015226A1 (discloses tabs disposed along the sides and the ends),
Que US20210110979A1 (discloses tab s disposed along the sides and the ends),
Campbell US20230103136A1 (discloses an electrochemical device comprising tabs disposed on either sides or ends).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723