DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of response (pg 1 of remarks), filed 7/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 51 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Dimauro (2015/0164655) to provide a teaching for the new limitation of a single pocket.
Regarding the request to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance, it must be noted that if a rejection is appropriate, requirements for the applicant are not held in abeyance. In this instance it is still the examiner’s position a rejection over the ‘303 patent is appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51,52,54-57,60-62,66-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2020/0268512) in view of DiMauro (2015/0164655). Mohl discloses (Figs. 3,4) a coaptation assistance element for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart (see abstract), the coaptation assistance element 21 comprising: a first surface 28 configured to be disposed toward a posterior leaflet and an opposed second surface faces backside element 24. However, Mohl did not disclose the adaptive coaptation element forms a single pocket extending entirely between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge, wherein the adaptive coaptation element is configured to be deflated against the opposed second surface. DiMauro teaches an assistive apparatus 60 configured to be inflated and deflated (paragraph 153) and is formed as a single “pocket” 66 such that it has multiple surfaces and edges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to alternatively provide the pockets of Mohl to be a single pocket per the teaching of DiMauro such that it allows placement along a periphery of a tissue site, see DiMauro paragraph 153. Thus per the modification with DiMauro the apparatus of Mohl would result in having a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge, an inferior edge, and a superior edge, wherein the first surface extends to the first lateral edge, the second lateral edge, the inferior edge, and the superior edge, wherein the opposed second surface extends to the first lateral edge, the second lateral edge, the inferior edge, and the superior edge, and an adaptive coaptation element configured to inflate in systole and deflate in diastole. Regarding claims 52,67,68 Mohl further shows (Fig. 5) implant wings 27 configured to seal on the commissure of the valve leaflets and can be seen they extend along the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge as they extend outward. Additionally as best seen (Fig. 3) the wings extend less than the entire height of the coaptation assistance element as they are solely in the upper part of the device. Regarding claim 54, it can be seen (Fig. 3) the implant wings are configured to cover an opening during upward and downward motion of the coaptation assistance element as they extend out and form a ledge to cover the area about the annulus and cover any gap when placed in the native valve. Regarding claim 55, it can be seen (Fig 3) the implant wings 27 extend along a transition from a horizontal oriented section of the coaptation assistance element to a vertically oriented section of the coaptation assistance element. Regarding claim 56, Mohl discloses (paragraph 18) the adaptive coaptation element inflates by the increase in left ventricle pressure and blood flow toward the left atrium, and wherein the adaptive coaptation element deflates by the decrease in left ventricle pressure and blood flow toward the left ventricle. Regarding claim 57, Mohl further disclose (paragraph 22) the coaptation assistance element is configured to be fixed at one or more locations in the annulus, and wherein the coaptation assistance element is configured to move upward and downward during the cardiac cycle. Regarding claim 60, it can be construed (Fig. 3) the adaptive coaptation element comprises a fixed superior edge, fixed lateral edges, and a free inferior edge with all elements affixed together to not allow separation of components. With respect to Claim 61 Mohl did not explicitly disclose the adaptive coaptation element comprises a thickness at the coaptation surface when inflated between 1 mm and 15 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the appropriate dimensions to seal or have the valve leaflet coapt with the pocket or adaptive coaptation element of Mohl and finding dimensions or thickness between 1-15mm only involves routine skill in the art. Regarding claim 62, it can be construed the adaptive coaptation element is configured to fill to greater thickness as the heart condition worsens as Mohl disclose the pockets are flexible. Regarding claim 66, Fig. 3 shows wherein the adaptive coaptation element extends less than the entire height of the coaptation assistance element. Regarding claim 69, Mohl discloses (paragraph 92) the adaptive coaptation element is configured to inflate to any thickness over a range of thickness until the adaptive coaptation element is stopped by an anterior leaflet.
Claim(s) 58,59,63,64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2020/0268512) in view of DiMauro (2015/0164655) as applied to claim 51 above, and further in view of McLean et al. (2022/0192822). Mohl as modified by DiMauro is explained supra. However, Mohl in view of DiMauro did not explicitly disclose there is an edge to edge device and it is configured to clip the anterior leaflet to the coaptation assistance element to reduce the backflow of blood. McLean et al. teach that an edge to edge device or clip 220 which is configured to clip the anterior leaflet to the coaptation assistance element (paragraphs 48,49) to reduce the backflow of blood, see Figs. 2,4D, note would couple to anterior leaflet since coaptation device 214 extends into the mitral valve towards the anterior. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to use an edge to edge coupling clip to secure with the coaptation device as taught by McLean et al. and incorporate with the coaptation assistance element of Mohl in view of DiMauro to assure the element stays at the valve site. Regarding claim 63, Mohl did not disclose one or more struts having one end terminating at an annular hub and having the other end extending radially outwardly. McLean et al. teach (Fig. 3B) one or more struts 322 having one end terminating at an annular hub 321 and having the other end extending radially outwardly. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an annular hub as taught by McLean et al. with the coaptation device of Mohl as modified by DiMauro in order to effective place the implant in the valve site. Regarding claim 64, Mohl did not disclose an annular hub. McLean et al. teach (Fig. 3B) an annular hub 321 coupled with the implantable coaptation device to assist with positioning, paragraph 42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an annular hub as taught by McLean et al. with the coaptation device of Mohl as modified by DiMauro in order to effective place the implant in the valve site.
Claim(s) 53,70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohl (2020/0268512) in view of DiMauro (2015/0164655) as applied to claim 52,51 above, and further in view of van der Burg et al. (2022/0192822). Mohl as modified by DiMauro is explained supra. However, Mohl in view of DiMauro did not explicitly disclose material of wings is ePTFE or the adaptive coaptation element comprises a material having a porosity between 10 microns and 200 microns. van der Burg et al. teach (paragraph 88) the material of covering can be ePTFE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a known material such as ePTFE as taught by van der Berg for the wings of the coaptive device of Mohl as modified by DiMauro to provide a suitable biocompatible covering. van der Burg et al. also teach (paragraph 90) an assist element (Fig. 38) for a heart in the form of a membrane material having a porosity between 10 microns and 200 microns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the appropriate material and provide the porosity between 10 microns and 200 microns as taught by van der Burg et al. with the coaptation device of Mohl in view of Di Mauro and use such material for the adaptive coaptation element in order to provide the properties needed.
Double Patenting
Claims 51,64 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8,12,13,15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,478,303. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim scope overlaps despite a different terminology used. Current claims of the application use broader terminology. It must be noted that narrower claims anticipate broader claims. See In re Goodman. Claim 8 of US recites a coaptation assistance element for treating mal-coaptation of a heart valve of a heart, the coaptation assistance element comprising: a first surface and an opposed second surface, a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge, an inferior edge, and a superior edge, and a leaflet (recited limitation of pending claim 51 to an adaptive coaptation element is analogous) configured to expand (recited limitation of pending claim 51 to inflate is analogous) in systole and deflate in diastole. Please note claim 13 anticipates claim 51 as it recites the same function, that the leaflet is inflatable. Regarding the limitation that the “coaptation element forms a single pocket …..” can be considered inherent as claim 8 of US ‘303 recites “a leaflet” thus there must be just a single pocket to inflate. Regarding claim 64 reciting "an annular hub" is recited and anticipated by claim 12 of US '303. Also note, the recited function of "configured to inflate and deflate" of claim 51, is further anticipated by claim 15 reciting the same function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799