DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (drawn to a pharmaceutical composition), in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are pending of which claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is made Final.
Pending claims 1-5 and 7-9 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 5 and 7-9 recite nitrogen substituted or nitrogen substitution formulation, however, the specification does not explain the methods (e.g., gas purging, vacuum-nitrogen cycles, or other techniques) that lead to nitrogen-substituted or define the exact meaning of the term herein. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would interpret the term “nitrogen-substitution” or “nitrogen-substituted” in multiple different ways, such as the process where a nitrogen atom in an organic compound is replaced by another atom or group. Furthermore, the specification appears to reference “nitrogen substitution” in the context of reducing the oxygen saturation in the storage container to 5% or less, but the specification does not explain how this process is achieved. The specification does not disclose the equipment or techniques or amount of nitrogen added for replacing oxygen, leading to oxygen saturation of 5 % or less. This then indicates that the specification does not have sufficient detail to demonstrate possession of “nitrogen substitution” or “nitrogen substituted.”
The specification’s failures to disclose sufficient details for the term “nitrogen substitution” or “nitrogen substituted,” clearly supports the conclusion that the specification lacks adequate written description of the claimed subject matter indicating that Applicant was not in possession of the claimed method before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosure of the application as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ),
second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 7-9 recite nitrogen substituted or nitrogen substitution formulation. The term “nitrogen-substitution” or “nitrogen-substituted” is indefinite because as cited, a POSITA would recognize multiple plausible interpretation, such as substitution on nitrogen, vacuum-nitrogen cycles or purge cycles. Thus, the absence of a precise definition in the specification renders the claims indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(l) as being anticipated by CN103720647 (“CN ‘647”). All references are being made to the English translation (machine generated).
Regarding claims 1-2, CN ‘647 (abstract, page 1-2) teaches an injectable formulation comprising (S)-ibuprofen or dexibuprofen (100 mg) and arginine (67.6~118.2 mg) which include the option of L-arginine or D-arginine at a stable pH at 7-9. CN ‘647 (page 2-3) teaches the formulation is stable and that the ratio of arginine to dexibuprofen regulates the stability of the injection composition. CN ‘647 (page 2-3) teaches dexibuprofen and arginine ratio of 1:0.8-1:1:1.4, which overlaps with the claimed limitation arginine 320-330 per 400 dexibuprofen (1:0.95-0.98).
Regarding claim 3, CN ‘647 (page 2) teaches “0.9% sodium chloride solution or the rear quiet use of 5% glucose solution.”
Regarding claim 4, CN ‘647 (page 2) “uses clinically 0.9% sodium chloride solution or the rear quiet use of 5% glucose solution dilution. Solution osmotic pressure after dilution is between 280M OSmol/Kg-320M OSmol/Kg, and safety is good.” Thus, the osmotic pressure corresponds to 0.28-0.32 osmol/Kg is within the instant claim range. While CN ‘647 does not explicitly disclose a specific gravity, however, CN ‘647 teaches an aqueous dexibuprofen with arginine at a molar ratio of about 1:0.8-1:1.4 in water for injection. Given that the solution contains on the order of 0.2 g dissolved solids per ml of water, such an aqueous solution will inherently have a density slightly greater than that of water, i.e., a specific gravity just above 1.0 and far below 2.0. Therefore, it would have anticipated that the claimed specific gravity is thus an inherent property of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
action.
nonobviousness.
Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN103720647 (“CN ‘647”), as applied to claims 1-4 above, in view of Tang et al., WO2019023102. All references are being made to the English translation (machine generated).
Regarding claims 5 and 7-9, and as applied to claims 1-4 above, CN ‘647 teaches a system “inflated with nitrogen” which a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would understand the container is flushed with nitrogen gas, so that oxygen is displaced and saturation is reduced. However, CN ‘647 does not explicitly teach oxygen level.
However, Tang (page 27, [0102]-[0106] and page 14, [0055]) teaches injectable formulation with headspace oxygen reduced via nitrogen overlay to levels of 5%, 2%, 1%, to improve storage stability and thus reduced compound degradation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the teachings of CN ‘647 in view of Tang, by purging nitrogen into a storage container to reduce oxygen level to 5% or below, as doing so was a well-recognized method in the art to enhance storage stability of formulations.
Conclusion
Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected.
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622