DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The subject matter which was not described in the original disclosure is the use of a system, computer media, or method using three sensors, where the processing circuitry determines a first preliminary determination that the IMD has changed status based on a first sensor indication, determines a second preliminary determination that the IMD has changed status based on a second sensor indication and responsive to the first preliminary determination, and then responsive to the first preliminary determination indicating a status change for the IMD and the second preliminary determination indicating a change of status for the IMD, determine, based on a third sensor indication, that the IMD changed status, in combination with the other elements or steps in the claim(s).
The original disclosure discussed determining 2 preliminary determinations to confirm the change in status for the IMD to change the communication mode (e.g. figures 6-11, etc.), but not then use the presently claimed third sensor to determine the IMD has changed status. The original disclosure also disclosed using three sensors, where two sensors are used in the first preliminary determination, and a third sensor is used for the second preliminary determination (e.g. para. 56), but did not disclose after the second preliminary determination to use the third sensor to determine the IMD has changed status responsive to the first and second preliminary determinations.
The applicants in their response rely on paragraph 64 and original claims 7 and 8 for adding the new limitations to the claims. However, paragraph 64 only states that the “processing circuitry 50 may determine the status of IMD 10 based on a specified sequence of sensed events. For example, processing circuitry may receive an indication that the light characteristics have changed, followed by detecting the magnetic field from the implant tool and later followed by an indication that the temperature of IMD 10 is within a specified range”.
Original claims 7 and 8 state that the first and second preliminary determinations comprise a sequence of at least three events.
Paragraph 64 and claims 7 and 8 state that the sequence of events are used to determine status change, but does not disclose the newly claimed intermediate steps or functions of the processing circuitry determining a first preliminary determination that the IMD has changed status based on a first sensor indication, determining a second preliminary determination that the IMD has changed status based on a second sensor indication and responsive to the first preliminary determination, and then responsive to the first preliminary determination indicating a status change for the IMD and the second preliminary determination indicating a change of status for the IMD, determine, based on a third sensor indication, that the IMD changed status.
The claims appear to be mixing different embodiments and teachings from the disclosure that were not originally disclosed at the time of filing as being used together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Juran et al (6016447). Juran discloses the claimed limitations as follows:
--a communication system configured for wireless communication and to operate in a first low power/disabled mode and a second high power/enabled mode (e.g. (e.g. figure 5, col. 15, lines 44-56, etc.)
--a plurality of sensor comprising at least one of a heart rate sensor, posture sensor, blood oxygen or pressure sensor (e.g. (e.g. pressure, heart rate/R waves, oxygen, col. 5, lines 14-20; col. 9, lines 25-49; col. Col 14, lines 40-48; col. 17, lines 10-25, etc.) and other sensors such as temperature.
--processing circuitry connected to the sensors, or a computer readable medium with instructions (e.g. figure 2, col. 10, lines 14-54, etc.), configured to
--make a first preliminary determination of the IMD changing status/being implanted, make a second preliminary determination of the IMD changing status/being implanted based on the first determination; and indicating a change of status of the implant/being implanted with a third sensor determination and responsive to the first and second determinations (e.g. col. 14, lines 17-23, 30-37; col. 11, lines 14-67, etc.)
--change the communication from a first mode to a second mode based on the configured change in status for the IMD (e.g. figure 5, col. 15, lines 44-56, etc.) and to provide an indication by telemetry to an external device of different device statuses (e.g. claims 17 and 19 of Juran, figure 8, etc.) and therefore necessarily meets the functional use recitations provided in the claim of providing messages/advertisement to a computing device since the device is telemetering to an external device
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg et al. (5476485) in view of Juran et al (6016447).
Weinberg teaches the use of a sequence of at least 3 events using a temperature sensor for sensing temperature to compare the temperature to temperature criterion to make a first determination (e.g. figures 1, 3, 4, block 116/118, which is an indication of implantation, etc.) and an impedance biosensor for sensing impedance between electrodes (e.g. figures 1, 3, 4, blocks 122/136, the biosensor is controlled to sense the impedance by the IMD/method/programming and activated based on the temperature measurement meeting a first criterion, etc.) to determine if the IMD is implanted based on the impedance satisfying a second criterion (e.g. blocks 124/130/134) to switch from a low power mode to a higher power mode (e.g. block 134 or block 150, etc.) to constantly monitor/sense cardiac events for the pacemaker, where the system uses a programmable microprocessor and memory and therefore contains a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to perform the method and store the first and second criteria.
Weinberg discloses the claimed invention having wireless telemetry and being in a powered down low power first mode and then a powered mode when implanted, but does not disclose specifically the telemetry being activated from a first inactive/low power mode to send messages to advertise the establishment of a wireless connection with a computing device in the second mode/based on a determination that the IMD is implanted, and using three sensors with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD. In regard to the new claim limitation, Weinberg does not also disclose at least one of the first, second, or third sensor is one of a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor.
Juran discloses using three sensors with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD (e.g. col. 14, lines 17-23; col. 11, lines 14-67, etc.) and discloses that the telemetry circuit is deactivated in the first mode (e.g. figure 5, col. 15, lines 44-56, etc.) and then activated in the second mode (e.g. figure 5, etc.) after detecting implantation and to provide an indication by telemetry to an external device of different device statuses (e.g. claims 17 and 19 of Juran, figure 8, etc.) and therefore necessarily meets the functional use recitations provided in the claim of providing messages/advertisement to a computing device since the device is telemetering to an external device, to allow the system and method to not waste power when not implanted and to notify the physician when the device is considered implanted. In regard to the new claim limitation, Juran disclose at least one of the first, second, or third sensor is one of a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor (e.g. pressure, heart rate/R waves, oxygen, col. 5, lines 14-20; col. 9, lines 25-49; col. Col 14, lines 40-48; col. 17, lines 10-25, etc.) to provide additional/alternative sensors that can easily indicate or reconfirm if the implant is implanted.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by Weinberg, with using three sensors, with at least one being a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor, with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD and the telemetry being activated to send messages to advertise the establishment of a wireless connection with a computing device in the second mode/based on a determination that the IMD is implanted, as taught by Juran, since it would provide the predictable results of allowing the system and method to reconfirm the status change with multiple sensors to ensure the device is implanted, and just in case one sensor is not working properly, and not waste power when the IMD is not implanted and to notify the physician when the device is considered implanted using conventional sensors that the implant uses.
Claims 1-6, 10-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg et al. (5476485) in view of Juran (6016447) and Cinbis et al (2017/0100036).
Weinberg teaches the use of a sequence of at least 3 events using a temperature sensor for sensing temperature to compare the temperature to temperature criterion to make a first determination (e.g. figures 1, 3, 4, block 116/118, which is an indication of implantation, etc.) and an impedance biosensor for sensing impedance between electrodes (e.g. figures 1, 3, 4, blocks 122/136, the biosensor is controlled to sense the impedance by the IMD/method/programming and activated based on the temperature measurement meeting a first criterion, etc.) to determine if the IMD is implanted based on the impedance satisfying a second criterion (e.g. blocks 124/130/134) to switch from a low power mode to a higher power mode (e.g. block 134 or block 150, etc.) to constantly monitor/sense cardiac events for the pacemaker, where the system uses a programmable microprocessor and memory and therefore contains a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to perform the method and store the first and second criteria.
Weinberg discloses the claimed invention having wireless telemetry and being in a powered down low power first mode and then a powered mode when implanted, but does not disclose specifically using three sensors with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD, and the telemetry being activated from a first inactive/low power mode to send messages to advertise the establishment of a wireless connection with a computing device in the second mode/based on a determination that the IMD is implanted. In regard to the new claim limitation, Weinberg does not also disclose at least one of the first, second, or third sensor is one of a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor
Juran discloses using three sensors with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD (e.g. col. 14, lines 17-23; col. 11, lines 14-67, etc.). In regard to the new claim limitation, Juran disclose at least one of the first, second, or third sensor is one of a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor (e.g. pressure, heart rate/R waves, oxygen, col. 5, lines 14-20; col. 9, lines 25-49; col. Col 14, lines 40-48; col. 17, lines 10-25, etc.) to provide additional/alternative sensors that can easily indicate or reconfirm if the implant is implanted.
Cinbis discloses that the telemetry circuit is deactivated in the first mode (e.g. para. 20, etc.) and then activated in the second mode (e.g. figures 3-7, paras. 24-31, etc.) after implantation and to provide a plurality of indications by telemetry to a computing device (e.g. paras. 51-53, figures 5, 6, etc.) and therefore necessarily meets the functional use recitations provided in the claim of providing messages/advertisements to a computing device since the device is telemetering to an external device, and allowing the device to be activated to receive a wakeup signal from a computing device in response to the first preliminary determination being made (e.g. figures 3-7, paras. 21-31, 52-53, 60-68, etc.), to allow the system and method to not waste power when not implanted, to notify the physician when the device is considered implanted, and allow an external/computing device to communicate with the IMD to check the status of the implantation or device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by Weinberg, with using three sensors, where at least one of the sensor is a heart rate, posture, blood oxygen, or blood pressure sensor with a determination from each to determine a status change for the IMD, as taught by Juran, and the telemetry being activated to send messages to advertise the establishment of a wireless connection with a computing device in the second mode/based on a determination that the IMD is implanted, as taught by Cinbis, since it would provide the predictable results of allowing the system and method to reconfirm the status change with multiple sensors to ensure the device is implanted, and just in case one sensor is not working properly, using conventional sensors in the implant and allowing the system and method to not waste power when the IMD is not implanted, to notify the physician when the device is considered implanted, and allow an external/computing device to communicate with the IMD to check the status of the implantation or device.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinberg et al. (5476485) in view of Juran, or over Weinberg in view of Juran and Cinbis (i.e. “modified Weinberg” used below for either rejection). Modified Weinberg discloses the claimed invention for monitoring the heart and having a housing containing the processing circuitry, telemetry, sensors, and a housing electrode, but does not disclose a plurality of electrodes on the housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed (and is admitted prior art as the applicant has not specifically pointed out the errors in the examiner’s findings and/or provided evidence of non-obviousness) to have modified the system and method as taught by modified Weinberg, to have additional electrodes on the housing or being a leadless cardiac device containing the circuitry and having multiple electrodes on the housing, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (mpep 2144I, 2144.03), to provide the predictable results of an implantable cardiac monitor that can sense the ecg, or stimulate the body, from different directions/planes in the heart to better sense the patient’s cardiac condition and apply appropriate therapy, and/or provide a leadless cardiac monitor and stimulator that does not require leads to be implanted or can be implanted directly in the heart.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juran. Juran discloses the claimed invention for monitoring the heart and having a housing containing the processing circuitry, telemetry, and sensors, but does not disclose a plurality of electrodes on the housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by modified Juran, to have additional electrodes on the housing or being a leadless cardiac device containing the circuitry and having multiple electrodes on the housing, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (mpep 2144I, 2144.03), to provide the predictable results of an implantable cardiac monitor that can sense the ecg, or stimulate the body, from different directions/planes in the heart to better sense the patient’s cardiac condition and apply appropriate therapy, and/or provide a leadless cardiac monitor and stimulator that does not require leads to be implanted or can be implanted directly in the heart.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. In addition, the arguments are addressed in the rejections above. For the 112a, new matter rejection, it is suggested to specifically point out each claim limitation of claim 1 and where the limitations are located in the original disclosure and directed to one embodiment, and not a mixing of embodiments not originally disclosed as being usable together.
Conclusion
/George R Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792 9/4/26