DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 21 originally filed 25 July 2023. By amendment received 18 June 2026; claims 1, 3, and 4 are amended. Claims 1 through 21 are addressed by this action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; they are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the amendments to the independent claims defines the claims over the cited prior art. This argument is persuasive and all prior art rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new art has been located which, in combination with the previously cited art, renders obvious that which is now claimed. As such, new rejections have been formulated as set forth below.
As such, all claims are addressed as follows:
Claim Interpretation
The term "exposed" is interpreted to mean that a layer otherwise covering a surface does not cover the "exposed" region of the surface. This meaning of "exposed" is understood to allow the surface to be covered by some other feature (e.g. an insulating layer). This meaning is consistent with the use of "exposed" throughout the disclosure to refer to the bottom surface of trenches which are subsequently covered with insulating layers (MPEP 2111.01IVA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 through 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki et al. (Ohki, US Pub. 2017/0357067), in view of Nagai et al. (N457a, US Patent 5,469,457), and further in view of Shiojima et al. (Shiojima, US Pub. 2001/0038654).
Regarding claim 1, Ohki discloses, "Laser light in a multi-transverse mode" (p. [0037] and Fig. 1). "The semiconductor laser element comprising a substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pt. 7). "A semiconductor stack disposed above the substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pts. 2 and 7). "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes an N-side semiconductor layer disposed above the substrate" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 2, 7, and 9). "An active layer disposed above the N-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 9 and 11). "A P-side semiconductor layer disposed above the active layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 11 and 13). "A P-type contact layer disposed above the P-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 13 and 14). "The semiconductor stack includes two end faces that are opposite to each other" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pts. 2, E1, and E2). "The laser light resonates between the two end faces" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. E1 and E2). "The semiconductor stack includes a ridge portion and a bottom portion" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion extending in a resonance direction of the laser light" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "The bottom portion being a portion of a top face of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion protrudes upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pts. D and Tr1). "The ridge portion is spaced apart from the two end faces" (p. [0041] and Figs. 2, 3, 4, and 5, pts. 2ab, 2ac, and Tr1). "The ridge portion includes at least a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 14 and Tr1). "The current injection window being a region into which a current is injected" (p. [0039] and Fig. 3, pt. A). "A distance from a top face of the active layer to the bottom portion is constant" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pts. D and Tr1, where the trench is provided to a single depth D). Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack." "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack." N457a discloses, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7-8, lines 62-3 and Fig. 2C, pts. 5 and 12). "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7, lines 15-25 and Fig. 1B, pts. 6, 7, and 11, where the arrangement of current blocking layer 6 provides a current injection window only at the top of the ridge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser, the additional inclusion of diffused regions as well as the removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends as taught by N457a would enhance the teachings of Ohki by allowing current to be further prevented from flowing near the end facets of the laser.
The combination of Ohki and N457a does not explicitly disclose, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion." Shiojima discloses, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pt. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki and N457a with the teachings of Shiojima. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate use of a dielectric material for covering the removed regions as taught by Shiojima would enhance the teachings of Ohki and N457a by providing a suitably alternate material for covering regions through which current is not desired to flow.
Regarding claim 2, Ohki discloses, "Wherein the P-side semiconductor layer is exposed in the bottom portion" (p. [0045], [0052], and Fig. 3, pts. 13 and 14, where the P-side semiconductor layer is not covered by the P-type contact layer).
Regarding claim 4, Ohki discloses, "Laser light in a multi-transverse mode" (p. [0037] and Fig. 1). "The semiconductor laser element comprising a substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pt. 7). "A semiconductor stack disposed above the substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pts. 2 and 7). "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes an N-side semiconductor layer disposed above the substrate" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 2, 7, and 9). "An active layer disposed above the N-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 9 and 11). "A P-side semiconductor layer disposed above the active layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 11 and 13). "A P-type contact layer disposed above the P-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 13 and 14). "The semiconductor stack includes two end faces that are opposite to each other" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pts. 2, E1, and E2). "The laser light resonates between the two end faces" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. E1 and E2). "The semiconductor stack includes a ridge portion and a bottom portion" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion extending in a resonance direction of the laser light" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "The bottom portion being a portion of a top face of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion protrudes upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pts. D and Tr1). "The ridge portion is spaced apart from the two end faces" (p. [0041] and Figs. 2, 3, 4, and 5, pts. 2ab, 2ac, and Tr1). "The ridge portion includes at least a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 14 and Tr1). "The current injection window being a region into which a current is injected" (p. [0039] and Fig. 3, pt. A). Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack." "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack." "The semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted." "The front end face being one of the two end faces." "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region." N457a discloses, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7-8, lines 62-3 and Fig. 2C, pts. 5 and 12). "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7, lines 15-25 and Fig. 1B, pts. 6, 7, and 11, where the arrangement of current blocking layer 6 provides a current injection window only at the top of the ridge). "The semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). "The front end face being one of the two end faces" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region" (col. 3, lines 49-64 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Ohki and N457a does not explicitly disclose, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion." Shiojima discloses, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pt. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki and N457a with the teachings of Shiojima for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Ohki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes two wing portions" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "[The two wing portions include] a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pt. 14). "[The two wing portions extend] in the resonance direction" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "At least a portion of the ridge portion is disposed between the two wing portions in the top view of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0052] and Fig. 2, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "Each of the two wing portions is adjacent to the ridge portion with the bottom portion being interposed therebetween" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "The two wing portions protrude upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "A height of the two wing portions from the bottom portion is equal to a height of the ridge portion from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1).
Regarding claim 7, Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted." "The front end face being one of the two end faces." "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region." N457a discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 13). "The front end face being one of the two end faces" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 13). "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region" (col. 3, lines 49-64 and Fig. 1B, pts. 13 and 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the active layer in the region other than the window region has a quantum well structure." N457a discloses, "Wherein the active layer in the region other than the window region has a quantum well structure" (col. 7, lines 2-11 and Fig. 1A, pt. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the window region is in contact with the front end face." "A length of the window region in the resonance direction is less than a length of the bottom portion in the resonance direction." "The bottom portion being located between the front end face and the ridge portion." N457a discloses, "Wherein the window region is in contact with the front end face" (col. 7, lines 33-38 and Fig. 1B, pt. 13). "A length of the window region in the resonance direction is less than a length of the bottom portion in the resonance direction" (col. 8, lines 6-12, col. 8, lines 58-63, and Figs. 3A and 3B, pts. 12, 14, 21, and 22). "The bottom portion being located between the front end face and the ridge portion" (col. 7-8, lines 62-3 and Fig. 2C, pts. 5 and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ohki discloses, "An insulating film disposed above the semiconductor stack" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pts. 2 and 15). "Wherein the insulating film includes an opening portion in a region corresponding to the current injection window" (p. [0051] and Fig. 3, pts. 14, 15, and A).
Regarding claim 21, Ohki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes two wing portions" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "[The two wing portions] include a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pt. 14). "[The two wing portions] extend in the resonance direction" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "At least a portion of the ridge portion is disposed between the two wing portions in the top view of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0052] and Fig. 2, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "Each of the two wing portions is adjacent to the ridge portion with the bottom portion being interposed therebetween" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "The two wing portions protrude upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "A height of the two wing portions from the bottom portion is equal to a height of the ridge portion from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1).
Claims 3, 14, and 16 through 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, and further in view of Mitsui et al. (Mitsui, US Patent 4,964,135).
Regarding claim 3, Ohki discloses, "Laser light in a multi-transverse mode" (p. [0037] and Fig. 1). "The semiconductor laser element comprising a substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pt. 7). "A semiconductor stack disposed above the substrate" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pts. 2 and 7). "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes an N-side semiconductor layer disposed above the substrate" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 2, 7, and 9). "An active layer disposed above the N-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 9 and 11). "A P-side semiconductor layer disposed above the active layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 11 and 13). "A P-type contact layer disposed above the P-side semiconductor layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 13 and 14). "The semiconductor stack includes two end faces that are opposite to each other" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pts. 2, E1, and E2). "The laser light resonates between the two end faces" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. E1 and E2). "The semiconductor stack includes a ridge portion and a bottom portion" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion extending in a resonance direction of the laser light" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "The bottom portion being a portion of a top face of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0041] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1). "The ridge portion protrudes upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pts. D and Tr1). "The ridge portion is spaced apart from the two end faces" (p. [0041] and Figs. 2, 3, 4, and 5, pts. 2ab, 2ac, and Tr1). "The ridge portion includes at least a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pts. 14 and Tr1). "The current injection window being a region into which a current is injected" (p. [0039] and Fig. 3, pt. A). Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack." "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack." N457a discloses, "The bottom portion surrounds the ridge portion in a top view of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7-8, lines 62-3 and Fig. 2C, pts. 5 and 12). "A current injection window is provided only on the ridge portion out of the top face of the semiconductor stack" (col. 7, lines 15-25 and Fig. 1B, pts. 6, 7, and 11, where the arrangement of current blocking layer 6 provides a current injection window only at the top of the ridge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Ohki and N457a does not explicitly disclose, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion." Shiojima discloses, "No semiconductor layer is disposed above the bottom portion" (p. [0038] and Fig. 2, pt. 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki and N457a with the teachings of Shiojima for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
The combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima does not explicitly disclose, "The P-type contact layer is exposed in the bottom portion." Mitsui teaches that restriction of current flow near the end facets may be accomplished with only partial removal of the ridge (col. 7, lines 31-45 and Fig. 7B, pts. 26 and 27). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the depth of the bottom layer to within the contact layer so as to provide adequate insulation near the front facets with minimal removal, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima with the teachings of Mitsui. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate removal of only a portion of the ridge near the laser ends as taught by Mitsui would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima by providing a suitably alternate degree of removal that accomplishes the same effect.
Regarding claim 14, Ohki discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes two wing portions" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "[The two wing portions include] a portion of the P-type contact layer" (p. [0045] and Fig. 3, pt. 14). "[The two wing portions extend] in the resonance direction" (p. [0056] and Fig. 2, pts. L and Tr1). "At least a portion of the ridge portion is disposed between the two wing portions in the top view of the semiconductor stack" (p. [0052] and Fig. 2, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "Each of the two wing portions is adjacent to the ridge portion with the bottom portion being interposed therebetween" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "The two wing portions protrude upward from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1). "A height of the two wing portions from the bottom portion is equal to a height of the ridge portion from the bottom portion" (p. [0052] and Fig. 3, pt. Tr1, where the wing portions correspond to the semiconductor portions separated from the ridge by trenches Tr1).
Regarding claim 16, Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted." "The front end face being one of the two end faces." "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region." N457a discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor stack includes a window region adjacent to a front end face through which the laser light is emitted" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). "The front end face being one of the two end faces" (col. 8-9, lines 65-2 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). "Bandgap energy of the active layer in the window region is greater than bandgap energy of the active layer in a region other than the window region" (col. 3, lines 49-64 and Fig. 1B, pt. 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, Ohki does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the window region is in contact with the front end face." "A length of the window region in the resonance direction is less than a length of the bottom portion in the resonance direction." "The bottom portion being located between the front end face and the ridge portion." N457a discloses, "Wherein the window region is in contact with the front end face" (col. 7, lines 33-38 and Fig. 1B, pt. 13). "A length of the window region in the resonance direction is less than a length of the bottom portion in the resonance direction" (col. 8, lines 6-12, col. 8, lines 58-63, and Figs. 3A and 3B, pts. 12, 14, 21, and 22). "The bottom portion being located between the front end face and the ridge portion" (col. 7-8, lines 62-3 and Fig. 2C, pts. 5 and 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ohki with the teachings of N457a for the reasons provided above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Ohki discloses, "An insulating film disposed above the semiconductor stack" (p. [0044] and Fig. 3, pts. 2 and 15). "Wherein the insulating film includes an opening portion in a region corresponding to the current injection window" (p. [0051] and Fig. 3, pts. 14, 15, and A).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, and further in view of Kuniyasu et al. (Kuniyasu, US Pub. 2002/0061044).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each of the two wing portions extends to the two end faces." Kuniyasu discloses, "Wherein each of the two wing portions extends to the two end faces" (p. [0059] and Fig. 1C, pt. 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima with the teachings of Kuniyasu. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate extension of the wing regions to the ends of the laser device as taught by Kuniyasu would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima by allowing these wing regions to provide support for the laser device over the entire length thereof when flip-chip mounted.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, and further in view of Nagai (N586b, US Patent 5,920,586).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein an oxygen concentration in the bottom portion is higher than an oxygen concentration inside the semiconductor stack." N586b discloses, "Wherein an oxygen concentration in the bottom portion is higher than an oxygen concentration inside the semiconductor stack" (col. 5, lines 57-63 and Fig. 1, pts. 5 and 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima with the teachings of N586b. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate construction of the bottom region to include oxidized areas of that region as taught by N586b would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima by allowing current to be further concentrated in the active region and by providing additional insulation material atop the semiconductor.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, and further in view of Nomoto et al. (Nomoto, US Pub. 2003/0165169).
Regarding claim 12, Ohki discloses, "A P-side electrode in contact with the P-type contact layer" (p. [0051] and Fig. 3, pts. 5, 14, and A).
The combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima does not explicitly disclose, "A pad electrode disposed above the P-side electrode." "Wherein each of both ends of the pad electrode in the resonance direction is located between a corresponding one of the two end faces and the ridge portion." Nomoto discloses, "A pad electrode disposed above the P-side electrode" (p. [0065] and Fig. 1, pts. 8, 9, and 11). "Wherein each of both ends of the pad electrode in the resonance direction is located between a corresponding one of the two end faces and the ridge portion" (p. [0065] and Fig. 1, pts. 9 and 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima with the teachings of Nomoto. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a ridge laser with an electrode provided thereon, the additional inclusion of a pad electrode atop the laser device as taught by Nomoto would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima by providing a suitable means for further connecting electrical elements to the laser device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, and further in view of Higuchi et al. (Higuchi, US Pub. 2010/0124244).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the semiconductor laser element is of a gain-guiding type." Higuchi discloses, "Wherein the semiconductor laser element is of a gain-guiding type" (p. [0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima with the teachings of Higuchi. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a ridge stripe and multimode output, the alternate construction of the laser to provide confinement through gain guiding as taught by Higuchi would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, and Shiojima by allowing stable high power operation.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, in view of Mitsui, and further in view of Kuniyasu.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each of the two wing portions extends to the two end faces." Kuniyasu discloses, "Wherein each of the two wing portions extends to the two end faces" (p. [0059] and Fig. 1C, pt. 21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui with the teachings of Kuniyasu. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate extension of the wing regions to the ends of the laser device as taught by Kuniyasu would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui by allowing these wing regions to provide support for the laser device over the entire length thereof when flip-chip mounted.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, in view of Mitsui, and further in view of N586b.
Regarding claim 19, The combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein an oxygen concentration in the bottom portion is higher than an oxygen concentration inside the semiconductor stack." N586b discloses, "Wherein an oxygen concentration in the bottom portion is higher than an oxygen concentration inside the semiconductor stack" (col. 5, lines 57-63 and Fig. 1, pts. 5 and 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui with the teachings of N586b. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a laser device having a window region for preventing damage to the end facet of the laser and the teachings of N457a regarding removal of portions of the ridge near the laser ends, the alternate construction of the bottom region to include oxidized areas of that region as taught by N586b would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui by allowing current to be further concentrated in the active region and by providing additional insulation material atop the semiconductor.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, in view of N457a, in view of Shiojima, in view of Mitsui, and further in view of Nomoto.
Regarding claim 20, Ohki discloses, "A P-side electrode in contact with the P-type contact layer" (p. [0051] and Fig. 3, pts. 5, 14, and A).
The combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui does not explicitly disclose, "A pad electrode disposed above the P-side electrode." "Wherein each of both ends of the pad electrode in the resonance direction is located between a corresponding one of the two end faces and the ridge portion." Nomoto discloses, "A pad electrode disposed above the P-side electrode" (p. [0065] and Fig. 1, pts. 8, 9, and 11). "Wherein each of both ends of the pad electrode in the resonance direction is located between a corresponding one of the two end faces and the ridge portion" (p. [0065] and Fig. 1, pts. 9 and 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui with the teachings of Nomoto. In view of the teachings of Ohki regarding a ridge laser with an electrode provided thereon, the additional inclusion of a pad electrode atop the laser device as taught by Nomoto would enhance the teachings of Ohki, N457a, Shiojima, and Mitsui by providing a suitable means for further connecting electrical elements to the laser device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828