DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 07/25/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “an end point of the free form path for one or more user utilizing the one or more directional interfaces”. It is unclear whether the “for one or more user” limitation is intended to refer to “an end point” or “the free form path”. The previously recited “a free form path” is not “for one or more user”. It is unclear whether the two free form path limitations are intended to recite the same free form path. Additionally, it is unclear what is meant by “one or more user”. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as:
an end point of the free form path, wherein the free form path is associated with one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
Regarding claims 11 and 17, claims 11 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 11 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2-10, 12-16, and 18-20, claims 2-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites “wherein the”. It is unclear what is intended by the limitation. For the purposes of examination, claim 14 is interpreted as:
wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and direction of the one or more directional interfaces associated utilized by the one or more users
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 12, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 19 of US 10,830,601 B2 in view of Allen et al. (US 20110054770 A1, published 03/03/2011), hereinafter Allen. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
17093368 (Instant Application)
US 10,830,601 B2
Claims 1, 11, 17): A method for processing directional feedback comprising:
Claims 1, 11, 17) A method for providing directional feedback comprising:
establishing a communication session between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through a least a server;
receiving a free form path manually input by a first user utilizing the first directional interface, the free from path is a continuous input between at least a start point and an end point of the free form path for one or more user utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
receiving a free form path from a user utilizing the first directional interface providing instructions for one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
at the server;
converting the free form path to directional feedback, the free form path is aligned to available paths communicated by the first directional interface utilizing mapping data to generate the directional feedback for the one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces;
converting the free form path to directional feedback for the one or more directional interfaces, including aligning, by the first directional interface, the free form path to available paths communicated as the directional feedback by the first directional interface for the one or more directional interfaces
and sending the directional feedback from the server
to the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more user
sending the directional feedback to the one or more directional interfaces wirelessly
Claim 4) communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback
Claim 3) The method of claim 2, further comprising: communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback.
Claim 5) wherein the server communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces in part through one or more wireless networks
Claim 1) sending the directional feedback to the one or more directional interfaces wirelessly
Claim 6) wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces are displayed according to user preferences for the first user and the one or more users, respectively.
Claim 1) wherein user preferences stored by each of the one or more directional interfaces control how the directional feedback is presented at the one or more directional interfaces
Claim 7) determining the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces; and
communicating the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces to the first directional interface.
Claim 14) The directional interface of claim 11, wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and heading of the one or more users
Claim 8) The method of claim 7, wherein the headings each include a location, direction of travel, and a speed.
Claim 14) The directional interface of claim 11, wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and heading of the one or more users
Claim 12) wherein the directional interface system securely communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications through one or more wireless networks
Claim 12) The directional interface of claim 11, wherein the directional interface is securely linked with the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications, wherein the directional feedback is communicated by the transceiver utilizing user preferences, and wherein the user preferences include at least selections for at least text, audio, tactile, and video instructions.
Claim 15) wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more users to travel to the end point
Claim 15) The directional interface of claim 11, wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more users.
Claim 19) determine the headings of the one or more users; and compensate for delays in receiving the heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed.
Claim 19) The wireless device of claim 17, wherein the directional interface compensates for delays in receiving a heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed
In the same field of endeavor Allen teaches establishing a communication session between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through at least the server; receiving, at the server, a free form path manually input by a first user utilizing the first directional interface; and sending the directional feedback from the server (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0034], [0040-0041], [0063-0064], [0081-0084], [0088], [0117], [0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated a establishing a communication session between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through at least the server; receiving, at the server, a free form path manually input by a first user utilizing the first directional interface; and sending the directional feedback from the server as suggested in Allen. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]).
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 11, 12, 15, and 17 of US 11,709,067 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
17093368 (Instant Application)
US 11,709,067 B2
Claims 1, 11, 17): A method for processing directional feedback comprising:
Claims 1, 11, 17) A method for processing directional feedback comprising
establishing a communication session between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through a least a server;
establishing a communication session between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through at least a server
receiving, at the server, a free form path manually input by a first user utilizing the first directional interface, the free from path is a continuous input between at least a start point and an end point of the free form path for one or more user utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
receiving a free form path from a user utilizing the first directional interface providing instructions for one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
converting the free form path to directional feedback, the free form path is aligned to available paths communicated by the first directional interface utilizing mapping data to generate the directional feedback for the one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces
converting the free form path to the directional feedback, wherein the free form path is aligned to available paths determined utilizing mapping information to generate the directional feedback
sending the directional feedback from the server to the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more users.
sending the directional feedback from the server to the one or more directional interfaces, wherein the one or more directional interfaces are utilized by one or more users associated with the first directional interface
to the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more user
sending the directional feedback to the one or more directional interfaces wirelessly
Claim 4) communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback
Claim 4) communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback
Claim 5) wherein the server communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces in part through one or more wireless networks
Claim 5) wherein the server communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces through one or more wireless service networks, and wherein the free form path is a future path for at least the one or more directional interfaces
Claim 6) wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces are displayed according to user preferences for the first user and the one or more users, respectively.
Claim 2) wherein sending the directional feedback from the server to one or more directional interfaces is performed utilizing user preferences associated with the one or more directional interfaces
Claim 7) determining the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces; and
communicating the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces to the first directional interface.
Claim 1) determining one or more headings of the one or more directional interfaces
Claim 8) The method of claim 7, wherein the headings each include a location, direction of travel, and a speed.
Claim 1) a respective location, a respective direction of travel, and a respective speed
Claim 12) wherein the directional interface system securely communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications through one or more wireless networks
Claim 12) wherein the directional interface system is securely linked with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications through a wireless system including at least the one or more transceivers
Claim 14) wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and direction of the one or more directional interfaces associated utilized by the one or more users, wherein the.
Claim 1) a respective location, a respective direction of travel, and a respective speed
Claim 15) wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more users to travel to the end point
Claim 15) wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more directional interfaces
Claim 19) determine the headings of the one or more users; and compensate for delays in receiving the heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed.
Claim 1) determining one or more headings of the one or more directional interfaces; compensating for delays in receiving the one or more headings of the one or more directional interfaces
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lim (KR 20080088830 A, published 10/06/2008; examiner note: English translation of foreign publication is used here as reference for rejection; all citations are to the translation) in view of Allen et al. (US 20110054770 A1, published 03/03/2011), hereinafter Allen.
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches the claim comprising:
A method for providing directional feedback comprising: establishing a communication between a first directional interface and one or more directional interfaces through a least a server (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs., A method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users of navigation and on the internet; p. 3 [line 58] – p. 4[line 3] , the "user terminal" is a terminal capable of uploading and downloading various 59 data by accessing a wired or wireless internet network, and includes a personal computer, a notebook 60 computer, a kiosk, a PDA, a UMPC (Ultra Mobile PC), and a tablet PC (Tablet PC); p. 5 line 25, users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 7 [lines 16-18], each network component shown in FIG. 1 can communicate with each other smoothly. It is a comprehensive data communication network, and includes wired internet, wireless internet and mobile wireless communication network);
receiving, at the server, a free form path manually input by a first user utilizing the first directional interface, the free from path is a continuous input between at least a start point and an end point of the free form path for one or more user utilizing the one or more directional interfaces (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; providing a path input tool to a user; receiving the path via the path input tool; generating effective path information by operating the input path as an effective path; p. 4 [lines 18-20], The navigation map server 100 generates valid route information through a predetermined process so that the route input by the user can operate as a valid route; p. 4 [line 32], a user enters a path in a form such as drawing on a base map; p. 6 [lines 59-62], the path input may be performed in the form of drawing on a base map through an input means such as a mouse; p. 7 [line 27-31], The user terminal 300 allows the user to input a desired route using the base map and the route generation tool provided by the navigation map server 100 (S20). For example, the path input may be performed in the 29 form of drawing on a base map through an input means such as a mouse; The user terminal 300 transmits the input route to the navigation map server 100 (S30); p. 10 [line 15], the path input tool is a path file generation method that the user can enter the path in the form of a picture drawing);
converting the free form path to directional feedback, the free form path is aligned to available paths communicated by the first directional interface utilizing mapping data to generate the directional feedback for the one or more users utilizing the one or more directional interfaces (Lim Figs. 1-7; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; the navigation map server 100 generates valid route information through a predetermined process so that the route input by the user can operate as a valid route; the operation of the route information generator 120 of the navigation map server 100; the route information generation unit 120 according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a route correction unit 122; when a user enters a path in a form such as drawing on a base map, a line may be generated to pass over a building, not a road, according to a scale such as a scale or a zoom level at which the base map is displayed; the path correction unit 122 performs a function to automatically correct so that the lines passing through the point that is not the road passes over the road; the route correction unit 122 performs a function of correcting the route in consideration of the road information; when a user enters a route to make a left turn at a point where a user cannot turn left, it is corrected to fit the road information; p. 7 [lines 33-36], The navigation map server 100 generates valid route information through a predetermined process so that the received route can operate as a valid route (S40). The predetermined processing procedure is a procedure for automatically correcting an input route to be valid, adding road information, and marking a GPS valid value, as described above); and
sending the directional feedback from the server to the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more users (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; p. 5 [lines 24-26], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 7 [lines 38-42], The navigation map server 100 generates the processed route information as, for example, a route file in the form of an XML file and stores it in the route file DB (S50); Thereafter, when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70); col. 8 [lines 32-34], when a user of the user terminal 300 or 310 executes the route file on the Internet, the route is displayed on an internet map).
However, Lim fails to expressly disclose a communication session. In the same field of endeavor, Allen teaches:
a communication session (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0034], the geographic route may be user-defined, relative to the reference map; [0040], interaction between plural wireless communication devices may enable real-time capture and relay of information related to the geographic route, such as drawings, scribbles, picture, text or voice attachments, or the like; [0041], this route input may be processed in context by the wireless communication device, for example to draw a line or curve on a screen representative of the geographic route or portion thereof; [0063-0064], the processing operation 120 illustrated in FIG. 1A may comprise one or more processing operations applied to a route input indicative of the geographic route; the processing operation 120 may comprise encoding the route input into a format which provides a representation of the geographic route with respect to a reference coordinate system; [0081], the communication operation 130 illustrated in FIG. 1A comprises forming 132 and sending 134 of a message comprising processed route information from the wireless communication device receiving the route input; the message may be addressed so that it reaches the intended one or more recipients by direct communication or appropriate forwarding of the message through a network; [0083], processed route information may pass through a server which may provide further processing of the processed route information, or which may analyze and respond to processed route information in a predetermined manner, for example by appending an appropriate map or communicating availability of one or more appropriate maps to a receiver; [0084], processed route information may be addressed to one or more recipients and provided to a server; the server may then replicate and retransmit the processed route information toward the addressed recipients as needed; [0088], processed route information indicative of a geographic route may be transmitted during a communication session, for example in real time; [0117], the present technology may be used to generate a geographic route, for example indicative of a desired route from hotel 330 to restaurant 332; the geographic route may be generated by drawing or tracing a route on the screen 302; [0134], FIG. 7 conceptually illustrates a touch screen input user interface 710; a route 715 is drawn or traced on the input user interface 710 to provide route input; the route 715 is drawn with respect to a map 725 displayed by the output user interface 720; the route is further processed and encoded to provide processed route information 735 with respect to the reference coordinate system 730; examiner note: per the instant specification [0028], a communications session includes one-way or two-way communication of directional indicators, maps, layouts, text, audio, video, or other communications)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated a communication session as suggested in Allen into Lim. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]). The system of Allen would improve the system of Lim by enabling the communication of route related information interactively and in real-time (see Allen [0031]) in a communication session (see Allen [0088]) in addition to providing stored route information on request (see Allen [0092]), thereby increasing the usefulness of the system for sharing route information and increasing timeliness with which information is shared.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1 except for one or more transceivers in communication with the server (Lim Figs. 1-7; p. 3 [line 58] – p. 4 [line 3] , the "user terminal" is a terminal capable of uploading and downloading various 59 data by accessing a wired or wireless internet network, and includes a personal computer, a notebook 60 computer, a kiosk, a PDA, a UMPC (Ultra Mobile PC), and a tablet PC (Tablet PC). And the link. In this specification, "user terminal" and "navigator terminal" will be distinguished from each other, but as the technology is developed, this distinction is not only obscure, but is gradually being integrated, and those skilled in the art will readily understand that the two are not necessarily distinguished; p. 5 line 25, users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 5 [line 37], wireless transceiver 202; p. 5 [line 45], the wireless transceiver 202 performs a function of transmitting / receiving data wirelessly; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 7 [lines 15-18], The network 400 includes a dedicated line, a LAN, a QAN, a VAN, an intranet, a private telephone network, a public telephone network, a PSTN network, and a combination thereof, so that each network component shown in FIG. 1 can communicate with each other smoothly. It is a comprehensive data communication network, and includes wired internet, wireless internet and mobile wireless communication network). Consequently, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches:
communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0034], a user may provide route input via an input user interface, for example using a touch-screen, trackball, stylus pen, cursor keys, voice commands, or other method or device that enables the user to indicate either one or more points on the route or otherwise indicate the route; Visual feedback may be used to facilitate accurate input of the geographic route relative to the reference map. For example the route input may be displayed in real time as it is received, overlaid on the reference map; [0040], interaction between plural wireless communication devices may enable real-time capture and relay of information related to the geographic route, such as drawings, scribbles, picture, text or voice attachments, or the like; [0047], the transmitting device may periodically send map configuration instructions, thereby allowing the transmitting device to influence the representation of the output reference map displayed by the receiving device. In some embodiments, the output reference map representation displayed by the receiving device can be made to mimic the reference map representation displayed by the transmitting device. Such configuration may occur in response to initial transmission of the processed route information, periodically, or in real time; [0088], processed route information indicative of a geographic route may be transmitted during a communication session, for example in real time; a geographic route may be displayed as it is being input, thereby illustrating a progression in time of portions of the geographic route as they are input)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated communicating an indicator at the one or more directional interfaces in response to receiving the directional feedback as suggested in Allen into Lim. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]). The system of Allen would improve the system of Lim by enabling the communication of route related information interactively and in real-time (see Allen [0031]) in a communication session (see Allen [0088]) in addition to providing stored route information on request (see Allen [0092]), thereby increasing the usefulness of the system for sharing route information and increasing timeliness with which information is shared.
Regarding claim 5, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the server communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces in part through one or more wireless networks (Lim Figs. 1-7; p. 3 [line 58] – p. 4 [line 3] , the "user terminal" is a terminal capable of uploading and downloading various 59 data by accessing a wired or wireless internet network, and includes a personal computer, a notebook 60 computer, a kiosk, a PDA, a UMPC (Ultra Mobile PC), and a tablet PC (Tablet PC); p. 5 [line 25], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 5 [line 37], wireless transceiver 202; p. 5 [line 45], the wireless transceiver 202 performs a function of transmitting / receiving data wirelessly; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 7 [lines 15-18], The network 400 includes a dedicated line, a LAN, a QAN, a VAN, an intranet, a private telephone network, a public telephone network, a PSTN network, and a combination thereof, so that each network component shown in FIG. 1 can communicate with each other smoothly. It is a comprehensive data communication network, and includes wired internet, wireless internet and mobile wireless communication network; p. 7 [line 27-31], The user terminal 300 transmits the input route to the navigation map server 100 (S30); p. 7 [lines 38-42], The navigation map server 100 generates the processed route information as, for example, a route file in the 39 form of an XML file and stores it in the route file DB (S50); Thereafter, when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70));.
Regarding claim 6, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Allen further teaches:
wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces are displayed according to user preferences for the first user and the one or more users, respectively (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0039], processed route information, communicated so as to be commonly held by plural wireless communication devices, may include common map reference information comprising an indication of map center or corner geographic location, map zoom, and map rotation, and optionally an indication of one or more map layers to be displayed; [0040], interaction between plural wireless communication devices may enable real-time capture and relay of information related to the geographic route, such as drawings, scribbles, picture, text or voice attachments, or the like; [0047], the transmitting device may periodically send map configuration instructions, thereby allowing the transmitting device to influence the representation of the output reference map displayed by the receiving device; [0116], on-screen zoom control 326 and pan control 328 may be manipulated by the user input interface to adjust the displayed map representation 324; [0135], FIG. 8 illustrates, in another exemplary embodiment of the present technology, communication of instructions 800 for configuring or modifying a map representation from a transmitting device 820 to a receiving device 830, or information indicative of parameters related to a desired representation of the output reference map; the instructions 800 are provided to remotely control representation of an output reference map on the receiving device, and may be communicated together with or separately from processed route information; the instructions 800 may include reference map display parameters, such as a zoom or scale factor 802, rotation angle 804, tilt angle 806, and coordinates of the map location 808 to be displayed in the visual display center; [0136], instructions 800 may further be updated, for example interactively, in real time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces are displayed according to user preferences for the first user and the one or more users, respectively as suggested in Allen into Lim. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]). The system of Allen would improve the system of Lim by enabling the communication of route related information interactively and in real-time (see Allen [0031]) in a communication session (see Allen [0088]) in addition to providing stored route information on request (see Allen [0092]), thereby increasing the usefulness of the system for sharing route information and increasing timeliness with which information is shared.
Regarding claim 9, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the first direction interface is a wireless device executing a mobile application, wherein the one or more directional interfaces are wireless devices executing the mobile application, and wherein the mobile application communicates through the server (Lim Figs. 1-7; p. 3 [line 58] – p. 4 [line 3] , the "user terminal" is a terminal capable of uploading and downloading various 59 data by accessing a wired or wireless internet network, and includes a personal computer, a notebook 60 computer, a kiosk, a PDA, a UMPC (Ultra Mobile PC), and a tablet PC (Tablet PC); p. 5 line 25, users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 5 [line 37], wireless transceiver 202; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 7 [lines 1-3], the user terminals 300 and 310 may use a map API provided by the navigation map server 100 to allow users to create various map mashup contents for their purpose and share them with other users on the Internet; p. 7 [lines 9-10], The user may request the Internet map server 100 to download the path file uploaded by another user through the user terminals 300 and 310; p. 7 [lines 15-18], The network 400 includes a dedicated line, a LAN, a QAN, a VAN, an intranet, a private telephone network, a public telephone network, a PSTN network, and a combination thereof, so that each network component shown in FIG. 1 can communicate with each other smoothly. It is a comprehensive data communication network, and includes wired internet, wireless internet and mobile wireless communication network; p. 7 [line 27-31], The user terminal 300 transmits the input route to the navigation map server 100 (S30); p. 7 [lines 38-42], when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70); p. 9 [line 9], the present invention has the effect that can be shared between the users of the Internet map site)
Regarding claim 10, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the directional feedback is overlaid on a map to provide instructions for arriving at the end point (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; p. 5 [lines 1-2], As shown in FIG. 3, the route file preferably does not include an image of the map itself, and includes coordinate information that can be connected to the base map; p. 5 [lines 20-22], a base map provided by the navigation map server 100 and a base map used by the navigation terminals 200 and 210. It is preferable to use the same or the same coordinate system; p. 5 [line 25], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 6 [lines 48-49], the output unit 207 receives the base map and the route information from the controller 205 and outputs 49 them on the screen of the navigation terminal 200; p. 7 [lines 38-42], The navigation map server 100 generates the processed route information as, for example, a route file in the 39 form of an XML file and stores it in the route file DB (S50); Thereafter, when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70); col. 8 [lines 32-34], when a user of the user terminal 300 or 310 executes the route file on the Internet, the route is displayed on an internet map; after that, it is possible to simulate driving through a web navigation application 34 provided by the Internet map site)
Regarding claim 12, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Allen further teaches:
wherein the directional interface system securely communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications through one or more wireless networks (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0039], processed route information, communicated so as to be commonly held by plural wireless communication devices, may include common map reference information comprising an indication of map center or corner geographic location, map zoom, and map rotation, and optionally an indication of one or more map layers to be displayed; [0040], interaction between plural wireless communication devices may enable real-time capture and relay of information related to the geographic route, such as drawings, scribbles, picture, text or voice attachments, or the like; [0061], sending the route input data or processed route information by message addressed to a recipient, such as another wireless communication device, provides privacy to the communication devices; [0076], the availability of a shared reference coordinate system enables processed route information to be communicated without necessarily specifying all aspects of the reference coordinate system context with respect to which the route data is encoded; [0081], the communication operation 130 illustrated in FIG. 1A comprises forming 132 and sending 134 of a message comprising processed route information from the wireless communication device receiving the route input; the message may be addressed so that it reaches the intended one or more recipients by direct communication; [0083], processed route information may pass through a server which may provide further processing of the processed route information, or which may analyze and respond to processed route information in a predetermined manner, for example by appending an appropriate map or communicating availability of one or more appropriate maps to a receiver; [0084], processed route information may be addressed to one or more recipients and provided to a server; the server may then replicate and retransmit the processed route information toward the addressed recipients as needed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated wherein the directional interface system securely communicates with the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces to ensure privacy and secure communications through one or more wireless networks as suggested in Allen into Lim. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]). The system of Allen would improve the system of Lim by enabling the communication of route related information interactively and in real-time (see Allen [0031]) in a communication session (see Allen [0088]) in addition to providing stored route information on request (see Allen [0092]), thereby increasing the usefulness of the system for sharing route information and increasing timeliness with which information is shared. Moreover, sending the route input data or processed route information by message addressed to a recipient, such as another wireless communication device, provides privacy to the communication devices (see Allen [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces execute a mapping application that communicates with the server through the one or more transceivers, wherein the mapping application displays the directional feedback overlaid on a map of an associated area (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; p. 3 [line 58] – p. 4 [line 3] , the "user terminal" is a terminal capable of uploading and downloading various 59 data by accessing a wired or wireless internet network, and includes a personal computer, a notebook 60 computer, a kiosk, a PDA, a UMPC (Ultra Mobile PC), and a tablet PC (Tablet PC). And the link. In this specification, "user terminal" and "navigator terminal" will be distinguished from each other, but as the technology is developed, this distinction is not only obscure, but is gradually being integrated, and those skilled in the art will readily understand that the two are not necessarily distinguished; p. 5 [line 25], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 5 [line 37], wireless transceiver 202; p. 5 [line 45], the wireless transceiver 202 performs a function of transmitting / receiving data wirelessly; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 6 [lines 48-49], the output unit 207 receives the base map and the route information from the controller 205 and outputs 49 them on the screen of the navigation terminal 200; p. 7 [lines 1-3], the user terminals 300 and 310 may use a map API provided by the navigation map server 100 to allow users to create various map mashup contents for their purpose and share them with other users on the Internet; p. 7 [lines 9-10], The user may request the Internet map server 100 to download the path file uploaded by another user through the user terminals 300 and 310; p. 7 [lines 15-18], The network 400 includes a dedicated line, a LAN, a QAN, a VAN, an intranet, a private telephone network, a public telephone network, a PSTN network, and a combination thereof, so that each network component shown in FIG. 1 can communicate with each other smoothly. It is a comprehensive data communication network, and includes wired internet, wireless internet and mobile wireless communication network; p. 7 [line 27-31], The user terminal 300 transmits the input route to the navigation map server 100 (S30); p. 7 [lines 38-42], when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70); col. 8 [lines 32-34], when a user of the user terminal 300 or 310 executes the route file on the Internet, the route is displayed on an internet map; after that, it is possible to simulate driving through a web navigation application 34 provided by the Internet map site; p. 9 [line 9], the present invention has the effect that can be shared between the users of the Internet map site)
Regarding claim 15, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more directional interfaces associated with the one or more users to travel to the end point (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; p. 4 [lines 18-20], The navigation map server 100 generates valid route information through a predetermined process so that 19 the route input by the user can operate as a valid route; p. 4 [line 32], a user enters a path in a form such as drawing on a base map; p. 4 [line 38], when a user enters a route to make a left turn; p.4 [lines 42-44], The road information adding unit 124 performs a function of adding road information to route information. For example, traffic light information such as left turn or right turn, speed section information such as 60 km / h, 80 km / h, and 100 km / h, speed camera information, and the like are added; p. 6 [line 59], the path input may be performed in the form of drawing on a base map through an input means such as a mouse; p. 5 [line 25], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 6 [lines 48-49], the output unit 207 receives the base map and the route information from the controller 205 and outputs 49 them on the screen of the navigation terminal 200; col. 8 [lines 32-34], when a user of the user terminal 300 or 310 executes the route file on the Internet, the route is displayed on an internet map)
Regarding claim 16, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 11. Allen further teaches:
wherein the continuous input is manually provided utilizing a finger of the first user or a stylus utilized by the first user, and wherein the continuous input is provided by the first user utilizing a touch screen or virtual buttons associated with the first direction interface (Allen Figs. 1-8; [0034], a user may provide route input via an input user interface, for example using a touch-screen, trackball, stylus pen, cursor keys, voice commands, or other method or device that enables the user to indicate either one or more points on the route or otherwise indicate the route; [0041], this route input may be processed in context by the wireless communication device, for example to draw a line or curve on a screen representative of the geographic route or portion thereof; [0109], The wireless communication device further comprises an input user interface such as a touch screen, trackball, stylus pen or keypad configured to receive route input indicative of a geographic route, relative to the reference map; [0117], the present technology may be used to generate a geographic route, for example indicative of a desired route from hotel 330 to restaurant 332; the geographic route may be generated by drawing or tracing a route on the screen 302)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated wherein the continuous input is manually provided utilizing a finger of the first user or a stylus utilized by the first user, and wherein the continuous input is provided by the first user utilizing a touch screen or virtual buttons associated with the first direction interface as suggested in Allen into Lim. Doing so would be desirable because Mobile wireless communication devices such as cellular telephones, handheld PDAs, and the like, are now capable of supporting features beyond voice or text-based communication between users, such as multimedia features. Due to their portability and communication capabilities, mobile wireless communication devices are particularly suited to applications facilitating navigation (see Allen [0003]). Typically, navigation applications available to wireless communication devices allow users to view their own location, and in some instances to view the location of a desired destination. For example, a destination location or location of a friend may be displayed on a map as the result of a database query by the user for a specific destination or type of destination. In some instances, automated algorithms may be used to generate a route from the user's location to a desired destination. However, such algorithms may be of limited usefulness if they are prone to error or fail to fully account for a user's navigational requirements or context (see Allen [0004]). The system of Allen facilitates improved collaboration between wireless communication devices with regard to generating, editing, or augmenting processed route information (see Allen [0040]). The system of Allen would improve the system of Lim by enabling the communication of route related information interactively and in real-time (see Allen [0031]) in a communication session (see Allen [0088]) in addition to providing stored route information on request (see Allen [0092]), thereby increasing the usefulness of the system for sharing route information and increasing timeliness with which information is shared.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 20, claims 2, 3, and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 16. Consequently, claims 2, 3, and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 11, further comprising:
wherein the first directional interface and the one or more directional interfaces execute a mapping application displaying mapping information and the directional feedback, and wherein the directional feedback includes turn-by-turn instructions for the one or more directional interfaces utilized by the one or more users (Lim Figs. 1-7; abs. a method for sharing path information on a navigation map is provided to allow users to share information produced on their own and stored paths with other users; p. 2 [lines 58-59], the present invention provides a method for sharing the route information directly generated or moved between the users of the Internet map site; p. 4 [lines 18-20], The navigation map server 100 generates valid route information through a predetermined process so that 19 the route input by the user can operate as a valid route; p. 4 [lines 15 - 58], the navigation map server 100 not only provides a base map to the user terminals 300 and 310, but also provides a tool for a general user to directly input a path on the base map and share it with other users; p. 4 [line 32], a user enters a path in a form such as drawing on a base map; p. 4 [line 38], when a user enters a route to make a left turn; p.4 [lines 42-44], The road information adding unit 124 performs a function of adding road information to route information. For example, traffic light information such as left turn or right turn, speed section information such as 60 km / h, 80 km / h, and 100 km / h, speed camera information, and the like are added; p. 5 [line 25], users can share the route file through the navigation map server 100; p. 6 [lines 48-49], the output unit 207 receives the base map and the route information from the controller 205 and outputs 49 them on the screen of the navigation terminal 200; p. 7 [lines 1-3], the user terminals 300 and 310 may use a map API provided by the navigation map server 100 to allow users to create various map mashup contents for their purpose and share them with other users on the Internet; p. 7 [lines 9-10], The user may request the Internet map server 100 to download the path file uploaded by another user through the user terminals 300 and 310; p. 7 [line 27-31], The user terminal 300 transmits the input route to the navigation map server 100 (S30); p. 7 [lines 38-42], when a path file request is received from the user terminal 310 or the navigation terminal 200 of 42 another user (S60), the path file is transmitted (S70); col. 8 [lines 32-34], when a user of the user terminal 300 or 310 executes the route file on the Internet, the route is displayed on an internet map; p. 9 [line 9], the present invention has the effect that can be shared between the users of the Internet map site)
Claims 7, 8, and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Allen in further view of Ng et al. (US 8,160,812 B1, published 04/17/2012), hereinafter Ng.
Regarding claim 7, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, Lim in view of Allen fails to determining the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces; and communicating the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces to the first directional interface. In the same field of endeavor, Ng teaches:
determining the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces; and communicating the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces to the first directional interface (Ng Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 42], Several embodiments of a tracking and guidance system are taught that provide a driver with directions. This disclosure relates to a mobile device communicating with a second device to obtain, in one embodiment, directions based on local knowledge, for example a driver of a vehicle communicating with a friend of family member who has knowledge of local road conditions or directions to some business. The location of the mobile device associated with the driver is displayed on a common map view that may be presented on the mobile device and the second device. The common map view that is presented to the mobile device and the second device may differ in some aspects, and may share some basic information. For example, the same map view, a scaled down or up version of each other, a skewed left or right version of each other, or a skewed up or down version of each other. The driver is able to see drawn directional data such as a route, a landmark, or a symbol on the common map view presented on the mobile device which may have been entered or provided by the friend or family member on the common map view presented on the second device; col. 3 [line 43], second device may coach or provide directional assistance wirelessly to the first device, for example providing drawn directional data; col. 6 [line 50], FIG. 2 illustrates a common map view with drawn directional data; drawn directional data may be provided by the second device 104 and may be a route, a symbol, a landmark, a guidepost, or any other item that would provide guidance; col. 4 [line 7], the second device 104 receives the location of the first device 102 through the network 108 via the wireless base station 106; the location of the first device 102 is then displayed on a common map view displayed by the second device 104; col. 3 [line 19], the first device sends updates of its location to the second device, which continually monitors the progress of the first device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated determining the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces; and communicating the headings of the one or more users associated with the one or more directional interfaces to the first directional interface as suggested in Ng into Lin in view of Allen. Doing so would be desirable because navigation systems avigation systems exist that assist a driver by providing a programmed map and programmed verbal directions. However, these navigation systems provide no interaction with a live person and may employ outdated programmed maps and verbal directions. In some systems, a driver may be assisted by a live person tracking the driver's location and providing verbal directions. In this system, however, the driver is not presented with a map and the live person may be relying on an outdated map or may not have the local knowledge to give the driver accurate directions (see Ng col. 1 [line 21]). The friend who knows local road conditions may view the location of the driver on the common map view and realize or have knowledge that a certain street is temporarily blocked, in which case the friend could indicate this blockage to the driver by adding a symbol, for example some form of drawn symbol, to the common map view (see Ng col. 2 [line 42]). Additionally, it would enable users to continually monitor the progress of the first device 102 and provides timely feedback to the first device 102 such as informing the first device 102 that they just made an incorrect turn (see Ng col. 3 [line 19]).
Regarding claim 8, Lim in view of Allen in further view of Ng teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Ng further teaches:
wherein the headings each include a location, direction of travel, and a speed (Ng Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 42], Several embodiments of a tracking and guidance system are taught that provide a driver with directions. This disclosure relates to a mobile device communicating with a second device to obtain, in one embodiment, directions based on local knowledge, for example a driver of a vehicle communicating with a friend of family member who has knowledge of local road conditions or directions to some business. The location of the mobile device associated with the driver is displayed on a common map view that may be presented on the mobile device and the second device. The common map view that is presented to the mobile device and the second device may differ in some aspects, and may share some basic information. For example, the same map view, a scaled down or up version of each other, a skewed left or right version of each other, or a skewed up or down version of each other. The driver is able to see drawn directional data such as a route, a landmark, or a symbol on the common map view presented on the mobile device which may have been entered or provided by the friend or family member on the common map view presented on the second device; col. 3 [line 43], second device may coach or provide directional assistance wirelessly to the first device, for example providing drawn directional data; col. 6 [line 50], FIG. 2 illustrates a common map view with drawn directional data; drawn directional data may be provided by the second device 104 and may be a route, a symbol, a landmark, a guidepost, or any other item that would provide guidance; col. 4 [line 7], the second device 104 receives the location of the first device 102 through the network 108 via the wireless base station 106; the location of the first device 102 is then displayed on a common map view displayed by the second device 104; col. 3 [line 19], the first device sends updates of its location to the second device, which continually monitors the progress of the first device; by continually updating the location of the first device on the mapping interface, the location, speed, and direction of travel would be indicated on the screen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated wherein the headings each include a location, direction of travel, and a speed as suggested in Ng into Lin in view of Allen. Doing so would be desirable because navigation systems avigation systems exist that assist a driver by providing a programmed map and programmed verbal directions. However, these navigation systems provide no interaction with a live person and may employ outdated programmed maps and verbal directions. In some systems, a driver may be assisted by a live person tracking the driver's location and providing verbal directions. In this system, however, the driver is not presented with a map and the live person may be relying on an outdated map or may not have the local knowledge to give the driver accurate directions (see Ng col. 1 [line 21]). The friend who knows local road conditions may view the location of the driver on the common map view and realize or have knowledge that a certain street is temporarily blocked, in which case the friend could indicate this blockage to the driver by adding a symbol, for example some form of drawn symbol, to the common map view (see Ng col. 2 [line 42]). Additionally, it would enable users to continually monitor the progress of the first device 102 and provides timely feedback to the first device 102 such as informing the first device 102 that they just made an incorrect turn (see Ng col. 3 [line 19]).
Regarding claim 14, Lim in view of Allen in further view of Ng teaches all the limitations of claim 13. However, Lim in view of Allen fails to expressly disclose wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and direction of the one or more directional interfaces associated utilized by the one or more users, wherein the. In the same field of endeavor, Ng teaches:
wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and direction of the one or more directional interfaces associated utilized by the one or more users, wherein the (Ng Figs. 1-8; col. 2 [line 42], Several embodiments of a tracking and guidance system are taught that provide a driver with directions. This disclosure relates to a mobile device communicating with a second device to obtain, in one embodiment, directions based on local knowledge, for example a driver of a vehicle communicating with a friend of family member who has knowledge of local road conditions or directions to some business. The location of the mobile device associated with the driver is displayed on a common map view that may be presented on the mobile device and the second device. The common map view that is presented to the mobile device and the second device may differ in some aspects, and may share some basic information. For example, the same map view, a scaled down or up version of each other, a skewed left or right version of each other, or a skewed up or down version of each other. The driver is able to see drawn directional data such as a route, a landmark, or a symbol on the common map view presented on the mobile device which may have been entered or provided by the friend or family member on the common map view presented on the second device; col. 3 [line 43], second device may coach or provide directional assistance wirelessly to the first device, for example providing drawn directional data; col. 6 [line 50], FIG. 2 illustrates a common map view with drawn directional data; drawn directional data may be provided by the second device 104 and may be a route, a symbol, a landmark, a guidepost, or any other item that would provide guidance; col. 4 [line 7], the second device 104 receives the location of the first device 102 through the network 108 via the wireless base station 106; the location of the first device 102 is then displayed on a common map view displayed by the second device 104; col. 3 [line 19], the first device sends updates of its location to the second device, which continually monitors the progress of the first device; by continually updating the location of the first device on the mapping interface, the location, speed, and direction of travel would be indicated on the screen)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the mapping interface displays a location, speed, and direction of the one or more directional interfaces associated utilized by the one or more users, wherein the as suggested in Ng into Lin in view of Allen. Doing so would be desirable because navigation systems avigation systems exist that assist a driver by providing a programmed map and programmed verbal directions. However, these navigation systems provide no interaction with a live person and may employ outdated programmed maps and verbal directions. In some systems, a driver may be assisted by a live person tracking the driver's location and providing verbal directions. In this system, however, the driver is not presented with a map and the live person may be relying on an outdated map or may not have the local knowledge to give the driver accurate directions (see Ng col. 1 [line 21]). The friend who knows local road conditions may view the location of the driver on the common map view and realize or have knowledge that a certain street is temporarily blocked, in which case the friend could indicate this blockage to the driver by adding a symbol, for example some form of drawn symbol, to the common map view (see Ng col. 2 [line 42]). Additionally, it would enable users to continually monitor the progress of the first device 102 and provides timely feedback to the first device 102 such as informing the first device 102 that they just made an incorrect turn (see Ng col. 3 [line 19]).
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Allen in further view of Rosenberg (US 20070162550 A1, published 07/12/2007).
Regarding claim 19, Lim in view of Allen teaches all the limitations of claim 17. However, Lim in view of Allen fails to expressly disclose determine the headings of the one or more users; and compensate for delays in receiving the heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed. In the same field of endeavor, Rosenberg teaches:
determine the headings of the one or more users; and compensate for delays in receiving the heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed (Rosenberg Figs. 1-3; [0033], a graphical map or arrow or indicator may be displayed that indicates the relative location of the first vehicle with respect to the second vehicle, depicting the relative distance and direction in which the first vehicle currently resides; [0083], each vehicle reports its current speed to the VLS server along with its current positional coordinates during some or all updates; the speed reports may be used by the VLS server to account for time-lag by providing through an inventive Predictive Tracking Algorithm in which a more accurate current location of a vehicle is predicted by the VLS server based upon its reported current location (which is subject to time lag; delays in receiving the heading) and the reported current speed and direction of travel (heading comprising location, direction and speed); the Predictive Tracking Algorithm computes the more accurate current location of a portable computing device by adding a predictive spatial offset to the reported current location of that vehicle, the predictive spatial offset being computed based upon the reported speed (and direction of travel) and a known or estimated time lag between the reported location and the current time (delays in receiving the heading); for example, if a vehicle reports its current location is POSITION A upon a certain road and if the vehicle reports its current speed is B MILES PER HOUR and the vehicle is traveling in a NORTHBOUND direction upon said certain road and if it is known (or estimated) that a (t) second time lag is present between the time when the data was collected and the current time the data is being processed by the VLS server (delay in receiving the heading), a more accurate current location can be predicted by adding an offset to POSITION A equal to the estimated distance the vehicle traveled in the NORTHBOUND direction upon the certain road assuming the speed remained B MILES PER HOUR during the time lag period; in this way a new POSITION A' may be determined that is an OFFSET DISTANCE ahead of POSITION A in the NORTHBOUND direction upon the certain road; the OFFSET DISTANCE may be computed in any units; see also [0085], time-stamp values to determine the time lag; see also [0086], timestamps account for communication delays)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated determine the headings of the one or more users; and compensate for delays in receiving the heading of the one or more users, wherein the heading includes a location, direction of travel, and a speed as suggested in Rosenberg into Lim in view of Allen. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow the system to compute a more accurate current location of a portable computing device (see Rosenberg [0083]) and effectively account for time-lag using a predictive algorithm (see Rosenberg [0085]). This would better enable a user of the directional interface to provide helpful directional feedback to the one or more users based on improved location determinations of the one or more users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Trussel (US 20130226453 A1) see Figs. 1-8 and [0052-0054].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143