DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 5 (figures 7-8, claims 1, 5-7 and 9-10) in the reply filed on 06/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1 Claims 1, 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chang et al.(US 20130188329).
Regarding claim 1, Chang et al.( figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses a magnetic core (10a), a primary side winding and a secondary side winding (see para 0038 and figure 6), wherein ;the magnetic core comprises a first cover plate (see figure 6), a second cover plate (see figure 6), a winding column (13a) and at least two side columns (12a), and the first cover plate and the second cover plate are respectively connected with top and bottom surfaces the winding column and at least two side columns of the magnetic core (see figures 6/8); at least one of the side columns has a through channel (15a), the primary side winding (20a/22a) is wound around the winding column, and a lead wire (22a or 22b) of the primary side winding passes through the through channel (see figures 6/8), and a lead wire (312a or 312b) of the secondary side winding (30a or 30b) passes through a gap formed by the at least two side columns(see figures 6/8).
Regarding claim 5, Chang et al.(figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses wherein the primary side winding comprises a plurality of first windings, and the lead wire of each first winding passes through the same through channel.
Regarding claims 9-10, It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al.(US 20020017971) in view of Chang et al.(US 20130188329).
Regarding claim 1, Koyama et al.( figures 1-2b, 4-7 and para 0029-0050) discloses a magnetic core (10/11), a primary side winding and a secondary side winding (see para 0036), wherein ;the magnetic core comprises a first cover plate (11), a second cover plate (10), a winding column (11a/10a) (see figure 5) and at least two side columns (see figures 1 and 6), and the first cover plate and the second cover plate are respectively connected with top and bottom surfaces the winding column and at least two side columns of the magnetic core (see figures 1/6); at least one of the side columns has a through channel (see opening on left side of the core), the primary side winding (see para 0036) is wound around the winding column; Koyama et al (figure 7) discloses lead wires of a winding passing through the through channel (see figure 7) (see opening on left side of the core), and lead wires of the winding passing through a gap formed by the at least two side columns(see figure 7).
Koyama et is silent as to whether a lead wire of the primary side winding passes through the through channel and a lead wire of the secondary side winding passes through a gap formed by the at least two side columns.
Chang et al.(figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses a lead wire (22a or 22b) of the primary side winding passes through the through channel (see figures 6/8), and a lead wire (312a or 312b) of the secondary side winding (30a or 30b) passes through a gap formed by the at least two side columns(see figures 6/8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein a lead wire of the primary side winding passes through the through channel and a lead wire of the secondary side winding passes through a gap formed by the at least two side columns as taught by Chang et al to the inductive device of Koyama et al.so as to give the user the option to dispose the transformer at a greater variety of locations.
3 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al.(US 20130188329) in view of Guan et al.(CN 216648036)(English translation)
Regarding claim 6, Chang et al.(figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses all the limitations as noted above but wherein a chamfer is formed at the through channel of the side column.
Guan et al (figures 1-3 and pages 1-2) discloses a teaching of designing core structurers with chamfered corners/edges.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a chamfer core structures with chamfered corners/edges as taught by Guan et al to the inductive deuce of Chang et al so as to removes the sharp corners of a magnetic core, which can prevent the leads wires from being damaged and also prevents magnetic saturation at the sharp edges where magnetic flux tends to bunch up, leading to lower core losses and higher energy efficiency. Designing wherein the chamfer is formed at the through channel of the side column would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. Such as to prevent sharp edges from scratching or striping the insulation coating (enamel) on copper wires during the winding process. Chamfered edges will also create a smooth transition, reducing the risk of winding shorts and equipment failure.
4 Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al.(US 20130188329) in view of Markowski et al.(US 20120098632).
Regarding claim 6, Chang et al.(figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses all the limitations as noted above but wherein a chamfer is formed at the through channel of the side column.
Markowski et al (figures 12,17-18 and para 0058) discloses a teaching of designing core structurers with chamfered corners/edges.(see the core columns have a chamfer structure)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a chamfer core structures with chamfered corners/edges as taught by Markowski et al. to the inductive deuce of Chang et al so as to removes the sharp corners of a magnetic core, which can prevent the leads wires from being damaged and also prevents magnetic saturation at the sharp edges where magnetic flux tends to bunch up, leading to lower core losses and higher energy efficiency. Designing wherein the chamfer is formed at the through channel of the side column would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. Such as to prevent sharp edges from scratching or striping the insulation coating (enamel) on copper wires during the winding process. Chamfered edges will also create a smooth transition, reducing the risk of winding shorts and equipment failure.
5 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al.(US 20130188329) in view of Lu et al.(US 20190148061).
Regarding claim 7, Chang et al.(figures 5-8 and para 0037-0046) discloses a skeleton sleeved on the winding column, and the primary side winding but does not expressly disclose the secondary side winding is wound around the skeleton.
Lu et al.(figure 2 and para 0030) discloses a teaching the secondary side winding is wound around the skeleton.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design wherein the secondary side winding is wound around the skeleton as taught by Lu et al to the inductive device of Chang et al.so as to It provide a rigid, protective housing that shields wires from the abrasive edges of the core and so as to helps manage internal heat buildup by keeping the windings organized and evenly distributed.
6 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama et al.(US 20020017971) in view of Chang et al.(US 20130188329) in further view of Lu et al.(US 20190148061).
Regarding claim 7, Koyama et al.(figures 1-2b, 4-7 and para 0029-0050) discloses all the limitations as noted above but does not expressly discloses a skeleton sleeved on the winding column, and the primary side winding and the secondary side winding are wound around the skeleton.
Lu et al.(figure 2 and para 0030) discloses a skeleton sleeved on the winding column, and the primary side winding and the secondary side winding are wound around the skeleton.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a skeleton sleeved on the winding column, and the primary side winding and the secondary side winding are wound around the skeleton as taught by Lu et al to the inductive device of Koyama et al.so as to It provide a rigid, protective housing that shields wires from the abrasive edges of the core and so as to helps manage internal heat buildup by keeping the windings organized and evenly distributed.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837