DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Potter (US 2009/0163915).
Regarding claim 1, Potter discloses
A catheter comprising:
a control handle (50);
a catheter shaft (20) coupled to (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0021) the control handle (50) and extending from (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0021) the control handle (50), the catheter shaft (20) having a proximal end (proximal end of 20) coupled to (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0021) the control handle (50) and a distal end (distal end of 20) located opposite (Figs. 1-2) the proximal end (proximal end of 20);
a pull wire band (30) coupled to the catheter shaft (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0022), wherein at least a portion (33-36, Fig. 2) of the pull wire band (30) is exposed to (Fig. 2) an environment outside of (Fig. 2) the catheter shaft (20); and
a pull wire (26) extending from (Fig.2, Paragraph 0022) the control handle (50) and through the catheter shaft (20) to the pull wire band (30).
Regarding claim 4, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the portion (34) of the pull wire band (30) that is exposed (Fig. 2) to the environment outside (Fig. 2) of the catheter shaft (20) is recessed (Fig. 2) relative to an outer surface (outer surface of 20) of the catheter shaft (20). Examiner notes the portion 34 is exposed to the environment via the orifices 36 spaced around its periphery.
Regarding claim 5, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the pull wire band (30) includes an additional layer (44) having an outer surface (outer surface of 44) that is substantially flush (Fig. 5, Paragraphs 0029 and 0031) with an outer surface (outer surface of 20) of the catheter shaft (20).
Regarding claim 9, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the pull wire band (30) includes openings (36) spaced circumferentially apart (Fig. 2, Paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 10, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the pull wire band (30) is coupled to (Fig. 2) the distal end (distal end of 20) of the catheter shaft (20).
Regarding claim 11, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the pull wire band (30) is an electrode (31).
Regarding claim 12, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 11, wherein the pull wire band (30) is part of a steering system (Paragraph 0022) for deflecting and steering (Paragraph 0022) the distal end (distal end of 20) of the catheter (20).
Regarding claim 13, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 12, wherein the steering system (Paragraph 0022) includes the pull wire band (30), the pull wire (26), and an actuating mechanism (triggers of control handle 50, Paragraph 0022) at the control handle (50).
Regarding claim 15, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, further comprising an electrode wire (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0031, Claim 28) coupled to (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0031, Claim 28) the pull wire (26).
Regarding claim 16, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 15, wherein the electrode wire (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0031, Claim 28) is coupled to the pull wire (26) within the control handle (50).
Regarding claim 17, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the pull wire band (30) is formed at least in part from an electrically conductive material (Paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 18, Potter discloses
The catheter of claim 1, wherein the catheter (20) is a delivery catheter (10). (Paragraph 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 2009/0163915) in view of Grunewald et al. (US 2012/0111482).
Regarding claim 14, Potter discloses the catheter of claim 13, as set forth above, except for wherein the actuating mechanism includes a control knob, wherein the control knob is coupled to the pull wire such that when the control knob is rotated, the pull wire is tensioned, and the distal end of the catheter flexes.
However, Grunewald teaches the actuating mechanism (figs. 1A-1C and par. 0036) includes a control knob (37), wherein the control knob (37) is coupled to the pull wire (44a/44b) such that when the control knob is rotated, the pull wire is tensioned, and the distal end of the catheter flexes (see figs. 1A-1C and par. 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Potter by adding a control knob, as taught by Grunewald, for the purpose of allowing the operator to deflect the catheter tip as needed (par. 0036).
Regarding claim 20, Potter discloses the catheter of claim 1, as set forth above, except for wherein the catheter shaft is a flexible polymer shaft.
However, Grunewald teaches the catheter shaft made of PEBAX – a flexible polymer shaft (par. 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Potter catheter shaft to be made of PEBAX, as taught by Grunewald, for the purpose of allowing the catheter to be flexible and to be deflected as needed (pars. 0036-0037 of Grunewald).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 2009/0163915) in view of Subramaniam et al. (US 2021/0031006).
Regarding claim 19, Potter discloses the catheter of claim 18, as set forth above, except for wherein the delivery catheter includes a stopcock.
However, Subramaniam teaches the delivery catheter includes a stopcock (pars. 0021 and 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Potter by adding a stopcock, as taught by Subramaniam, for the purpose of allowing the operator to open and close the fluid pathway as needed (par. 0026 of Subramaniam).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
/DUNG T ULSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783