DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 06/16/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 04/16/2026. Independent claims 1, 25, 30 and 35 are amended. Claims 2-20 were cancelled previously. Dependent claims 21-24 26-29, 31-34, and 36-39 are also amended. Therefore, claims 1 and 21-39 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1 and 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (2025/0203707, 63/318,311 provisional application will be used in the instant office action, EFD is 03/09/2022 before the EFD of the instant application, see PTO-892), TSAI311 hereinafter, in view of PRADAS et al. (2024/0357704), PRADAS hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 25, TSAI311 teaches a method (Pages 3-5: Fig. 1-3 & §2.2/ Pages 5-8: Fig. 1-3 & §3.2/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 7/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 12/ Page 5 - Fig. 1-3 & §3.2/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 20 ) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - KKK00 may be a UE) in a communication system (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - Fig. KKK illustrates a block diagram of a node for wireless communication, in accordance with various aspects of the present application)), and a user equipment (UE) (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - KKK00 may be a UE or a base station that performs various functions described herein, for example, with reference to Figs. 1 through KKK-1.) in a communication system (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - Fig. KKK illustrates a block diagram of a node for wireless communication, in accordance with various aspects of the present application), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Fig. KKK, KKK20); and a processor (Fig. KKK, KKK28) coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive (i) first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information including at least one first DRX configuration associated with an extended reality (XR) service and (ii) second DRX configuration information including at least one second DRX configuration associated with a non-XR service, (Fig. 1-3 & Page 10 - UE may be configured with both types of DRX cycles, e.g., the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services), at the same time. … the UE may ignore one of the both types of the specific DRX cycle (e.g., noninteger DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services). Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle), the UE may ignore the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCyc/eStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle). Fig. 1-3 & Page 11 - UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, first DRX configuration for XR services), the UE may determine the field of the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is a XR-specific UE, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. Specifically, if the UE transmits a specific information, to BS, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. Fig. 1-3 & Page 12 - the operation of the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > and the operation of the legacy DRX configuration < i.e., legacy or second DRX configuration for non-XR services.> may be independently performed for the UE's specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI.). That is to say, if one or both of the specific DRX configuration (including non-integer DRX cycle and/or non-integer DRX timer values, < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services >) and the legacy DRX configuration (including integer DRX cycle and/or integer DRX timer values) are configured, the UE may monitor the PDCCH for the UE's specific RNTI based on the DRX Active Time derived from one or both of the specific DRX configuration and the legacy DRX configuration….. the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > may (only) be used to control the UE's PDCCH monitoring activity for a specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI) of the UE. The specific RNTI may be mapped to one or more XR services…The specific RNTI may be associated with a DCI to schedule DL resource and/or UL resource including XR services), wherein: the at least one first DRX configuration includes a parameter, wherein the parameter is associated with a long DRX cycle and a DRX start offset (Fig. 1-3 & Page 17 & §3.3 - if the UE receives a specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) from BS, the UE may determine whether the specific DRX cycle (with non-integer value) and/or the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle is configured to determine whether to use the DRX specific cycle (with non-integer value) and/or the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle…. the specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) may indicate the specific DRX cycle. …. specific DRX cycles may be a non-integer DRX cycle. …… the DRX cycle may be a specific DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle, a non-integer DRX cycle, and/or a XR DRX cycle)…… specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) may indicate the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle. …. the value for deriving the specific DRX may be an integer/denominator/fraction/decimal. … the value may be associated with the periodicity of XR traffic and/or fps of XR application. Specifically, the value may be used to derive a DRX cycle. . the UE may use a DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle) and the value to derive a specific DRX cycle (e.g., a non-integer DRX cycle). … the UE may determine a specific DRX cycle (e.g., a non-integer DRX cycle) is a DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle) divided by the value. Fig. 1-3 & Page 19 & §3.4 - DRX onduration timer/DRX start offset/ DRX slot offset - UE may determine whether to (re)start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX onduration timer)… based on the specific DRX cycle….. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset from a specific time….the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset+ a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time…. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started before (shifted by) a time offset + a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time. .. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset from a specific time. …. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time… the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset from a specific time…. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time. Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 & §3.4 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g., drift rate)…...the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration…. the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle.); identify a DRX cycle associated with the XR service based on the DRX start offset identified based on the parameter (Fig. 1-3 & Page 19 & §3.4 – DRX onduration timer/DRX start offset/ DRX slot offset - UE may determine whether to (re)start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX onduration timer)… based on the specific DRX cycle….. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset from a specific time….the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset+ a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time…. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started before (shifted by) a time offset + a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time. .. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset from a specific time. …. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time… the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset from a specific time…. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time); identify an on duration of the DRX cycle corresponding to time while an on duration timer identified based on the on duration timer parameter is running (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running.); and monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) during the on duration of the DRX cycle (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running…. the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running.).
Yet, TSAI311 does not expressly teach the at least one second DRX configuration includes an on duration timer parameter,
However, in the analogous art, PRADAS explicitly discloses the at least one second DRX configuration includes an on duration timer parameter, (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0035 - The DRX configurations can be numbered from 1 to n, (n can be predetermined). A network node (e.g., a 5G base station (gNB)) selects multiple DRX cycle configurations for a UE and sends the selected DRX cycle configurations to the UE. The UE stores these configurations and combines them for DRX operation. Each DRX configuration may be coupled to one or more specific flows (e.g., traffic flows, logical channels, data radio bearers (DRBs), quality-of-service (QoS) flows). It is also possible that a legacy DRX without coupling to any specific flow is configured to capture joint parameters for multiple traffic flows. If a UE receives a legacy DRX configuration together with a DRX configuration for a specific flow (e.g., with flow indication), a UE may prioritize DRX parameters from legacy DRX over the other when multiple timers are running. Fig. 1-15 & ¶0036 - For each DRX configuration x, the network configures one or more of the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset(x), Long DRX cycle(x), drx-StartOffset(x), drx-onDurationTimer(x), and drx-InactivityTimer(x). This is shown in FIG. 5. The DRX parameter values can be equal or different for different configurations. This can be used, for instance, for multiple periodic traffic flows. The drx-SlotOffset, Long DRX cycle, and drx-StartOffset can be selected to correspond to the flow periodicity, while drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer can be selected to consider the packet transmission duration, scheduling time, and jitter of the associated flow as well as other factors such as retransmissions and decoding errors. Fig. 1-15 & ¶0046 - when a new DL or UL transmission is indicated by the PDCCH, the UE should first check which drx-onDurationTimers are running. The UE will select the DRX configurations for which drx-onDurationTimers are running. From this set of DRX configurations, one drx-InactivityTimer value is selected. The selected value may be the longest value, shortest value, or a weighted average of all the values. If multiple drx-onDurationTimers are running and a legacy DRX configuration without flow indication is also signaled, the UE can also prioritize or down-prioritize to select the value from the legacy DRX configuration. Once selected, the UE starts (or restarts) the drx-InactivityTimer with the selected value. See snapshot of Figure 6, next)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine TSAI311’s invention of a system and a method for Handling on DRX Cycle in XR (EXtended Reality) in a wireless communication system to include PRADAS’s invention of a system and a method for supporting multiple DRX cycle configurations in 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a user equipment (UE) in monitoring traffic generated by XR applications (“XR traffic”), during an active time of a DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle, ensuring the UE to wake up whenever there is XR traffic generated in a DL <Downlink> direction, thereby, keeps the required lower latency requirement as tolerated by the XR application which generates multiple traffic flows, such as video traffic flow, an audio traffic flow, and data (control) traffic flow with varied periodicity and data rate for each of those flows for the UE operating in the 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, PRADAS)
Re. claims 30 and 35, TSAI311 teaches a method (Pages 3-5: Fig. 1-3 & §2.2/ Pages 5-8: Fig. 1-3 & §3.2/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 7/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 12/ Page 5 - Fig. 1-3 & §3.2/ Fig. 1-3 & Page 20) performed by a base station (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - KKK00 may be …. a base station) in a communication system (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - Fig. KKK illustrates a block diagram of a node for wireless communication, in accordance with various aspects of the present application)), and a base station (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - KKK00 may be …a base station that performs various functions described herein, for example, with reference to Figs. 1 through KKK-1.) in a communication system (Fig. KKK & Page 35 - Fig. KKK illustrates a block diagram of a node for wireless communication, in accordance with various aspects of the present application), the UE comprising: a transceiver (Fig. KKK, KKK20); and a processor (Fig. KKK, KKK28) coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), (i) first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information including at least one first DRX configuration associated with an extended reality (XR) service and (ii) second DRX configuration information including at least one second DRX configuration associated with a non-XR service (Fig. 1-3 & Page 10 - UE may be configured with both types of DRX cycles, e.g., the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services), at the same time. … the UE may ignore one of the both types of the specific DRX cycle (e.g., noninteger DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services). Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle), the UE may ignore the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCyc/eStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle). Fig. 1-3 & Page 11 - UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, first DRX configuration for XR services), the UE may determine the field of the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is a XR-specific UE, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. Specifically, if the UE transmits a specific information, to BS, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. Fig. 1-3 & Page 12 - the operation of the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > and the operation of the legacy DRX configuration < i.e., legacy or second DRX configuration for non-XR services.> may be independently performed for the UE's specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI.). That is to say, if one or both of the specific DRX configuration (including non-integer DRX cycle and/or non-integer DRX timer values, < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services >) and the legacy DRX configuration (including integer DRX cycle and/or integer DRX timer values) are configured, the UE may monitor the PDCCH for the UE's specific RNTI based on the DRX Active Time derived from one or both of the specific DRX configuration and the legacy DRX configuration….. the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > may (only) be used to control the UE's PDCCH monitoring activity for a specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI) of the UE. The specific RNTI may be mapped to one or more XR services…The specific RNTI may be associated with a DCI to schedule DL resource and/or UL resource including XR services), wherein: the at least one first DRX configuration includes a parameter, wherein the parameter is associated with a long DRX cycle and a DRX start offset (Fig. 1-3 & Page 17 & §3.3 - if the UE receives a specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) from BS, the UE may determine whether the specific DRX cycle (with non-integer value) and/or the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle is configured to determine whether to use the DRX specific cycle (with non-integer value) and/or the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle…. the specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) may indicate the specific DRX cycle. …. specific DRX cycles may be a non-integer DRX cycle. …… the DRX cycle may be a specific DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle, a non-integer DRX cycle, and/or a XR DRX cycle)…… specific indication (e.g., DRX command MAC CE) may indicate the value for deriving the specific DRX cycle. …. the value for deriving the specific DRX may be an integer/denominator/fraction/decimal. … the value may be associated with the periodicity of XR traffic and/or fps of XR application. Specifically, the value may be used to derive a DRX cycle. . the UE may use a DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle) and the value to derive a specific DRX cycle (e.g., a non-integer DRX cycle). … the UE may determine a specific DRX cycle (e.g., a non-integer DRX cycle) is a DRX cycle (e.g., short DRX cycle, long DRX cycle) divided by the value. Fig. 1-3 & Page 19 & §3.4 - DRX onduration timer/DRX start offset/ DRX slot offset - UE may determine whether to (re)start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX onduration timer)… based on the specific DRX cycle….. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset from a specific time….the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset+ a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time…. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started before (shifted by) a time offset + a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time. .. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset from a specific time. …. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time… the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset from a specific time…. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time. Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 & §3.4 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g., drift rate)…...the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration…. the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle.); identify a DRX cycle associated with the XR service, wherein the DRX cycle is DRX start offset configured based on the parameter (Fig. 1-3 & Page 19 & §3.4 – DRX onduration timer/DRX start offset/ DRX slot offset - UE may determine whether to (re)start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX onduration timer)… based on the specific DRX cycle….. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset from a specific time….the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset+ a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time…. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started before (shifted by) a time offset + a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time. .. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset from a specific time. …. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time… the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset from a specific time…. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time); identify an on duration of the DRX cycle corresponding to time while an on duration timer configured based on the on duration timer parameter is running (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running); and transmit, to the UE, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in the on duration of the DRX cycle (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running…. the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running).
Yet, TSAI311 does not expressly teach the at least one second DRX configuration includes an on duration timer parameter;
However, in the analogous art, PRADAS explicitly discloses the at least one second DRX configuration includes an on duration timer parameter, (Fig. 1-15 & ¶0035 - The DRX configurations can be numbered from 1 to n, (n can be predetermined). A network node (e.g., a 5G base station (gNB)) selects multiple DRX cycle configurations for a UE and sends the selected DRX cycle configurations to the UE. The UE stores these configurations and combines them for DRX operation. Each DRX configuration may be coupled to one or more specific flows (e.g., traffic flows, logical channels, data radio bearers (DRBs), quality-of-service (QoS) flows). It is also possible that a legacy DRX without coupling to any specific flow is configured to capture joint parameters for multiple traffic flows. If a UE receives a legacy DRX configuration together with a DRX configuration for a specific flow (e.g., with flow indication), a UE may prioritize DRX parameters from legacy DRX over the other when multiple timers are running. Fig. 1-15 & ¶0036 - For each DRX configuration x, the network configures one or more of the following parameters: drx-SlotOffset(x), Long DRX cycle(x), drx-StartOffset(x), drx-onDurationTimer(x), and drx-InactivityTimer(x). This is shown in FIG. 5. The DRX parameter values can be equal or different for different configurations. This can be used, for instance, for multiple periodic traffic flows. The drx-SlotOffset, Long DRX cycle, and drx-StartOffset can be selected to correspond to the flow periodicity, while drx-onDurationTimer and drx-InactivityTimer can be selected to consider the packet transmission duration, scheduling time, and jitter of the associated flow as well as other factors such as retransmissions and decoding errors. Fig. 1-15 & ¶0046 - when a new DL or UL transmission is indicated by the PDCCH, the UE should first check which drx-onDurationTimers are running. The UE will select the DRX configurations for which drx-onDurationTimers are running. From this set of DRX configurations, one drx-InactivityTimer value is selected. The selected value may be the longest value, shortest value, or a weighted average of all the values. If multiple drx-onDurationTimers are running and a legacy DRX configuration without flow indication is also signaled, the UE can also prioritize or down-prioritize to select the value from the legacy DRX configuration. Once selected, the UE starts (or restarts) the drx-InactivityTimer with the selected value. See snapshot of Figure 6, next)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine TSAI311’s invention of a system and a method for Handling on DRX Cycle in XR (EXtended Reality) in a wireless communication system to include PRADAS’s invention of a system and a method for supporting multiple DRX cycle configurations in 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a user equipment (UE) in monitoring traffic generated by XR applications (“XR traffic”), during an active time of a DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle, ensuring the UE to wake up whenever there is XR traffic generated in a DL <Downlink> direction, thereby, keeps the required lower latency requirement as tolerated by the XR application which generates multiple traffic flows, such as video traffic flow, an audio traffic flow, and data (control) traffic flow with varied periodicity and data rate for each of those flows for the UE operating in the 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, PRADAS)
Re. Claims 21, 26, 31 and 36, TSAI311 and PRADAS teach claims 1, 25, 30 and 35.
TSAI311 further teaches wherein the at least one first DRX configuration includes a short DRX cycle parameter associated with a short DRX cycle (Fig. 1-3 & Page 12 - XR Short and Long DRX cycles; … the UE may determine the non-integer DRX cycle as a short DRX cycle. Then the UE may perform the DRX operation for short DRX cycle based on the non-integer DRX cycle. … the UE may be configured with two non-integer DRX cycles. .. a first non-integer DRX cycle is denoted as short non-integer DRX cycle, and a second non-integer DRX cycle is denoted as long non-integer DRX cycle. .. the UE may determine the short non-integer DRX cycle as a short DRX cycle. Then the UE may perform the DRX operation for short DRX cycle based on the short non-integer DRX cycle.);
Yet, TSAI311 does not expressly teach wherein in case that the long DRX cycle is used, the DRX cycle is identified based on (i) the long DRX cycle and (ii) the DRX start offset identified based on the parameter, and wherein in case that the short DRX cycle is used, the DRX cycle is identified based on (i) the short DRX cycle identified based on the short DRX cycle parameter and (ii) the DRX start offset identified based on the parameter.
However, in the analogous art, PRADAS explicitly discloses wherein in case that the long DRX cycle is used, the DRX cycle is identified based on (i) the long DRX cycle and (ii) the DRX start offset identified based on the parameter, and wherein in case that the short DRX cycle is used, the DRX cycle is identified based on (i) the short DRX cycle identified based on the short DRX cycle parameter and (ii) the DRX start offset identified based on the parameter. (Fig. 1 & ¶0005 - A UE can be configured with up to two DRX parameter sets, each corresponding to a DRX group. A Serving Cell can be assigned to only one DRX group (see reference [1]). This means that the UE monitors the DL of a given Serving Cell according to only one long DRX cycle configuration and, optionally, one short DRX cycle configuration. In the current standard specifications up to Rel-17, the DRX is activated when configured by the network. If the UE uses the long DRX cycle, it monitors the DL by starting the drx-onDurationTimer, if the following condition is fulfilled: [(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo (drx-LongCycle)=drx-StartOffset, where SFN is the system frame number. If the UE uses the short DRX cycle, it monitors the DL by starting the drx-onDurationTimer, if the following condition is fulfilled: [(SFN×10)+subframe number]modulo (drx-ShortCycle)=(drx-StartOffset) modulo (drxShortCycle).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine TSAI311’s invention of a system and a method for Handling on DRX Cycle in XR (EXtended Reality) in a wireless communication system to include PRADAS’s invention of a system and a method for supporting multiple DRX cycle configurations in 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for a user equipment (UE) in monitoring traffic generated by XR applications (“XR traffic”), during an active time of a DRX (discontinuous reception) cycle, ensuring the UE to wake up whenever there is XR traffic generated in a DL <Downlink> direction, thereby, keeps the required lower latency requirement as tolerated by the XR application which generates multiple traffic flows, such as video traffic flow, an audio traffic flow, and data (control) traffic flow with varied periodicity and data rate for each of those flows for the UE operating in the 5G new radio (NR) wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0007, PRADAS)
Re. Claims 22, 27, 32 and 38, TSAI311 and PRADAS teach claims 1, 25, 30 and 35.
TSAI311 further teaches wherein the first DRX configuration information and the second DRX configuration information are received in a MAC- CellGroupConfig. (Pages 6-7: Fig. 1-3 & §3.2 - the specific DRX configuration may be a XR DRX configuration. More specifically, the specific DRX configuration may be different from DRX-config (which is included in MAC-CellGroupConfig). Pages 19-21: Fig. 1-3 & §3.4 - The configuration of the time offset and/or the start offset may be configured by BS, e.g., included in a specific DRX configuration. The configuration of the time offset and/or the start offset may be configured per MAC entity (e.g., included in MAC-CellGroupConfig)).
Re. Claims 23, 28, TSAI311 and PRADAS claims 1 and 25.
TSAI311 also teaches further comprising transmitting UE capability information associated with whether the UE supports a DRX mechanism for the XR service, wherein the first DRX configuration information is received in case that the UE supports the DRX mechanism for the XR service. (Page 25: Fig. 1-3 & §3.4 - if the UE is a XR-specific UE (e.g., the UE has XR capability), the UE may apply the time offset/start offset. ….. if the UE transmits a specific information, to BS, the UE may apply the time offset/start offset. ….the specific information may be transmitted via a UE capability information/UECapabilitylnformation IE (e.g., the UE capability information for XR, for noninteger DRX cycle, and/or for DRX preference.).
Re. Claims 24 and 29, TSAI311 and PRADAS teach claims 1 and 25.
TSAI311 also teaches further comprising: receiving configuration information associated with multiple DRX configuration information including the first DRX information, wherein the multiple DRX configuration information differ from each other in at least one DRX parameter including at least one of a drx-onDurationTimer (), a drx-inactivityTimer, a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, a drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, a drx- RetransmissionTimerDL, a drx-SlotOffsetXR (Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g,drift rate). Specifically, the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration. Specifically, the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle. Specifically, the rate may indicate a value for how long Y (e.g., via a time unit) that the UE needs to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value for how long may be correspond to periodicity of XR traffic/fps (e.g., 33.33ms, 16.67ms, 11.11 ms, 8.33ms). In one example, if the rate indicates X ms per Y DRX cyles. It means the UE needs to adjust/update/add the value of the time offset/start offset by X ms per DRX cycles. Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation.), a drx-SlotOffsetXR-static, a drx-Shortcycle (), a drx-ShortcycleTimer, a drx-LongCycle, a drx-StartOffsetXR, or a drx-StartOffsetXR-static; switching from the first DRX configuration information to other DRX configuration information among the multiple DRX configuration information (Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g,drift rate). Specifically, the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration. Specifically, the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle. Specifically, the rate may indicate a value for how long Y (e.g., via a time unit) that the UE needs to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value for how long may be correspond to periodicity of XR traffic/fps (e.g., 33.33ms, 16.67ms, 11.11 ms, 8.33ms). In one example, if the rate indicates X ms per Y DRX cyles. It means the UE needs to adjust/update/add the value of the time offset/start offset by X ms per DRX cycles. Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running); and monitoring the PDCCH based on the other DRX configuration information (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running…. the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running).
Re. Claims 33 and 37, TSAI311 and PRADAS claims 30 and 35.
TSAI311 also teaches receiving, from the UE, UE capability information associated with whether the UE supports a DRX mechanism for the XR service, wherein the first DRX configuration information is transmitted in case that the UE supports the DRX mechanism for the XR service. (Page 25: Fig. 1-3 & §3.4 - if the UE is a XR-specific UE (e.g., the UE has XR capability), the UE may apply the time offset/start offset. ….. if the UE transmits a specific information, to BS, the UE may apply the time offset/start offset. ….the specific information may be transmitted via a UE capability information/UECapabilitylnformation IE (e.g., the UE capability information for XR, for noninteger DRX cycle, and/or for DRX preference.).
Re. Claims 34 and 39, TSAI311 and PRADAS teach claims 30 and 35.
TSAI311 also teaches transmitting, to the UE, configuration information associated with multiple DRX configuration information including the first DRX configuration information, wherein the multiple DRX configuration information differ from each other in at least one DRX parameter including at least one of a drx-onDurationTimer, a drx-inactivityTimer, a drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL, a drx- HARQ-RTT-TimerDL, a drx-RetransmissionTimerUL, a drx-RetransmissionTimerDL, a drx- SlotOffsetXR, a drx-SlotOffsetXR-static, a drx-Shortcycle, a drx-ShortcycleTimer, a drx- LongCycle, a drx-StartOffsetXR (Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g,drift rate). Specifically, the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration. Specifically, the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle. Specifically, the rate may indicate a value for how long Y (e.g., via a time unit) that the UE needs to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value for how long may be correspond to periodicity of XR traffic/fps (e.g., 33.33ms, 16.67ms, 11.11 ms, 8.33ms). In one example, if the rate indicates X ms per Y DRX cyles. It means the UE needs to adjust/update/add the value of the time offset/start offset by X ms per DRX cycles. Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation), or a drx-StartOffsetXR-static; identifying that the UE switches from the first DRX configuration information to other DRX configuration information among the multiple DRX configuration information (Fig. 1-3 & Page 22 - UE may adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset based on a rate (e.g,drift rate). Specifically, the rate may be indicated by DCI, MAC CE, and/or RRC configuration. Specifically, the rate may indicate the value for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value X for the UE to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset may be in unit of slot, symbol, subframe, system frame, ms, and/or second, DRX cycle. Specifically, the rate may indicate a value for how long Y (e.g., via a time unit) that the UE needs to adjust/update the value of the time offset/start offset. The value for how long may be correspond to periodicity of XR traffic/fps (e.g., 33.33ms, 16.67ms, 11.11 ms, 8.33ms). In one example, if the rate indicates X ms per Y DRX cyles. It means the UE needs to adjust/update/add the value of the time offset/start offset by X ms per DRX cycles. Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may switch time offset and/or start offset based on a timer and/or a duration (configured by BS). In one example, when a timer expires, the UE may switch time offset and/or start offset (for a MAC entity/DRX group/DRX configuration/Cell Group(MCG/SCG)/cell/serving cell/BWP/set of cells). More specifically, the timer may be a DRX timer, a specific DRX inactivity timer, DRX onduration timer, DRX retransmission timer for DL, DRX retransmission timer for UL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for DL, DRX HARQ RTT timer for UL, DRX short cycle timer, XR-specific DRX timer, etc. …..the UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running. … the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running); and transmitting the PDCCH associated with the other DRX configuration information (Fig. 1-3 & Page 24 - UE may monitor PDCCH (based on the specific RNTI, search space, and/or CORESET for XR) while the timer is running…. the UE may determine Active Time while the timer is running).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks at pages 18-20 for amended independent claim 1, applicant argues, TSAI311 merely discloses that the on-duration of DRX for XR is identified based on an on-duration timer configuration in a DRX configuration for XR. However, the provisional application of TSAI311 does not disclose that the on-duration of DRX for XR is identified based on an on-duration timer configuration in a DRX configuration for non-XR as recited in the amended claim 1. TSAI311 simply discloses the DRX operation for XR, but Tsai never discloses that the on-duration of the DRX for the XR is identified based on the DRX configuration for non-XR. The amended claim 1 sufficiently recites that the non-XR is used for determining the on-duration timer for XR. Neither explicitly nor implicitly, the provisional application of TSAI311 does not disclose these claimed elements of the amended claim 1. See page 18 of remarks as submitted on 06/16/2026.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, TSAI311 discloses that UE may be configured with both types of DRX cycles, e.g., the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services), at the same time. … the UE may ignore one of the both types of the specific DRX cycle (e.g., noninteger DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services). Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle), the UE may ignore the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCyc/eStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle). UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drxShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is configured with the specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle, first DRX configuration for XR services), the UE may determine the field of the legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle, i.e., second DRX configuration for non-XR services) as absent. Specifically, if the UE is a XR-specific UE, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drxLongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. Specifically, if the UE transmits a specific information, to BS, the UE may determine the field of one of the both types of specific DRX cycle (e.g., non-integer DRX cycle) and legacy DRX cycle (e.g., drx-LongCycleStartOffset and/or drx-ShortCycle) as absent. .. the operation of the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > and the operation of the legacy DRX configuration < i.e., legacy or second DRX configuration for non-XR services.> may be independently performed for the UE's specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI.). That is to say, if one or both of the specific DRX configuration (including non-integer DRX cycle and/or non-integer DRX timer values, < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services >) and the legacy DRX configuration (including integer DRX cycle and/or integer DRX timer values) are configured, the UE may monitor the PDCCH for the UE's specific RNTI based on the DRX Active Time derived from one or both of the specific DRX configuration and the legacy DRX configuration….. the specific DRX configuration < i.e., first DRX configuration for XR services > may (only) be used to control the UE's PDCCH monitoring activity for a specific RNTI (e.g., XR-RNTI) of the UE. The specific RNTI may be mapped to one or more XR services…The specific RNTI may be associated with a DCI to schedule DL resource and/or UL resource including XR services. See pages 10-12 along with Fig. 1-3. TSAI311 further discloses that UE may determine whether to (re)start a DRX timer (e.g., DRX onduration timer)… based on the specific DRX cycle….. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset from a specific time….the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started after (shifted by) a time offset+ a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time…. the DRX timer (e.g, DRX onduration timer) may be (re)started before (shifted by) a time offset + a drx-SlotOffset from a specific time. .. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset from a specific time. …. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started after (shifted by) a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time… the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset from a specific time…. the specific DRX cycle may be (re)started before (shifted by} a start offset + drx-StartOffset from a specific time. See §3.4 and page 19 along with Fig. 1-3, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at least at page 18 of remarks as submitted on 06/16/2026.
Applicant further asserts that TSAI311 or Lee et al. (2023/0189041 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) fails to teach, “the at least one second DRX configuration includes an on duration timer parameter”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, PRADAS (2024/0357704 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Also, Lee (2023/0189041 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference) is NOT used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI311, in view of PRADAS (2024/0357704 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claims 25, 30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2024/0357704, in view of PRADAS (2024/0357704 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 25, 30 and 35, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467