FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 is indefinite because in line 1 of the claim the phrase “an aqueous system” is used, whereas in line 3 of the claim the phrase “the aqueous medium” is used. First, there is no antecedent basis for the phrase “the aqueous medium”. Secondly “an aqueous system” is not coextensive with “aqueous medium”, thus leading to serious confusion in regard to the metes and bounds of the claimed method.
If applicant holds that the “aqueous medium” is a part of the larger “aqueous system”, as argued by applicant in their remarks filed 08/11/26, said needs to be made explicitly clear in independent claim 1 so as to avoid unnecessary confusion. One suggested means of doing this is amend the present limitation of: “adding a composition to the aqueous medium,” to --adding a composition to the aqueous mediumwhich is a part of said aqueous system,--.
All other claims are being rejected here because they are either directly or indirectly dependent on rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. U.S. Patent Number 9,434,890.
Nguyen et al. independent claim 8 reads as followed: “A method of transferring metals and/or amines from a hydrocarbon phase to an aqueous phase in a refinery desalting process comprising: adding wash water having a pH of 6 or below to crude oil to create an emulsion, where the crude oil comprises metals and/or amines, and where the emulsion comprises a composition comprising: a solvent selected from the group consisting of water, alcohol and mixtures thereof; and at least one water-soluble hydroxyacid selected from the group consisting of glycolic acid, gluconic acid, citric acid, C.sub.2-C.sub.4 alpha-hydroxy acids, malic acid, lactic acid, poly-hydroxy carboxylic acids, thioglycolic acid, chloroacetic acid, polymeric forms of the above hydroxyacids, poly-glycolic esters, glycolate ethers, and ammonium salt and alkali metal salts of these hydroxyacids, and mixtures thereof, where the water-soluble hydroxyacid comprises from about 1 to about 85 wt. % of the composition, where the water-soluble hydroxy acid is present in the emulsion in an amount effective to transfer metals and/or amines from a hydrocarbon phase to an aqueous phase; an additional component selected from the group consisting of at least one corrosion inhibitor, at least one demulsifier and a combination thereof; and resolving the emulsion into hydrocarbon phase and an aqueous phase using electrostatic coalescence in the refinery desalting process, where at least a portion of the metals and/or amines are transferred to the aqueous phase.” [Emphasis added].
Nguyen et al. directly discloses that iron sulfide deposits/scales are one of the most common problems that need to be removed by their desalting process, see column 2, lines 27-43 and column 3, lines 50 to column 4, line 3. Please note that Nguyen et al.’s method of transferring metals, such as iron from iron sulfide, comprises dissolving the iron sulfide with at least one water-soluble hydroxyacid (e.g. malic acid).
Nguyen et al. differ from Applicant’s claimed method in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where malic acid is actually used as one of the water-soluble hydroxyacids in the method of transferring metals from iron sulfide deposits/scales from a hydrocarbon phase to an aqueous phase in a refinery desalting process.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Nguyen et al.’s said disclosure as strong motivation to actually employ malic acid the water-soluble hydroxyacid in the method of transferring metals from iron sulfide deposits/scales from a hydrocarbon phase to an aqueous phase in a refinery desalting process. It is well known that it is not inventive to merely follow the direct disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Please note that the limitations of Applicant’s dependent claims 2-3 are clearly met when the solvent is selected to be an admixture of water and alcohol, as directly suggested in Nguyen et al.’s independent claim 8. Additionally note Applicant’s concentration range limitation of: “wherein the composition comprises from about 5 wt.% to about 95 wt.% of the malic acid”, as set forth in dependent claim 12, massively overlaps Nguyen et al.’s disclosure of “where the water-soluble hydroxyacid comprises from about 1 to about 85 wt. % of the composition,” as set forth in their independent claim 8. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary scope in the art to actually select a concentration of malic acid that falls within Applicant’s claimed concentration range of dependent claim 12. Once again, it is well known that it is not inventive to merely follow the direct disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2018/0148632 A1 individually in view of Nguyen et al. U.S. Patent Number 9,434,890 or Sivavec U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2001/0042723 A1.
Bennett et al.’s independent claim 1 reads as followed: “A composition for inhibiting corrosion and/or removing hydrocarbonaceous deposits in oil and gas applications, the composition comprising: an iron sulfide dissolver comprising allaric acid, altaric acid, altraric acid, altronic acid, arabinaric acid, arabinonic acid, dihomocitric acid, fructuronic acid, fuconic acid, galactaric acid, galactonic acid, galacturonic acid, glucaric acid, glucoheptonic acid, gluconic acid, glucuronic acid, gulonic acid, homocitric acid, homoisocitric acid, idaric acid, idonic acid, iduronic acid, isocitric acid, mannaric acid, mannonic acid, octulosonic acid, rhamnonic acid, ribonic acid, tagaturonic acid, xylonic acid, or xyluronic acid, or a salt or derivative thereof, or a combination thereof; an organic solvent; and a corrosion inhibitor comprising an imidazoline compound, a quaternary ammonium compound, a pyridinium compound, or a combination thereof.” [Emphasis added].
Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 5 reads as followed: “The composition of claim 1, wherein the organic solvent comprises an alcohol, a hydrocarbon, a ketone, an ether, an alkylene glycol, a glycol ether, an amide, a nitrile, a sulfoxide, an ester, a polyol, or a combination thereof, and the composition optionally comprises water.”. Please note that Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 5 clearly meets the limitation of Applicant’s dependent claims 2-3.
Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 19 reads as followed: “The composition of claim 1, containing from about 5 wt. % to about 95 wt. % of the iron sulfide dissolver, from about 5 to about 95 wt. % of the organic solvent, and from about 5 to about 95 wt. % of the corrosion inhibitor.” [Emphasis added]. Please note that Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 19 clearly meets the limitation of Applicant’s dependent claim 12.
Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 23 reads as followed: “The composition of claim 1, further comprising either: a sulfur-containing compound of HS—(CH2)nOH, wherein n is 2-6; or a sulfur-containing compound comprised of thioglycolic acid, 3,3′-dithiodipropionic acid, thiourea, 2-mercaptoethanol, L-cysteine, tert-butyl mercaptan, sodium thiosulfate, ammonium thiosulfate, sodium thiocyanate, ammonium thiocyanate, sodium metabisulfite, or a combination thereof.” [Emphasis added]. Please note that Bennett et al.’s dependent claims 23 clearly meets the limitations of Applicant’s dependent claim 14.
Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 24 reads as followed: “The composition of claim 1, further comprising at least one of an asphaltene inhibitor, a paraffin inhibitor, a scale inhibitor, an emulsifier, a water clarifier, a dispersant, an emulsion breaker, a hydrogen sulfide scavenger, a gas hydrate inhibitor, a biocide, a pH modifier, and a surfactant.”. Please note that Bennett et al.’s dependent claim 24 clearly meets the limitation of Applicant’s dependent claim 15.
Bennett et al.’s dependent claims 27 and 31 are drawn to a method of using the composition of independent claim 1, to dissolve iron sulfide deposits/scales in order to protect metal equipment used in hydrocarbon drilling, transportation, storage and/or refining. Please note that Bennett et al.’s dependent claims 27 and 31 clearly meet the limitations of Applicant’s dependent claims 16-17.
Bennett et al.’s disclosure differ from Applicant’s claimed method only in that there is not a direct disclosure to where the iron sulfide dissolver is selected to be malic acid. Please note that Applicant’s iron sulfide dissolvers, as set forth in independent claim 1, are all either hydroxy diacids, hydroxy triacids, hydroxy tetraacid etc..
The secondary reference to Nguyen et al. has been described above and discloses that certain hydroxy-acids, such as gluconic acid and/or malic acid (or their salts), are highly effective in dissolving iron sulfide deposits/scales in refining desalting operations.
The secondary reference to Sivavec discloses compositions and methods for treating aqueous composition contaminates using dissolved iron sulfide. Sivavec’s method teaches the use of certain compounds such as organic acids (e.g. malic acid) to dissolve iron sulfide, see abstract paragraphs [0014] and [0026].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Nguyen et al.’s disclosure that that certain hydroxy-acids, such as gluconic acid and/or malic acid (or their salts), are highly effective in dissolving iron sulfide deposits/scales in refining desalting operations, as strong motivation to actually use malic acid as the dissolver for iron sulfide, either alone or in combination with other dissolvers (e.g. gluconic acid) in Bennett et al.’s process of dissolving iron sulfide deposits/scales for the purpose of protecting metal equipment used in hydrocarbon drilling, transportation, storage and/or refining. Please note that gluconic acid and its salts are preferred hydroxy-acid dissolvers according to Bennett et al.’s invention. Also note that Nguyen et al. discloses gluconic acid and malic acid as iron sulfide dissolvers. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would have ever more motivation to actually use malic acid as the dissolver for iron sulfide, either alone or in combination with other dissolvers (e.g. gluconic acid). It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely follow the directly disclosure of prior-art references.
In the alternative, it would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Sivavec’s disclosure that that certain acids, such as malic acid, are highly effective in dissolving iron sulfide deposits/scales, as strong motivation to actually use malic acid as the dissolver for iron sulfide in Bennett et al.’s process of dissolving iron sulfide deposits/scales for the purpose of protecting metal equipment used in hydrocarbon drilling, transportation, storage and/or refining. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely follow the directly disclosure of prior-art references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over dependent claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/796,635 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other when malic acid is selected to be the organic acid species.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive to put the application in condition for allowance for the reasons set forth above. Additional examiner comments are set forth next.
The examiner notes applicant’s traversal arguments over the examiner’s rejection made over claims 1-3, 12 and 14-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite. Applicant’s attention is drawn to the examiner’s newly made statement, in the main body of the rejection, of: “If applicant holds that the “aqueous medium” is a part of the larger “aqueous system”, as argued by applicant in their remarks filed 08/11/26, said needs to be made explicitly clear in independent claim 1 so as to avoid unnecessary confusion. One suggested means of doing this is amend the present limitation of: “adding a composition to the aqueous medium,” to --adding a composition to the aqueous mediumwhich is a part of said aqueous system,--.”
Applicant argues: “Nguyen's claim 8 lists malic acid as merely one of many hydroxyacids in a laundry list, including glycolic acid, gluconic acid, citric acid, C2-C4 alpha-hydroxy acids, malic acid, lactic acid, poly-hydroxy carboxylic acids, thioglycolic acid, chloroacetic acid, polymeric forms of the foregoing, poly-glycolic esters, glycolate ethers, and salts and mixtures thereof. Nguyen provides no specific example using malic acid and does not suggest that malic acid would be preferred, or that it would perform differently than any other member of the list. Nguyen's emphasis throughout its specification is on glycolic acid (which is featured in most of the Examples, and identified as the basis for the inventors' discovery; See, e.g., Nguyen at col. 3, 11. 52-56) and gluconic acid (described as a "preferred polymer of glycolic acid"; See Nguyen at col. 4, 11. 64-66), not malic acid. Indeed, Nguyen discloses an embodiment in which the water-soluble hydroxyacids "do not include citric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, mandelic acid, and lactic acid" (emphasis added). See Nguyen at col. 5, 11. 32-34. A POSITA following Nguyen's guidance would have been drawn to glycolic acid and/or gluconic acid, not malic acid, as the preferred hydroxyacid.”
Examiner’s response: Although it is true that malic acid was not used in any of Nguyen et al.’s examples, it held by the examiner that it is incorrect to assert as applicant does, that the choice of using malic acid is not well motivated by Nguyen et al.’s disclosure. Applicant’s attention is drawn to Nguyen et al.’s column 4, lines 50-59, which teaches: “In one preferred, non-limiting embodiment of the invention, the water-soluble hydroxyacid is selected from the group consisting of glycolic acid, C1-C4 alpha-hydroxy acids, poly-hydroxy carboxylic acids, thioglycolic acid, chloroacetic acid, polymeric forms of the above hydroxyacids, glycolate ethers, poly-glycolic esters, and mixtures thereof. While thioglycolic acid and chloroacetic acid are not strictly speaking hydroxyacids, they are functional equivalents thereof. For the purposes of this invention, they are defined as hydroxyacids.”[Emphasis added]. Please note that malic acid is a C4 hydroxyacid and thus falls directly within one of Nguyen et al.’s preferred water-soluble hydroxyacids. This preference for malic acid is also found in the fact that Nguyen et al.’s independent claim 1 and independent claim 8, both directly lists malic acid as one of the water-soluble hydroxyacids being claimed. Furthermore, Applicant’s specific assertion of: “Indeed, Nguyen discloses an embodiment in which the water-soluble hydroxyacids "do not include citric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, mandelic acid, and lactic acid" (emphasis added) is noted, but is deemed to be moot. Applicant’s attention is drawn to Nguyen et al.’s Example 30 and Example 80 wherein lactic acid, a C3 hydroxyacid, is directly used as the water-soluble hydroxyacids. Thus, there is more than ample motivation for one having ordinary skill in the art reading Nguyen et al.’s disclosure to use malic acid as an iron transferring agent.
Applicant further argues the following: “The specification provides experimental data (Table 3, paragraphs [0119]-[0122]) demonstrating that, across three separate aqueous environments, malic acid performs unexpectedly better than gluconic acid (one of the hydroxyacids emphasized in Nguyen). Specifically, in DI water, gluconic acid dissolves 40% of the iron while malic acid achieves 73%; in 3.5% sea salt water, gluconic acid achieves only 10% while malic acid achieves 48%; and in synthetic brine, gluconic acid achieves 48% while malic acid solubilizes all iron. Nothing in Nguyen's generic listing of hydroxyacids would have led a POSITA to predict this significant difference in performance. This data rebuts any prima facie case of obviousness.”.
Examiner’s response. While applicant’s showing is deemed to establish that malic acid has superior performance in dissolving iron sulfide at a concentration of 50 ppm, as compared to gluconic acid and various other hydroxyacids, said showing is NOT probative because it is NOT the closest prior-art showing which is set forth in Nguyen et al.’s examples, all of which use either glycolic acid or lactic acid as the hydroxyacid. It is imperative when conducting a showing to establish superior and unexpected results, that the showing be in comparison to the closest prior-art. Applicant’s said showing wholly fails to do such. In fact, Nguyen et al.’s has NO example wherein gluconic acid is used as the hydroxyacid.
Finally, Applicant’s traversal argument of superior results against the Examiner’s prior-art rejection made over Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 14-17 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2018/0148632 A1 individually in view of Nguyen et al. U.S. Patent Number 9,434,890 or Sivavec U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2001/0042723 A1, is noted but is deemed to be moot because, as explained above, said showing is not probative because it is NOT the closest prior-art showing which is set forth in Nguyen et al.’s examples which all use either glycolic acid or lactic acid as the hydroxyacid. It is imperative when conducting a showing to establish superior and unexpected results, that the showing be in comparison to the closest prior-art. Applicant’s said showing wholly fails to do such. In fact, Nguyen et al.’s has NO example wherein gluconic acid is used as the hydroxyacid.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764