Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 in view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322
Regarding claim 1, Muccini discloses a computing device comprising:
a power supply configured to supply power to the computing device (Fig. 2; power supply unit 130A), the power supply comprising a hardware processor communicatively coupled to a bus, the hardware processor configured to (Fig. 2,6; controller 220A):
detect an electrical power disturbance in the power supply (Fig. 2, 6; controller 220A detects whether PSU is defective or normal through voltage and current measurements ); and
generate an indication, the indication comprising an identifier of the power supply (Fig. 2; ¶[0007],[0060]; indication of PSU 130A being defective out of other power supply units);
communicate by the bus the indication of the electrical power disturbance to a monitoring device (Fig. 2; ¶[0060] “controller 220A indicates that PSU 130A is defective by transmitting a signal to MC 110 via communication bus 134”).
Muccini is silent in the processor is configured to determine a first voltage range and a second voltage range for the power supply; monitor electrical power at an entry line and an exit line of the power supply to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply, wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry voltage is below or above the first voltage range for a preset duration of time and when the exit voltage is below or above the input second voltage range for the preset duration of time.
Cong teaches a processor configured to determine a first voltage range and a second voltage range for the power supply (Fig. 2; MCU 20 with setting module 210 sets an input and output voltage range; See ¶[0013]); monitor electrical power at an entry line and an exit line of the power supply (Fig. 1-3; power supply device 22 input voltage and output voltage monitored), wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry voltage is below or above the first voltage range (¶[0020]; determines whether input voltage is outside of 110V-220V) and when the exit voltage is below or above the input second voltage range (Fig. 1-3; ¶[0020];determines whether output voltage is outside of 10V-12V). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cong into Mussini for the benefit of determining possible faults related to an input voltage disturbance by monitoring the upper and lower thresholds of the voltage.
Mussini as modified is silent in wherein the processor is configured to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply, and monitoring the exit and entry voltage for a preset duration of time. Honda teaches a processor configured to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply (Fig. 1-2; input voltage waveform detector 2 and an output voltage detector 3 stored in memory 11), and monitoring an input and output voltage for a preset duration of time (¶[0012]-[0013]; waveform recorded for a predetermined period) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Honda into Mussini as modified for the benefit of determining a behavior of the power supply device can in order to provide countermeasures.
Regarding claim 3, Muccini is silent in wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry waveform of the entry voltage or the exit waveform of the exit voltage deviates from a steady state waveform for the preset duration of time. Cong teaches detecting a power disturbance of a power supply when the entry voltage or the exit voltage deviates from a steady state (voltages outside of input of output range being non-steady state). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cong into Mussini for the benefit of determining possible faults related to an input voltage disturbance by monitoring the upper and lower thresholds of the voltage.
Honda teaches determining a power disturbance by monitoring an entry waveform of the entry voltage or the exit waveform of the exit voltage deviates for a preset duration of time (Fig. 1-2; ¶[0012], [0013]; input/ output waveforms recorded for a preset time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Honda into Mussini as modified for the benefit of determining a behavior of the power supply device can in order to provide countermeasures.
Regarding claim 8, Muccini discloses a method comprising:
supplying, by a power supply, power to a device (Fig. 2; PSU 130A supplies power to a load);
detecting, by a hardware processor of the power supply, an electrical power disturbance in the power supply (Fig. 2, 6; controller 220A detects whether PSU is defective or normal through voltage and current measurements ) ; and
generating, based on the electrical disturbance, an indication comprising an identifier of the power supply (Fig. 2; ¶[0007],[0060]; indication of PSU 130A being defective out of other power supply units);
communicating, by a bus of the power supply, the indication of the electrical power disturbance to a monitoring device (Fig. 2; ¶[0060] “controller 220A indicates that PSU 130A is defective by transmitting a signal to MC 110 via communication bus 134”).
Muccini is silent in determining by the hardware processor, a first voltage range and a second voltage range for the power supply; monitoring by the hardware processor, electrical power at an entry line and an exit line of the power supply to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply, wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry voltage is below or above the first voltage range for a preset duration of time and when the exit voltage is below or above the input second voltage range for the preset duration of time.
Cong teaches a processor configured to determine a first voltage range and a second voltage range for the power supply (Fig. 2; MCU 20 with setting module 210 sets an input and output voltage range; See ¶[0013]); monitor electrical power at an entry line and an exit line of the power supply (Fig. 1-3; power supply device 22 input voltage and output voltage monitored), wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry voltage is below or above the first voltage range (¶[0020]; determines whether input voltage is outside of 110V-220V) and when the exit voltage is below or above the input second voltage range (Fig. 1-3; ¶[0020];determines whether output voltage is outside of 10V-12V). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cong into Mussini for the benefit of determining possible faults related to an input voltage disturbance by monitoring the upper and lower thresholds of the voltage.
Mussini as modified is silent in wherein the processor is configured to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply, and monitoring the exit and entry voltage for a preset duration of time. Honda teaches a processor configured to produce an entry waveform of an entry voltage and an exit waveform of an exit voltage of the power supply (Fig. 1-2; input voltage waveform detector 2 and an output voltage detector 3 stored in memory 11), and monitoring an input and output voltage for a preset duration of time (¶[0012]-[0013]; waveform recorded for a predetermined period) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Honda into Mussini as modified for the benefit of determining a behavior of the power supply device can in order to provide countermeasures.
Regarding claim 10, Muccini is silent in wherein the electrical power disturbance in the power supply is detected when the entry waveform of the entry voltage or the exit waveform of the exit voltage deviates from a steady state waveform for the preset duration of time. Cong teaches detecting a power disturbance of a power supply when the entry voltage or the exit voltage deviates from a steady state (voltages outside of input of output range being non-steady state). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Cong into Mussini for the benefit of determining possible faults related to an input voltage disturbance by monitoring the upper and lower thresholds of the voltage.
Honda teaches determining a power disturbance by monitoring an entry waveform of the entry voltage or the exit waveform of the exit voltage deviates for a preset duration of time (Fig. 1-2; ¶[0012], [0013]; input/ output waveforms recorded for a preset time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Honda into Mussini as modified for the benefit of determining a behavior of the power supply device can in order to provide countermeasures.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 in view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322 in view of Otani et al., US 20030222506 A1
Regarding claim 4, Muccini is silent in wherein the hardware processor is further configured to record a time of the electrical power disturbance. Otani teaches wherein the hardware processor is further configured to record a time of the electrical power disturbance (¶[0022]; RTC 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Otani into Muccini as modified for the benefit of providing time data of an abnormality so that historical patterns of the power supply can be observed and evaluated.
Regarding claim 5, Muccini is silent in wherein the hardware processor is further configured to set a flag indicating that the electrical power disturbance occurred. Otani teaches wherein the hardware processor is further configured to set a flag indicating that the electrical power disturbance occurred (¶[0023]; Flag F). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Otani into Muccini as modified for the benefit of indicating that abnormality data of the power source is stored in a memory for later retrieval.
Regarding claim 11, Muccini is silent in recording, by the hardware processor, a time of the electrical power disturbance. Otani teaches recording, by a processor, a time of the electrical power disturbance (¶[0022]; RTC 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Otani into Muccini as modified for the benefit of providing time data of an abnormality so that historical patterns of the power supply can be observed and evaluated.
Regarding claim 12, Muccini is silent in setting, by the hardware processor, a flag indicating that the electrical power disturbance occurred. Otani teaches setting a flag indicating that the electrical power disturbance occurred (¶[0023]; Flag F). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Otani into Muccini as modified for the benefit of indicating that abnormality data of the power source is stored in a memory for later retrieval.
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 in view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322 in view of Shih et al., US 20170308139
Regarding claim 6, Muccini is silent wherein the hardware processor is further configured to reboot the power supply in response to determining that the power supply crashed. Shih teaches wherein the hardware processor is further configured to reboot the power supply in response to determining that the power supply crashed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Shih into Muccini as modified for the benefit of operating the power supply when an abnormality is minor and does not require inactivation of the power supply.
Regarding claim 13, Muccini is silent in rebooting, by the hardware processor, the power supply in response to determining that the power supply crashed. Shih teaches rebooting by a hardware processor the power supply in response to determining that the power supply crashed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Shih into Muccini as modified for the benefit of operating the power supply when an abnormality is minor and does not require inactivation of the power supply.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 in view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322 in view of Barford et al, US 20090113183
Regarding claim 7, Muccini is silent wherein the hardware processor is further configured to capture the entry waveform and the exit waveform of the power supply at a preset data rate. Barford teaches wherein the hardware processor is further configured to capture a voltage waveform of the power supply at a preset data rate (¶[0032]; testing method applicable to power supplies; voltage waveform capture based on a sampling rate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Barford into Muccini as modified for the benefit of analyzing a voltage data of a device so that abnormalities can be detected over time.
Regarding claim 14, Muccini is silent in further comprising capturing, by the hardware processor, the entry waveform and the exit waveform of the power supply at a preset data rate. Barford teaches capturing by a processor a voltage waveform of the power supply at a preset data rate (¶[0032]; testing method applicable to power supplies; voltage waveform capture based on a sampling rate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Barford into Muccini as modified for the benefit of analyzing a voltage data of a device so that abnormalities can be detected over time.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 in view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322in view of Otani et al., US 20030222506 in view of Ives, US 20060168191
Regarding claim 15, Muccini as modified discloses the computing device of claim 4 but is silent in wherein the monitoring device generates a map of a location of the computing device or the power supply based on the indication and the time of the electrical power disturbance. Ives teaches wherein a monitoring device generates a map of a location of the computing device or the power supply based on the indication and the time of the electrical power disturbance (¶[0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Ives into Muccini as modified for the benefit of providing a map so that the fault can be remedied quickly.
Regarding claim 16, Muccini as modified discloses the computing device of claim 15, but is silent in wherein the computing device is one of a plurality of computing devices and the indication is one of a plurality of indications, and wherein the monitoring device determines if the electrical power disturbance is a utility event or a hardware event based on locations of each of the plurality of computing devices in the plurality of indications and a region of the locations of the plurality of indications. Ives teaches wherein the computing device is one of a plurality of computing devices and the indication is one of a plurality of indications, and wherein the monitoring device determines if the electrical power disturbance is a utility event or a hardware event based on locations of each of the plurality of computing devices in the plurality of indications and an amount of the plurality of indications (¶[0023] – [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Ives into Muccini as modified for the benefit of determining a type of fault so that the fault can be remedied quickly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muccini et al., US 20170123445 n view of Cong, US 20120324269 in view of Honda et al., JP H0973322 in view of Ives, US 20060168191in view of Graul, US 20210037035
Regarding claim 17, Muccini as modified discloses the computing device of claim 16, but is silent in wherein the monitoring device determines a suitable remedy for the electrical power disturbance based on if the electrical power disturbance is a utility event or a hardware event. Graul teaches wherein the monitoring device determines a suitable remedy for the electrical power disturbance based on if the electrical power disturbance is a utility event or a hardware event (¶[0002]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Graul into Muccini as modified for the benefit of providing a type of fault so that a quick recovery to system and components can be made.
Conclusion
/FEBA POTHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858