DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on December 29, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no search and/or examination burden exists and the method of claims 18-20 cannot be practiced by another and materially different apparatus than that described in claims 1-17. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the restriction requirement, inventions I and II are classified in different areas and would require distinct searches in order to find each individual invention. Furthermore, as set forth in the restriction requirement, the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus, such as one including a pusher device.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 29, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2023, 12/11/2023, 4/15/2024, 12/26/2024, 5/19/2025, and 1/29/2026 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The Applicant is reminded to carefully review the drawing figures and the accompanying specification to ensure that all reference numerals present in the drawing figures are defined within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077). Regarding claim 1, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); and(b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising:(i) at least one deformation section 410 disposed longitudinally through the electrode body such that the at least one deformation section is parallel with a longitudinal axis of the lead body (“ the front surface or face 231 of paddle structure 230 includes lengthwise or longitudinal score lines 410 that extend between ends 250 and 252 from edge to edge”, paragraph [0031]); and(ii) at least two contacts 222 disposed on the electrode body (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, Feler discloses that the at least two contacts comprises at least twelve contacts (see Figure 4, which shows 25 contacts).
Regarding claim 3, Feler discloses that the at least one deformation section comprises at least two deformation sections (see Figure 4, which shows 4 longitudinal score lines).
Regarding claim 4, Feler discloses that the at least one deformation section comprises three deformation sections (see Figure 4, which shows 4 longitudinal score lines).
Regarding claim 5, Feler discloses that the thin film electrode body comprises a distal flap disposed at a distal end of the thin film electrode body (the broadest reasonable interpretation for a “flap” is a broad or flat structure, usually thin and flexible that hangs loose or projects freely, which is satisfied by the distalmost portion of the thin film electrode body shown in Figure 4 and reproduced below).
Regarding claim 6, Feler discloses at least one distal deformation section comprising a first end disposed at a distal end of the at least one deformation section and a second end disposed at a side of the electrode body (see annotated Figure 4 below, where it is respectfully submitted that the claimed “deformation section” is merely a section that can deform and, thus, the section of the score line 410 illustrated in bold below and showing the distal end).
Regarding claim 8, Feler discloses that the flap is moveable between a flat configuration and a pocket configuration (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a pocket configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 9, Feler discloses that the flap is moveable between a flat configuration and a collar configuration (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a collar configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 10, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); and (b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising:(i) at least two deformation sections 410 disposed longitudinally through the electrode body (see Figure 4);(ii) at least one first contact 222 disposed between a first outer edge of the electrode body and a first of the at least two deformation sections (see Figure 4); (iii) at least one second contact 222 disposed between the first and a second of the at least two deformation sections (see Figure 4); and (iv) at least one third contact disposed between the second of the at least two deformation sections and a second outer edge of the electrode body, wherein the first and second outer edges are moveable in relation to each other via the at least two deformation sections such that the electrode body is laterally conformable to a shape of a target spinal cord (“the front surface or face 231 of paddle structure 230 includes lengthwise or longitudinal score lines 410 that extend between ends 250 and 252 from edge to edge”, paragraph [0031] and “The score lines increase the flexibility of the paddle in both the length and width directions which facilitate the implantation of the paddle within the epidural space of the spinal cord, and further permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.”, Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Feler discloses at least one pair of notches defined in the first and second sides of the electrode body, whereby the electrode body has increased lateral and longitudinal flexibility (score lines 410 and 412 shown in Figure 4 are notches defined in the first and second sides of the electrode body and give increased lateral and longitudinal flexibility).
Regarding claim 12, Feler discloses that the first and second outer edges are rotatable around a longitudinal axis of the electrode body (“The score lines of paddle portion facilitate the bending or shaping of paddle portion 230 to match the posterior shape of the epidural space.”, paragraph [0042], which is respectfully submitted to be a disclosure that the first and second outer edges are capable of rotation around a longitudinal axis of the electrode body).
Regarding claim 13, Feler discloses that the thin film electrode body comprises a distal flap disposed at a distal end of the thin film electrode body (the broadest reasonable interpretation for a “flap” is a broad or flat structure, usually thin and flexible that hangs loose or projects freely, which is satisfied by the distalmost portion of the thin film electrode body shown in annotated Figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 14, Feler discloses that the flap is moveable between a flat configuration and a pocket configuration or a collar configuration (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a pocket or collar configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 15, Feler discloses a spinal cord stimulation device (Abstract) comprising:(a) an elongate thin film lead body 244 (see Figure 4); (b) a thin film electrode body 230 disposed at one end of the elongate thin film lead body (see Figure 4), the thin film electrode body comprising:(i) at least three deformation sections 410 disposed longitudinally through the electrode body such that each of the at least three deformation sections is parallel with a longitudinal axis of the lead body (see annotated Figure 4 below); (ii) at least two contacts 222 disposed on the electrode body; and (iii) first and second outer edges moveable in relation to each other via the at least three deformation sections such that the electrode body is laterally conformable to a shape of a target spinal cord (“the front surface or face 231 of paddle structure 230 includes lengthwise or longitudinal score lines 410 that extend between ends 250 and 252 from edge to edge”, paragraph [0031] and “The score lines increase the flexibility of the paddle in both the length and width directions which facilitate the implantation of the paddle within the epidural space of the spinal cord, and further permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.”, Abstract); and(c) a distal flap disposed at a distal end of the thin film electrode body (the broadest reasonable interpretation for a “flap” is a broad or flat structure, usually thin and flexible that hangs loose or projects freely, which is satisfied by the distalmost portion of the thin film electrode body shown in annotated Figure 4 below), wherein the flap is movable between a flat configuration and a pocket configuration or a collar configuration body (it is respectfully submitted that the flap is capable of being moved and manipulated into a pocket or collar configuration based on the score lines and flexibility).
Regarding claim 16, Feler discloses at least one distal deformation section comprising a first end disposed at a distal end of one of the at least three deformation sections and a second end disposed at one of the first and second outer edges (see annotated Figure 4 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above). Feler discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but fails to disclose that the second end of the at least one distal deformation section is disposed between the distal flap and the distal end of the thin film electrode body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the second end of the at least one distal deformation section between the distal flap and the distal end of the thin film electrode body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/455,258 in view of Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above). Claim 1 of the copending application provides the invention claimed in claims 1, 10, and 15 of the present application except for the claimed at least one (claim 1), at least two (claim 10), and at least three (claim 15) deformation sections. Feler teaches a spinal cord stimulation device including at least three deformation sections 410 (see Figure 4) that serve the purpose of allowing greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and “permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application to include at least one, at least two, and at least three deformation sections, as taught by Feler, in order to allow greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and permit the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/796,426 in view of Feler (U.S. 2013/0238077, cited above). Claim 1 of the copending application provides the invention claimed in claims 1, 10, and 15 of the present application except for the claimed at least one (claim 1), at least two (claim 10), and at least three (claim 15) deformation sections. Feler teaches a spinal cord stimulation device including at least three deformation sections 410 (see Figure 4) that serve the purpose of allowing greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and “permits the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of the copending application to include at least one, at least two, and at least three deformation sections, as taught by Feler, in order to allow greater flexibility to the spinal cord stimulation device and permit the paddle to conform more uniformly to the target area of implantation to minimize the gap between the electrodes and targeted fibers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796