DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see P. 8-9, filed 10/09/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19 & 20 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1-20 is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied references. However, on P. 8 Applicant argued in part that “Xiao does not disclose a first arm of the at least two dipole arms electrically connected to a first end of the loop antenna, and a second arm of the at least two dipole arms electrically connected to a second end of the loop antenna…”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the rejection below and implied from Xiao et al. Par. 0098, 0102 & 0103 (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, in other words, the first antenna 11 includes the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, and the dipole antenna is connected to the loop antenna” Par. 0098, “The dipole antenna 112 and the loop antenna 113 are connected at a feedpoint” Par. 0102, “The feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11 is located in a common part of the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112, and the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 share the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11. In other words, both the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 are fed through the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11” Par. 0103 Fig. 2), it is clear that the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 of Xiao et al. are electrically connected together as they are electrically connected through the feed 115 and they are combined to form the first antenna 11 seen in Fig. 2. Applicant's representative is invited to telephone the examiner for any clarification of any matter in this case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0359407 and Chiang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0214741.
Regarding Claim 1, Xiao et al. teaches a system (Figs. 1, 2, 6a) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein a first arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a first end of the loop antenna, and a second arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a second end of the loop antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, in other words, the first antenna 11 includes the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, and the dipole antenna is connected to the loop antenna” Par. 0098, “The dipole antenna 112 and the loop antenna 113 are connected at a feedpoint” Par. 0102, “The feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11 is located in a common part of the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112, and the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 share the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11. In other words, both the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 are fed through the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11” Par. 0103 Fig. 2),
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104) for the dipole antenna.
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end.
However, Chiang et al. teaches the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
In this particular case, providing the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end is implied with a rectangular shape (Chiang et al. Figs. 2, 3) of the loop antenna compared to circular (Chiang et al. Fig. 4) which is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Chiang et al. based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation (Par. 0027-0029).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the loop antenna of Xiao et al. to be a rectangle shape in which the first arm is disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm is disposed in parallel with the second end based on the teachings of Chiang et al. in order to configure the loop antenna based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 2, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102).
Regarding Claim 3, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable using at least one tuner (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130) that is electrically connected thereto.
Regarding Claim 4, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable between 5-7 GHz (2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102, 0141-0145).
Regarding Claim 5, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a two-dimensional plane (Figs. 2, 6a / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length (Figs. 2, 6a / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a three-dimensional plane (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length (Fig. 2), and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length (Fig. 2 / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the dipole arms extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length.
However, Chiang et al. teaches at least a portion of the dipole arms (2101, 2102 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039) extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length (220 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039).
In this particular case, arranging at least a portion of the dipole arms to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length is common and well known in the art as evident by Chiang et al. in order to improve antenna gain and return loss (Par. 0043).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange at least a portion of the dipole arms of Xiao et al. to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length based on the teachings of Chiang et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna gain and return loss.
Regarding Claim 9, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the portion of the dipole arms that is bent along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length overlaps with at least a portion of the loop antenna (arms 1121, 1122 overlap part of loop antenna 113 as seen in at least Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Xiao et al. teaches a mobile electronic device (Figs. 1, 2, 6a Par. 0212) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein a first arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a first end of the loop antenna, and a second arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a second end of the loop antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, in other words, the first antenna 11 includes the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, and the dipole antenna is connected to the loop antenna” Par. 0098, “The dipole antenna 112 and the loop antenna 113 are connected at a feedpoint” Par. 0102, “The feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11 is located in a common part of the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112, and the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 share the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11. In other words, both the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 are fed through the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11” Par. 0103 Fig. 2), and
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104) for the dipole antenna.
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end.
However, Chiang et al. teaches the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
In this particular case, providing the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end is implied with a rectangular shape (Chiang et al. Figs. 2, 3) of the loop antenna compared to circular (Chiang et al. Fig. 4) which is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Chiang et al. based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation (Par. 0027-0029).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the loop antenna of Xiao et al. to be a rectangle shape in which the first arm is disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm is disposed in parallel with the second end based on the teachings of Chiang et al. in order to configure the loop antenna based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 11, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102).
Regarding Claim 12, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable using at least one tuner (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130) that is electrically connected thereto.
Regarding Claim 13, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable between 5-7 GHz (2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102, 0141-0145).
Regarding Claim 14, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a two-dimensional plane (Figs. 2, 6a / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length (Figs. 2, 6a / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a three-dimensional plane (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length (Fig. 2), and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length (Fig. 2 / Chiang et al. Fig. 2).
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the dipole arms extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length.
However, Chiang et al. teaches at least a portion of the dipole arms (2101, 2102 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039) extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length (220 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039).
In this particular case, arranging at least a portion of the dipole arms to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length is common and well known in the art as evident by Chiang et al. in order to improve antenna gain and return loss (Par. 0043).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange at least a portion of the dipole arms of Xiao et al. to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length based on the teachings of Chiang et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna gain and return loss.
Regarding Claim 18, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the portion of the dipole arms that is bent along a side of the loop antenna for a different specified length overlaps with at least a portion of the loop antenna (arms 1121, 1122 overlap part of loop antenna 113 as seen in at least Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Xiao et al. teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1, 2, 6a) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein a first arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a first end of the loop antenna, and a second arm of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to a second end of the loop antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, in other words, the first antenna 11 includes the dipole antenna and the loop antenna, and the dipole antenna is connected to the loop antenna” Par. 0098, “The dipole antenna 112 and the loop antenna 113 are connected at a feedpoint” Par. 0102, “The feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11 is located in a common part of the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112, and the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 share the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11. In other words, both the loop antenna 113 and the dipole antenna 112 are fed through the feedpoint 115 of the first antenna 11” Par. 0103 Fig. 2), and
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun for the dipole antenna (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104).
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end.
However, Chiang et al. teaches the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
In this particular case, providing the first arm disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm disposed in parallel with the second end is implied with a rectangular shape (Chiang et al. Figs. 2, 3) of the loop antenna compared to circular (Chiang et al. Fig. 4) which is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Chiang et al. based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation (Par. 0027-0029).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the loop antenna of Xiao et al. to be a rectangle shape in which the first arm is disposed in parallel with the first end and the second arm is disposed in parallel with the second end based on the teachings of Chiang et al. in order to configure the loop antenna based on the required length of the loop antenna which corresponds to the frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 20, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102) that is tunable using at least one tuner that is electrically connected thereto (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845