DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claims 10 & 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 10 & 19. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claims 2-9 be found allowable, claims 11-18, respectively, will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 2-9 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 11-18, respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 20 be found allowable, claims 3 & 12, respectively, will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 3 & 12, respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0359407.
Regarding Claim 1, Xiao et al. teaches a system (Figs. 1, 2, 6a) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein each of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to the loop antenna (connected at feed point 115 Par. 0102, and through 16 Fig. 2), and
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104) for the dipole antenna.
Regarding Claim 2, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102).
Regarding Claim 3, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable using at least one tuner (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130) that is electrically connected thereto.
Regarding Claim 4, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable between 5-7 GHz (2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102, 0141-0145).
Regarding Claim 5, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a two-dimensional plane (Figs. 2, 6a).
Regarding Claim 6, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends toward the loop antenna for a different specified length (Figs. 2, 6a).
Regarding Claim 7, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a three-dimensional plane (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Xiao et al. teaches a mobile electronic device (Figs. 1, 2, 6a Par. 0212) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein each of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to the loop antenna (connected at feed point 115 Par. 0102, and through 16 Fig. 2), and
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104) for the dipole antenna.
Regarding Claim 11, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102).
Regarding Claim 12, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable using at least one tuner (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130) that is electrically connected thereto.
Regarding Claim 13, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna is tunable between 5-7 GHz (2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102, 0141-0145).
Regarding Claim 14, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a two-dimensional plane (Figs. 2, 6a).
Regarding Claim 15, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends toward the loop antenna for a different specified length (Figs. 2, 6a).
Regarding Claim 16, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are electrically connected to the loop antenna along a three-dimensional plane (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Xiao et al. teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1, 2, 6a) comprising:
a loop antenna (113 Fig. 2 Par. 0100); and
a dipole antenna (112 Fig. 2 Par. 0100) that includes at least two dipole arms (1121, 1122 Fig. 2 Par. 0100),
wherein each of the at least two dipole arms is electrically connected to the loop antenna (connected at feed point 115 Par. 0102, and through 16 Fig. 2), and
wherein the loop antenna comprises a balun for the dipole antenna (116 Fig. 2 Par. 0104).
Regarding Claim 20, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the electrical connection between the loop antenna and the at least two arms of the dipole antenna create a combined loop-dipole, dual-wideband antenna (“the first antenna 11 is a combination of the dipole antenna and the loop antenna” Par. 0098, wideband 2GHz-7GHz Par. 0102) that is tunable using at least one tuner that is electrically connected thereto (111 Fig. 6a Par. 0130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0359407 and Chiang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2019/0214741.
Regarding Claim 8, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length (Fig. 2), and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends back toward the loop antenna for a different specified length (Fig. 2).
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the dipole arms extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length.
However, Chiang et al. teaches at least a portion of the dipole arms (2101, 2102 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039) extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length (220 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039).
In this particular case, arranging at least a portion of the dipole arms to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length is common and well known in the art as evident by Chiang et al. in order to improve antenna gain and return loss (Par. 0043).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange at least a portion of the dipole arms of Xiao et al. to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length based on the teachings of Chiang et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna gain and return loss.
Regarding Claim 9, Xiao et al. as modified teaches wherein the portion of the dipole arms that is bent back toward the loop antenna for a different specified length overlaps at least a portion of the loop antenna (arms 1121, 1122 overlap part of loop antenna 113 as seen in at least Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the at least two dipole arms of the dipole antenna are shaped such that at least a portion of the dipole arms extends away from the loop antenna over a specified length (Fig. 2), and such that at least a portion of the dipole arms bends back toward the loop antenna for a different specified length (Fig. 2).
Xiao et al. does not explicitly teach at least a portion of the dipole arms extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length.
However, Chiang et al. teaches at least a portion of the dipole arms (2101, 2102 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039) extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length (220 Figs. 9-11 Par. 0039).
In this particular case, arranging at least a portion of the dipole arms to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length is common and well known in the art as evident by Chiang et al. in order to improve antenna gain and return loss (Par. 0043).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange at least a portion of the dipole arms of Xiao et al. to extends orthogonally along a z-axis away from the loop antenna over a different specified length based on the teachings of Chiang et al. as a result effect in order to improve antenna gain and return loss.
Regarding Claim 18, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the portion of the dipole arms that is bent back toward the loop antenna for a different specified length overlaps at least a portion of the loop antenna (arms 1121, 1122 overlap part of loop antenna 113 as seen in at least Fig. 2).
Conclusion
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845