DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
This Office Action is in response to an amendment received 5/9/2026 in which Applicant lists claims 2, 6-12, 14-15, 18-19 as being original, and claims 1, 3-5, 13, 16-17, 20 as being currently amended. It is interpreted by the examiner that claims 1-20 are pending.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, they are reminded of their duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 5/10/2026 was considered.
Drawings
The amendments were received on 5/9/2026. These amendments are accepted. The objections to the drawings cited in the office action mailed 2/17/2026 are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments to the claims dated 5/9/2026 are accepted. The rejections of the claims made under 35 USC 112(b) and cited in the office action mailed 2/17/2026 are hereby withdrawn.
Double Patenting
The amendments to the claims dated 5/9/2026 are accepted. The double patenting rejections set forth in the office action mailed 2/17/2026 are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s remarks on page 13 regarding Park et al. (US 2019/0094565 A1) not disclosing the amended limitations regarding the guide element are not persuasive and are respectfully traversed. The guide element has not been limited or defined in any way be claim 1, and therefore it is interpreted that at least elements 144 and 1314 of Park disclose the guide element. Additionally, Kim et al. (US 2016/0048033 A1) is newly cited for anticipating at least claims 1, 2, 5 and 6. Further, Park (US 2024/0231120 A1, of record) is set forth below as an example of art which discloses the limitations of at least claim 1 and 2 when claim 1 doesn’t include all of the limitations of claims 2 and 5. Finally, Ushioda (US 2019/0196137 A1) is set forth below as an example of art which discloses the limitations of claim 1 when claim 1 doesn’t include all of the limitations of claims 2 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0094565 A1, of record (hereafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a lens device (see at least element 100 in figures 1-12; and/or see at least figures 18-23), comprising:
a base (see at least element 210 in figures 1-12; and/or see at least element 1410 in figures 18-23);
a lens module comprising an optical axis extended in a first direction (see at least paras. [0056] and [0340]);
a first carrier disposed on the base to carry the lens module (see at least element 110 in figures 1-12; and/or see at least element 1210 in figures 18-23);
a second carrier disposed on the base to carry the first carrier (see at least element 140 in figures 1-12; and/or see at least element 1310 in figures 18-23);
a resilient element which is flexible and connects the second carrier and the base (see at least element 220 in figures 1-12; and/or see at least element 1630 in figures 18-23);
a guide element disposed between a first groove and a second groove and extend in the first direction (see at least element 144 in figure 2 which is between first and second grooves formed by 150-2 and 150-5, or 150-4 and 150-5 shown in figures 2, 9 and 11; and/or see at least element 1340 which is between first and second grooves formed by 1611, 1613 and 1615 shown in figures 22-23);
wherein the first carrier is movable with respect to the second carrier in the first direction (see at least paras. [0060], [0074], [0340]-[0341]);
wherein the second carrier carrying the first carrier is movable with respect to the base in a second direction and a third direction (see at least paras. [0051], [0175], [0245]-[0247], [0356], [0381], [0388]);
wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction and the third direction (see at least paras. [0051], [0175], [0245]-[0247], [0356], [0381], [0388]).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, including a flat resilient element configured to constantly apply a resilient force to the first carrier in the first direction towards a photographed object (see at least elements 110, 150, 151, 153, 150-1 through 150-4, 152a, 152b, 150a, 150b, paras. [0177]-[0196]; and/or element 1610, paras. [0341], [0345], [0356], [0391]).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the flat resilient element comprises a pressing portion (see at least element 151; and/or 1612) and a fixed portion (see at least elements 150-1 through 150-6, 152a, 152b; and/or elements 160-1 through 160-4 and 162-1 through 162-4; and/or 1611) connected to each other (see at least element 153, paras. [0184]-[0185]; and/or element 1614, paras. [0391]-[0393]), the fixed portion is connected to the second carrier, the base or the resilient element (see at least paras. [0142], [0144], [0183], [0192], [0194]-[0196]; and/or element 1313 and para. [0361]), and the pressing portion is connected to the first carrier (see at least para. [0186]; and/or element 1213, para. [0345]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the limitations of claim 10, wherein the pressing portions are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis of the lens module (see at least elements 151 in figure 11; and/or elements 1612 in figure 21).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the limitations of claim 10, including a connecting element which connects the flat resilient element and the second carrier (see at least elements 152a, 152b, 140, para. [0192]; and/or 1612);
wherein the connecting element is extended in a plane perpendicular to the first direction (see at least figure 11, a plane perpendicular to the z-axis (first direction); and/or figure 20);
wherein the connecting element is connected to the fixed portion of the flat resilient element (see at least connecting elements 152a, 152b which are connected to fixed portions 160-1 through 160-4 and 162-1 through 162-4 through bends 165, 154, paras. [0198]-[0214]; and/or see elements 1611 and 1614).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the first carrier comprises an end surface disposed distant from the base, and the end surface defines a positioning groove to receive the flat resilient element (see at least elements 150, 153, 110, 111a, para. [0065]).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the flat resilient element is connected to four corners of the base, extended in the second direction and in the third direction, and connected to a top of the second carrier (see at least paras. [0144], [0195], [0361], [0399]).
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10-12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0048033 A1 (hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a lens device, comprising:
a base (see at least element 210);
a lens module comprising an optical axis extended in a first direction (see at least para. [0063]);
a first carrier disposed on the base to carry the lens module (see at least element 110, para. [0063]);
a second carrier disposed on the base to carry the first carrier (see at least element 140, para. [0063]);
a resilient element which is flexible and connects the second carrier and the base (see at least element 220, paras. [0146], [0220]);
a guide element disposed between a first groove and a second groove and extend in the first direction (see at least element 111, extending in the first direction (z-axis) and between the first groove formed in the outside of first carrier 110, para. [0071], and the second groove 146-1 formed in second carrier 140, para. [0074]);
wherein the first carrier is movable with respect to the second carrier in the first direction (see at least paras. [0063]-[0065]);
wherein the second carrier carrying the first carrier is movable with respect to the base in a second direction and a third direction (see at least paras. [0141], [0204], [0226], [0231]);
wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction and the third direction (see at least paras. [0141], [0204], [0226], [0231]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 1, including a flat resilient element configured to constantly apply a resilient force to the first carrier in the first direction towards a photographed object (see at least element 150, para. [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the first groove is formed on an outer surface of the first carrier (see at least elements 111 and 110); the second groove is formed on an inner surface of the second carrier corresponding to the first groove (see at least elements 146-1 and 140); the guide element is further disposed in the first groove and the second groove (see at least paras. [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 5, including wherein the second groove is L-shaped (see at least element 146-1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the flat resilient element comprises a pressing portion and a fixed portion connected to each other, the fixed portion is connected to the second carrier, the base or the resilient element, and the pressing portion is connected to the first carrier (see at least elements 152a, 144, 152, 151a, 113, 151, 153, paras. [0088], [0102], [0125]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 10, wherein the pressing portions are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis of the lens module (see at least figure 9).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 10, including a connecting element which connects the flat resilient element and the second carrier (see at least elements 152a, 152, para. [0125]);
wherein the connecting element is extended in a plane perpendicular to the first direction (see at least figure 9);
wherein the connecting element is connected to the fixed portion of the flat resilient element (see at least connecting elements 152a, 152, 153, 151, 151a).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the first carrier comprises an end surface disposed distant from the base, and the end surface defines a positioning groove to receive the flat resilient element (see at least elements 150, 151a, 110, 113).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the limitations of claim 5, including wherein the flat resilient element and the guide element are assembled or combined (see at least elements 111 and 146-1 which are assembled with and between elements 151 and 153).
Claims 1-2, 10-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0231120 A1, of record (hereafter Park’2024).
Regarding claim 1, Park’2024 discloses a lens device, comprising:
a base (see at least element 250);
a lens module comprising an optical axis extended in a first direction (see at least para. [0109]);
a first carrier disposed on the base to carry the lens module (see at least element 110, para. [0109]);
a second carrier disposed on the base to carry the first carrier (see at least element 140, para. [0105]);
a resilient element which is flexible and connects the second carrier and the base (see at least element 220, paras. [0105], [0206], [0265]-[0266]);
a guide element disposed between a first groove and a second groove and extend in the first direction (see at least element 180 between groove 116A and groove 135a);
wherein the first carrier is movable with respect to the second carrier in the first direction (see at least para. [0107]);
wherein the second carrier carrying the first carrier is movable with respect to the base in a second direction and a third direction (see at least paras. [0099], [0105]);
wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction and the third direction (see at least paras. [0099], [0105]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 2, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 1, including a flat resilient element configured to constantly apply a resilient force to the first carrier in the first direction towards a photographed object (see at least element 150, para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 10, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the flat resilient element comprises a pressing portion and a fixed portion connected to each other, the fixed portion is connected to the second carrier, the base or the resilient element, and the pressing portion is connected to the first carrier (see at least elements 152a, 143, 140, 151a, 150, 113, 110 paras. [0215], [0270]).
Regarding claim 11, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 10, wherein the pressing portions are symmetrically arranged with respect to the optical axis of the lens module (see at least figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 10, including a connecting element which connects the flat resilient element and the second carrier (see at least elements 152a, 143, 140, 510 paras. [0215], [0270]);
wherein the connecting element is extended in a plane perpendicular to the first direction (see at least figure 5);
wherein the connecting element is connected to the fixed portion of the flat resilient element (see at least elements 152, 510 paras. [0215], [0270]).
Regarding claim 12, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the first carrier comprises an end surface disposed distant from the base, and the end surface defines a positioning groove to receive the flat resilient element (see at least figure 3A, the areas surrounding elements 113, para. [0126]).
Regarding claim 13, Park’2024 discloses the limitations of claim 2, including wherein the flat resilient element is connected to four corners of the base, extended in the second direction and in the third direction, and connected to a top of the second carrier (see at least elements 150, 250, 220, 220-1 through 220-4, 152a, 140, 143, paras. [0105], [0206], [0215], [0265]-[0266]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ushioda, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0196137 A1 (hereafter Ushioda).
Regarding claim 1, Ushioda discloses a lens device, comprising:
a base (see at least element 106);
a lens module comprising an optical axis extended in a first direction (see at least element 102, para. [0159]);
a first carrier disposed on the base to carry the lens module (see at least element 103, para. [0159]);
a second carrier disposed on the base to carry the first carrier (see at least element 104, para. [0159]);
a resilient element which is flexible and connects the second carrier and the base (see at least element 179, para. [0177]);
a guide element disposed between a first groove and a second groove and extend in the first direction (see at least element 176 and/or 177 and/or 178);
wherein the first carrier is movable with respect to the second carrier in the first direction (see at least figure 19, element 103, para. [0159]);
wherein the second carrier carrying the first carrier is movable with respect to the base in a second direction and a third direction (see at least figure 19, element 104, para. [0160]);
wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction and the third direction (see at least figure 19, elements X, Y, Z).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 3 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the prior art and cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest a lens device wherein the first carrier driving device comprises a first flexible printed circuit board, a first carrier driving coil and a first carrier driving magnet; wherein the first flexible printed circuit board is disposed to surround an outer circumferential wall of the first carrier; wherein the first carrier driving coil is disposed on one of the first carrier and the second carrier and is electrically connected to the first flexible printed circuit board for receiving a drive current from the first flexible printed circuit board so that the first carrier driving device can drive the first carrier to move in the first direction, as generally set forth in claim 3, the device including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 17-20 depend from claim 3 and therefore are allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 3.
Claim 16 is allowable over the cited art of record for at least the reason that the prior art and cited art of record fails to teach or reasonably suggest a lens device wherein the base comprises a main portion and two lateral portions connected to both sides of the main portion; wherein the main portion defines a light hole; wherein the second flexible printed circuit board is disposed to cover over the base and defines an opening corresponding to the light hole; wherein the base further comprises a plurality of electrical terminals electrically connected to the second flexible printed circuit board; wherein the first carrier driving coil is externally fixed to the first side wall and the second side wall; wherein the first carrier driving magnet is internally fixed to the first wall and the second wall and is disposed corresponding to the first carrier driving coil; wherein the second carrier driving device comprises two groups of second carrier driving magnets, one group is disposed on the first wall and/or the second wall, below the first carrier driving magnet and corresponding to the second carrier driving coil, and the other group is disposed on the third wall and/or the fourth wall and corresponding to the second carrier driving coil, as generally set forth in claim 16, the device including the totality of the particular limitations recited in claim 16.
Claims 7-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/20/2026
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872