DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 6-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 12-14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calidas et al. (US 2022/0058476 A1), in further view of Nguyen et al. (US 2020/0098422 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Calidas teaches a graphics processor (Fig. 2 GPU 205; [0053] As further shown in FIG. 2, GPU 205 includes the one or more shader units 210) comprising:
a programmable execution unit operable to execute programs to perform graphics processing operations ([0024] As used herein, the term “shader” refers to a program configured to execute on a GPU; [0053] As further shown in FIG. 2, GPU 205 includes the one or more shader units 210; [0046] programmable shader; [0054] In a typical operation, GPU 205 may designate the one or more shader units 210 to perform a variety of shading operations such as vertex shading, hull shading, domain shading, geometry shading, pixel shading, and the like by sending commands to shader units 210 to execute one or more of a vertex shader stage, a hull shader stage, a domain shader stage, a geometry shader stage, and a pixel shader stage in graphics processing pipeline 107.); and
a machine learning processing circuit operable to perform processing operations for machine learning processing tasks ([0054] For an ML operation, the GPU 205 may similarly designate the one or more shader units 210 to perform one or more ML operations using shaders. Example ML operations include: convolution, batch normalization, pooling, concatenation, fully connected, softmax, reshape, permute, LSTM, GRU, depthwise separable convolution, transpose convolution, and depth to space.) and in communication with the programmable execution unit internally to the graphics processor, the graphics processor configured such that machine learning processing tasks can be performed by the programmable execution unit, the machine learning processing circuit, or a combination of both ([0025] another sequence may use a first conversion shader to change the input data type, a core shader to perform the ML operation, and a second conversion shader to change an output type.; [0054] In some implementations, each ML operation may be implemented with a specific shader or a sequence of more general purpose shaders. The GPU 205 may send commands to the shader units 210 to execute a sequence of shaders for the ML operation.; [0051] Moreover, GPU 205 may include internal memory 240 (e.g., corresponding to internal memory 121 of FIG. 1), such that GPU 205 may read data from and write data to directly to internal memory 240 without using a bus. In other words, GPU 205 may process data locally using a local storage, instead of off-chip memory. This configuration will enable GPU 205 to operate in a more efficient manner by eliminating the need of GPU 205 to read and write data via a bus, which may experience heavy bus traffic. all shaders are internal to the GPU 205).
Calidas does not explicitly teach wherein the machine learning processing circuit comprises one or more multiply-and-accumulate circuits.
However, Nguyen teaches wherein the machine learning processing circuit comprises one or more multiply-and-accumulate circuits ([0026] ML processors contain a large array of multiply-accumulate (MAC) units).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of MAC units in ML processors as taught by Nguyen with the teachings ML processors/GPU shader cores of Calidas to allow for parallel execution and achieve high throughput.
Regarding claim 2, Calidas teaches being configured such that, when the execution unit is executing a program including an instruction that relates to a set of machine learning operations to be performed by the machine learning processing circuit:
in response to the execution unit executing the instruction, the programmable execution unit is caused to message the machine learning processing circuit to cause the machine learning processing circuit to perform the set of machine learning processing operations ([0024] A group of interdependent shaders may be referred to as a sequence of shaders. A sequence of shaders may include one or more shaders. [0025] use a first conversion shader to change the input data type, a core shader to perform the ML operation, and a second conversion shader to change an output type.; [0057] In some implementations, the shaders 362, 364, 366 each may be an OpenCL shader, but in other implementations may be provided by a different library. In the illustrated example, shader 362 may perform a pre-processing operation to convert an input into a format for shader 364. The shader 364 may be a core shader configured to perform a core operation. The shader 366 may convert the output of the shader 364 to an output form for the ML operation 350.; [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Calidas teaches wherein the machine learning processing circuit is configured to return a result of its processing to the execution unit for further processing ([0024] A group of interdependent shaders may be referred to as a sequence of shaders. A sequence of shaders may include one or more shaders. [0025] use a first conversion shader to change the input data type, a core shader to perform the ML operation, and a second conversion shader to change an output type).
Regarding claim 4, Calidas teaches wherein the machine learning processing circuit, when performing a machine learning processing task, is operable to cause the execution unit to perform one or more processing operations for the machine learning processing task being performed by the machine learning processing circuit ([0054] In some implementations, each ML operation may be implemented with a specific shader or a sequence of more general purpose shaders).
Regarding claim 7, Calidas teaches wherein the graphics processor includes a cache system for transferring data to and from an external memory, and wherein the machine learning processing circuit has access to the graphics processor's cache system ([0038] Memory external to the processing unit 120 and the content encoder/decoder 122, such as system memory 124, may be accessible to the processing unit 120 and the content encoder/decoder 122. For example, the processing unit 120 and the content encoder/decoder 122 may be configured to read from and/or write to external memory, such as the system memory 124. The processing unit 120 and the content encoder/decoder 122 may be communicatively coupled to the system memory 124 over a bus. In some examples, the processing unit 120 and the content encoder/decoder 122 may be communicatively coupled to each other over the bus or a different connection.; [0039-40]; [0051] As shown, GPU 205 may include a plurality of processing elements, such as one or more shader units (i.e., shader unit 210), that are configured to operate on multiple vertices or pixels in a parallel manner. Moreover, GPU 205 may include internal memory 240 (e.g., corresponding to internal memory 121 of FIG. 1), such that GPU 205 may read data from and write data to directly to internal memory 240 without using a bus. In other words, GPU 205 may process data locally using a local storage, instead of off-chip memory. This configuration will enable GPU 205 to operate in a more efficient manner by eliminating the need of GPU 205 to read and write data via a bus, which may experience heavy bus traffic. In some instances, however, GPU 205 may not include a separate memory, but instead utilize system memory 124 via a bus.).
Regarding claim 8, Calidas teaches wherein when a machine learning processing tasks is to be performed using the graphics processor, the graphics processor is operable to fetch required input data for the machine learning processing task via the cache system, and write an output of the machine learning processing task to memory via the cache system ([0051]; [0053] As further shown in FIG. 2, GPU 205 includes the one or more shader units 210, graphics processing pipeline 107, and texture pipeline 230. Moreover, one or more shader programs may execute on shader units 210 in GPU 205. Shader units 210 may also include one or more shader processors 220, each of which may include one or more components for fetching and decoding operations, one or more arithmetic logic units (ALUs) 250 for carrying out arithmetic calculations, one or more caches 260, or more generally other types of memory and/or registers.; [0054-55]).
Regarding claim 10, Calidas teaches comprising a plurality of programmable execution units, arranged as respective shader cores, with each shader core having its own respective machine learning processing circuit, and wherein an overall job controller of the graphics processor is operable to distribute processing tasks between the different shader cores ([0047] Referring again to FIG. 1, the processing unit 120 can include a ML sequence selection 198 configured to select a sequence of shaders for performing an ML operation using the graphics processing pipeline 107. That is, the processing unit 120 may be configured to perform a ML operation such as a layer of a ML model using the graphics processing pipeline 107. For example, the graphics processing pipeline 107 may be configured with a plurality of shaders for performing ML operations. In some implementations, the plurality of shaders may be described by an application programming interface (API). The ML sequence selection 198 may determine a plurality of sequences of shaders that are capable of performing the machine-learning operation. The ML sequence selection 198 may determine a cost of each sequence of the plurality of sequences of shaders based on a cost function associated with each shader. The ML sequence selection 198 may execute a selected sequence of shaders having a lowest cost of the plurality of sequences of shaders. In one or more example implementations, the ML sequence selection 198 may be implemented in hardware, software, or any combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 12, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 13, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 14, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 16, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Regarding claim 19, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 10 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calidas and Nguyen, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US 2022/0114495 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Calidas nor Nguyen explicitly teach wherein the machine learning processing circuit is operable to trigger the generation of threads for execution by the programmable execution unit to cause the execution unit to perform the one or more processing operations for the machine learning processing task being performed by the machine learning processing circuit.
However, Nurvitadhi teaches wherein the machine learning processing circuit is operable to trigger the generation of threads for execution by the programmable execution unit to cause the execution unit to perform the one or more processing operations for the machine learning processing task being performed by the machine learning processing circuit ([0073] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of example ML system configuration circuitry 300 to compose an ML compute node (e.g., the ML compute node 217 of FIG. 2) to execute a workload (e.g., the workload(s) 216 of FIG. 2). In some examples, the ML system configuration circuitry 300 of FIG. 3 can implement the ML system configurator 102 of FIGS. 1 and/or 2. The ML system configuration circuitry 300 of FIG. 3 may be instantiated (e.g., creating an instance of, bring into being for any length of time, materialize, implement, etc.) by processor circuitry such as a CPU executing instructions. Additionally and/or alternatively, the ML system configuration circuitry 300 of FIG. 3 may be instantiated (e.g., creating an instance of, bring into being for any length of time, materialize, implement, etc.) by an ASIC or an FPGA structured to perform operations corresponding to the instructions. It should be understood that some or all of the ML system configuration circuitry 300 of FIG. 3 may, thus, be instantiated at the same or different times. Some or all of the ML system configuration circuitry 300 may be instantiated, for example, in one or more threads executing concurrently on hardware and/or in series on hardware. [0221] In some examples, the machine code corresponding to the firmware program, the embedded software program, or the software program is split into threads and executed in parallel by two or more of the cores 1502.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nurvitadhi of identifying an optimal combination of hardware/software to execute a compute workload with the teachings of Calidas and Nguyen of determining how to schedule an ML sequence among shader cores. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of combining known elements to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 5 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calidas and Nguyen, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Park et al. (US 2018/0096513 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Calidas nor Nguyen teach further comprising compression and decompression circuits for compressing and decompressing data as it is transferred between the graphics processor and the external memory.
However, Park teaches further comprising compression and decompression circuits for compressing and decompressing data as it is transferred between the graphics processor and the external memory ([0037] The compression/decompression apparatus 220 according to at least one example embodiment of the inventive concepts may determine the number of bits assigned to each channel based on a variation of each channel. Further, the compression/decompression apparatus 220 may compress channels based on the determined number of bits and transmit the compressed channels to the on-chip memory 210 or the external memory 30; [0082] Referring to FIG. 11, the compression/decompression apparatus 221 may be interposed between the GPU 20 and the external memory 30. As described with reference to FIG. 3, the compression/decompression apparatus 220 may be embedded in the GPU 20. However, as shown in FIG. 11, the compression/decompression apparatus 221 may be arranged outside the GPU 20 as an independent apparatus.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Calidas and Nguyen to have a compression/decompression apparatus between the GPU and the external memory. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of preventing or, alternatively, reducing damage or loss of information about a channel with a great variation from being damaged or lost, reducing an amount of storage assigned to the on-chip memory or the external memory, and reducing an amount of computation performed by the GPU.
Regarding claim 18, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 9 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calidas and Nguyen as applied to claim 1, in further view of Nystad et al. (US 2014/0327671 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Calidas teaches wherein the graphics processor is configured to perform tile-based rendering, in which graphics data is stored in one or more tile buffers, and wherein when performing a machine learning processing task at least some data for the machine learning processing task is stored using the tile buffers ([0050] In addition, FIG. 2 shows an aspect in which the processing unit 120 comprises a GPU 205 to perform the respective image processing operations. Specially, in an aspect, GPU 205 may be configured to perform graphics operations to render one or more graphics to display 131, as described above. In a typical operation, when one of the software applications executing on the device 104 requires graphics processing, the processing unit 120 may provide graphics commands and graphics data to GPU 205 for rendering to display 131. The graphics data may include texture information, drawing commands, and the like.).
Calidas nor Nguyen explicitly teach tile based rendering or tile buffers.
However, Nystad teaches tile based rendering and tile buffers ([0016] A tile-based graphics processing pipeline will also include one or more so-called tile buffers that store rendered fragment data at the end of the pipeline until a given tile is completed and written out to an external memory, such as a frame buffer, for use. This local, pipeline memory is used to retain fragment data locally before the data is finally exported to external memory.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nystad with the teachings of Calidas and Nguyen to render using tile based rendering. The modification would have been motivated by the desire of reduced memory bandwidth.
Regarding claim 20, it is a method type claim having similar limitations as claim 11 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
(I) The graphics processor is therefore provided with a "dedicated" machine learning processing circuit, internal to the graphics processor. This then means that machine learning processing can be performed locally to the graphics processor in a potentially more efficient (optimized) manner, with at least some resource being shared between the programmable execution unit and the machine learning processing circuit.
For instance, as discussed in the present application, machine learning processing tasks can be performed by the programmable execution unit, the machine learning processing circuit, or a combination of both.
The present application thus recognizes that there are various benefits of providing a (dedicated) machine learning processing circuit comprising MAC circuits internally to the graphics processor.
In this respect, the present application recognizes that while machine learning processing can be performed using the graphics processor shader cores, this can be a relatively inefficient use of the graphics processor's resource, as the graphics processor is not necessarily designed (or optimized) (exclusively) for such tasks.
At least in the situation where the machine learning processing relates to a graphics processing (rendering) task, re-purposing some of the graphics processor's functional units to perform the desired machine learning processing operations also prevents those functional units from performing the graphics processing work that they are designed for. (See paragraphs [0013]- [0014] and [0038]-[0046] of the published application.)
The Action recognizes that Calidas does not disclose a (dedicated) machine learning processing circuit within the graphics processor comprising one or more MAC circuits and therefore points to Nguyen, paragraph [0026], to teach this.
Paragraph [0026] in Nguyen however merely describes that a standalone, specialized ML processor (e.g., an NPU) may contain a large array of MAC units.
There is no disclosure in Nguyen that such ML processor may advantageously be provided internally within a graphics processor nor any suggestion of how this would be done.
Nguyen does not therefore provide any motivation to one of average skill to add a machine learning processing circuit as claimed to the graphics processor in Calidas, or to then provide internal communication with any of the shader cores in Calidas.
In view of the above, examiner submits the following.
As to point (I)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. It is noted that Calidas as cited teaches a GPU comprising a plurality of shader units, some are designated for shading operations such as vertex shading, hull shading, domain shading, geometry shading, pixel shading etc. (See citations above). Further, other shader units can be designated for ML operations using shaders. For example, Calidas further teaches:
[0003] Typically, a GPU of a device is configured to perform graphics processes in a graphics processing pipeline. However, a GPU may also be used to perform machine learning operations by, for example, using shader logic units or dedicated logic cores to perform the machine learning operations in the graphics processing pipeline. Therefore, there has developed an increased need for improved utilization of system resources, such as shader logic units or dedicated logic cores, to perform machine learning operations by GPUs.
[0006] In some implementations, the request to perform the machine-learning operation includes operation parameters and a plurality of tensors, each tensor associated with a tensor size.
[0007] In some implementations, the plurality of tensors include at least one of an input tensor, a weight tensor, a bias tensor, or an output tensor.
[0008] In some implementations, the plurality of tensors include at least one of a mean tensor, a variance tensor, a parameter tensor, or a scale tensor.
[0009] In some implementations, the cost function associated with at least one of the shaders is a function of the operation parameters and at least one tensor size.
[0010] In some implementations, the at least one processor is configured to: determine cost for each shader of a plurality of shaders within the one sequence based on the cost function associated with each shader; and determine a sum of the costs for the plurality of shaders within the one sequence.
[0053] Shader units 210 may also include one or more shader processors 220, each of which may include one or more components for fetching and decoding operations, one or more arithmetic logic units (ALUs) 250 for carrying out arithmetic calculations, one or more caches 260, or more generally other types of memory and/or registers.
[0054] Example ML operations include: convolution, batch normalization, pooling, concatenation, fully connected, softmax, reshape, permute, LSTM, GRU, depthwise separable convolution, transpose convolution, and depth to space. An ML operation may be implemented by executing one or more shaders such as core shaders, conversion shaders, convolution shaders, activation shaders, etc.
As such Calidas teaches a machine learning processing circuit having ALUs and performing ML operations such as convolution, LSTM, GRU, transpose convolution and depth to space all of which make use of multiply and accumulate operations. Further Calidas sequence of operations allow for the integration and communication among shader cores within a GPU. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Nguyen of having an ML circuit comprised of multiply-and-accumulate circuits with the ML operations as taught by Calidas. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE A CHU JOY-DAVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195