DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 7 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2 (line 2) “the transition” should recite –a transition--.
In claim 3 (line 3) “the end face” should recite –an end face--.
In claim 7 (line 3) “the axial” should recite –an axial--.
In claim 13 (line 3) “a first tool” should recite –the first tool--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (lines 4-5) recites “wherein the main body comprises a fixing element for fixing the connection element in the main body”.
Claim 1 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine what structural featured define such “fixing element” such that it “fixes the connection element in the main body”; it is unclear as to whether the “fixing element” is merely a portion of the main body, or whether such “fixing element” is a different separate structural element from the main body.
Claim 1 (lines 5-7) recites “wherein the connection fitting comprises a screw-in thread which axially adjoins the main body in the insertion direction and has a first tool holder which is accessible through the opening”.
Claim 1 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine what structural features define such “screw-in thread” such that it “axially adjoins the main body in the insertion direction”; it is unclear as to whether the “screw-in thread” is merely a threading upon either an inner or outer surface of the main body, or whether such “screw-in thread” is a threading formed on another different structural element than the main body.
Furthermore, claim 1 fails to recite any limitations which enable one to properly determine what structural features define such “first tool holder”; it is unclear as to what structurally constitutes a “tool holder”. Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1 and are likewise rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Langhorst (DE 10 2015 219 778).
As to claim 1 as best understood, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting for insertion into a receptacle of a first furniture part 1 in an insertion direction, comprising a main body 20 having an opening 23 for receiving a connection element 31 which can be connected to a second furniture part 30, wherein the main body comprises a fixing element 12 for fixing the connection element in the main body, wherein the connection fitting comprises a screw-in thread 26 which axially adjoins the main body in the insertion direction and has a first tool holder 23a which is accessible through the opening and is spaced apart from the opening in the insertion direction (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 2, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the first tool holder 23a is at a distance from the opening 12 and is arranged in a transition region of the screw-in thread 26 and the main body 20 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 4, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the first tool holder 23a is formed integrally with the part of the connection fitting having the screw-in thread 26 (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 5, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the screw-in thread 26 and the main body 20 are formed integrally (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 7, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the fixing element 12 is a fixing screw which can be inserted or is inserted into at least one threaded hole provided in the main body 20, an axial direction of the threaded hole extending perpendicularly to the insertion direction (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 8, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the main body 20 has an enveloping surface or an outer contour having a circular cross section (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 9, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the main body 20 is formed from a material selected from the group consisting of a metal material, a metal solid material, and a casting material (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 10, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein in the insertion direction, an axial hole for receiving a section of a tool tip adjoins the section having the first tool holder 23a (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 11, Langhorst discloses a connection fitting wherein the axial hole has a smaller diameter than the first tool holder 23a (Figures 1-4).
As to claim 12, Langhorst discloses a furniture part connection arrangement having a first furniture part 1 and a second furniture part 30 connected thereto, as well as a connection fitting, wherein a receptacle for receiving the connection fitting is provided in a first side of the first furniture part, into which receptacle the connection fitting is introduced and screwed by means of the screw-in thread 26, wherein a connection element 31 fastened to the second furniture part is provided, which connection element is inserted into the opening 23 of the connection fitting in the insertion direction and is secured therein by means of the fixing element 12 (Figures 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langhorst in view of Torres-Barry (US 2022/0009060).
As to claim 13, Langhorst fails to disclose a screw tool for assembling a connection fitting, comprising a first engagement section for form-fitting and/or force-fitting engagement in the first tool holder, and a second engagement section for form-fitting and/or force-fitting engagement in a further second tool holder different from the first tool holder; comprising an end remote from a handle section, the second engagement section being arranged closer to this end and having a smaller enveloping surface diameter than the first engagement section.
Torres-Barry teaches a screw tool for assembling a connection fitting, comprising a first engagement section 18 capable of form-fitting and/or force-fitting engagement in a first tool holder of connection fitting, and a second engagement section 16 capable of form-fitting and/or force-fitting engagement in a further second tool holder different from the first tool holder; comprising an end remote from a handle section, the second engagement section being arranged closer to this end and having a smaller enveloping surface diameter than the first engagement section; the multiple hex-key screw tool enabling the use of a single tool to tighten different sized hex-key sockets, providing for easier assembly of the connection fitting within furniture parts (Figure 1). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection fitting disclosed by Langhorst to utilize a multiple hex-key screw tool, as taught by Torres-Barry, in order to enable the use of a single tool to tighten different sized hex-key sockets, providing for easier assembly of the connection fitting within furniture parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3 as best understood, Langhorst discloses the claimed connection fitting with the exception of wherein the screw-in thread is a screw-in sleeve which is screwed or rotatably connected to a counter-thread in the main body which is provided in an end face of the main body that is at the front in the insertion direction.
There is no teaching or suggestion, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection fitting disclosed by Langhorst to have the above mentioned elemental features. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
09/06/25
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619