DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “control program for causing a computer to perform” of claim 16 encompasses signals per se. A standalone control or computer program, detached from any physical structural implementation like a computer-readable medium or specific hardware system does not qualify as a statutory process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP 2106.03(I). It is suggested that claim 16 be amended to recite a “non-transitory computer readable medium”, such as it is cited in the specification, to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “when operation mode is calibration mode of the calibration mode and normal operation mode” is unclear and confusing. The relationship between the system configuration and operational states of the machine cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatsuya JP 2017067627 (hereinafter Tat).
With regards to claims 1 and 14-16 Tatsuya discloses, a semiconductor device [fig 1 control device 3] comprising:
a current measurement circuit [current sensor 41 and self-consumption calculation unit 33] configured to measure a current value of a first current supplied from a battery to the semiconductor device [¶12 discloses an external consumption current A2 from the battery 2 to the control device 3] that is a host device and a current value of a second current supplied from the battery to a load [¶12 discloses total current A1 from the battery 2 to the load 6]; and
a computing circuit [integration calculation unit 32] configured to calculate a remaining capacity of the battery, based on an accumulation value of the first current and an accumulation value of the second current in a period from start of discharging to end of discharging in the battery [¶14 discloses remaining charge amount calculation unit 34 calculates the remaining charge amount of the battery 2].
Claims 14-16 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity.
With regards to claim 2 Tat discloses, the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising
a storage circuit configured to store information about a charge rate of the battery in accordance with an output voltage of the battery [¶13 discloses a computer program within the control device 3, which requires some form of storage and reads on the claimed storage circuit],
wherein the computing circuit calculates the remaining capacity of the battery [remaining charge amount calculation unit 34], based on, in addition to the accumulation value of the first current and the accumulation value of the second current in the period from the start of discharging to the end of discharging in the battery [¶12 above],
a charge rate of the battery [¶42 “remaining charge (charge rate)”] extracted from the storage circuit in accordance with an output voltage of the battery at the start of discharging in the battery [¶25 discloses the discharge process where voltage Vb of battery 2 and full charge calculation unit 31 determine the full charge amount which reasonably reads on the start of discharging] and a charge rate of the battery extracted from the storage circuit in accordance with an output voltage of the battery at the end of discharging in the battery [¶30 discloses the remaining charge amount falls below a predetermined amount which reasonably reads on the end of discharging].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuya JP 2017067627 (hereinafter Tat) in view of Ono et al. US 20220060030 further in view of Tenorio US 20220302719 (hereinafter Ten).
With regards to claim 3 Tat fails to disclose, the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the current measurement circuit includes: a first resistance element provided between a first external terminal to which an output voltage of the battery is supplied and a high-potential-side terminal of a power supply circuit configured to generate an operating voltage of an internal circuit of the semiconductor device.
However, Ono discloses, a first resistance element provided between a first external terminal to which an output voltage of the battery is supplied and a high-potential-side terminal of a power supply circuit configured to generate an operating voltage of an internal circuit of the semiconductor device [fig 1 current measuring unit 13 and power supply system 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery management systems of Tat with Ono to include a current measuring circuit in order to measure the energy consumption of the system.
Tat fails to disclose, an AD converter configured to detect a potential difference between both ends of the first resistance element, wherein a current value in accordance with a result of detection made by the AD converter is used as a result of measurement made by the current measurement circuit indicating the current value of the first current.
However, Ten discloses, an AD converter configured to detect a potential difference between both ends of the first resistance element, wherein a current value in accordance with a result of detection made by the AD converter is used as a result of measurement made by the current measurement circuit indicating the current value of the first current [fig 31 and ¶288 disclose an over-current protection circuit with resistor 2104 feeding into a comparator 3108].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery systems of Tat with Ten to include the current sensing circuit in order to measure the energy consumption of the system.
With regards to claim 13 the combination discloses, the semiconductor device according to claim 3, further comprising:
a comparator circuit configured to compare potentials at both ends of the first resistance element [Ten fig 31 comparator 3108 and resistor 3104]; and
a protection circuit configured to protect the semiconductor device from at least either overvoltage or overcurrent supplied from the battery when a result of comparison indicating that a potential difference between both ends of the first resistance element is equal to or larger than a threshold value is output from the comparator circuit [Ten fig 31 and ¶288 disclose the over-current protection circuit via resistor 3104 and comparator 3108 to determine when a threshold is exceeded].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose, “a second external terminal connected to the other terminal of the first resistance element, the other terminal being different from one terminal of the first resistance element connected to the first external terminal, and also to the high-potential-side terminal of the power supply circuit, wherein the semiconductor device is configured so that a reference current flows from the first external terminal via the first resistance element to the second external terminal when operation mode is calibration mode of the calibration mode and normal operation mode”.
Conclusion
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859