DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that, in Oda, icon 333 displayed on the message board 301 cannot equal to the function control displayed on the third region, and that Oda does not relate to the operation of dropping the image message on an region which partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information. Applicant concludes that Oda fails to disclose the step of stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information. Remarks, pp. 10-12.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Patierno et al. (US 2018/0167347), Cheung et al. (US 2016/0154556), and Oda et al. (US 2011/0080427).
As presented in the claim rejections under 35 USC §103, Patierno teaches displaying a live streaming interface, wherein the live streaming interface comprises a first region and a second region ([0028], “Turning to FIG. 1A, an illustrative example of a user interface 100 for presenting a video content item in connection with a message interface is shown in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosed subject matter.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
the first region is configured to display live content ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0029], “video content 102 can include any suitable type of video content, such as live streamed video content, a television program, a movie, and/or any other suitable type of video content.”),
the second region is configured to display at least one comment ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0030], “Message interface 104 can be any suitable user interface for receiving and presenting messages received from multiple user devices.”), and
the second region covers a part of the first region ([0030], “For example, in some embodiments, message interface 104 can be overlaid on video content 102.”).
Cheung teaches an interface comprising a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, the third region covers a part of a region, and displaying a target comment in a first target region of the interface, wherein the first target region is outside the third region ([0120], “In another embodiment, the detected touch gesture may cause a menu UI 1020 to be presented. The menu UI 1020 may include several options, including an option that, when selected by a second control directive, causes a pin operation to be performed. For example, the menu UI 1020 includes a ‘Pin’ option and a ‘Pin at . . . ‘ option, in addition to options for copying text of the message, forwarding the message to another operator, and deleting the message from the group communication session. In the illustrated example, if the operator 1002 performs a touch gesture on the ‘Pin’ text in menu UI 1020, the menu UI 1020 may be removed from the display, and the pin operation may be performed.” [0125], “The illustrated example shows what may occur as the result of a pin operation on a message. The pin operation may have taken place in response to any one of the methods discussed with respect to UIs 900, 1000, and 1100. The pinned message, e.g. message 940-1, is presented in a banner portion 1212 of the UI 1200.” Figs. 10, 12).
Oda teaches receiving a moving operation on a message, and stopping displaying the message in a first target region, in response to the message being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one region ([0073], “When a generated message is thrown into the trash can (dragged and dropped onto an icon indicating the trash can), the trash can managing part 132 treats the message as deleted, deletes the message on the display section 21, and registers the message as trash can data 204 in the storage section 22.” [0089], [0245], “In step S14, the trash can managing part 132 of the deletion processing portion 125 determines whether one of image messages 321 is dragged and dropped on the icon 333 to be thrown into the trash can. When the image message 321-3 is dragged by the pointer 531 and dropped on the icon 333, as shown on a message board 301-81 in FIG. 19, for example, in step S14, the image message 321-3 is considered to be thrown into the trash can, and the process proceeds to step S15.” Figs. 4, 19).
Taking the teachings of the references together, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings to produce a combined system included with means for receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the control region, the comment region and a gift display region. The modification would serve to facilitate the removal and/or deletion of target comments for users.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 10, 14, 18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Patierno et al. (US 2018/0167347), Cheung et al. (US 2016/0154556), and Oda et al. (US 2011/0080427).
Regarding claim 1, Patierno teaches an information display method, applied to a video live scene, comprising:
displaying a live streaming interface, wherein the live streaming interface comprises a first region and a second region ([0028], “Turning to FIG. 1A, an illustrative example of a user interface 100 for presenting a video content item in connection with a message interface is shown in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosed subject matter.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
the first region is configured to display live content ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0029], “video content 102 can include any suitable type of video content, such as live streamed video content, a television program, a movie, and/or any other suitable type of video content.”),
the second region is configured to display at least one comment ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0030], “Message interface 104 can be any suitable user interface for receiving and presenting messages received from multiple user devices.”), and
the second region covers a part of the first region ([0030], “For example, in some embodiments, message interface 104 can be overlaid on video content 102.”);
receiving a first trigger operation on a target comment in the at least one comment ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B), and
displaying the target comment in a first target region of the live streaming interface in response to the first trigger operation, wherein the first target region is outside the second region ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B).
Patierno does not expressly teach the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. Patierno also does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information.
Cheung teaches an interface comprising a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, the third region covers a part of a region, and displaying a target comment in a first target region of the interface, wherein the first target region is outside the third region ([0120], “In another embodiment, the detected touch gesture may cause a menu UI 1020 to be presented. The menu UI 1020 may include several options, including an option that, when selected by a second control directive, causes a pin operation to be performed. For example, the menu UI 1020 includes a ‘Pin’ option and a ‘Pin at . . . ‘ option, in addition to options for copying text of the message, forwarding the message to another operator, and deleting the message from the group communication session. In the illustrated example, if the operator 1002 performs a touch gesture on the ‘Pin’ text in menu UI 1020, the menu UI 1020 may be removed from the display, and the pin operation may be performed.” [0125], “The illustrated example shows what may occur as the result of a pin operation on a message. The pin operation may have taken place in response to any one of the methods discussed with respect to UIs 900, 1000, and 1100. The pinned message, e.g. message 940-1, is presented in a banner portion 1212 of the UI 1200.” Figs. 10, 12).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patierno wherein the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. The modification would provide users with an alternative and/or supplemental means for pinning messages. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information.
Oda teaches receiving a moving operation on a message, and stopping displaying the message in a first target region, in response to the message being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one region ([0073], “When a generated message is thrown into the trash can (dragged and dropped onto an icon indicating the trash can), the trash can managing part 132 treats the message as deleted, deletes the message on the display section 21, and registers the message as trash can data 204 in the storage section 22.” [0089], [0245], “In step S14, the trash can managing part 132 of the deletion processing portion 125 determines whether one of image messages 321 is dragged and dropped on the icon 333 to be thrown into the trash can. When the image message 321-3 is dragged by the pointer 531 and dropped on the icon 333, as shown on a message board 301-81 in FIG. 19, for example, in step S14, the image message 321-3 is considered to be thrown into the trash can, and the process proceeds to step S15.” Figs. 4, 19).
In view of Oda’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information. The modification would serve to facilitate the removal and/or deletion of target comments for users.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein after displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, the method further comprises:
receiving a moving operation on the target comment; and displaying the target comment at a target moving position in response to the moving operation if the target moving position is located in the first target region, wherein the target moving position comprises a stop position of the moving operation (Patierno: [0036], “For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein after stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, the method further comprises: sending a first deletion request carrying the target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment.
Cheung teaches sending a first deletion request carrying target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment ([0095], “The message flow 500 continues when the message server 120 unpins the pinned message and send an unpin command to the mobile devices 110-1 and 110-2 as message 516. Unpinning the pinned message may include, for example, removing a marking that indicated that the message was pinned, removing the pinned message from the conversation metadata, or a combination of these. The unpin command in the message 516 may, when received by a mobile device, prompt the UI component to remove the pinned message from the banner portion of the display component.” Fig. 5).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein after stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, the method further comprises: sending a first deletion request carrying the target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment . The modification would serve to further facilitate management and distribution of information pertaining to pinned messages to client devices. By sending unpin commands from the server to client devices, the modification would additionally enhance system efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface comprises: replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with the target comment for display, if the number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number.
Cheung teaches replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with a target comment for display, if a number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number ([0084], “The banner portion of the UI may be a reserved area on the display component 216, e.g. a top portion or a bottom portion, where a pinned message is fixed and remains on display until unpinned or replaced with another pinned message.” [0095], “When there is only one pinned message possible at a time, the message 516 may not need to include an identifier of a message to unpin. When more than one message may be pinned at the same time, the unpin request in message 514 may include a message identifier, and the unpin command in message 516 may include the message identifier.” [0102], [0109]).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patierno displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface comprises: replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with the target comment for display, if the number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number. The modification would allow for the distribution and presentation of new and/or updated pins to client devices.
Regarding claim 7, Patierno teaches an information display method, applied to a video live scene, comprising:
displaying a live streaming interface, wherein the live streaming interface comprises a first region and a second region ([0028], “Turning to FIG. 1A, an illustrative example of a user interface 100 for presenting a video content item in connection with a message interface is shown in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosed subject matter.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
the first region is configured to display live content ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0029], “video content 102 can include any suitable type of video content, such as live streamed video content, a television program, a movie, and/or any other suitable type of video content.”),
the second region is configured to display at least one comment ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0030], “Message interface 104 can be any suitable user interface for receiving and presenting messages received from multiple user devices.”), and
the second region covers a part of the first region ([0030], “For example, in some embodiments, message interface 104 can be overlaid on video content 102.”), and
displaying a target comment in a first target region of the live streaming interface, if it is determined that the comment comprises the target comment, wherein the first target region is outside the second region ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
wherein the target pin information comprises the target comment and a target display position of the target comment ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B).
Patierno does not expressly teach the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. Patierno also does not expressly teach wherein the comment comprising the target comment is determined by: pulling target pin information stored in association with a target interface identifier of the live streaming interface from a server, wherein the target pin information comprises the target comment and a target display position of the target comment; and determining the comment comprising the target comment, if the target pin information has been pulled, and wherein the displaying the target comment comprises: displaying the target comment based on the target pin information. Patierno also does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, in response no target pin information pulled from the server, wherein the server deletes the target pin information, in response to a first deletion request, and the first deletion request sends to the server in response to receiving an operation for moving the target comment to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information on a live streaming interface.
Cheung teaches:
an interface comprising a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, the third region covers a part of a region, and displaying a target comment in a first target region of the interface, wherein the first target region is outside the third region ([0120], “In another embodiment, the detected touch gesture may cause a menu UI 1020 to be presented. The menu UI 1020 may include several options, including an option that, when selected by a second control directive, causes a pin operation to be performed. For example, the menu UI 1020 includes a ‘Pin’ option and a ‘Pin at . . . ‘ option, in addition to options for copying text of the message, forwarding the message to another operator, and deleting the message from the group communication session. In the illustrated example, if the operator 1002 performs a touch gesture on the ‘Pin’ text in menu UI 1020, the menu UI 1020 may be removed from the display, and the pin operation may be performed.” [0125], “The illustrated example shows what may occur as the result of a pin operation on a message. The pin operation may have taken place in response to any one of the methods discussed with respect to UIs 900, 1000, and 1100. The pinned message, e.g. message 940-1, is presented in a banner portion 1212 of the UI 1200.” Figs. 10, 12);wherein a comment comprising a target comment is determined by:
pulling target pin information stored in association with a target interface identifier of the live streaming interface from a server ([0042], “A pin request 106 may include the selected message 140, or an identifier that the message server 120 can use to locate the selected message for the pin operation.” [0044], “In an embodiment, the message server 120 may send a pin command with the message identifier to the individual mobile devices 110, rather than the whole pinned message 108. The individual mobile devices 110 may then place the identified message in a banner portion of the UI.” [0160], “The logic flow 2000 may be operative at block 2006 to send the pinned message to each of the plurality of devices. For example, the group communication component 330 executing on the message server 320 may send the pinned message, the message identifier 302, or a pin command including one of the pinned message or the message identifier to each mobile device operated by a participant in the conversation.” Fig. 20),
wherein the target pin information comprises the target comment ([0160], “The logic flow 2000 may be operative at block 2006 to send the pinned message to each of the plurality of devices. For example, the group communication component 330 executing on the message server 320 may send the pinned message, the message identifier 302, or a pin command including one of the pinned message or the message identifier to each mobile device operated by a participant in the conversation.”); and
determining the comment comprising the target comment, if the target pin information has been pulled, and wherein the displaying the target comment comprises: displaying the target comment based on the target pin information ([0060], “When a pinning control directive is detected, the UI component 220 may invoke the pinning component 222. The pinning component 222 may receive information from the UI component 220 about which message 240 is to be pinned. The pinning component 222 may cause the identified message to be pinned. In an embodiment, the pinning component 222 may, for example, send a pin request to a message server with the identified message. The pinning component 222 may receive a pin command from a message server with an identifier of the message to be pinned. The pinning component 222 may instruct the UI component 220 to place the message to be pinned into a banner portion of the UI for the group communication app 214.” [0091]);
wherein the method further comprises:
stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region of the interface, in response no target pin information pulled from a server, wherein the server deletes the target pin information, in response to a first deletion request ([0095], “The message flow 500 continues when the message server 120 unpins the pinned message and send an unpin command to the mobile devices 110-1 and 110-2 as message 516.” [0196], “The method may include receiving a second control directive to unpin a pinned message; and removing the pinned message from the banner portion. The method may include sending an unpin request to a message server in response to receiving the second control directive; and removing the pinned message from the banner portion in response to receiving an unpin command from the message server.”).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patierno wherein the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. The modification would provide users with an alternative and/or supplemental means for pinning messages. The modification would serve to improve the user experience. Additionally, in view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patierno wherein the comment comprising the target comment is determined by: pulling target pin information stored in association with a target interface identifier of the live streaming interface from a server, wherein the target pin information comprises the target comment and a target display position of the target comment; and determining the comment comprising the target comment, if the target pin information has been pulled, wherein the displaying the target comment comprises: displaying the target comment based on the target pin information, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, in response no target pin information pulled from the server, wherein the server deletes the target pin information, in response to a first deletion request. The modification would serve to facilitate management and distribution of pinned messages to a plurality of client devices.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, in response no target pin information pulled from the server, wherein the server deletes the target pin information, in response to a first deletion request, and the first deletion request sends to the server in response to receiving an operation for moving the target comment to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information on a live streaming interface.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the first deletion request sends to the server in response to receiving an operation for moving the target comment to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information on a live streaming interface.
Oda teaches a first deletion request in response to receiving an operation for moving a message to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least a region, a comment region and a gift display region on an interface [0073], “When a generated message is thrown into the trash can (dragged and dropped onto an icon indicating the trash can), the trash can managing part 132 treats the message as deleted, deletes the message on the display section 21, and registers the message as trash can data 204 in the storage section 22.” [0089], [0245], “In step S14, the trash can managing part 132 of the deletion processing portion 125 determines whether one of image messages 321 is dragged and dropped on the icon 333 to be thrown into the trash can. When the image message 321-3 is dragged by the pointer 531 and dropped on the icon 333, as shown on a message board 301-81 in FIG. 19, for example, in step S14, the image message 321-3 is considered to be thrown into the trash can, and the process proceeds to step S15.” Figs. 4, 19).
In view of Oda’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the first deletion request sends to the server in response to receiving an operation for moving the target comment to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information on a live streaming interface. The modification would serve to facilitate the removal and/or deletion of target comments for users.
Regarding claim 10, Patierno teaches an information display device, comprising:
a processor, and a memory configured to store executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to read the executable instructions from the memory and execute the executable instructions to implement an information display method ([0015], [0047], [0077], Fig. 4), and
wherein the information display method is applied to a video live scene ([0026]), and
the information display method comprises:
displaying a live streaming interface, wherein the live streaming interface comprises a first region and a second region and a third region ([0028], “Turning to FIG. 1A, an illustrative example of a user interface 100 for presenting a video content item in connection with a message interface is shown in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosed subject matter.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
the first region is configured to display live content ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0029], “video content 102 can include any suitable type of video content, such as live streamed video content, a television program, a movie, and/or any other suitable type of video content.”),
the second region is configured to display at least one comment ([0028], “As illustrated, in some embodiments, user interface 100 can include video content 102 and message interface 104.” [0030], “Message interface 104 can be any suitable user interface for receiving and presenting messages received from multiple user devices.”),
the second region covers a part of the first region ([0030], “For example, in some embodiments, message interface 104 can be overlaid on video content 102.”);
receiving a first trigger operation on a target comment in the at least one comment ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B); and
displaying the target comment in a first target region of the live streaming interface, in response to the first trigger operation, wherein the first target region is outside the second region ([0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B).
or
displaying a live streaming interface, wherein the live streaming interface comprises a first region, a second region and a third region, the first region is configured to display live content, the second region is configured to display at least one comment, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the second region and the third region cover a part of the first region; and displaying a target comment in a first target region of the live streaming interface, if it is determined that the comment comprises the target comment, wherein the first target region is outside the second region and the third region, wherein the comment comprising the target comment is determined by: pulling target pin information stored in association with a target interface identifier of the live streaming interface from a server, wherein the target pin information comprises the target comment and a target display position of the target comment, and determining the comment comprising the target comment, if the target pin information has been pulled, and wherein the displaying the target comment comprises: displaying the target comment based on the target pin information, and wherein the method further comprises: stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, in response no target pin information pulled from the server, wherein the server deletes the target pin information, in response to a first deletion request, and the first deletion request sends to the server in response to receiving an operation for moving the target comment to a second target region, and wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of a control region, a comment region and a gift display region on a live streaming interface.
Patierno does not expressly teach the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. Patierno also does not expressly teach wherein the information display method further comprises receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information.
Cheung teaches an interface comprising a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, the third region covers a part of a region, and displaying a target comment in a first target region of the interface, wherein the first target region is outside the third region ([0120], “In another embodiment, the detected touch gesture may cause a menu UI 1020 to be presented. The menu UI 1020 may include several options, including an option that, when selected by a second control directive, causes a pin operation to be performed. For example, the menu UI 1020 includes a ‘Pin’ option and a ‘Pin at . . . ‘ option, in addition to options for copying text of the message, forwarding the message to another operator, and deleting the message from the group communication session. In the illustrated example, if the operator 1002 performs a touch gesture on the ‘Pin’ text in menu UI 1020, the menu UI 1020 may be removed from the display, and the pin operation may be performed.” [0125], “The illustrated example shows what may occur as the result of a pin operation on a message. The pin operation may have taken place in response to any one of the methods discussed with respect to UIs 900, 1000, and 1100. The pinned message, e.g. message 940-1, is presented in a banner portion 1212 of the UI 1200.” Figs. 10, 12).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the live streaming interface comprises a third region, the third region is configured to display at least one function control, and the third region covers a part of the first region, and wherein the first target region is outside the third region. The modification would provide users with an alternative and/or supplemental means for pinning messages. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the information display method further comprises receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information.
Oda teaches receiving a moving operation on a message, and stopping displaying the message in a first target region, in response to the message being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one region ([0073], “When a generated message is thrown into the trash can (dragged and dropped onto an icon indicating the trash can), the trash can managing part 132 treats the message as deleted, deletes the message on the display section 21, and registers the message as trash can data 204 in the storage section 22.” [0089], [0245], “In step S14, the trash can managing part 132 of the deletion processing portion 125 determines whether one of image messages 321 is dragged and dropped on the icon 333 to be thrown into the trash can. When the image message 321-3 is dragged by the pointer 531 and dropped on the icon 333, as shown on a message board 301-81 in FIG. 19, for example, in step S14, the image message 321-3 is considered to be thrown into the trash can, and the process proceeds to step S15.” Figs. 4, 19).
In view of Oda’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein the information display method further comprises receiving a moving operation on the target comment, and stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, in response to the target comment being moved to a second target region based on the moving operation, wherein the second target region partially overlaps with at least one of the second region for displaying the at least one comment, the third region on which the at least one function control for implementing an interactive function for the live streaming is displayed, and a gift display region for displaying gift information. The modification would serve to facilitate the removal and/or deletion of target comments for users.
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein after stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, the method further comprises: sending a first deletion request carrying the target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment .
Cheung teaches sending a first deletion request carrying target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment ([0095], “The message flow 500 continues when the message server 120 unpins the pinned message and send an unpin command to the mobile devices 110-1 and 110-2 as message 516. Unpinning the pinned message may include, for example, removing a marking that indicated that the message was pinned, removing the pinned message from the conversation metadata, or a combination of these. The unpin command in the message 516 may, when received by a mobile device, prompt the UI component to remove the pinned message from the banner portion of the display component.” Fig. 5).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein after stopping displaying the target comment in the first target region, the method further comprises: sending a first deletion request carrying the target comment to a server, wherein the first deletion request is used to instruct the server to delete target pin information corresponding to the target comment . The modification would serve to further facilitate management and distribution of information pertaining to pinned messages to client devices. By sending unpin commands from the server to client devices, the modification would additionally enhance system efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Patierno teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a computing device ([0015], [0047], [0077], Fig. 4). The rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC § 103 is similarly applied to claim 18.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, the combination further teaches wherein the method further comprises:
acquiring target pin information comprising the target comment and a target display position of the target comment (Patierno: [0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B),
wherein the target pin information comprises at least one of the target comment and a target display position of the target comment (Patierno: [0036], “user interface 200 can be used to allow a content creator to select a particular message and cause the selected message to be pinned, thereby allowing the selected message to be viewed even if additional messages are received in message interface 104 that would displace the selected message in message interface 104. For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B); and
sending an information storage request carrying the target pin information to a server (Cheung: [0041], “In response to receiving the specific control directive 104, the group communication app 114 may send a pin request 106 to a message server 120 to request a pin operation on a message 140 indicated or selected by the control directive 104.” [0042], “A pin request 106 may include the selected message 140, or an identifier that the message server 120 can use to locate the selected message for the pin operation.” [0158], “In the illustrated embodiment shown in FIG. 20, the logic flow 2000 may be operative at block 2002 to receive a pin request from one of a plurality of devices, the pin request including an identifier of a message to pin. For example, a group communication component 330 executing on the message server 320 may receive the pin request 104 including the message identifier 302.” Fig. 20),
wherein the information storage request is used to instruct the server to store the target pin information in association with a target interface identifier of the live streaming interface (Cheung: [0041], [0060], [0158], “In the illustrated embodiment shown in FIG. 20, the logic flow 2000 may be operative at block 2002 to receive a pin request from one of a plurality of devices, the pin request including an identifier of a message to pin. For example, a group communication component 330 executing on the message server 320 may receive the pin request 104 including the message identifier 302.” [0159], “The logic flow 2000 may be operative at block 2004 to mark the message to pin as a pinned message. For example, the group communication component 330 executing on the message server 320 may use the message identifier 302 to locate the message in messages 340, and mark the message with a flag, or other marker to indicate that the message is a pinned message. The pinned message, or the message identifier 302 for the pinned message, may be stored as part of conversation metadata.” Figs. 3, 20).
Claim(s) 9, 11, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Patierno, Cheung, Oda, and Peiris et al. (US 2018/0295092).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, the combination further teaches wherein after displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, the method further comprises: receiving a second trigger operation on the target comment; and displaying a target interactive panel for the target comment in response to the second trigger operation, wherein the target interactive panel comprises an interactive panel corresponding to the second trigger operation, wherein the second trigger operation comprises at least one of a reply operation, a like operation, a forwarding operation or a favorite operation.
Peiris teaches receiving a second trigger operation on a target comment; and displaying a target interactive panel for the target comment in response to the second trigger operation, wherein the target interactive panel comprises an interactive panel corresponding to the second trigger operation, wherein the second trigger operation comprises at least one of a reply operation, a like operation, a forwarding operation or a favorite operation ([0081], “As mentioned, users typically have the option to reply to messages received from other users. … In some embodiments, the visual content is created using various tools for sending graphical text responses. For example, graphical text responses may be created using tools for inputting text such as a virtual keyboard.” [0088], “In some embodiments, when the last message shared in a unified message thread is a non-ephemeral message, selecting a reply option associated with the unified message thread causes the thread to be presented as illustrated in FIG. 4G. In some embodiments, a virtual keyboard is presented if the non-ephemeral message being replied to is a text message.”).
In view of Peiris’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein after displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, the method further comprises: receiving a second trigger operation on the target comment; and displaying a target interactive panel for the target comment in response to the second trigger operation, wherein the target interactive panel comprises an interactive panel corresponding to the second trigger operation, wherein the second trigger operation comprises at least one of a reply operation, a like operation, a forwarding operation or a favorite operation. The modification would serve to improve user interaction with other users. The modification would serve to improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, the combination teaches wherein after displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface, the method further comprises:
receiving a moving operation on the target comment; and displaying the target comment at a target moving position in response to the moving operation if the target moving position is located in the first target region, wherein the target moving position comprises a stop position of the moving operation (Patierno: [0036], “For example, as shown in FIG. 2A, a user of user interface 200 (e.g., a creator of video content 102, and/or any other suitable user) can select message 206 and can cause message 206 to be superimposed on video content 102. In some embodiments, the message can be selected in any suitable manner. For example, in some embodiments, user of user interface 200 can touch, tap, and/or click a message in message interface 104 and can then drag the selected message to a particular position where the user would like to pin the selected message. Note that, in some embodiments, the user of user interface 200 can select a message from message interface 104 and can cause the selected message to be pinned within message interface 104 rather than superimposed on video content 102.” Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach the displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface comprises: replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with the target comment for display, if the number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number.
Cheung teaches replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with a target comment for display, if a number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number ([0084], “The banner portion of the UI may be a reserved area on the display component 216, e.g. a top portion or a bottom portion, where a pinned message is fixed and remains on display until unpinned or replaced with another pinned message.” [0095], “When there is only one pinned message possible at a time, the message 516 may not need to include an identifier of a message to unpin. When more than one message may be pinned at the same time, the unpin request in message 514 may include a message identifier, and the unpin command in message 516 may include the message identifier.” [0102], [0109]).
In view of Cheung’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patierno displaying the target comment in the first target region of the live streaming interface comprises: replacing target historical comment having longest display duration with the target comment for display, if the number of pieces of historical comment displayed in the first target region reaches a preset number. The modification would allow for the distribution and presentation of new and/or updated pins to client devices.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426