DETAILED ACTION
AUTO-LOCKING SAFETY T-NUT
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04-06-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2,5-17,20 are currently pending and have been examined. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04-06-2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,15,16 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 and 35 U.S.C.103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-14 and 17,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimiya (US20200215622A1) in view of Engibarov (US6126158A) and of Arnold (US4045010A).
Regarding claim 1, Nishimiya teaches a rotary tooling plate (1, figure 2);
the rotary tooling plate comprising a T-slot (23, figure 2); and a T-nut (30, figure 2) positioned in the T-slot;
the T-nut comprising a horizontal base (bottom of 30, figure 2) with a wedge (figure 2).
Nishimiya fails to teach wherein the horizontal base comprises a cut-out therein and wherein the wedge is position within the cut-out; wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face for slidable movement therewith; and wherein the wedge comprises a locked position locking the T-nut in place within the T-slot and a released position allowing the T-nut to maneuver within the T-slot.
Engibarov teaches wedge drive sliding jaw for use in precision machinery that includes a horizontal base (abstract, 20 and 34, figures 1-3) comprises a cut-out (30, figures 1-3) therein and wherein a wedge (42, figure 3) is position within the cut-out; wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face (50, figure 3) and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face (40, figure 3) for slidable movement therewith (col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50); and wherein the wedge comprises a locked position locking the T-nut in place within the T-slot and a released position allowing the T-nut to maneuver within the T-slot (col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50, claims 14-16).
Arnold teaches an abutment piece adapted to be inserted in a t-slot of machine tool table which bears against a lateral surface of the narrow section (leg section) of the T slot by means of an abutment surface and projects beyond the clamping surface of the machine tool table. (abstract)
Based on the teachings Engibarove, and Arnold It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nishimiya’s t-nut to include wherein the horizontal base comprises a cut-out therein and wherein the wedge is position within the cut-out; wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face for slidable movement therewith; and wherein the wedge comprises a locked position locking the T-nut in place within the T-slot and a released position allowing the T-nut to maneuver within the T-slot. This modification would which help provide accurate placement and retention of a workpiece on a machine table during machining operations such as milling, grinding, drilling (see Engibarov col 1 lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 2, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the locked position comprises a first width of the horizontal base and the wedge and the released position comprises a second width of the horizontal base and the wedge. (see Engibarov figures 1-4; col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50, claims 14-16).
Regarding claim 5, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the wedge comprises a central aperture (see Engibarov 46, figure 2) therethrough.
Regarding claim 6, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the wedge comprises a bolt (see Engibarov 44, figure 2) extending through the central aperture.
Regarding claim 7, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the spring biases (see Engibarov 52, figure 3) the wedge into the locked position..
Regarding claim 8, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the wedge comprises a spring (see Engibarov 52, figure 3) surrounding the bolt.
Regarding claim 9, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the spring biases (see Engibarov 52, figure 3) the wedge into the locked position.
Regarding claim 10, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the T-nut (see Nishimiya 30 figure 2) comprises a vertical extension extending from the horizontal base.
Regarding claim 11, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the T-slot comprises (see Nishimiya 23, figures 2-4) a vertical channel and a horizontal channel.
Regarding claim 12, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the horizontal base of the T-nut (see Nishimiya 30, figure 2 and Arnold abstract) is sized to accommodate the horizontal channel of the T-slot (see Nishimiya 23, figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the vertical extension of the T-nut (see Nishimiya 30, figure 2 and Arnold abstract) is sized to accommodate the vertical channel of the T-slot (see Nishimiya 23, figure).
Regarding claim 14, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the vertical extension comprises a mounting aperture (see Nishimiya 31, figure 2) therein.
Regarding claim 16, Nishimiya teaches
a rotary tooling plate (1, figure 2);
the rotary tooling plate comprising a T-slot (23, figure 2); and
a T-nut (30, figure 2) positioned in the T-slot;
the T-nut comprising a horizontal base (bottom of 30, figure 2) with a wedge (figure 2);
Nishimiya fails to teach wherein the horizontal base comprises a cut-out therein and wherein the wedge is position within the cut-out; and wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face for slidable movement therewith; wherein the wedge comprises a spring loaded bolt extending therethrough; and wherein the horizontal base and the wedge comprise a locked position with a first width and a released position with a second width.
Engibarov teaches wedge drive sliding jaw for use in precision machinery that includes a horizontal base (abstract, 20 and 34, figures 1-3) comprises a cut-out (30, figures 1-3) therein and wherein the wedge (42, figure 3) is
position within the cut-out; and wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face (50, figure 3) and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face (40, figure 3) for slidable movement therewith (col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50) wherein the wedge comprises a spring loaded bolt (44 and 52, figures 2-4) extending therethrough; and wherein the horizontal base and the wedge comprise a locked position with a first width and a released position with a second width(col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50)
Arnold teaches an abutment piece adapted to be inserted in a t-slot of machine tool table which bears against a lateral surface of the narrow section (leg section) of the T slot by means of an abutment surface and projects beyond the clamping surface of the machine tool table. (abstract)
Based on the teachings Engibarove, and Arnold It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nishimiya’s t-nut to include wherein the horizontal base comprises a cut-out therein and wherein the wedge is position within the cut-out; and wherein the wedge comprises a slanted wedge face and wherein the cut-out comprises a complimentary slanted cut-out face for slidable movement therewith; wherein the wedge comprises a spring loaded bolt extending therethrough; and wherein the horizontal base and the wedge comprise a locked position with a first width and a released position with a second width. This modification would which help provide accurate placement and retention of a workpiece on a machine table during machining operations such as milling, grinding, drilling (see Engibarov col 1 lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 17, modified Nishimiya teaches wherein the spring loaded bolt (see Engibarov 44 and 52, figures 2-4) is secured in the horizontal base.
Regarding claim 20, modified NIshimiya teaches wherein the T-nut (see Nishimiya 30 figure 2) comprises a vertical extension extending from the horizontal base.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engibarov (US6126158A) in view of Arnold (US4045010A).
Regarding claim 15, Engibarov teaches attaching a wedge (42, figure 3) with a slanted wedge face (abstract, 20 and 34, figures 1-3) within a cut-out (30, figures 1-3) having a complimentary slanted cut-out face (50, figure 3) a horizontal base (abstract, 20 and 34, figures 1-3) a bolt (44, figure 3) loaded with a spring (52, figure 3); pushing the wedge away from the horizontal base by contracting the spring via slidable movement between the slanted wedge face and the complimentary slanted cut-out face (figure 3; col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 30); maneuvering forcing the spring to maneuver the wedge adjacent to the horizontal base so as to lock in place (col 2 lines 55-col 3 lines 50, claims 14-16)
Egibarov fails to using device to lock a T-nut.
Arnold teaches an abutment piece adapted to be inserted into a T slot of a machine table and which bears against a lateral surface of the leg section of the T slot by means of an abutment surface and projects beyond the clamping surface of the machine tool table that includes attaching a wedge (16, figure 1) to a horizontal base (figure 2) of the T-nut by a bolt loaded with a spring (21, figure 1-2);
pushing the wedge away from the horizontal base by contracting the spring (col 3 lines 44-65); maneuvering the T-nut within the T-slot (abstract; col 3 lines 44-65) and
forcing the spring to maneuver the wedge adjacent to the horizontal base so as to lock the T-nut in place (col 3 lines 40-70).
Based on the teachings Arnold, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Engibarove’s device to be used to lock the T-nut in within a T-slot. This modification would which help provide improve device that can rapidly provide precise alignment, without any risk of damage and can be clamped therein free from play. (col 1 lines 15-col 2 lines 30 Arnold)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723