Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, and 7-35 are pending in the application. Claims 4-6 have been cancelled. Claims 9, 12-29, 31 and 32 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30 and 33-35 are rejected.
The rejections over Shelton in view of Barger; and further in view of Yahara have been maintained.
All of the nonstatutory double patenting rejections have been modified in view of the present amendment and response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0298582 to Shelton et al. (hereinafter “Shelton”) in view of US 2009/0263645 to Barger et al. (hereinafter “Barger”).
As to claims 1, 11 and 34, Shelton discloses a multilayer integral geogrid comprising a plurality of oriented multilayer strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of openings therebetween as shown in figure 7. The integral geogrid is produced from coextruded multilayer layers and each layer of which made of a polymer and so is the multilayer strand. The polymeric layer including a foaming agent is equated to a foam layer. The polymeric layer free of a foaming agent is equated to a film layer. Each strand and each junction comprise multiple layers of a polymeric material including an intermediate foam layer sandwiched between two outer film layers (paragraph 81).
Shelton discloses the multilayer sheet having a first film layer and a third film layer, each having a thickness of 0.5 to 4.5 mm while a second foam layer has a thickness of 1 to 9 mm (paragraph 59). In particular, the thicknesses of the first, second and third layers: 1.56 mm/1.47 mm/1.56 mm (paragraph 72), or 1.02mm/0.96 mm/1.02mm (paragraph 77). The foam layer in each case has a thickness which is about 32% of an overall thickness of the multilayer sheet.
The multilayer integral geogrid is comprised of a coextruded multilayer polymer sheet with holes or depressions therein (paragraph 25). The coextruded multilayer polymer sheet is further uniaxially or biaxially stretched to provide a plurality of highly oriented strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of the openings therein (paragraphs 12, 14, 21, 25 and 31).
Shelton does not explicitly disclose the strand and the junction of the integral geogrid comprising an intermediate film layer disposed between two outer foam layers.
Barger, however, discloses a multilayer foam-film composite structure comprising a plurality of alternating film layers and foam layers wherein the external layer of the composite structure is a film layer or a foam layer (paragraph 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct an integral geogrid comprising a plurality of polymeric layers wherein an external layer is a foam layer because the foam and the film have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent external layers of the multilayer foam-film composite structure, the strand and the junction of the integral geogrid; and the selection of these known equivalents will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
The combined disclosures of Shelton and Barger result in a multilayer sheet comprising a film layer disposed between two foam layers wherein the foam layer has a thickness which is about 32% of the total thickness of the multilayer sheet.
As to claim 7, Shelton discloses that CaCO3 filler is incorporated in the layers of the integral geogrid including foam layers and film layer (paragraph 91).
As to claim 8, Shelton discloses that the multilayer integral geogrid or the multilayer strand is formed by co-extrusion (paragraph 80).
As to claim 10, Shelton discloses that the oriented strands are biaxially stretched (paragraphs 12, 14, 21 and 31).
As to claim 30, Shelton discloses that the integral geogrid is a triaxial integral geogrid (paragraph 31).
As to claim 33, Shelton also teaches that CaCO3 filler is incorporated in the layers of the integral geogrid including foam layers and film layer (paragraph 91). Therefore, it is not seen that the cellular openings that forms around the CaCO3 fillers would not be present in the subsequent uniaxial or biaxial stretching process, which is an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton in view of Barger as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2015/0203648 to Yahara et al. (hereinafter “Yahara”).
Neither Shelton nor Barger discloses that the foam layer has a void volume of 20 to 70% and a compressibility factor of about 20 to 60%.
Yahara, however, discloses a foam obtained from a copolymer of ethylene, an α-olefin and a non-conjugated diene, a blowing agent, and a crosslinking agent (abstract). The foam has a porosity of 40% and a 50% compression strength of 75 KPa (table 2-continuous, example 8). The foam is useful as a cushioning material which damps vibration and impact in civil engineering construction (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the foam layer of Shelton having a void volume of 40%, and a compressibility factor of 50% as disclosed in Yahara, motivated by the desire to provide an integral geogrid having high cushioning properties and improved impact resistance.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton in view of Barger as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2013/0216773 to Walsh (hereinafter “Walsh”).
Neither Shelton nor Barger discloses that the strands have an aspect ratio of 0.75 to 3.0.
Walsh, however, discloses a multi-axial geogrid having a series of interconnected strands that are arranged along at least two different axes within the plane of the structure (abstract). The strands have an aspect ratio, defined as the ratio of the thickness to width, of greater than 1.0, particularly from 1.4 to 2.2 (table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the strands of Shelton having an aspect ratio disclosed in Walsh, motivated by the desire to provide increased confinement of granular material and improved performance when the geogrid is used as a reinforcing component in a civil engineering structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that the claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Shelton and Barger because none of the cited references disclose “the first and second cellular outer layers each having a thickness that is at least 10% of the total thickness of the multilayer integral geogrid”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, Shelton discloses the multilayer sheet having a first film layer and a third film layer, each having a thickness of 0.5 to 4.5 mm while a second foam layer has a thickness of 1 to 9 mm (paragraph 59). In particular, the thicknesses of the first, second and third layers: 1.56 mm/1.47 mm/1.56 mm (paragraph 72), or 1.02mm/0.96 mm/1.02mm (paragraph 77). The foam layer in each case has a thickness which is about 32% of an overall thickness of the multilayer sheet.
The combined disclosures of Shelton and Barger result in a multilayer sheet comprising a film layer disposed between two foam layers wherein the foam layer has a thickness which is about 32% of the total thickness of the multilayer sheet.
Accordingly, the rejections over Shelton in view of Barger; and further in view of Yahara have been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30, 33 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 in view of Shelton.
As to claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30 and 34, the claims of the US Patent No. 11,753,788 disclose each and every limitation of the claims of the current application except for the first and second cellular outer layers each having a thickness that is at least 10% of the total thickness of the multilayer integral geogrid.
Shelton, however, discloses a multilayer integral geogrid comprising a plurality of oriented multilayer strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of openings therebetween as shown in figure 7. The integral geogrid is produced from coextruded multilayer layers and each layer of which made of a polymer and so is the multilayer strand. The polymeric layer including a foaming agent is equated to a foam layer. The polymeric layer free of a foaming agent is equated to a film layer. Each strand and each junction comprise multiple layers of a polymeric material including an intermediate foam layer sandwiched between two outer film layers (paragraph 81).
Shelton discloses the multilayer sheet having a first film layer and a third film layer, each having a thickness of 0.5 to 4.5 mm while a second foam layer has a thickness of 1 to 9 mm (paragraph 59). In particular, the thicknesses of the first, second and third layers: 1.56 mm/1.47 mm/1.56 mm (paragraph 72), or 1.02mm/0.96 mm/1.02mm (paragraph 77). The foam layer in each case has a thickness which is about 32% of an overall thickness of the multilayer sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the outer and inner cellular layers of the multilayer integral geogrid of the claimed invention having a thickness that is about 32% of the total thickness of the multilayer sheet as disclosed in Shelton, motivated by the desire to enhance reinforcing performance of the integral geogrid.
As to claim 33, the first cellular outer layer and the second cellular outer layer have a construction that includes a particulate filler (claims 6 and 7 of the US Patent No. 11,753,788). Therefore, it is not seen that the first and second outer layers could not generate the cellular openings adjacent the particulate filler, upon the stretching/orientating of the multilayer integral geogrid. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 in view of Shelton, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Walsh.
Neither the claims of the US Patent No. 11,753,788 nor Shelton discloses an aspect ratio of the strands.
Walsh, however, discloses a multi-axial geogrid having a series of interconnected strands that are arranged along at least two different axes within the plane of the structure (abstract). The strands have an aspect ratio, defined as the ratio of the thickness to width, of greater than 1.0, particularly from 1.4 to 2.2 (table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the strands disclosed in the claimed invention/Shelton having an aspect ratio disclosed in Walsh, motivated by the desire to provide increased confinement of granular material and improved performance when the geogrid is used as a reinforcing component in a civil engineering structure.
Response to Arguments
The claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 do not disclose the first and second cellular outer layers each having a thickness that is at least 10% of the total thickness of the multilayer integral geogrid. However, new combination of the U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 and Shelton suggests the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30, 33 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 in view of Shelton.
As to claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11, 30, and 34, the claims of the US Patent No. 11,519,150 disclose each and every limitation of the claims of the current application except for the first and second cellular outer layers each having a thickness that is at least 10% of the total thickness of the multilayer integral geogrid.
Shelton, however, discloses a multilayer integral geogrid comprising a plurality of oriented multilayer strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of openings therebetween as shown in figure 7. The integral geogrid is produced from coextruded multilayer layers and each layer of which made of a polymer and so is the multilayer strand. The polymeric layer including a foaming agent is equated to a foam layer. The polymeric layer free of a foaming agent is equated to a film layer. Each strand and each junction comprise multiple layers of a polymeric material including an intermediate foam layer sandwiched between two outer film layers (paragraph 81).
Shelton discloses the multilayer sheet having a first film layer and a third film layer, each having a thickness of 0.5 to 4.5 mm while a second foam layer has a thickness of 1 to 9 mm (paragraph 59). In particular, the thicknesses of the first, second and third layers: 1.56 mm/1.47 mm/1.56 mm (paragraph 72), or 1.02mm/0.96 mm/1.02mm (paragraph 77). The foam layer in each case has a thickness which is about 32% of an overall thickness of the multilayer sheet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the outer and inner cellular layers of the multilayer integral geogrid of the claimed invention having a thickness that is about 32% of the total thickness of the multilayer sheet as disclosed in Shelton, motivated by the desire to enhance reinforcing performance of the integral geogrid.
As to claim 33, the first cellular outer layer and the second cellular outer layer have a construction that includes a particulate filler (claims 9, 10, 24 and 25 of the US Patent No. 11,519,150). Therefore, it is not seen that the first and second outer layers could not generate the cellular openings adjacent the particulate filler, upon the stretching/orientating of the multilayer integral geogrid. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 in view of Shelton as applied to claim 1, further in view of Yahara.
Neither the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 nor Shelton discloses that the foam layer has a void volume of 20 to 70% and a compressibility factor of about 20 to 60%.
Yahara, however, discloses a foam obtained from a copolymer of ethylene, an α-olefin and a non-conjugated diene, a blowing agent, and a crosslinking agent (abstract). The foam has a porosity of 40% and a 50% compression strength of 75 KPa (table 2-continuous, example 8). The foam is useful as a cushioning material which damps vibration and impact in civil engineering construction (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the foam layer of the Patent No. 11,519,150/Shelton having a void volume of 40%, and a compressibility factor of 50% as disclosed in Yahara, motivated by the desire to provide an integral geogrid having high cushioning properties and improved impact resistance.
Claim 35 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 in view of Shelton, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Walsh.
Neither the claims of the US Patent No. 11,519,150 nor Shelton discloses an aspect ratio of the strands.
Walsh, however, discloses a multi-axial geogrid having a series of interconnected strands that are arranged along at least two different axes within the plane of the structure (abstract). The strands have an aspect ratio, defined as the ratio of the thickness to width, of greater than 1.0, particularly from 1.4 to 2.2 (table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the strands of the claimed invention/Shelton having an aspect ratio disclosed in Walsh, motivated by the desire to provide increased confinement of granular material and improved performance when the geogrid is used as a reinforcing component in a civil engineering structure.
Response to Arguments
The claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 do not disclose the first and second cellular outer layers each having a thickness that is at least 10% of the total thickness of the multilayer integral geogrid. However, new combination of the U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 and Shelton suggests the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788