Claims 1-3, and 7-32 are pending in the application. Claims 4-6 have been cancelled. Claims 9, 12-29, 31 and 32 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 30 are rejected.
The rejections over Shelton in view of Barger and further in view of Yahara have been maintained.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0298582 to Shelton et al. (hereinafter “Shelton”) in view of US 2009/0263645 to Barger et al. (hereinafter “Barger”).
As to claims 1 and 11, Shelton discloses a multilayer integral geogrid comprising a plurality of oriented multilayer strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of openings therebetween as shown in figure 7. The integral geogrid is produced from coextruded multilayer layers and each layer of which made of a polymer and so is the multilayer strand. The polymeric layer including a foaming agent is equated to a foam layer. The polymeric layer free of a foaming agent is equated to a film layer. Each strand and each junction comprise multiple layers of a polymeric material including an intermediate foam layer sandwiched between two outer film layers (paragraph 81).
The multilayer integral geogrid is comprised of a coextruded multilayer polymer sheet with holes or depressions therein (paragraph 25). The coextruded multilayer polymer sheet is further uniaxially or biaxially stretched to provide a plurality of highly oriented strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of the openings therein (paragraphs 12, 14, 21, 25 and 31). Shelton also teaches that CaCO3 filler is incorporated in the layers of the integral geogrid including foam layers and film layer (paragraph 91). Therefore, it is not seen that the cellular openings that forms around the CaCO3 fillers would not be present in the subsequent uniaxial or biaxial stretching process, which is an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Shelton does not explicitly disclose the strand and the junction of the integral geogrid comprising an intermediate film layer disposed between two outer foam layers.
Barger, however, discloses a multilayer foam-film composite structure comprising a plurality of alternating film layers and foam layers wherein the external layer of the composite structure is a film layer or a foam layer (paragraph 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct an integral geogrid comprising a plurality of polymeric layers wherein an external layer is a foam layer because the foam and the film have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent external layers of the multilayer foam-film composite structure, the strand and the junction of the integral geogrid; and the selection of these known equivalents will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 7, Shelton discloses that CaCO3 filler is incorporated in the layers of the integral geogrid including foam layers and film layer (paragraph 91).
As to claim 8, Shelton discloses that the multilayer integral geogrid or the multilayer strand is formed by co-extrusion (paragraph 80).
As to claim 10, Shelton discloses that the oriented strands are biaxially stretched (paragraphs 12, 14, 21 and 31).
As to claim 30, Shelton discloses that the integral geogrid is a triaxial integral geogrid (paragraph 31).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton in view of Barger as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2015/0203648 to Yahara et al. (hereinafter “Yahara”).
Neither Shelton nor Barger discloses that the foam layer has a void volume of 20 to 70% and a compressibility factor of about 20 to 60%.
Yahara, however, discloses a foam obtained from a copolymer of ethylene, an α-olefin and a non-conjugated diene, a blowing agent, and a crosslinking agent (abstract). The foam has a porosity of 40% and a 50% compression strength of 75 KPa (table 2-continuous, example 8). The foam is useful as a cushioning material which damps vibration and impact in civil engineering construction (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the foam layer disclosed in Shelton having a void volume of 40%, and a compressibility factor of 50% disclosed in Yahara motivated by the desire to provide an integral geogrid having high cushioning properties and improved impact resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that the claim is not rendered obvious in view of the combined disclosures of Shelton and Barger because none of the cited references disclose “the cellular structure including a dispersion of a particulate filler and a distribution of cellular openings, with each of the cellular openings being located adjacent the particulate filler”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As previously discussed, Shelton discloses that the multilayer integral geogrid is comprised of a coextruded multilayer polymer sheet with holes or depressions therein (paragraph 25). The coextruded multilayer polymer sheet is further uniaxially or biaxially stretched to provide a plurality of highly oriented strands interconnected by partially oriented junctions and having an array of the openings therein (paragraphs 12, 14, 21, 25 and 31). Shelton also teaches that CaCO3 filler is incorporated in the layers of the integral geogrid including foam layers and film layer (paragraph 91). Therefore, it is not seen that the cellular openings that forms around the CaCO3 fillers would not be present in the geogrid in the subsequent uniaxial or biaxial stretching process, which is an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Accordingly, the rejections over Shelton in view of Barger and further in view of Yahara have been maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent No. 11,753,788 fully encompass those of the current application.
As indicated in claims 6 and 7, the first cellular outer layer and the second cellular outer layer have a construction that includes a particulate filler. Therefore, it is not seen that the first and second outer layers could not generate the cellular openings upon the stretching/orientating of the multilayer integral geogrid. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that none of the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 disclose “the cellular structure including a dispersion of a particulate filler and a distribution of cellular openings, with each of the cellular openings being located adjacent the particulate filler”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in claims 6 and 7, the first cellular outer layer and the second cellular outer layer have a construction that includes a particulate filler. Therefore, it is not seen that the first and second outer layers could not generate the cellular openings upon stretching/orientation of the multilayer integral geogrid. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over the U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788 has been maintained.
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent No. 11,519,150 fully encompass those of the current application.
As indicated in claims 9, 10, 24 and 25, the compressible cellular outer layer has a construction that includes a particulate filler. Therefore, it is not seen that the compressible cellular outer layer could not generate the cellular openings upon stretching/orientation of the geogrid system. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 in view of Yahara.
The claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 do not explicitly disclose that the foam layer has a void volume of 20 to 70% and a compressibility factor of about 20 to 60%.
Yahara, however, discloses a foam obtained from a copolymer of ethylene, an α-olefin and a non-conjugated diene, a blowing agent, and a crosslinking agent (abstract). The foam has a porosity of 40% and a 50% compression strength of 75 KPa (table 2-continuous, example 8). The foam is useful as a cushioning material which damps vibration and impact in civil engineering construction (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the foam layer disclosed in the Patent No. 11,519,150 having a void volume of 40%, and a compressibility factor of 50% disclosed in Yahara motivated by the desire to provide an integral geogrid having high cushioning properties and improved impact resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that none of the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 11,519,150 disclose “the cellular structure including a dispersion of a particulate filler and a distribution of cellular openings, with each of the cellular openings being located adjacent the particulate filler”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in claims 9, 10, 24 and 25, the compressible cellular outer layer has a construction that includes a particulate filler. Therefore, it is not seen that the compressible cellular outer layer could not generate the cellular openings upon stretching/orientation of the geogrid system. This an exact process set out in the Applicant’s disclosure for creating these cellular openings.
Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the U.S. Patent No. 11,753,788, and further in view of Yahara have been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788