Claims 1, 5, 12-13, 20-24, 26, 28-30, 39, 45, 49, 52, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. With respect to claim 1, the structural relationship between the array of nanofeatures and other elements such as the first and second arrays of electrowetting electrodes is not clear. Is there a positioning relationship between the nanofeatures and either groups or individual electrodes in either of the electrowetting arrays? For example, is the array of nanofeatures located within the second array of electrowetting electrodes adjacent to the second array of electrowetting electrodes or are they independent from the second array of electrowetting electrodes? Are the array of nanofeatures located superior to the first array of electrowetting electrodes. Within this question is the relationship between the two arrays of electrowetting electrodes. Are the independent, overlapping to some extent or do they have another relationship? With respect to claim 5, the scope of the “formed by active-matrix technology” language is not clear. Based at least on instant paragraph [0077] “the second array of electrowetting electrodes is controlled to conduct the droplet operations using an active matrix combined with passive controls.” However, examiner was unable to determine how the CMOS layer is “formed by active-matrix technology”. More over at least instant paragraphs [0128]-[0129] and [0132] equate the “active-matrix technology” and “an active matrix-based DMF” language/phrases with a “CMOS device”. From this it appears that claim 5 defines the CMOS layer as a CMOS device or constitutes a circular definition. With respect to claim 39, the substrate surface comprises the first contact electrically coupled to a first electrode and a second contact electrically coupled to a second electrode. The clam also requires that the substrate surface comprises a digital microfluidic device comprised of a bottom printed circuit board separated from a top substrate by a droplet operations gap with the molecular sensor required to be within the droplet operations gap. Examiner notes that there is no clear structure required for performing droplet operations within the droplet operations gap of the digital microfluidic device so that its structure and any structural relationship between the structure required for performing droplet operations in the droplet operations gap and the first contact electrically coupled to a first electrode and a second contact electrically coupled to a second electrode are undefined. Unless applicant is expecting examiner to treat the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) with respect to the structure of the digital microfluidic device and its structural relationship with the first and second electrodes with their respective contacts, the structure of the digital microfluidic device need further definition for a claim that is not unclear. For examination purposes, as long as the first and second electrodes with their respective contacts are located within the droplet operations gap and capable of contacting the fluid within the gap, the “superior side” or “inferior side” language will be considered to have been met. Claims 45, 49, 52, and 55 are dependent from claim 39 and fail to correct the above outlined clarity issues of the claim.
Claims 39, 45, 49, 52, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merriman (US 2016/0340220) in view of Lee (The Nineteenth International Conference on Miniaturized Systems for Chemistry and Life Sciences (µTAS 2015)). In the patent publication, with respect to claim 39, Merriman teaches a molecular sensor for direct detection of a single molecule target (para [0040]- In various embodiments, a single molecule biosensor device), the molecular sensor comprising a substrate surface comprising: (a) a first contact (Fig 1, element 106) electrically coupled to a first electrode (Fig 1, element 102) (para [0041]- FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic representation of a sensor device 100 comprising a sensor 101 in accordance with various embodiments. Sensor 101 includes a first electrode 102 Sensor 101 can further comprise a sensor complex 105 functionally coupled to the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 103. In various embodiments, the sensor complex may be coupled to the electrodes via first contact 106); (b) a second contact (Fig 1, element 107) electrically coupled to a second electrode (Fig 1, element 107) (para [0041]- FIG. 1 illustrates a schematic representation of a sensor device 100 comprising a sensor 101 in accordance with various embodiments. Sensor 101 includes a second electrode 103 Sensor 101 can further comprise a sensor complex 105 functionally coupled to the first electrode 102 and the second electrode 103. In various embodiments, the sensor complex may be coupled to the electrodes via second contact 107); wherein (i) the first and second electrodes are separated by a sensor gap (para [0040]- The first electrode and the second electrode are separated by a sensor gap defined by the electrodes and/or contacts attached to the electrodes) and (ii) the sensor gap is spanned by a bridge molecule such that interaction of the bridge molecule with the targeted single molecule generates a detectable electrical signal (para [0040]- The first and second electrodes can be coupled by a bridge molecule spanning the sensor gap The bridge molecule attachment to the electrodes may be mediated by a contact. A probe molecule or molecular complex can be coupled to the bridge molecule. The probe can be a biomolecule such as an enzyme configured to interact with a single target molecule; para [0041]- For example, as illustrated in FIG. 1, sensor complex 105 may interact with a target molecule 108 such as a DNA molecule, and the sensor device can be used to detect the presence of and/or properties of the target molecule). Referring to claim 41, Merriman teaches the molecular sensor of claim 39. Merriman further teaches wherein the substrate comprises a silicon substrate comprising integrated microelectronics (para [0049]- For example, sensor device 200 can comprise a silicon nitride layer 260 overlying a silicon dioxide layer 261. Sensor device 200 can further comprise buried gate 204 underlying the semiconductor substrate layer(s) on which the electrodes are disposed. The various components described above can be fabricated on a support such as a silicon chip 263; para [0082]- multiple pairs of electrodes in parallel at high density and with highly precise physical specifications in a process amenable to commercial-scale production of sensor devices using CMOS fabrication and/or other microelectronic fabrication methods). Merriman does not teach that the substrate surface comprises a digital microfluidic device.
In the paper Lee teaches combining electrowetting-on-dielectric techniques (EWOD) with simplifying the process of manufacture and lowering the cost, including testing of different dielectric layers. As a result, they plan to create a general method, such as simple-pattern-designed printed circuit board (PCB), embedded with bio-sensors, mass production and disposable and replaceable dielectric layers. Figure 1 shows (a) a schematic of droplet moving. Square electrodes are 1.5 mm × 1.5 mm. (b) Side view of the PCB device that drives droplets on the electrodes. The gap between two plates was determined by double-sided tape (30μm). Of note is the sensing area integrated among the electrodes. The first paragraph of the experimental section on the first page of the paper teaches that PCB was used as the substrate and indium tin oxide (ITO) on glasses as the top plate. The dielectric layer was stuck on the surface of the PCB so that the liquid won't be electrolyzed as it was moved. Different types of dielectric material were tested to figure out the optimized device configuration: moving with lower voltage and higher speed. Materials tested were Saran wrap (PVDC, polyvinylidene chloride) or polyimide sheet rather than fabricating thin film deposition by PVD (physical vapor deposition), CVD (chemical vapor deposition), or UV-cured SU-8. Additionally, a layer of Teflon was coated on the dielectric and ITO glasses so that the surface could be hydrophobic and droplet movement happened by changing the contact angle. The conclusion section teaches that without extracting a big amount of blood and time-consuming process, it is promising that blood can be directly detected on an FET sensor. Then, integrating the result of testing dielectric layers, the whole device, including disposable polyimide makes it reusable, only by replacing a new dielectric and hydrophobic layer, the PCB can run examinations several times. Last but not least, the designed device is very small, which means that it is portable and occupies less space than the traditional machines used.
With respect to claim 39, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to incorporate the Merriman sensor into digital microfluidic device such as taught by Lee because of the ability to directly detect an analyte electrically with the FET-based biosensor with a structure that is portable, simple and cost-effective to produce as well as being reusable by replacing the dielectric and hydrophobic layers as taught by Lee. Since the FET detects an analyte by contact with the sample, the molecular sensor is located on (i) the superior side of the bottom substrate facing the droplet operations gap or (ii) the inferior side of the top substrate facing the droplet operations gap.
With respect to claims 45, 49, 52, and 55, paragraph [0051] of Merriman describes the sensor shown in figure 3 and teaches that sensor 301 further comprises sensor complex 305. In various embodiments, a sensor complex 305 can comprise a bridge molecule 333 and a probe 334. Probe 334 can be coupled to bridge molecule 333 via a linker 337, which here is shown as a streptavidin-biotin complex, with the biotin covalently incorporated into a nucleotide of the DNA bridge 333, and the streptavidin chemically, covalently cross-linked to the polymerase 334. Each of the various components of sensor complex 305 are described in greater detail below. Paragraph [0052] teaches that a bridge molecule 333 can comprise a chemically synthesized bridge molecule or a biopolymer bridge molecule. A chemically synthesized bridge molecule or a biopolymer bridge molecule may be configured to span a sensor gap both structurally and functionally. For example, a chemically synthesized molecule or biopolymer molecule may be configured through selection and use of atomically precise molecular subunits (e.g., monomeric units for incorporation into a polymeric bridge molecule) that provide for construction of a bridge molecule with known or predictable structural parameters, incorporation of features that facilitate self-assembly to contact points and self-assembly of a probe molecule to a bridge molecule, as well as suitable electrochemical properties for electrical connection of electrodes. Paragraph [0054] teaches that the term “biopolymer” can include any molecule comprising at least one monomeric unit that can be produced by a living organism, although the actual monomeric unit comprising a biopolymer or the polymer itself need not be produced by an organism and can be synthesized in vitro. Examples of biopolymers include polynucleotides, polypeptides, and polysaccharides, including well known forms of these such as DNA, RNA and proteins. Bridge molecules that comprise a biopolymer can include multi-chain polymeric proteins in a simple “coiled-coil” configuration, as occurs in collagen proteins, or a more complex folding of heavy and light chain polymeric proteins, such as in immunoglobin molecules (e.g. IgG). Such complexes that comprise biopolymers also include common nucleic acid duplex helices, such as a DNA double helix, which is two DNA single strand molecules bound into a helical double strand by hydrogen bonding, PNA-PNA duplexes, as well as DNA-RNA, DNA-PNA, and DNA-LNA hybrid duplexes. A biopolymer molecule need not be naturally occurring or produced by an organism to be classified as a biopolymer. Instead, the term “biopolymer” can include molecules that are synthesized enzymatically as well as non-enzymatically and can likewise include molecules comprising synthetic analogues of naturally-occurring monomeric units. For example, biopolymers can comprise peptide nucleic acids (PNAs) and locked nucleic acids (LNAs), synthetic analogues of DNA and RNA that have enhanced stability properties. In addition, a biopolymer can comprise any of a variety of modifications that may be added to a molecule. The use of biopolymer bridge molecules can provide various benefits, including synthesis of precisely controlled structures having suitable size and chemistry for sensor function, they may be naturally compatible with the target molecules for the sensor (e.g., compatible with the same liquid buffer medium), and the biotech industry has developed extensive capabilities to design, engineer and synthesize such molecules, and to manufacture them economically and with high quality control. Paragraph [0056] teaches that a bridge molecule can comprise a linear biopolymer such as a double-stranded DNA helix or an α-helical polypeptide. As illustrated in FIG. 3, bridge molecule 333 comprises a linear biopolymer double-stranded DNA bridge molecule with a first end 334 coupled to first contact 306 and a second end 335 coupled to second contact 307. Paragraph [0059] teaches that a double-stranded DNA can comprise a thiol-modified oligo comprising a thiol-modified nucleotide or base. A thiol-modified nucleotide can comprise a self-assembling anchor configured to bind to a gold nanobead or similar surface contact. Subsequent paragraphs describe a variety of different bridging molecules, structures to bind them to the respective electrodes and probe structures so that claims 45, 49, 52, and 55 are taught by Merriman.
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action. Claim 5 would either need to be cancelled or amended to overcome the clarity issues. All other claims that depend from claim 1 would be allowable if claim 1 were allowable.
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the changes, the art rejection of claims 1 and 12-13 has been withdrawn, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been modified and the art rejection of claims 39, 45, 49, 52 and 55 has been modified. The arguments directed toward the withdrawn art rejection are moot. Additionally, replacement of the Choi paper with the newly cited Lee paper replaces the reference used with one that teaches embedding/integrating a sensor (FET sensor) into a digital microfluidic device having the bottom printed circuit board and top substrate in a manner that shows the obviousness of the molecular sensor is located on (i) the superior side of the bottom substrate facing the droplet operations gap or (ii) the inferior side of the top substrate facing the droplet operations gap. Thus, the argument directed toward the art rejection of claims 39, 45, 49, 52 and 55 is either moot because the Choi reference is no longer being used in the rejection and/or not persuasive because the teachings of Lee are directed to the change that was made to claim 39.
With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), applicant incorporated the limitation of claim 19 into claim 1 but failed to address the structural relationship issues between the array of nanofeatures and both the first and second electrowetting electrodes. Thus, the previous problem of claim 19 is now present in claim 1 and the argument is not persuasive with respect to claim 1. With respect to claim 5, the change to the claim created a new problem. While paragraph [0353] of the published application does use the language “formed via active-matrix technology”, other section of the disclosure as noted above create a question that active-matrix technology is not a method of forming but rather a method of controlling. Examiner notes that claim 5 is an apparatus/device claim which should further define the structure of the device rather than the method of forming it and/or controlling it. Thus, if claim 5 is attempting to claim the actual structure taught in paragraph [0353] of the published application by the “formed via active-matrix technology” language, they have failed to do that because while the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Thus, ultimately it is not clear what further structural limitation is required by the “formed via active-matrix technology” language. With respect to claim 39, the change to the claim introduced a new problem. Thus, the argument with respect to this claim is moot.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited art is related to digital microfluidic structures and in particular structures with incorporated sensors.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797