Response to Amendment
The Office has carefully considered Applicant’s amendments and accompanying remarks dated 08/10/2026.
The pending claims under review in this office action are claims 1-10 and 12-14.; Claims 15-20 are withdrawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 is entered and made of record.
Applicant’s filing of the terminal disclaimer overcomes the obviousness type double patenting rejection over 18/066,753 [USPUB 20230193516 A1].
Upon review, as noted in the meat of the rejection USPUB 2022/0054964 issued to Gopal et al does teach the previous indicated allowable subject matter. Thus, even though it was discussed, this action is non-final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. This is repeated and modified in italics as Applicant didn’t submit arguments in the after final response.
Applicant’s first traversal is that that USPUB 2022/0054964 issued to Gopal does not describe the intermingling of the base fibers with the AM/AC fibers to form a fabric web.
Gopal at ¶ 0003, teaches that “Such filter media are often manufactured by spinning or melt blowing one fiber layer (fine fiber) and then forming another interlocking web (microfiber) on the porous substrate. In the melt blowing process, the fiber can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated layer.” Further at ¶ 0018, Gopal teaches that “the methods of producing the fibers, and layers, e.g., spin bonding, melt blowing, electrospinning, inter alia, are discussed in more detail herein under each layer as well. Further down, at ¶ 0029, the instant reference teaches that the composition of the fibers, fabrics, layers may be produced by spunbonding, spun lace, melt blowing, electrospinning. Other production processes are contemplated, including textile spinning and weaving.
At ¶ 0027-0028, Gopal teaches that the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. Alternatively, if needed they can also be separable. It should also be noted that Applicant does not provide any particular degree of entanglement or intermixing. As such, Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims. Gopal teaches meltblowing process and spun lacing that is used to create the layers where the fibers can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated within the same layer or to another one. Therefore, this argument is not found to be convincing.
Additionally, Applicant's claims are directed to a product. Applicant's claims recite fibers which are a product. The manner in which the product is manufactured is given minimal patentable weight. See MPEP 2113. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
Applicant’s second traversal, is that the claimed subject matter is directed to the base fibers and AM/AV fibers being within a single layer/common, which distinguishes over the distinct first and second layers of Gopal. Applicant’s claims do not state “ a single common layer.” Applicant’s specification speaks to “layers” and never provides any definition for what a “fabric web” or what a single common layer is. Applicant’s working examples are towards “fabrics” plural. As such, this argument is not found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s last traversal is that Gopal does not teach the length of the fibers. Gopal teaches meltblowns and melt blown filament/fibers by nature are short (staple) filaments/fibers and not continuous filaments (long). The process of melt blowing is when a molten polymer is extruded through fine nozzles and stretched into fine filaments of a short length. As such, this traversal is also not found to be convincing and the rejection over Gopal et al. is maintained but modified to accommodate Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPUB 20220054964A1 issued to Gopal et al.
Regarding modified Claim 1, where Applicant seeks an antiviral and/or antimicrobial and/or antiodor (AM/AV), comprising:
base fibers comprising a base polymer composition comprising a base polymer; and
short AM/AV fibers comprising an AM/AV polymer composition comprising an AM/AV polymer and an AM/AV compound; wherein the base fibers and the short AM/AV fibers are intermingled with one another and are spunlaced, needlepunched, and/or hydroentangled to form a fabric web, and wherein the fabric has a charge and demonstrates a particle filtration efficiency greater than 20% when measured in accordance with TSI 8130A test system at 10.5 ft/min face velocity, and wherein the fabric demonstrates a Klebsiella pneumoniae efficacy log reduction greater than 1.5, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018); Applicant is directed to the teachings of USPUB 20220054964A1 issued to Gopal et al.
Gopal et al teach making filter media structures having antimicrobial and/or antiviral properties. [Abstract] and comprises a first layer with an electret web (an electrically charged nonwoven web) comprising a polymer such as polyolefin, polyester, polyurethane, polycarbonate, polystyrene, fluoropolymer, or copolymers.
At ¶ 0003, Gopal et al. teach that “Such filter media are often manufactured by spinning or melt blowing one fiber layer (fine fiber) and then forming another interlocking web (microfiber) on the porous substrate. In the melt blowing process, the fiber can form physical bonds between fibers to interlock the fiber mat into an integrated layer.”
At ¶ 0027, the instant reference teaches that a second layer may be formed directly on the first layer. For example, the first layer may comprise polyolefin, polyester, or polystyrene, and the second layer may comprise polymer fibers, preferably polyamide fibers, which are blown directly on a surface of the first layer. In this way, the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. The first layer is formed from polypropylene (e.g., spunbond) and the second layer is formed from a plurality of fibers of a polyamide composition (e.g., meltblown). Melt blown fibers are known to be short fibers. This shows that if desired the first and second layers are intermingled so that it is not possible to separate them.
At ¶ 0028, the instant reference teaches that the first layer and the second layer may be (substantially) contiguous. discusses that in some embodiments, the layers of the filter media structure are separable and/or removable, this shows that if desired the first and second layers are intermingled yet separable if needed.
At ¶ 0029, the instant reference teaches that the composition of the fibers, fabrics, layers may be produced by spunbonding, spun lace, melt blowing, electrospinning. Other production processes are contemplated, including textile spinning and weaving.
Regarding the limitation-wherein the base fibers and the short AM/AV fibers are intermingled with one another and are spunlaced, needlepunched, and/or hydroentangled to form a fabric web-It should be noted that Applicant's claims are directed to a product. Applicant's claims recite fibers which are a product. the manner in which the product is manufactured is given minimal patentable weight. See MPEP 2113. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966.
At ¶ 0033-0034, the instant reference discloses that a charge may be applied to the first layer using any suitable technique, such as corona charging, tribocharging, or hydro charging. ¶ 0033 specifically states that the electrostatic charge of the first layer may be up to -20 kV.
At ¶ 0035, the instant reference teaches that the first layer may comprise staple fibers to provides a more lofty, less dense web wherein the number of staple fibers in the first layer may be 1 - 90 wt.%.
At ¶ 0079, the instant reference discloses that the first layer may comprise an antimicrobial/antiviral polymer composition and ¶ 0080 discloses that a layer with biological reducing properties may comprise a polymer and one or more AM/ AV compounds, such as metallic compounds including copper and zinc.
At ¶ 0136, the instant reference teaches that any of the layers of the filter media structure may comprise additional additives. The additives include pigments, hydrophilic or hydrophobic additives, antiodor additives, additional antiviral agents, and antimicrobial/ anti-fungal inorganic compounds, such as copper, zinc, tin, and silver.
At ¶ 0071, the instant reference teaches that the antimicrobial activity of the filter media structure may also be measured by determining the percentage inhibiting a bacterium or bacteria, e.g. Klebsiella pneumoniae and that in one embodiment, the filter media structure inhibits the growth reduction of K. pneumoniae in an amount ranging from 60% to 100%. It should be noted that in microbiology a 1 log reduction = 90% reduction, 2 log reduction = 99% reduction and a 1.5 log fall is approximately a 96% reduction.
At ¶ 0129 and ¶ 0180-0181, the instant reference discloses that particulate filtration efficiency PFE was measured using the TSI 8130 test.
At ¶ 0130-0132, the instant reference teaches that PFE which measures a percentage of particles that are trapped or isolated by the filter media structure demonstrates a PFE greater than 90%.
Regarding the last limitation in claim 1 wherein the fabric demonstrates a Klebsiella pneumoniae efficacy log reduction greater than 1.5, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018)- Gopal et al. at ¶ 0071, teaches that the antimicrobial activity of the filter media structure may also be measured by determining the percentage inhibiting a bacterium or bacteria, e.g. Klebsiella pneumoniae and that in one embodiment, the filter media structure inhibits the growth reduction of K. pneumoniae in an amount ranging from 60% to 100%. It should be noted that in microbiology a 1 log reduction = 90% reduction, 2 log reduction = 99% reduction and a 1.5 log fall is approximately a 96% reduction. They do not test using the same standard as sought by Applicant.
It is the position of the Office that the resultant property of the fabric demonstrates a Klebsiella pneumoniae efficacy log reduction greater than 1.5, as measured in accordance with ASTM E3160 (2018) would be met by Gopal et al. Support for said assumption is found in the use of the same layers, same composition, same fiber size and filtering the same bacteria of Klebsiella pneumoniae as Applicant. The burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties as set forth above, it would obviously have been present once the Gopal et al. product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection made above under 35 USC 102. Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though rejection is based on Section 103 instead of Section 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
At ¶ 0157, the instant reference teaches that the filter media structures may be used in wound care, for example, the filter media structures may be employed as wraps, (breathable) gauzes, bandages, and/or other dressings and that the AM/ AV properties of the filter media structures make them particularly beneficial in these applications. In some cases, the filter media structures serve as a moisture barrier and/or to facilitate an oxygen transmission balance.
Regarding Claim 2, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the short AM/AV fibers have fiber lengths less than 200 mm; Melt blown fibers by nature are short fibers and not continuous filaments. The process of melt blowing is when a molten polymer is extruded through fine nozzles and stretched into fine filaments of a short length.
Regarding Claim 3, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the fabric comprises greater than 20 wt % short AM/AV fibers; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0010, where the instant reference teaches that the amount can be 50 to 99.9 wt. %
Regarding Claim 4, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the short AM/AV fibers have a surface energy less than 4 N/m; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of the short AM/AV fibers have a surface energy less than 4 N/m, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of surface energy would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 5, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the charge is achieved via applying a voltage to the fabric at 10 Hz to 70 Hz; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of a charge is achieved via applying a voltage to the fabric at 10 Hz to 70 Hz, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of a charge is achieved via applying a voltage to the fabric at 10 Hz to 70 Hz would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 6, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the charge is a voltage drop less than 25 V; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of charge is a voltage drop less than 25 V, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of charge is a voltage drop less than 25 V would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 7, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the charge is a voltage drop greater than 0.01 V; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of charge is a voltage drop greater than 0.01 V, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of charge is a voltage drop greater than 0.01 V, would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding modified Claim 8, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the short AM/AV fibers comprise polyamide and the base fibers comprise olefins, rayon, acrylic polymers, polyesters, polyester-polypropylene splittable fibers, polypropylene-polyethylene splittable fibers, polyamide-polypropylene splittable fibers, natural fibers (wood pulp), or glass fibers, or combinations thereof; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0009-0013 and 0027 and the working examples.
Regarding Claim 9, where Applicant seeks that the 9. The fabric of claim 1, wherein the AM/AV fabric demonstrates a flow resistance less than 40 mmH2O; Gopal et al. do not explicitly teach the resultant properties of flow resistance less than 40 mmH2O, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. same fibers, same weave, same composition, same length, same basis weight and most of all same intended use. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594. In the alternative, the claimed resultant properties of flow resistance less than 40 mmH2O would obviously have been provided by the composite disclosed by Gopal et al. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection under 35 USC 103 in addition to the rejection made above under 35 USC 102.
Regarding Claim 10, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the base polymer comprises polypropylene and the AM/AV polymer comprises polyamide; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0011 and ¶ 0183, Example 1, of the instant reference they teach that the filter media structure was prepared using a 77.2 g/m2 spunbond polypropylene (SBPP) charged two-layer nonwoven layer having an average fiber diameter of 13 microns, thickness of 0.65 mm on which a 17 g/m2 meltblown polyamide (MBPA) having an average fiber diameter of about 1.5 to 2 microns was positioned in an upstream manner. The meltblown polyamide comprised 500 ppm of zinc by weight (wppm).
Regarding Claim 12, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the AM/AV fabric has a basis weight ranging from 30 g/m2 to 130 g/m2; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0038, where the instant reference teaches that the basis weight of the first layer may be controlled through processing techniques and is in the range of about 10 to 500 g/m2. At ¶ 0055, the instance reference teaches that the second layer y have a basis weight from 4.5 g/m2 to 50 g/m2.
Regarding Claim 13, where Applicant seeks that the fabric of claim 1, wherein the AM/AV compound comprises zinc or copper or a combination thereof; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0079, where the instant reference discloses that the first layer may comprise an antimicrobial/antiviral polymer composition and ¶ 0080 discloses that a layer with biological reducing properties may comprise a polymer and one or more AM/ AV compounds, such as metallic compounds including copper and zinc. Also, at ¶ 0136, that any of the layers of the filter media structure may comprise additional additives. The additives include pigments, hydrophilic or hydrophobic additives, antiodor additives, additional antiviral agents, and antimicrobial/ anti-fungal inorganic compounds, such as copper, zinc, tin, and silver.
Regarding Claim 14, where Applicant seeks a wound care product comprising the fabric of claim 1; Applicant is directed to ¶ 0157, where the instant reference teaches that the filter media structures may be used in wound care, for example, the filter media structures may be employed as wraps, (breathable) gauzes, bandages, and/or other dressings and that the AM/ AV properties of the filter media structures make them particularly beneficial in these applications. In some cases, the filter media structures serve as a moisture barrier and/or to facilitate an oxygen transmission balance.
Conclusion
/Arti Singh-Pandey/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1759
asp