Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 1/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Yuan et al. (US 9738538B2), and further in view of Zones (US20180134571).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan et al. discloses a process of making a high-silica NaY zeolite having an FAU framework. Deionized water, activated silica, sodium aluminate, sodium hydroxide, and an organic structure directing agent is mixed. Crystallization is carried out at 80-110° C and the solid is recovered (page 3, line 13-39 49-59). Yuan does not disclose the use of 1,2-dimethyl-3-(3-methylbenzyl)imidazolium as the organic structure directing agent.
Zones discloses the use of 1,2-dimethyl-3-(3-methylbenzyl)imidazolium as a structure directing agent in the synthesis of a CIT-13 molecular sieve (page 1, paragraph 0008) (page 3, paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one of the structure directing agents taught in Yuan with 1,2-dimethyl-3-(3-methylbenzyl)imidazolium taught in Zones because they are both used as structure directing agents in zeolite synthesis.
Regarding claim 2, Yuan et al. discloses the high-silica zeolite having a SiO2/Al2O3 molar ratio of greater than 6 (page 3, line 62-65).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan et al. discloses a source of alumina that is sodium aluminate (page 3, line 49-54).
Regarding claim 5, Yuan et al. discloses an alkali metal cation that is sodium in sodium hydroxide (page 3, line 49-54).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan et al. in view of Zones discloses an organic structure directing agent that is in its chloride form (page 3, line 31-39).
Regarding claim 7, Yuan et al. discloses a reaction mixture that fulfills the range of molar ratios (page 5/6, Table 1, Example 1). It is understood that the substitution of the structure directing agent taught in Zones should not change the molar ratios taught in Yuan. A table is provided below showing how all the ratios were obtained.
SiO2/Al2O3
1.2/0.1 = 12
M/SiO2
2 mol of Na in 1 mol Na2O
0.32(2)/1.2 = 0.53
Q/SiO2
0.1/1.2 = 0.083
OH/SiO2
2 mol NaOH decomposes into one mol Na2O, one mole of OH in one mole of NaOH
2NaOH [Wingdings font/0xE0] Na2O + H2O
0.32(2)/1.2 = 0.53
H2O/SiO2
22/1.2 = 18
Regarding claim 9, Yuan et al. discloses the crystallization conditions are under autogenous pressure (page 3, line 22-26).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan et al. discloses drying the high-silica zeolite which is a form of treatment to remove part of the organic structure directing agent (page 3, line 27-30).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Zones as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (“Zeolite materials prepared using silicate waste from template synthesis of ordered mesoporous carbon”).
Yuan et al. in view of Zones is applied as described above for claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, and 10.
Regarding claim 3, Yuan et al. modified by Zones teaches that the silica source may be a silica sol or an orthosilicate but does not disclose that the source of silica is sodium silicate.
Kim et al. discloses that common silica sources employed in the preparation of zeolites include colloidal silica, tetraethylorthosilicate (TEOS), and sodium silicate (1. Introduction). Kim et al. further teaches that sodium silicates are especially preferred because of their low-cost and availability (1. Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Yuan et al. by substituting the source of silica for sodium silicate taught by Kim et al. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute one functionally equivalent silica source for another, with the added benefit of choosing a low-cost and easily available one (sodium silicate). Because both sources of silica are conventional in zeolite synthesis process, one would have had reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. in view of Zones as applied above for claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, and 10.
Regarding claim 8, Yuan et al. does not disclose an example where are all molar ratios are satisfied. Using the same reaction mixture as claim 7, the Q/SiO2 ratio is 0.083 which is slightly out of range. If we use Yuan et al.’s range of ratios on page 3 line 42-45, Q/SiO2 has a range of 0.005-1; entirely encompassing the claimed range. It is understood that the substitution of the structure directing agent taught in Zones should not change the molar ratios taught in Yuan. The conversion of Yuan et al.’s ranges to the claimed ranges is below.
Q/SiO2 = (Q/Al2O3)/(SiO2/Al2O3)
Q/Al2O3 (0.1-6)
SiO2/Al2O3 (6-20)
Q/SiO2
0.1
6
0.017
0.1
20
0.005
6
6
1
6
20
0.3
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select the portion of the prior art’s range which is within the range of the applicants’ claims because it has been held prima facie case of obviousness to select a value in a known range by optimization for the results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Additionally, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Yuan et al. does not teach 1,2-dimethyl-3-(3-methylbenzyl)imidazolium as recited in the amended claims. The examiner agrees but new ground of rejection has been made in Zones (US20180134571).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID ANDREW CALDERON/ /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742