DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 03/03/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not disclose the first or second cell is selected by the UE based on DRX states as amended (Remarks, Pages 9-10), and that all clams are therefore allowable (page 11, Remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
MolavianJazi at para. 0086 discloses: DRX timers for PDCCH monitoring for new transmissions or for HARQ retransmissions associated with PDSCH/PUSCH on the scheduled cell are considered to run on the scheduling cell, where the UE monitors the PDCCH, and not on the scheduled cell.
In other words, based on the DRX timer state, the UE will monitor on the scheduling cell (i.e. selected) for PDCCH, instead of the scheduled cell. Examiner notes that a UE being configured to monitor on a particular cell as opposed to another is a selecting of that particular cell.
Additionally, MolavianJazi at paras. 0241-0242 discloses: 1> if a DRX group is in Active Time: 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3.
In other words, based on the active (i.e. on) state of a DRX group, the UE selects cell(s) to monitor the PDCCH on. Particularly at para. 0241-0242, this cell selection is explicitly based upon a DRX group being Active (i.e. on).
Also disclosed at para. 0395: when the UE can apply the shorter value for extension of DRX Active Time on the first DRX group (corresponding to the scheduling cell), when the scheduling cell monitors/receives PDCCH for the scheduled cell (which belongs to the second DRX group). Accordingly, when a scheduling cell has a first scheduled cell in the first DRX group and has a second scheduled cell in the second DRX group, the UE applies a first (larger) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the first scheduled cell and applies a second (smaller) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the second scheduled cell.
In other words, the UE applies a DRX Active (i.e. on) time or inactivity (i.e. off) timer depending upon which cell it selects to receive the PDCCH. As there are different times it monitors different cells, there is clearly a selection of a cell for PDCCH monitoring.
In conclusion, it is clear that MolavianJazi discloses the amended limitations at several citations as provided by Examiner. All rejections have been maintained. See the Claim Rejections section for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0394734 A1 to MolavianJazi et al. (“MolavianJazi”).
As to claim 1, MolavianJazi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (para. 0055, UE), comprising: a memory (para. 0059, memory); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, that, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, are configured to (para. 0059, The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360): receive, from a network node, a configuration associated with cell scheduling (fig. 6, para. 0117, Throughout the present disclosure, the term “configuration” or “higher layer configuration” and variations thereof (such as “configured” and so on) are used to refer to one or more of: a system information signaling such as by a master information block (MIB) or a SIB (such as SIB1), a common or cell-specific higher layer/RRC signaling, or a dedicated or UE-specific or BWP-specific higher layer/RRC signaling; para. 0175…UE…configured by network via dedicated RRC signaling, para. 0311, UE is provided with a first DRX and second DRX configuration (i.e. using RRC signaling from network)...UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell); and perform, based at least in part on the configuration and for a cell scheduling of a second cell, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring on one of a first cell or on the second cell, the one being selected, by the UE, in response to one or more of a discontinuous reception (DRX) state of a first DRX group associated with the first cell or a DRX state of a second DRX group associated with the second cell (fig. 6, para. 0311, In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided with a first DRX configuration for a first DRX group including a first serving cell. A DRX configuration includes configuration of DRX timers/parameters, and so on. In step 620, the UE is provided with a second DRX configuration for a second DRX group including a second serving cell. The second DRX configuration is different/separate from the first DRX configuration, so that at least some DRX parameters/timers (i.e. DRX state) are configured separately for each DRX group, while some DRX parameters/timers (i.e. DRX state) can be commonly configured for both DRX groups. In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell. In step 640, the UE receives a PDCCH (i.e. PDCCH monitoring) on the first serving cell that indicates a DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell; Para. 0312 details the method 600 is shown as a series of steps, various steps could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, or occur multiple times. Therefore, as it is a series of steps, 610 and 620 occur prior to 640, and PDCCH reception occurs in response to the DRX states being determined.), wherein the DRX state of the first DRX group or the DRX state of the second DRX group comprises an on or off state in DRX operation (para. 0193 discloses: “The DRX parameters that are separately configured for each DRX group are: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer.” An “onDurationTimer” means that during the timer operation, the DRX group is in an “on state,” and hence the parameter is an “on state” indication; para. 0086 discloses: DRX timers for PDCCH monitoring for new transmissions or for HARQ retransmissions associated with PDSCH/PUSCH on the scheduled cell are considered to run on the scheduling cell, where the UE monitors the PDCCH, and not on the scheduled cell.
In other words, based on the DRX timer state, the UE will monitor on the scheduling cell (i.e. selected) for PDCCH, instead of the scheduled cell. Examiner notes that a UE being configured to monitor on a particular cell as opposed to another is a selecting of that particular cell.
Additionally, MolavianJazi at paras. 0241-0242 discloses: 1> if a DRX group is in Active Time: 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3. In other words, based on the active (i.e. on) state of a DRX group, the UE selects cell(s) to monitor the PDCCH on. Particularly at para. 0241-0242, this cell selection is explicitly based upon a DRX group being Active (i.e. on).
Also disclosed at para. 0395: when the UE can apply the shorter value for extension of DRX Active Time on the first DRX group (corresponding to the scheduling cell), when the scheduling cell monitors/receives PDCCH for the scheduled cell (which belongs to the second DRX group). Accordingly, when a scheduling cell has a first scheduled cell in the first DRX group and has a second scheduled cell in the second DRX group, the UE applies a first (larger) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the first scheduled cell and applies a second (smaller) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the second scheduled cell.
In other words, the UE applies a DRX Active (i.e. on) time or inactivity (i.e. off) timer depending upon which cell it selects to receive the PDCCH. As there are different times it monitors different cells, there is clearly a selection of a cell for PDCCH monitoring.).
As to claim 2, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first cell is associated with a first frequency range (FR1) and the second cell is associated with a second frequency range (FR2) (para. 0076, Each DRX group can include cells from only one frequency range. For example, the default DRX group can include only FR1 cells, and the secondary DRX group can include only FR2 cells, or vice versa).
As to claim 3, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the UE is configured with an FR1 and FR2 carrier aggregation, and wherein the UE is configured with the first DRX group and the second DRX group (para. 0075, Embodiments of the present disclosure describe enhancements for UE power saving in a carrier aggregation (CA) operation. In particular, embodiments of the disclosure focus on cross-carrier scheduling across different discontinuous reception (DRX) groups in different frequency ranges; para. 0076, for a UE configured with multiple serving cells (CA operation), DRX configuration is configured per groups of serving cells, referred to as DRX groups. A UE can be configured with one or two DRX groups, referred to as default DRX group and a secondary DRX group. The UE determines a respective DRX Active Time for each DRX group. Since UE power consumption is materially different between low/mid frequency bands such as below 6G or frequency range 1 (FR1), compared to high frequency bands such as mmWave bands above 6GHz or frequency range 2 (FR2), the legacy system restricts DRX groups based on an operating frequency range. Each DRX group can include cells from only one frequency range. For example, the default DRX group can include only FR1 cells, and the secondary DRX group can include only FR2 cells, or vice versa).
As to claim 4, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, that are configured to perform the PDCCH monitoring, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are configured to: perform the PDCCH monitoring for the second cell on the first cell for a cross-carrier scheduling or a multi-carrier scheduling (para. 0311, In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell. In step 640, the UE receives a PDCCH on the first serving cell that indicates a DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell.).
As to claim 5, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, that are configured to perform the PDCCH monitoring, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are configured to: perform the PDCCH monitoring for the second cell on the second cell for a self-scheduling (para. 0111, the UE is: (i)configured cross-carrier scheduling from second cell(s) to a first cell, in addition to self-scheduling on the first cell, (ii) not configured scheduling on any serving cell from the first cell, and (iii) configured to monitor PDCCH candidates according to search space sets on the first cell for detection of DCI format(s) for scheduling on the first cell that include a CIF, then the UE can be provided a mapping among values of the CIF in the DCI format(s) for self-carrier scheduling on the first cell and indication(s) whether or not to monitor PDCCH on a cell from the second cell(s) (i.e. perform the PDCCH monitoring for the second cell on the second cell) for scheduling on the first cell (i.e. for a self-scheduling) ).
As to claim 6, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second cell is a scheduled cell, and wherein the first cell is a scheduling cell for a cross-carrier scheduling or a multi-carrier scheduling (para. 0311, In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell), or the second cell is a scheduling cell for a self-scheduling (para. 0111, the UE is: (i)configured cross-carrier scheduling from second cell(s) to a first cell, in addition to self-scheduling on the first cell, (ii) not configured scheduling on any serving cell from the first cell, and (iii) configured to monitor PDCCH candidates according to search space sets on the first cell for detection of DCI format(s) for scheduling on the first cell that include a CIF, then the UE can be provided a mapping among values of the CIF in the DCI format(s) for self-carrier scheduling on the first cell and indication(s) whether or not to monitor PDCCH on a cell from the second cell(s) for scheduling on the first cell (i.e. for a self-scheduling) ).
As to claim 7, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the UE is configured with, for the scheduled cell, one or more candidate scheduling cells for switching, and wherein up to one candidate scheduling cell per DRX group is configured for the scheduled cell (para. 0381, For a UE that is configured with two DRX groups, wherein a scheduling cell (i.e. candidate) and a corresponding scheduled cell belong to two different DRX groups (i.e. per DRX group), when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell that indicates a new DL/UL transmission on the scheduled cell (i.e. for switching), the UE can start/restart DRX-inactivity timers for both DRX groups or only for one of the DRX groups, such as a DRX group corresponding to the scheduling cell (where UE monitors the PDCCH). The scheduled cell and the scheduling cell can be in same or different frequency ranges).
As to claim 8, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are further configured to: select, for the scheduled cell, a scheduling cell and a scheduling mode based at least in part on one or more of the DRX state of the first DRX group and the DRX state of the second DRX group (para. 0304, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time (i.e. DRX state) of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), i.e. selects scheduling cell by starting timer, even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time (i.e. DRX state) of the second DRX group), wherein the scheduling mode is one of a cross-carrier scheduling (para. 0310, a baseline UE operation with cross-carrier scheduling across different DRX groups, wherein the PDCCH monitoring in one DRX group can extend the DRX Active Time on both DRX groups, para. 0311, UE starts/restarts the drx-InactivityTimer and stops drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL for both DRX groups) or multi-carrier scheduling mode or a self-scheduling mode.
As to claim 9, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are further configured to: determine, at a given time and for the scheduled cell, whether one or more of the first DRX group or the second DRX group are active, wherein one or more of the first DRX group or the second DRX group are associated with a candidate scheduling cell of the one or more candidate scheduling cells (para. 0304, In one example, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell (i.e. candidate) for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time (i.e. a given time, first DRX group is active) of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time of the second DRX group).
As to claim 10, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are further configured to: determine, at the given time and for the scheduled cell, that one of the first DRX group or the second DRX group is active (para. 0304, In one example, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time (i.e. a given time, first DRX group is active) of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time of the second DRX group); and perform the PDCCH monitoring for the scheduled cell using the candidate scheduling cell associated with the first DRX group or the second DRX group that is active (para. 0304, In one example, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time of the second DRX group).
As to claim 11, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are further configured to: determine, at the given time and for the scheduled cell, that both the first DRX group and the second DRX group are active (para. 0304, In one example, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell for the scheduled cell inside DRX Active Time (i.e. given time) of the first DRX group, the UE starts the drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduled cell (in addition to drx-InactivityTimer on the scheduling cell), even if the PDCCH is received outside DRX Active Time of the second DRX group, i.e. this is conditional, hence may be inside DRX Active Time; para. 0079, coupling (i.e. active at same time) of DRX Active Times across the two DRX groups); and perform the PDCCH monitoring for the scheduled cell using the candidate scheduling cell associated with the first DRX group or the second DRX group based at least in part on a radio resource control (RRC) configuration received from the network node (fig. 6, para. 0117, Throughout the present disclosure, the term “configuration” or “higher layer configuration” and variations thereof (such as “configured” and so on) are used to refer to one or more of: a system information signaling such as by a master information block (MIB) or a SIB (such as SIB1), a common or cell-specific higher layer/RRC signaling, or a dedicated or UE-specific or BWP-specific higher layer/RRC signaling; para. 0175…UE…configured by network via dedicated RRC signaling, para. 0311, UE is provided with a first DRX and second DRX configuration (i.e. using RRC signaling from network)...UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell; fig. 6, para. 0311, In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided with a first DRX configuration for a first DRX group including a first serving cell. A DRX configuration includes configuration of DRX timers/parameters, and so on. In step 620, the UE is provided with a second DRX configuration for a second DRX group including a second serving cell. The second DRX configuration is different/separate from the first DRX configuration, so that at least some DRX parameters/timers are configured separately for each DRX group, while some DRX parameters/timers can be commonly configured for both DRX groups. In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell. In step 640, the UE receives a PDCCH (i.e. PDCCH monitoring) on the first serving cell (i.e. candidate) that indicates a DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell, i.e. all due to initial RRC configuration) or on a predefined rule (fig. 6, para. 0311, In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided with a first DRX configuration for a first DRX group including a first serving cell. A DRX configuration includes configuration of DRX timers/parameters, and so on. In step 620, the UE is provided with a second DRX configuration for a second DRX group including a second serving cell. The second DRX configuration is different/separate from the first DRX configuration, so that at least some DRX parameters/timers are configured separately for each DRX group, while some DRX parameters/timers can be commonly configured for both DRX groups. In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell. In step 640, the UE receives a PDCCH (i.e. PDCCH monitoring) on the first serving cell (i.e. candidate) that indicates a DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell, i.e. due to configuration by/from the first serving cell).
As to claim 12, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus apparatus of claim 11, wherein the predefined rule is based at least in part on a cell index (fig. 6, para. 0311, In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is provided with a first DRX configuration for a first DRX group including a first serving cell. A DRX configuration includes configuration of DRX timers/parameters, and so on. In step 620, the UE is provided with a second DRX configuration for a second DRX group including a second serving cell. The second DRX configuration is different/separate from the first DRX configuration, so that at least some DRX parameters/timers are configured separately for each DRX group, while some DRX parameters/timers can be commonly configured for both DRX groups. In step 630, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first (i.e. cell index) serving cell. In step 640, the UE receives a PDCCH (i.e. PDCCH monitoring) on the first serving cell (i.e. candidate) that indicates a DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell, i.e. due to configuration by/from the first serving cell), a frequency range index, or a band index.
As to claim 13, MolavianJazi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (para. 0048, BS), comprising: a memory (para. 0049, memory); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, that, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (para. 0049, The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS), are configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration associated with cell scheduling (para. 0117, Throughout the present disclosure, the term “configuration” or “higher layer configuration” and variations thereof (such as “configured” and so on) are used to refer to one or more of: a system information signaling such as by a master information block (MIB) or a SIB (such as SIB1), a common or cell-specific higher layer/RRC signaling, or a dedicated or UE-specific or BWP-specific higher layer/RRC signaling; para. 0175…UE…configured by network via dedicated RRC signaling, fig. 9, para. 0398, In step 910, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a first DRX group including a first serving cell. In step 920, the UE is configured a second DRX group including a second serving cell); and transmit, to the UE and based at least in part on the configuration, downlink control information (DCI) associated with a cell scheduling for a second cell (para. 0383, a new DL/UL transmission indicated by a PDCCH can refer to a new/initial transmission of a PDSCH or a PUSCH, that is scheduled by a DCI format included in a PDCCH, para. 0398, In step 940, the UE receives a PDCCH on the first serving cell that indicates a new DL/UL transmission on the second serving cell), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring one of a first cell or the second cell being the one being selected, by the UE for monitoring cell scheduling of the second cell, in response to on one or more of a discontinuous reception (DRX) state of a first DRX group associated with the first cell or a second DRX group associated with the second cell (para. 0381, For a UE that is configured with two DRX groups, wherein a scheduling cell and a corresponding scheduled cell belong to two different DRX groups, when the UE receives a PDCCH on the scheduling cell that indicates a new DL/UL transmission on the scheduled cell [para. 0398, second cell], the UE can start/restart DRX-inactivity timers for both DRX groups or only for one of the DRX groups (i.e. restarting timers would mean it is based on DRX groups), such as a DRX group corresponding to the scheduling cell (where UE monitors the PDCCH). The scheduled cell and the scheduling cell can be in same or different frequency ranges; Para. 0312 details the method 600 is shown as a series of steps, various steps could overlap, occur in parallel, occur in a different order, or occur multiple times. Therefore, as it is a series of steps, 610 and 620 occur prior to 640, and PDCCH reception occurs in response to the DRX states being determined.), wherein the DRX state of the first DRX group or the DRX state of the second DRX group comprises an on or off state in DRX operation (para. 0193 discloses: “The DRX parameters that are separately configured for each DRX group are: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer.” An “onDurationTimer” means that during the timer operation, the DRX group is in an “on state,” and hence the parameter is an “on state” indication; para. 0086 discloses: DRX timers for PDCCH monitoring for new transmissions or for HARQ retransmissions associated with PDSCH/PUSCH on the scheduled cell are considered to run on the scheduling cell, where the UE monitors the PDCCH, and not on the scheduled cell. In other words, based on the DRX timer state, the UE will monitor on the scheduling cell (i.e. selected) for PDCCH, instead of the scheduled cell. Examiner notes that a UE being configured to monitor on a particular cell as opposed to another is a selecting of that particular cell. Additionally, MolavianJazi at paras. 0241-0242 discloses: 1> if a DRX group is in Active Time: 2> monitor the PDCCH on the Serving Cells in this DRX group as specified in REF3. In other words, based on the active (i.e. on) state of a DRX group, the UE selects cell(s) to monitor the PDCCH on. Particularly at para. 0241-0242, this cell selection is explicitly based upon a DRX group being Active (i.e. on). Also disclosed at para. 0395: when the UE can apply the shorter value for extension of DRX Active Time on the first DRX group (corresponding to the scheduling cell), when the scheduling cell monitors/receives PDCCH for the scheduled cell (which belongs to the second DRX group). Accordingly, when a scheduling cell has a first scheduled cell in the first DRX group and has a second scheduled cell in the second DRX group, the UE applies a first (larger) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the first scheduled cell and applies a second (smaller) value for DRX-inactivity timer when monitoring/receiving PDCCH on the scheduling cell is for the second scheduled cell.
In other words, the UE applies a DRX Active (i.e. on) time or inactivity (i.e. off) timer depending upon which cell it selects to receive the PDCCH. As there are different times it monitors different cells, there is clearly a selection of a cell for PDCCH monitoring.).
As to claim 14, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first cell is associated with a first frequency range (FR1) and the second cell is associated with a second frequency range (FR2) (para. 0391, when the first DRX group includes FR1 cells and the second DRX group includes FR2 cells; para. 0398, The scheduled cell and the scheduling cell can be in same or different frequency ranges).
As to claim 15, MolavianJazi further discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, based at least in part on the information stored in the memory, are further configured to: configure the UE is with an FR1 and FR2 carrier aggregation (para. 0299, The present disclosure enables an improved operation of 3GPP 5G NR system by enhancing CA operation across frequency bands below and above 6 GHz, referred to as FR1+FR2 CA operation; para. 0398, In step 930, the UE is configured cross-carrier scheduling for the second serving cell by/from the first serving cell); and configure the UE with the first DRX group and the second DRX group (fig. 9, para. 0398, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a first DRX group including a first serving cell. In step 920, the UE is configured a second DRX group including a second serving cell.).
As to claims 16-30, see similar rejections to claims 1-15, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463