DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) for being anticipated by Guilder (U.S. Patent 2,571,316).
Regarding claim 8, Guilder teaches a whisk configured to couple to attach to a stand mixer (whisk shown in figures 2 and 9) the whisk defining an axial direction (a vertical direction), a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction (a direction extending outward from the shaft is considered a radial direction), and a circumferential direction extending around the axial direction (a direction of the whisk rotation), the whisk comprising: a mounting socket at a top end of the whisk (sleeve item 56 is considered reading on a socket that is at the top of the whisk), the mounting socket extending along the axial direction from the top end of the whisk to a hub (item 56 extends in a vertical direction), the mounting socket configured to attach to a shaft of the stand mixer (shaft proximate item 40 driven end); a plurality of tines arrayed along a first portion and a second portion of a circumference of the hub (items 44, 45, and 48), each tine of the plurality of tines comprising a first radial segment extending out from the first portion of the hub along the radial direction (portion extending out from center proximate items 72, 88, and 106), a first linear segment extending approximately along the axial direction (proximate items 71, 87, and 104 that extend downward in the axial direction), a first fillet between the first radial segment and the first linear segment (bend in the whisk extending from items 44 to 71, 45 to 87, and 106 to 104), and an arcuate segment curving radially inward to an inflection point at a bottom end of the whisk (bends curving to items 69, 83, and 102), the arcuate segment of each tine of the plurality tines curving radially outward from the inflection point of the arcuate segment to a second linear segment of each tine of the plurality tines (items 69, 83, and 102 extend towards items 110, 92, and 73, which are considered forming second linear segments), the second linear segment of each tine of the plurality tines extending from the arcuate segment to a second fillet (items 110, 92, and 73 extend towards a bend at the top portion above which is considered reading on a second fillet), the second fillet extending between the second linear segment and a second radial segment (bends in between items 110, 92, 73 and items 112, 94, and 75), the second radial segment extending inward along the radial direction to the hub (items 112, 94, and 75 extend inward towards the center of the whisk), wherein each second radial segment ends at the second portion of the circumference of the hub at an opposing side of the hub from a respective first radial segment (items 72, 88, and 106 are opposed to items 75, 94, and 112 along an axial direction extending through the shaft); a first gap in a third portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 122); and a second gap in a fourth portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 123), wherein the first and second gap extend between the first and second portion on opposing sides of the hub (gaps proximate items 122 and 123 are on opposing sides of gaps proximate item 56 and 88).
Regarding claim 9, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines comprises central tine defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction (figure 2 item 44 is considered the central tine, figure 9 proximate items 73 and 70 are considered defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction shown by arrows proximate item 119).
Regarding claim 10, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines extend along the axial direction no less than one third of a total axial length of the plurality of tines (items 44, 46 and 48 extend along the axial direction at nearly the entire axial length of the plurality of tines).
Regarding claim 15, Guilder teaches A whisk configured to attach to a stand mixer (figures 2, 8 and 9 show a whisk, figure 1 shows a stand mixer, the stand mixer is considered intended use), the whisk defining an axial direction (defined as an up and down direction), a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction (a direction extending outward from the shaft is considered a radial direction), and a circumferential direction extending around the axial direction (a direction of the whisk rotation), the whisk comprising: a mounting socket at a top end of the whisk (sleeve item 56 is considered reading on a socket that is at the top of the whisk), the mounting socket extending along the axial direction from the top end of the whisk to a hub (item 56 extends in a vertical direction), the mounting socket configured to attach to a shaft of the stand mixer (shaft proximate item 40 driven end, the shaft is considered intended use); a plurality of tines arrayed along a first portion and a second portion of a circumference of the hub (items 44, 46, and 48 are considered reading on the tines, a first portion in figure 9 proximate item 56, and a second portion proximate item 88); a first gap in a third portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 122); and a second gap in a fourth portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 123), wherein the first and second gap extend between the first and second portion on opposing sides of the hub (gaps proximate items 122 and 123 are on opposing sides of gaps proximate item 56 and 88).
Regarding claim 16, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines comprises central tine defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction (figure 2 item 44 is considered the central tine, figure 9 proximate items 73 and 70 are considered defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction shown by arrows proximate item 119).
Regarding claim 17, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines extend along the axial direction no less than one third of a total axial length of the plurality of tines (items 44, 46 and 48 extend along the axial direction at nearly the entire axial length of the plurality of tines).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guilder (U.S. Patent 2,571,316).
Regarding claim 11, Guilder is silent to the specific angle of the tines. Regarding claim 12, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 12, Guilder is silent to the specific gap sizes of the tines. Regarding claim 12, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 13, Guilder teaches a snap bend (bearing portion 81 with a u shape, see column 4 lines 48-50). Regarding claim 13, Guilder is silent to the snap bend specifically being on the central tine. Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Guilder with the support column configuration of Drees in order to allow for easier mixing operation by a user. Regarding claim 13, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the location of the snap bend to secure the central tines to the remaining tines since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 14, Guilder teaches wherein the snap bend snaps over one tine of the plurality of tines at the inflection point (item 81 snaps over item 46).
Regarding claim 18, Guilder is silent to the specific angle of the tines. Regarding claim 18, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 19, Guilder is silent to the specific gap sizes of the tines. Regarding claim 19, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guilder (U.S. Patent 2,571,316) in view of Drees (U.S. Publication 2012/0170404).
Regarding claim 1, Guilder teaches a stand mixer (figure 1) defining a vertical direction (a vertical direction is considered a direction going though item 40), a lateral direction (a direction perpendicular to item 40, and parallel to the top of the bowl), and a transverse direction (a direction both perpendicular to a vertical direction and lateral direction), wherein the vertical direction, the lateral direction, and the transverse direction are mutually perpendicular (3 perpendicular directions can extend in the stand mixer of figure 1 including a vertical direction extending through item 40), the stand mixer comprising: a base (proximate item 20); a head extending above the base (power unit item 28 extends above item 20), the head comprising a drivetrain inside an interior of the head (column 2 lines 19-35 teaches power unit item 28 which is considered inherently requiring a drive train for the shaft proximate item 40), a shaft positioned at the bottom end of the head (shaft proximate item 40) and extending downwardly between the head and the base (item 40 extends downwardly between item 28 and item 20), the shaft rotatably connected to a drive train (power unit 28 inherently requires a drive train in order to drive item 40, item 40 is connected to mixing head 32 via item 34); the drive train configured to rotate the shaft about the vertical direction (item 40 rotates around a vertical axis via item 34); and a whisk configured to couple to the shaft (whisk shown in figures 2 and 9) the whisk defining an axial direction (a vertical direction), a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction (a direction extending outward from the shaft is considered a radial direction), and a circumferential direction extending around the axial direction (a direction of the whisk rotation), the whisk comprising: a mounting socket at a top end of the whisk (sleeve item 56 is considered reading on a socket that is at the top of the whisk), the mounting socket extending along the axial direction from the top end of the whisk to a hub (item 56 extends in a vertical direction), the mounting socket configured to attach to a shaft of the stand mixer (shaft proximate item 40 driven end); a plurality of tines arrayed along a first portion and a second portion of a circumference of the hub (items 44, 45, and 48), each tine of the plurality of tines comprising a first radial segment extending out from the first portion of the hub along the radial direction (portion extending out from center proximate items 72, 88, and 106), a first linear segment extending approximately along the axial direction (proximate items 71, 87, and 104 that extend downward in the axial direction), a first fillet between the first radial segment and the first linear segment (bend in the whisk extending from items 44 to 71, 45 to 87, and 106 to 104), and an arcuate segment curving radially inward to an inflection point at a bottom end of the whisk (bends curving to items 69, 83, and 102), the arcuate segment of each tine of the plurality tines curving radially outward from the inflection point of the arcuate segment to a second linear segment of each tine of the plurality tines (items 69, 83, and 102 extend towards items 110, 92, and 73, which are considered forming second linear segments), the second linear segment of each tine of the plurality tines extending from the arcuate segment to a second fillet (items 110, 92, and 73 extend towards a bend at the top portion above which is considered reading on a second fillet), the second fillet extending between the second linear segment and a second radial segment (bends in between items 110, 92, 73 and items 112, 94, and 75), the second radial segment extending inward along the radial direction to the hub (items 112, 94, and 75 extend inward towards the center of the whisk), wherein each second radial segment ends at the second portion of the circumference of the hub at an opposing side of the hub from a respective first radial segment (items 72, 88, and 106 are opposed to items 75, 94, and 112 along an axial direction extending through the shaft); a first gap in a third portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 122); and a second gap in a fourth portion of the circumference of the hub (gap proximate item 123), wherein the first and second gap extend between the first and second portion on opposing sides of the hub (gaps proximate items 122 and 123 are on opposing sides of gaps proximate item 56 and 88). Regarding claim 1, Guilder is silent to a support column attached to the base and extending upwardly from the base; the head specifically attached to the support column. Regarding claim 1, Drees teaches a stand mixer (paragraph 2) with a support column attached to the base (figure 1 item 16 is attached to item 14) and extending upwardly from the base (item 16 extends upwardly from item 14); the head specifically attached to the support column (item 12 is attached to item 16); the head comprising a drivetrain inside an interior of the head (item 18 motor inside item 12). Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Guilder with the support column configuration of Drees in order to allow for easier mixing operation by a user.
Regarding claim 2, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines comprises central tine defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction (figure 2 item 44 is considered the central tine, figure 9 proximate items 73 and 70 are considered defining the first and second portions with respect to the circumferential direction shown by arrows proximate item 119).
Regarding claim 3, Guilder teaches wherein the plurality of tines extend along the axial direction no less than one third of a total axial length of the plurality of tines (items 44, 46 and 48 extend along the axial direction at nearly the entire axial length of the plurality of tines).
Regarding claim 4, Guilder is silent to the specific angle of the tines. Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Guilder with the support column configuration of Drees in order to allow for easier mixing operation by a user. Regarding claim 4, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 5, Guilder is silent to the specific gap sizes of the tines. Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Guilder with the support column configuration of Drees in order to allow for easier mixing operation by a user. Regarding claim 5, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the location of the tines relative to each other to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Guilder teaches a snap bend (bearing portion 81 with a u shape, see column 4 lines 48-50). Regarding claim 6, Guilder is silent to the snap bend specifically being on the central tine. Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Guilder with the support column configuration of Drees in order to allow for easier mixing operation by a user. Regarding claim 6, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the location of the snap bend to secure the central tines to the remaining tines since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Guilder teaches wherein the snap bend snaps over one tine of the plurality of tines at the inflection point (item 81 snaps over item 46).
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774